Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Fifth Harmony Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Get Ready for Summer and Save 15% Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 12, 2009
Pros: It works. The picture quality is OK.

Cons: I bought this at Best Buy, along with an Insignia (Zenith) using my two coupons. The difference between this Apex and the Insignia/Zenith are night and day.

On this Apex, the buttons on the remote are not intuitive at all, and I am constantly hitting the wrong ones when I want to change channels or volume. When you do switch channels, this Apex takes several seconds to display anything. It takes so long, you begin to wonder if it just died.

The unit runs very hot. There is a grill on the top and you'd better make sure you don't put anything over it. The power button is very small, and it switches from red to green to indicate on/off... which is OK unless you're color blind like I am. But no problem, if the top feels like a space heater is running, you know it's "on."

When you change volume, you will hear a buzzing or crackling sound thru your TV until the on-screen volume bar goes away. Then, the sound is OK.

The on-screen guide is very small on the screen and difficult to read. There seem to be fewer functions available for the on-screen guide than the Insignia/Zenith unit has. Something about the remote itself feels very cheap and poorly constructed although I have not had a problem with it.

I bought one each of the Insignia/Zenith and the Apex to see if one might be better than the other. The answer is that the Insignia/Zenith is much better. Buy that one instead of this. The price is even the same.
22 comments|65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2016
First off I would like to say is that yes you can use a hdmi to vga adapter to use this on an old computer monitor and turn it into an hd tv, just make sure you get a decent adapter with an audio out and externally powered is better but not necessary. I used the PWOW? 1080P Mini HDMI Male To VGA RGB Converter Video Adapter With Audio and it works great.
Also this works excellently as digital media player and is capable of playing just about any video file I have thrown at it, including flv's.With that said this is not the most user friendly device but well worth the $48 it cost, and it is easy to learn after a bit of playing around with it.
It does detect ALL cable channels encrypted and unencrypted but does not differentiate between them so you will have to delete which channels you cannot watch.
You also might want to keep this device always on as it is somewhat although not to difficult to recover your setting once it restarts. It does not delete your settings though, it just kinda hides them from you and is pretty hard to explain but easy to figure out.
The games are kinda weird but cool, occasionally I will play the old-school tetris and such.
This device can also be tweaked by electronics techies for purposes I will not mention here.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2009
I do leave on 24/7 for my tivo to record from. The Apex 250 worked about 6 months, gave occasional fits of audio, changing channel would fix audio issue as well a powering off and on, it would also loose all the channels it scanned, probably from overheating and locking up.
The remote was not an issue as two inches away it worked most of the time.
Replacing with a 502 model it could not find any of the channels I had from the 250, definately different seach aquire and report system, it showed signal str, and picture quality where before the 250 only showed signal str. The 502 the smart antenna plug started shorting out the unit if plugged in, you would loose all video from the unit till you unplugged the smart antenna.
Apex is willing to warrenty the unit should it be under it still, for the 250, The 502 is going back to retail store died in less than one day.
Good luck for those lucky enough to own one.
W.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2009
To be brief, the remote control is terrible, if not pathetic. Remote must be directly in-line and on same elevation, within about six feet of the box: not for comfortable laying on the couch, across the room channel-surfing (even with fresh Duracell's installed). Could only add a certain number of favorite stations, which it seems to neglect to inform you of in the manual.

Nice S-video out connection, reasonably easy setup, decent picture, though I do have a huge antenna and amplifier/noise-filter/trap set-up pre-existing. The Channel Master CM-7000 has much better remote operation, picture setup/zoom-ratio control, and easier menus, and a power saving mode/auto off function.

Even if I hadn't had coupons for purchase, the Apex is a waste of time and money. Might be suitable for smashing with a sledge-hammer or pyrotechnics and ballistics testing. Made me hate watching TV because it turned it into an absolutely frustrating event.
22 comments|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2009
I'm an tech guy, I love technology, I open up everything I own to see how it works...but this device is the most absolute piece of garbage out there. Like others have mentioned, the remote is a complete joke in this day-and-age...it's like they have taken the technology from the late 70s and somehow used that. You need to have the remote at a slight downward angle for it to view... I didn't dig into this, but I think it has to do with the fact that the receiver inside the unit isn't mounted properly with the opening in the case. Whatever it is, it seems to be a common thread for this and some other converters.

The operation itself, the software that runs this device is the same garbage you find in most of these converter boxes. They should line up the developers of this nonsense and lock them up for being accessories to the crime that is selling this trash to consumers and most of which is conveniently through a government run program of rebates, which also makes it difficult for people to return it, no way to get a new rebate, usually sold in drug stores with no tech help or other choices - so when you have a problem, if you're lucky, you get to swap the unit with another one of the same...or you go in there to find out that the hoopla around the digital conversion is done, and now they're onto selling glow-in-the-dark santa claus ornaments or something.

