Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great all-around tent!
I have used this tent on three trips this year since receiving it for Christmas. All the trips have been in cold weather, even 36 degrees at night in May. The tent has kept me warm and dry. Easy to assemble and the two vestibules are great for storing gear.The fly extends out about 2-3 feet from the tent depending on your set-up. This makes it hard to reach the zipper to...
Published on May 4, 2011 by H. Hughes

versus
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst design ever
It's cheap and unfriendly item. Did they really have engineers to make this product? Mentioned about efficiency. They shall experiment it first before publish it.
Published 18 months ago by Chi Wang


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great all-around tent!, May 4, 2011
By 
This review is from: ALPS Mountaineering Taurus 2 Tent (Sports)
I have used this tent on three trips this year since receiving it for Christmas. All the trips have been in cold weather, even 36 degrees at night in May. The tent has kept me warm and dry. Easy to assemble and the two vestibules are great for storing gear.The fly extends out about 2-3 feet from the tent depending on your set-up. This makes it hard to reach the zipper to exit the tent. I would recommend getting some shock cord to tie to the zipper on the vestibule, it makes it easier to open the tent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Tent, February 1, 2011
By 
Apple Green (Albuquerque, NM) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ALPS Mountaineering Taurus 2 Tent (Sports)
This is a great tent at a great price. I could have gotten a much more expensive tent but read some reviews and decided to give it a go. It handled rain better than I expected and is well designed. It was perfect for car camping by myself with gear. I'm very happy with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tent, Performs well, November 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ALPS Mountaineering Taurus 2 Tent (Sports)
This is a great tent, it performs well under most conditions and did not leak during a major Texas sized down pour during its first campout. It is quick to setup and light weight. This is not a big tent but what it lacks in size it makes up for in quality and performance! This tent has great rain fly that features a small vestibule.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some facts you need to know, November 27, 2012
This review is from: ALPS Mountaineering Taurus 2 Tent (Sports)
This is a good tent by a solid company. For scouts, this could make for a good first tent for younger scouts or cubs. Using the clips for the poles, it will be easy to set up, and low cost means replacement isn't as much of an issue.

The thing missing here though, is the weight. This tent, per the ALPS website, weighs over 7 pounds fully loaded, a bit high for a backpack outing. Generally, you'd see older scouts use this as a solo tent (so 7.5 is high) or split the weight between younger smaller boys... for whom every pound counts.

the tent and tarp alone weigh 6 1/2 pounds, before adding the poles and stakes. So there's not much weight to be carved off by dropping steel stakes for titanium or aluminum.

The inclusion of a full tarp is a huge plus, with an adequate vestibule permitting gear/bag storage and shoe storage...of course, you'd put your food elsewhere.

Overall, I'd still reccomend it, especially for a new camper or for a tent to put two kids in and one adult in another on their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meets my expectations, February 9, 2012
By 
NCPatriot (Western North Carolina) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ALPS Mountaineering Taurus 2 Tent (Sports)
The tent is very easy to setup. Has plenty of room for 1 person with gear, or 2 persons without gear. The 2 entrances/exits are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent, May 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ALPS Mountaineering Taurus 2 Tent (Sports)
I bought this tent to take with me on my Motorcycle trip to Montana, I have not taken the trip yet but when the day I received the tent I took it home and piched it up in my living room I must say it's going to be perfect so easy to picht it up 3 minutes very roomy well made and it's just the right size for my motorcycle camping adventure. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tent and great company!, October 1, 2013
This review is from: ALPS Mountaineering Taurus 2 Tent (Sports)
Dryest tent I have ever owned at a great price! Easily compares to Northface or Marmot tents for half the price! Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just right, April 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ALPS Mountaineering Taurus 2 Tent (Sports)
The tent is excellent, it sets up in nothin flat and it is the perfect size, also, the colors are not to loud, in other words they blend rather than stand out. just what I wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Looks Good in a Living Room, January 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ALPS Mountaineering Taurus 2 Tent (Sports)
I can't comment on the durabilty yet as it has not been field tested but based on construction and ease of set up, this is a good tent for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great tent for the Price used it this weekend., October 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ALPS Mountaineering Taurus 2 Tent (Sports)
Great tent for the Price used it this weekend. It's well made and should hold up for at least a couple years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

ALPS Mountaineering Taurus 2 Tent
ALPS Mountaineering Taurus 2 Tent by ALPS Mountaineering
$159.99 $104.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.