Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Book!
From the man who invented the internet, "An Inconvenient Truth: The Crisis of Global Warming" by Al Gore is my all all-time favorite comedy. Great job, Mr. Never-President! *winks*
Published 7 months ago by Josh

versus
25 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No backup data or references
I bought this book in hopes of gaining some insight into the source of all the global warming fuss. (They don't hand out Nobel prizes for nothing, I thought.) It was an easy read, presenting the major points of his argument very clearly. But I was also looking for the background data, or at least some references to the data sources. I was amazed to find no footnotes and...
Published on February 11, 2008 by David Bagby


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Book!, January 7, 2014
This review is from: AN Inconvenient Truth: The Crisis of Global Warming (Paperback)
From the man who invented the internet, "An Inconvenient Truth: The Crisis of Global Warming" by Al Gore is my all all-time favorite comedy. Great job, Mr. Never-President! *winks*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reality is painful, July 21, 2011
The book adapts the information already offered by Mr. Gore into a format more friendly for younger generations. I'm not sure why the issue of global warming is so controversial for people. Anyone with a background in science and a genuine understanding of the biology and chemistry of global warming knows that climate change is very real. There is nothing political about it. If you are confused about the issues then educate yourself. Don't go to a website that you feel is politically motivated. You can go to any university and find professors who can explain the science of climate change. I learned about climate change in the 80's while in college, well before I ever heard Al Gore speaking about it. The most frustrating part of this is no longer the reality that life as we know it is changing dramatically and perhaps permanently, but that ignorance has been used as a weapon to create barriers against those sincerely attempting to prevent a global disaster. Why would anyone want to believe in this if it's not real? This is not a happy subject whatsoever! If you have doubts, educate yourself. If you don't understand the science, then please don't assume that what you are being told is or isn't real. Find out for yourself. Educate yourself! This isn't political. Please stop making it so. We are running out of time to do something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile, September 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AN Inconvenient Truth: The Crisis of Global Warming (Paperback)
Easy to go through .... not a text. Shows what is going on even if it is a bit one sided in it's approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book, June 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AN Inconvenient Truth: The Crisis of Global Warming (Paperback)
I love it when someone can explain global worming. Al Gore explains it step by step and also talks about what we can do to stop it. It's almost like a kids book. It's got a lot of pictures. It does have chapters, but they are small. I got through the book in just a few hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars happy, March 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AN Inconvenient Truth: The Crisis of Global Warming (Paperback)
I ordered book and needed it desperately for school it was awesome to have it come in right on time :))) I would recommend others to order from here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book for all ages!, November 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AN Inconvenient Truth: The Crisis of Global Warming (Paperback)
Its a great book for everyone. It is simplified and written in an understandable form. I bought a few of them for my kids and my nephews. Their ages range from 7 to 10. They have used the book to help with Science project info and we read chapters together to inforce science and social issues we all face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great intro to climate change, June 27, 2012
This review is from: AN Inconvenient Truth: The Crisis of Global Warming (Paperback)
I think some people don't realize that this edition is for kids, so yes, it will be written in simpler terms. I think it's a good supplement to a textbook that might not go into such detail about climate change. The photos and the graphs really enhance the telling of the problems. The information provided is not overwhelming for kids, either. And certainly, if there is a topic that a child wants to learn more about, he can. Although, there is no bibliography at the end of the book, and the sources listed throughout may only provide information related to a graph or picture. So someone would have to do a little more research. Overall, though, I think the information is presented in a way that this age group could understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read this book, May 1, 2007
By 
This is one of the best books I've ever read. It's written in a way that everyone can understand, and details how and why global warming is happening, and what we can do about it. The photo comparisons of how the earth has changed in the last 100 years are astounding, and the data presented is indisputable. This book is the wake up call that the world needs to do something about the environment. And for all the people out there who might not like Al Gore, just ignore that it's written by him and judge it based on it's merits. It presents scientific fact, irregardless of the author's political beliefs. In short, if you haven't read this book yet, put it at the top of your priority list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Climate change - pictures worth a thousand words, April 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent book for the general public. Puts the problem in physical terms. Goes for visuals rather than prose which makes the ideas much more widely accessible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This one's for you, kids!, October 7, 2007
The book is broken down into fifteen chapters, culminating in a very optimistic "Crisis = Opportunity," and throughout the text Gore is trying to motivate and encourage the next generation to take up the cause of saving the planet. Gore's optimism makes the reader feel that every chance to turn off an unused light or refill your water bottle is going to make a difference. Peppered with historical facts and dates, and infused with quotes from Mark Twain to Carl Sagan, this effort at educating young adults about the effects of lifestyle choices will make an impact on future generations. I think it is important to empower young people with choice - and the ability to affect change. This would make for excellent required reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

AN Inconvenient Truth: The Crisis of Global Warming
AN Inconvenient Truth: The Crisis of Global Warming by Al Gore (Paperback - April 10, 2007)
$16.00 $12.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.