Customer Reviews


174 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whoever controls the Corners controls the World ...
The classic game of Reversi/Othello returns. It offers a couple pages of how-to-play info if you're new to it (which is nice, because not all games always remember to do that!)

It has a number of different options: Starting color, two board/piece display options, 10 difficulty levels, make legal moves visible, an UNDO button to go back as many steps as you...
Published on January 26, 2012 by Laire

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well...
The game is what it is. It works. The problem is the same thing with all games like this. The A.I. Once you know how to win, you literally play the same game over and over. If you want to have a different outcome, you have to purposely make a bad move, otherwise the a.i. will respond the same way every time. Not very fun.
Published on January 26, 2012 by Strahd Von Zarovich


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whoever controls the Corners controls the World ..., January 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reversi (App)
The classic game of Reversi/Othello returns. It offers a couple pages of how-to-play info if you're new to it (which is nice, because not all games always remember to do that!)

It has a number of different options: Starting color, two board/piece display options, 10 difficulty levels, make legal moves visible, an UNDO button to go back as many steps as you want (in case you just lost that corner by accident and don't want to play through like that).

While it records win/loss statistics for each level of difficulty, the fact that you can undo at ANY point (even at game end!) can be used to "cheat the system" and make your stats say you have a perfect record against the Level 10 CPU.

Of course, not too many people will brag about their Reversi records. :)

Overall, it's a simple, small file game with a decent amount of polish in its design and display. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable game, quick to play and a nice challenge, May 8, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reversi (App)
This is a very nicely set up game. It is very quick to play. You can probably finish a game under 5 minutes. You can set the level of difficulty on a scale of 1 to 10. I like to make it the hardest which almost always guaranties I lose (sadly to say). Still, I enjoy the challenge of trying to win against the machine. If you set it at the easiest level you will be sure to have success. I sometimes have my kids play because I think it encourages thinking and it's fairly easy to play. I havne't had any problems with the performance of this app.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb digital adaptation of the old boardgame Othello, January 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reversi (App)
Note: This review was originally published at Red Adept reviews on January 29, 2012.

Overall: 5 stars

Originality: 5 stars

Reversi in some form has been around for more than a hundred years, but many people will be most familiar with a trademarked version named "Othello," which came out in the 1970s. There have been a few variants on the theme, but Othello is still the standard.

Game Play: 5 stars

I remember playing Othello years ago. I loved the game, but I didn't love the time it took to flip all the pieces and to add up the scores. With the Android version of Reversi, the app does that for you and eliminates the tedious elements of the game.

The game has a "How to Play" page for those who aren't familiar with Reversi. Game play is very simple, but it takes a bit of playing to develop winning strategies. There are several set-up options, including single player/two player, sound on/off, and how the board appears and how the pieces appear when they're flipping. For Single Player mode, you can select a level of difficulty (1-10) that controls how smart the AI is. At the lowest setting (1), I had no trouble winning. At the highest setting (10), I got clobbered!

Another feature that makes the app stand out from the board game is that when it's your turn, all of your possible legal moves are highlighted. This makes for a brisk game, since you don't have to study the board so much looking for all possible moves. There's also an Undo button that will take back as many moves as you want.

Reversi is a fun, challenging game. Learning how to play the game takes only a couple of minutes, but learning how to win takes considerably longer. Like chess, being able to look ahead will give you a big advantage.

Note: I played Reversi on my Kindle Fire, and there were no problems. I noticed that there is a special Kindle Fire edition of Reversi, but this version looked so good and played so well that I'm not sure what advantages there might be in the Kindle Fire edition.

Replayability: 5 stars

There are a gazillion possible moves and outcomes in Reversi (actually, according to Wikipedia, the number is 10 raised to the 28th power). That means that every game of Reversi will likely be unique, with almost infinite replayability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Same as every other Reversi game. Wish you could choose board sizes., January 26, 2012
By 
Keith "Keith" (Laguna Hills, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reversi (App)
Nothing special. It does work, there are ten difficulty levels, although I have no idea what the difference is between them. Are the levels time based or moves ahead based or both? Only two board and two looks of pieces. The undo seems unlimited, which is nice.

Wish you could choose different board sizes. Then you could play a quick game, or a super long game. This would make the game stand out. And why not make a three person version? How about playing back some classic battles? Think outside the reversi box.

As is, try the free version and compare to others before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AI Factory are the best, January 26, 2012
By 
This review is from: Reversi (App)
I just love all the AI Factory games. So professional with their graphics, gameplay, and overall quality of product.

For the fools that don't understand, this is an old traditional board game, centuries old, known as Reversi, Othello, and others. Tailor made for computers, of course, because of the automatic flipping of the tokens. This is an excellent rendition, but I also recommend all their other board games, many of which offer free versions. Try backgammon, in particular.

No, I am not affiliated with AI Factory - I just admire their product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kindle fire, January 26, 2012
This review is from: Reversi (App)
Great game. I remember it growing up as Othello. Love it no matter what its called. Works great on kindle fire. Graphics are good. No bugs or problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small, fun, great dev., January 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reversi (App)
So glad this app came out, I love the boardgame version and never thought to look for an app version.
Game is very easy to understand, board and screen is well layed out. This game is also made by the same company that gave away checkers some time ago, I play it all the time and it looks very much the same.
Also love the file size, under 2 mb is great and will allow me to keep it on my phone even if I don't play it that often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well..., January 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reversi (App)
The game is what it is. It works. The problem is the same thing with all games like this. The A.I. Once you know how to win, you literally play the same game over and over. If you want to have a different outcome, you have to purposely make a bad move, otherwise the a.i. will respond the same way every time. Not very fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars to all the elites who like to give bad reviews, September 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reversi (App)
It's just a game. In fact, a pretty good one from AI Factory. The products are always well written and run flawlessly.
I think some people get some sort of thrill knocking down someone's work. And to the reviewer who said the game was racist because of the white and black pieces, please, how borish can you be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game!, August 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reversi (App)
The only difference between this app and the real game is that my fat fingers don't mess up the board when trying to flip all the pieces. Great game! Love the different levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Reversi
Reversi by AI Factory Limited
$0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.