Customer Reviews


1,457 Reviews
5 star:
 (941)
4 star:
 (295)
3 star:
 (75)
2 star:
 (38)
1 star:
 (108)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


419 of 429 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product!
I ordered this for my new computer, and we had a power flicker just a few hours after I set it up! It worked perfectly. There is software included that will let you check the status of the battery and tell the unit what to do if it loses power (such as turn off the computer). Very useful!

Two things to note:
1) Make sure you connect the battery! There's...
Published on September 11, 2008 by skrishna

versus
236 of 249 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent entry level no-frills UPS
Product: APC Backup-UPS ES 8-Outlet 550VA
Rating: 3/5 (good)

I bought one of these units several years ago at my local computer/electronics stores ... not to protect a PC, but rather to protect my phone answering machine, cable box, and most importantly my new (and then quite expensive) Flatscreen TV. It's done a very admirable job, and I only recently...
Published on November 28, 2010 by Darby


‹ Previous | 1 2146 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

419 of 429 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product!, September 11, 2008
By 
skrishna (http://www.skrishnasbooks.com) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I ordered this for my new computer, and we had a power flicker just a few hours after I set it up! It worked perfectly. There is software included that will let you check the status of the battery and tell the unit what to do if it loses power (such as turn off the computer). Very useful!

Two things to note:
1) Make sure you connect the battery! There's a note on it to do this, but just in case you get in an unwrapping frenzy, you have to turn it over and slide the cover off in order to do that.

2) Only 4 of the outlets are powered by the battery- the other 4 are JUST surge protection. So if you want more than 4 items plugged into the battery, you may want to upgrade to a different model! It works perfectly for me though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


285 of 292 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every home should have one, July 4, 2008
By 
This review is from: APC BE750G Power Saving Battery Back-UPS (Electronics)
I purchased one of these items on May 10, 2008. Since I had a blackout on 6/27, I figured I could finally write a review.

First, this is my first APC, as well as my first battery backup, product. I've owned a number of surge protectors in the past, but since I had purchased a new computer, I wanted to try a backup device.

After a deal of research, I finally went with this one, after the value for the money, and the positive reviews APC had received.

This model offers 10 outlets, of which 5 can run off of the battery. This also offers a master, and three 'slave' outlets. This means that if the master is off, the three outlets can optionally be shut off as well (helpful for printers, monitors, speakers, ...) It's optional, so you can shut it off (which I did).

It also offers a USB connection, so you can monitor the status of the battery using APC PowerChute Personal Edition.

Along with charge percentage, it gives the number of volts being passed into it, and the watt load on the battery, which seems to translate into a battery estimate (how long equipment can run).

PowerChute offers a couple of options, for when the power goes off - preserve the battery, or keep the computer on for as long as possible.

Having had a blackout, albeit at night, I can suggest what I had happen. First, my computer appears to have been put to sleep. When it started back up, SpeedFan began running my two fans at 100%. In short, the battery handled the blackout perfectly.

If you're worried about alarms going off at night, there are settings to disable the alarm between particular hours, or disable it entirely.

Finally, while this comes with a battery, they do recommend you replace these every three years. You can run self-tests manually to verify the battery. I did have a bit of trouble when first hooking up the battery, but it was relatively minor.

(As a guy who's interested in statistics, I would also have liked to have been able to pull more information from PowerChute - for example, via a battery log of what's happening when I'm not at my computer. Granted, it'll tell you when the battery kicks in, but I'd like to know what voltage is being passed, and whether usage watts are spiking or moving throughout the day. What happens when I'm running tasks, or if I have my computer sit for a couple of hours with the monitor off?)