For the money you spend on this, either put it towards a TV that has a digital converter built in, or buy it with some extended warranty thing that they'll be obligated to find you a replacement...odds are when it breaks, you can haggle with them for a bigger discount on a TV since they probably won't be able to get one of these from their supplier anymore, either...they'll be gone, the company will be gone, and unless you want to deal with the manufacturers 90 day parts/labor warranty (oh yeah, don't get tricked into the '1 year warranty'...thats for parts only...guess how much the labor will end up costing? Probably the price of a new unit!. Go buy something else and then you won't have to be up on saturday morning ranting about this junk like me.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2009
Model 250 and 502 are the same, according to my Best Buy salesperson. We have Charter cable TV - this converter is for spare bedroom analog TV. Using the Quick Start instructions, all installed effortlessly. This is an older TV - just using the RF install routine. Fired up the box, and it found 45 stations fairly quickly. It tells you the signal quality of each. This old TV now has a program guide and cleaner picture quality than ever before. I am about 45 miles east of Mt. Wilson's broadcast antennas, and just using rabbit ears. This device has made the spare bedroom more useable! (grin) Cables and remote included. Just wish the text labels on the remote were larger for my older eyes.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2009
I bought two of these boxes - the remote was defective on the first one, so I took it back with my receipt and got a new one. I foolishly lost the receipt, but wasn't too worried. I thought the likelihood of another defective remote was pretty....well, remote. Nope - the remote on the second one was defective too. And, I only got three channels, with sketchy reception (the picture goes in and out, but the quality is good). Now because the remote doesn't work, I only get one channel because you can't change the channel on the box - there are no buttons on it. What a waste. Do not buy this product.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2013
See correspondence below.

Kendall

From: Customer Service KCPI <cs@kcpi.us>
To: Kendall
Sent: Tuesday, May 21, 2013 10:51 AM
Subject: Re: Fw: Digital TV converter Box

Dear Kendall ,
Thank you for contacting KCPI in regards to your APEX converter box. The DT502 box has not been manufactured for over a year, also, it was never licensed to be sold by an online retailer named DiscountsJungle. So unfortunately, because DiscountsJungle is not an authorized dealer there is no warranty on your converter box. Our apologies. We can, however, offer to replace your APEX box with one of our converter boxes, a KCPI converter box. If you would be interested in this please mail in your defective APEX box along with a check or money order for $35.00 to:
KCPI
13975 Central Ave. Unit A
Chino, CA 91710
If you have any questions you can feel free to contact us at 888-777-0450.
Thank you,
Customer Service

On Mon, May 20, 2013 at 7:37 PM, Kendall wrote:

Please see comments below the Digital TV converter Box did not work. I would like a replacement or refund. I need RMA to send back.

Best regards,
Kendall

----- Forwarded Message -----
From: "cs@tmaxdigital.com" <cs@tmaxdigital.com>
To: Kendall
Sent: Monday, May 20, 2013 11:23 AM
Subject: RE: Digital TV converter Box

Dear Kendall:

We received your email in regards to your Apex Digital product. Unfortunately TMAX Digital did not produce your unit as we just started manufacturing products using the Apex Digital name about July 2011. If we had the resources, we would support your unit.

Based off your email, your product was manufactured by a different company name KCPI. Prior to us manufacturing products with the Apex Digital name, KCPI was license to do the same. Since KCPI stopped making products with the Apex Digital name and started their new line of products, they are still responsible for servicing your unit. You would need to contact them for any assistance you need. Below is their contact information for you to get service.

C/S Phone support- (888)777-0450
C/S Email Support- cs@kcpi.us

Warranty/Customer Support
TMAX DIGITAL INC
4401 Eucalyptus Ave
Suite #120
Chino, CA. 91710
Tel:(877)833-1888
Fax- (909) 606-4674
www.tmaxdigital.com

-------- Original Message --------
Subject: Digital TV converter Box
From: Kendall
Date: Sun, May 19, 2013 1:42 pm
To: "cs@tmaxdigital.com" <cs@tmaxdigital.com>

Purchased the digital box through Amazon.com. Details are given below. I need an RMA / RMR number to ship back the product. It never worked. The box would show a startup screen but nothing would happen when buttons were pressed on the controller. I wish to send back the unit. If you can send be back a functional unit great. Otherwise I want may money back. Thanks.

Order grand total: $39.98
Get the Amazon.com Rewards Visa Card and get $30 instantly as an Amazon.com Gift Card.
Order Summary:
Shipping Details : DiscountsJungle
Order #: XXXXXXXXXX
Shipping Method: Standard
Items: $29.99
Shipping & handling: $9.99
------
Total before tax: $39.98
Estimated tax to be collected:* $0.00
------
Order total: $39.98

Delivery estimate: Mar. 13, 2013 - Mar. 18, 2013

1 "APEX DT502 Analog to Digital TV Converter"
Electronics; $29.99
In Stock
Sold by: DiscountsJungle

Best regards,
Kendall

--
Customer Service
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2009
Apex Digital Converter Box

Do not buy this! It sucks! I brought this with one of my two coupons in Nov. and brought the Insignia one too. This one was finally set up in March/beginning April. The remote was ok to use, but the picture quality was bad too, and my parents had to always re-scan the channels because it would just lose signal. But the biggest caveat was that it died in two months.....just two months! It overheated and then it just went out....and that was also with not having anything on top to cover the vent.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2009
I bought this model and model 250 at Best Buy in July with my coupons. Both have gone bad. First one first week in Jan. Second one was the 2nd week of Jan. The second one was only used about 2 or 3 mos at most. Stay away from these they burn out.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.