Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Look Park Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:$6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 14, 2012
When I started reading this sequel, I was curious where the author would take the story. After all, what do you do with these "enhanced IQs"? Kira Miller, the brilliant geneticist who created the gelcap that could allow your IQ to climb to unprecedented levels, is now happily partnered with David Desh or is she? When she comes across some damning evidence that David has kept secret from her, she doesn't know what to believe. Is this the same man she fell in love with? At the same time David has found his own troubling evidence that points him in a direction and paints Kira as the dangerous psychopath the government thinks she is. The stakes are higher than ever: the government is still after them with only one objective in mind--elimination, no questions asked. As if that isn't enough, there is another elusive enemy out there waiting and biding his time for the perfect time to strike out at Kira and David.

These 2 events would be enough for most thriller-type novels, but Mr. Richards throws in another fantastic science-fiction scenario at the readers and makes it work. The action is non-stop, the characters are fully fleshed out and the science used is enough to satisfy even the toughest scifi critic. I thought I had figured out the who, what and where only to find out that I had only scratched the tip of the iceberg. I kept reading at a voracious pace to find out what was the "real" story and who were the bad guys. Could I trust my own judgment of character to even figure that much out or would Mr. Richards blow that out of the water too?

AMPED is a smart, action-packed thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat until the last page is read. Fans of science fiction and thrillers will certainly want to add this one to their library. It's a keeper. Highly Recommended.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed "Wired". While its characters weren't all that deep, and the plot was a bit fanciful even for this genre, it was still grounded in some sense of the real world -- and I love a good romp. "Amped" suffers from the need of any blockbuster (think "Mission Impossible" or any such series) to outdo its original. The characters here have become more cartoonish rather than deeper; the plot sacrifices plausibility for sensationalism; and it (for me) loses the grittiness that "Wired" had just enough of. The ending, with its cascading personalities managing each other and the dawning of a reluctant world peace was cliched and unrealistic and smacked of desperation to wrap up a narrative that had gotten out of control.

I notice that the author has written for the youth audience before, and I was struck in this book by a narrative tone that seemed directed to young readers. Everything was painstakingly explained, almost as if to a child. It was a very straightforward, declarative style of writing that was clear but had no particular music or cadence to it. That's an OK choice for the author to make, but by the end I was tired of what felt like parental story-telling.

The Kindle edition had some egregious errors in it, thing like "baited breath". I hope that was a function of whatever magic turns print into electrons and wasn't in the original.
11 comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2012
If you thought that Wired was a fast-paced roller-coaster ride, Amped is for you. Kira, Desh and their assorted colleagues and adversaries return for another endlessly entertaining adventure, and this time the stakes couldn't be higher. Richards continues to brilliantly weave his intricate plot lines, and Amped improves upon Wired's already-sterling character development. Truths the reader once took as self-evident are called into doubt, and key players' true motivations are proven suspect. Stop reading this review and start reading Amped. You won't regret it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2013
Douglas Richards, in Amped, does a fantastic job of picking up the storyline from Wired as we follow the progress being made towards reaching the goals that David Desh and Kira Miller have set for helping the world take that next big step (through a series of baby steps) to save it from self destructing. The sequel provides interesting insights into the amped mind and, as in the first novel, there are a number of interesting twists and revelations about the second level of boosted intelligence. However, since the Amped genie is out of the bottle, Kira and her group are not the only ones with access to her gene therapy and not the only ones with a plan. There are some twists you'll see (or suspect) coming, but most you won't. Amped is a fast forward read that holds you attention as it doesn't really have slow parts. If you liked Wired, you'll appreciate Amped and will want to know when the next book in the series is being published.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2012
As others have said, AMPED takes up where WIRED leaves off. It is a meticulously researched philosophical-sci-fi-technothriller. When my iPad ran out of juice, I transferred AMPED to my iPod so I could read it all in one sitting. Fantastic job, Doug! Thanks for all your hard work on this most excellent sequel.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2012
AMPED delivers all the fast-paced action and thought-provoking science as its prequel, WIRED. Kira Miller and David Desh are back, along with the friends and allies they made in the first novel. Now they're trying to use Kira's awesome intelligence-enhancing gellcaps to aid mankind at large, but there's a problem. Someone out there means to destroy them -- and this someone has access to Kira's enhancement technique! Plus, there's somewhat of a distraction to their plight -- a potential alien invasion of Earth. I would be hard-pressed to say which of the two novels, WIRED or AMPED, I enjoyed the most. Just as well written as the first novel, this second installment is a thrill-ride of excitement, intrigue and far-reaching imagination that is just as difficult to put down as the first one. Do NOT start reading this at bedtime -- you'll be up much later than you intended. Kudos to Douglas E. Richards for another excellent novel, and here's hoping there will be lots more to come! If you enjoy action, suspense, science fiction, intrigue, betrayal, humor or any combination of the above, I highly recommend this book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2012
Amped is a sequel to Wired but also a great read as a stand-alone. The beautiful and tough-as-nails, Kira is back at it, perfecting her gene cocktail that makes you beyond-genius smart. She is now joined by some of the best characters from the first novel, and they work together to keep her intelligence enhancing therapy from the evil forces that seek it. There is enough action and adventure to keep anyone interested and also the thought-provoking science to keep you thinking about the book long after you put it down. I admit that my normal book purchases are post-apocolypse styled, but this is a fantastic story and like I said of the first, reminiscient of Michael Crichtons fantastic works.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2012
AMPED is the amazing sequel to Wired which was one of my favorite books of 2011. As soon as I learned that AMPED was out for purchase I immediately went online and bought it for my kindle. Suffice it to say AMPED is at the top of my list for 2012 and I have read some fantastic books this year. Like in Wired, the quality of the writing, the sophistication of the storyline and the depth of the characters in AMPED are second to none. Mr. Richards has earned a place among the masters!

In AMPED, Mr. Richards continues to create a genre of his own that combines mystery/thriller with cutting edge science and science fiction. It is an amazing thrill ride for the reader but it also makes the reader think about how far science can go before it becomes a detriment to society.

In AMPED, we are once again reunited with Kira, David and Matt as they create a network of scientists working to take their discovery to the next level. Yet someone seems to be a step ahead of them at every turn. Once again the reader must try to decipher who is telling the truth and who are the good and bad guys. Be sure you have time to read the whole book when you sit down because you will not be able to put it down (also remember to breathe).

The combination of amazing research, an amazing writing style, an impeccable sense of timing and one the most creative minds in the industry makes AMPED a book you must not miss. To create such an amazing book, Mr. Richards was surely WIRED and AMPED.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2014
It is alluring to imagine a world where taking a pill can enhance your intelligence a hundredfold. The problem with writing about such a world is the temptation for the characters to say, "That was my plan all along. Fooled you! I was so brilliant, I thought of all possible outcomes and adjusted the plan so it could not fail!"

This story weaves a LOT of plots and subplots together loosely, then resolves all the loose ends with an unbelievably prescient plan revealed in hindsight, of course, and kept from the reader by even greater prescience by the super-super-intelligent hero.

This flaw was also in the grist book, "Wired" but was not as abused. I suggest you look elsewhere for your entertainment.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2012
Amped picks up where Wired left off. It is even better! More fantastic, more surprises, more suspenseful and more engaging than the first. All the science and the philosophy is well researched and adds directly to the character development and plot. A great read.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$6.99
$6.99
$6.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.