Overall, I'm *extremely* happy with this product, and will *definitely* be purchasing another one of these to hook up my Playstation 3 and Sony Bravia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


167 of 174 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plug and Play Operation on Mac OS X 10.5.5, September 23, 2008
By 
Brian Beaver "We are the robots..." (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
So far I'm very pleased...I purchased this to safeguard my fiancee's Mac Mini. Setup was a breeze, just connect the battery, charge, plug in the AC and connect the data port to the Mac's USB port. The Mac instantly recognized the UPS in the Energy Saver section of System Preferences and provided me with several automated shutdown options...no additional software or configuration was necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


236 of 249 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent entry level no-frills UPS, November 28, 2010
Product: APC Backup-UPS ES 8-Outlet 550VA
Rating: 3/5 (good)

I bought one of these units several years ago at my local computer/electronics stores ... not to protect a PC, but rather to protect my phone answering machine, cable box, and most importantly my new (and then quite expensive) Flatscreen TV. It's done a very admirable job, and I only recently re-gifted it to a family member, after replacing it with a newer model 1300.

Advantages:
* Easy to use, right out of the box.
* Multiple connection types and outlets.
* Low space-saving profile, easily fitting inside or under small cabinets and tables.

Disadvantages:
* Small battery offers very limited runtime (figure 7-10 mins).
* Lacks built-in digital display showing load and remaining runtime.
* Lacks manual bypass for loud audible power-outtage alarm.

Bottom line: this is a very decent no-frills unit if you're on a budget. However, an increasing array of newer units with status displays are becoming cost competitive. Lastly, if your power blinks frequently, the lack of an alarm bypass can become annoying.

-----------------
TIP: Most UPSs have limited runtime. For example, the XS-1300 I replaced 550 with only holds 7AH of power (which will run my PC for just under 1 hour). To greatly extend this, I bought a big 55AH sealed marine gel battery, a trickle charger, and a 400W inverter. When the power goes out, that gives me the option of plugging either my UPS/PC or my UPS/TV setups into the 55AH battery for an additional 8+ hours of runtime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


169 of 177 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome: But Do Your Research First!, March 20, 2010
By 
T. L. Witt (Laurel, IN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: APC BE750G Power Saving Battery Back-UPS (Electronics)
I've had an APC Back-UPS unit for several years now and have been very satisfied. When other people in my rural neighborhood have had blown hard drives or mother boards due to "dirty" power, I've not had a bit of trouble. Buying a UPS is a wise investment to protect your sensitive electronic equipment. However, when I went to upgrade trouble started to brew.

Recently, I purchased the BE750G directly from APC's website. I was uncertain about which UPS would work best with my computer, so I used the online wizards at the APC site to help determine the best UPS. The wizard asks questions about the type of computer you have (tower vs. mini desktop), monitor size, and what other type of peripherals you might have connected to your computer. The wizard will also ask you what type of processor you have. I entered all of this information into the wizard and was presented with the BE750G. Click... I made the purchase. Once the UPS arrived, I connected it to my computer following the directions and did a quick self-test of the unit. Within two seconds of clicking the self-test button in the provided Power Chute software, all power to my computer was dropped and it went off.

I called APC tech support and they asked me what type of computer I had. I explained that it was a Dell Studio XPS 435T with the new Core i7-920 processor. The tech support representative did a bit of research and found that the power supply in my computer is not compatible with the APC unit I had purchased. I was told that the BE750G provides power in or as a "stepped approximation to a sinewave" when on battery power and that the power supply in my computer required a UPS that provides a "pure sinewave" when on battery power. It all sounded like Greek to me, I just knew it didn't work.

Okay, so time to return this paper weight back to APC for a refund. But hold on, APC wants to charge me a 15% restocking fee even though it was their website that told me the unit would work with my computer! Aggravating! I'm still waiting to negotiate a peace agreement with APC over this, but have learned a valuable lesson. Do your research!

