Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impresed
I got this yesterday so my sister and can talk without useing cell min. Works as well as advertized. The battery lasted as long as 10hr Though we did have the walkie talkie part on the entire time. Looks cool but is a bit bulky. Love the wall charger! All in all a nice product.
Published on February 24, 2011 by Teen

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars never worked
my kids and I were excited about this gift...only to be dissapointed. One worked and the other didnt from the beginning. Why does every other toy we buy nowadays come broken??? I ordered a replacement and got a refund instead.
Published 21 months ago by kim


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impresed, February 24, 2011
This review is from: AGPtek Two-way Fashionable Wrist-operated Wristwatch Walkie Talkie Wrist Watch (Electronics)
I got this yesterday so my sister and can talk without useing cell min. Works as well as advertized. The battery lasted as long as 10hr Though we did have the walkie talkie part on the entire time. Looks cool but is a bit bulky. Love the wall charger! All in all a nice product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice, February 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AGPtek Two-way Fashionable Wrist-operated Wristwatch Walkie Talkie Wrist Watch (Electronics)
These are not super long range.That said ,they are really nice to keep track of the kids as they play in the neighborhood. Really love the lithium ion rechargeables. Very easy to use. Worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, June 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AGPtek Two-way Fashionable Wrist-operated Wristwatch Walkie Talkie Wrist Watch (Electronics)
My grand kids and I have had some fun with hand held units, and these take it up a notch.

Not only are they more fun to use, but easier to handle than hand held units even if they are bulky, the fact that they are somewhat adult size (and more) makes them even more fun for the kids to use since they really feel grown up with these strapped to their wrist.

As far as range, so far around the block has been all they were tested at.

I think they may come in handy at the store since the 10 yr old is now double digits (her words) and insists on being able to shop by herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent Buy, March 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AGPtek Two-way Fashionable Wrist-operated Wristwatch Walkie Talkie Wrist Watch (Electronics)
Me and my friend went 50/50 to buy these, more of a joke than anything but they are a pretty good product for versatility. I am not saying you can't get better communicator devices for the money but these are decent.

Pros: Battery life; Range;

Cons: Bulky; Very easy to hit the wrist talk function.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of this world fun, January 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AGPtek Two-way Fashionable Wrist-operated Wristwatch Walkie Talkie Wrist Watch (Electronics)
I must admit, I was hesitant when our youngest saw these and declared they were all she wanted for Christmas...but the APGtek walkie talkie watches do not disappoint on any level. These gadgets have a fantastic range, are easy to operate, and fit both tiny and adult wrists. They have provided hours of fun and laughter at our place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good Toy For Kids, December 29, 2014
This review is from: AGPtek Two-way Fashionable Wrist-operated Wristwatch Walkie Talkie Wrist Watch (Electronics)
Got four of these (the MT2 model) for my daughter for Christmas and have had a few days to use them. They work well and have a large number of features that you would not expect, such as a voice compressor (also called a compander, which changes the sound of your voice so that it is slightly harder to understand when you have a strong signal, but transmits better and improves the range when you have a weak signal), a voice scrambler (makes your voice sound like Charlie Brown's parents unless the other unit is set with the same de-scrambling code), and VOX (voice activation - you set the sensitivity from low (1) to high (3) and the unit will start transmitting automatically when it hears you speaking - this really only works if you are in a quiet room, otherwise it never turns off). Range has been fine, and all the units worked fine out of the box and came with their rechargeable batteries fully charged (perfect for Christmas morning).

I do however have two complaints and plan on returning one of the sets that were ordered. The first is that the "wrist-operate" button is just too sensitive. The button is located on the bottom right of each unit and picks up wrist motion. It is easy to adjust the wristband for both adults and children so that the unit will transmit if you bend your wrist back. The problem is that ordinary light activity of moving and using your hands (even for writing or walking) cause the unit to start transmitting at random times no matter how the band is adjusted. There is also no way to disable this extra button (the other transmit button on the front panel of the unit works fine). This problem is very apparent and quickly grows irritating because all the units will give a grating little beep-beep sound at the end of every transmission (which cannot be turned off). My daughter, however, thinks it is really cool to be able to use it with one hand, so we are keeping one of the pairs with this feature and planning on replacing the other pair with the MT1 model with the orange face that is identical in features but does not have the extra transmit button on the wristband.