Although the BE750G doesn't work with my computer, I'm 100% certain that it would work with older computers. I'm so confident of this that I purchased a second APC unit (SMT750) for my home office. This one should work. APC products good. APC sales... not so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


202 of 217 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE! Not suitable for many modern computers., September 6, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: APC BE750G Power Saving Battery Back-UPS (Electronics)
You have to do your homework and read the fine print on these. For example, 750 sounds like a big number, but that's the volt/amps and not the wattage, which is the number quoted on power supplies. The real problem is the Active PFC (Power Factor Correction) power supplies which have been required since July 2007. You can read about this in the FAQs on the APC website. As I understand it, the Back-UPS and Smart-UPS SC, are not true, pure sine wave UPS, and are not suitable for any Active PFC computer power supply rated 500W or more. This would include many Core i7 and older serious gaming machines. These bigger modern power supplies require true, pure sine wave UPS's like the Smart-UPS, Smart-UPS XL and Smart-UPS RT, according to the informative but confusing (to me) PDF that I downloaded from APC, Application Note #147. Of course, you need to calculate the correct load of your equipment to determine which model is suitable for you.
I have several of these UPS's and they have served me well with my older smaller PCs, but they are not suitable for my new machines. They cut out and shut down my Dell XPS 435T with a 475W power supply. I should have done my homework and upgraded my UPS instead of using the one I already had.
I still rate it 5 stars, because it does what it is supposed to do very well, if you choose the correct model for your equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For use with a ... Tivo, June 20, 2010
Length:: 2:22 Mins

I certainly understand why some people are upset that the APC ES-350 does not support Power Management software However, I would like to show that even without Power Management support it can be very useful as a battery back-up for your home entertainment system.

I love my TiVo TCD652160 HD Digital Video Recorder so much so that I purchased a Western Digital My DVR Expander 1 TB eSATA Desktop External Hard Drive WDG1S10000VN (Black) to supplement the memory. Unfortunately, I live in an area that is prone to power outages and power "flickers". While I can not do much with the power outages the power flickers drive us crazy. Each time the power flickers out Tivo unit must completely reboot (which takes about 10 minutes) so not only do you miss the shows you are watching it also interrupts any recordings that are taking place.

While the APC ES-350 does not help me with power outages (the battery back-up is only good for a minute or two) it does save the day when have a flicker. Now please note, I do not have my television hooked up to the back-up, so still see the the TV flicker but now I do not have to wait for the Tivo to reboot. Could I hook my TV to the APC 350... maybe although it would likely draw too much power to be of any use... for that you would want to consider a bigger battery back-up (such as APC BE550R 550VA Back-UPS ES 8-Outlet Battery Backup System but it even it may be too small).

Other notes

- 6 total outlets - 3 provide battery back-up and 3 offer just surge protection
- Has a very loud audible beep once you lose power
- 200W of total power - in terms of computer equipment it will power a desk top computer with a 17" LCD screen for 7 minutes
- Does offer telephone line protection

Final Verdict - It seems to be a perfect choice as a power stand-by for our home entertainment center.

4 1/2 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Basic UPS, October 12, 2008
By 
Ron S (Scranton, PA) - See all my reviews
Great product. We use these at the company I work for. They are great in the case of a "flicker" in power, no lost data. Or in the case of a longer outage, this gives you approx. 3-5 minutes to save what you are working on and shut down your computer. In my eyes, 4 receptacles on battery is plenty. All you really need is monitor and tower, all other peripherals can be plugged into surge protector. I would absolutely recommend this unit and we plan to purchase more in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 85 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars APC BE350ES 6 outlet 350VA back-UPS, August 29, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
1. Amazon shipping was very fast (arrived the next day, PA-> NJ)

2. The 6 outlet is actually 3. That is, 3 with UPS, the other 3 is just
serge protection. My usage is for computer work station protection during
summer time's short power outage (like 2 seconds). So, the computer work
statation needs 1 UPS outlet. The computer monitor plugs into the
serge protection outlet so that not to overload the system. So far,
there have been about half a dozen short power outages and the unit is functional.

3. this unit, unlike my prior one, features a removable battery.
That may help in recycling, even though the stated purpose is
for easy battery replacement.

4. All lead acid batteries will eventually die. My prior unit lasted for
about 5 years. I don't know how long this one can last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 63 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Warranty is useless!, July 1, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I owned this product for just under three years. When a storm passed, we lost every piece of electronic equipment plugged into this device (and nothing else in the house).

I filed a claim against the device. It was denied. After testing, they found the device to be working within specifications.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2146 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

APC BE750G Power Saving Battery Back-UPS
$109.99 $82.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.