The second complaint, which is really a fairly minor quibble that reading this review will solve for you, is that the manual is very brief and gives little explanation for what each feature does. It simply describes how to set it. If you have not used FRS (Family Radio Service) walkie talkie radios before (I had not), you will need to spend some time on the internet to figure out what each feature does and why you would want it. Most of the default settings are pretty much exactly what you would want, except for the squelch code.

A little background: There are 22 channels available on the units, these channels can be used by everyone, so in a crowded area there may be many other people on your channel. To keep from having to listen to everyone else conversations each unit transmits a code when you press the transmit button, and then each unit listens for a code on the receive side. If the code on the receive side matches the transmit code then your unit will turn the audio on and you will hear the other person talking, otherwise, it ignores the transmission (but gives you a little RX symbol on the display to tell you that someone else is using the channel and that you need to wait, since you cannot use it at the same time as someone else). The channel display looks like 0201 on the watch, which means channel 2, code 1. There are 38 CSC analog codes and 84 digital codes.

So, back to the problem - the default code is 1, which is the lowest of the analog codes. It turns out that the lower numbered analog codes take a long time to decode, so after you press the transmit button the other person will not hear you start speaking for a second or two. You could potentially train yourself to press the button, wait a while, then start talking, but in practice you just end up missing the first word or two that a person says every time they transmit. However, if you switch to a digital code (by scrolling through the codes up past 38, because they are in order, the 38 analog first, then the 84 digital next), the code gets decoded much faster, so that the other unit starts passing the audio almost instantly. As soon as I figured this out we became much happier with the units. You can turn off the squelch code detection so that everything received on the channel is audible by setting the code to 00.

A few other comments:
- The chargers have a red/green LED light on them that change color to let you know when the unit is charged, quite handy
- The units are bulky, way to bulky to slide a long-sleeved shirt over them
- Apparently they are addictively fun for 10 year old girls judging from my daughter and friend's reactions

A note on the range:

The range varies considerably depending on the settings and how you use these. Here are some results from my informal testing:
- With the antennas folded down, the range was about 200' line of sight. This is enough for communicating as long as everyone is in a normal sized suburban yard.
- With the antenna up, the compander off, and the squelch codes in use the range was about 1000' in a suburban area (not line of sight), with trees, some small hills, and houses between the two units. The biggest problem was that the squelch codes would not get received clearly, so the units would stop playing the audio and you could not hear the other party.
- With the antenna up, the compander on, and the squelch codes turned off (set to 00), the range was 0.5 miles as the crow flies in a suburban area with houses, trees, and hills between the two units. Even at that distance you could use the call feature, but the auto squelch feature would make the audio cut in and out. The auto squelch cannot be turned off or adjusted to a higher sensitivity, so that limits the range of the units.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars never worked, May 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AGPtek Two-way Fashionable Wrist-operated Wristwatch Walkie Talkie Wrist Watch (Electronics)
my kids and I were excited about this gift...only to be dissapointed. One worked and the other didnt from the beginning. Why does every other toy we buy nowadays come broken??? I ordered a replacement and got a refund instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My 9 year old "spy" loved it, September 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AGPtek Two-way Fashionable Wrist-operated Wristwatch Walkie Talkie Wrist Watch (Electronics)
My 9 year old was excited to receive this as a birthday gift. The range is good and so far has held up. I told him to be careful with the antenna based on other reviews. The headphone didn't fare so well. Both broke on first use. The button you push to talk completely fell apart on both. He wished they worked so we tried my iPod headphones which didn't work because they don't have the button to let you talk. For the price it's ok if you don't need headphones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AGPtek Two-way Fashionable Wrist-operated Wristwatch Walkie Talkie Wrist Watch (Electronics)
Nice idea...bought for my parents, however my dad lost his outside the first day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too complicated, February 15, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AGPtek Two-way Fashionable Wrist-operated Wristwatch Walkie Talkie Wrist Watch (Electronics)
Love the concept, I just wish there was a high quality version that wasn't so confusing. One of ours didn't work out of the box, you could hear, but not talk. The thing is so confusing too. Definitely not an out-of-the box toy for your child. If you don't mind reading pages of fine print instructions and then explaining them to your child, then this might work for you. Waaaay more complicated than the typical timer, date, stop watch watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.