Customer Reviews


183 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (48)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


144 of 158 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the tablet I've been waiting for!
First off I'm not new to Archos. I first bought their gen 5 device that made other personal media players look silly and had wifi and a touch screen. Each new generation impressed me. Last year I bought the first Android tablet I ever saw, the gen 7 Archos 5 IT. It was launched in Oct 2009 with a lot of flaws, but was a compelling device. By early 2010 it had become...
Published on December 5, 2010 by Eric Laffoon

versus
54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This would be a great tablet, if the screen wasn't so awful
I owned an Archos 101 for a few hours before quickly returning it. For me, the device did not live up to expectations nor was it an acceptable product for my intended use. The caveat to this is that this type of device is intended to be used in a variety of ways (gaming, Internet browsing, eBook reader, general time killer, etc.) and not everyone is going to have the same...
Published on December 16, 2010 by Tom Digiurco


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

144 of 158 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the tablet I've been waiting for!, December 5, 2010
This review is from: ARCHOS 101 Internet Tablet 8GB (Personal Computers)
First off I'm not new to Archos. I first bought their gen 5 device that made other personal media players look silly and had wifi and a touch screen. Each new generation impressed me. Last year I bought the first Android tablet I ever saw, the gen 7 Archos 5 IT. It was launched in Oct 2009 with a lot of flaws, but was a compelling device. By early 2010 it had become stable and very impressive but I always wanted a bigger screen. I bought their gen 8 7 inch A70 and the 10.1 inch A101 as soon as they were available on the Archos web site. I wanted to buy on Amazon but the demand for these tablets has been so intense they have been selling out every shipment in hours or days.

Before I get to the good and bad let me address some comments here. It is important to realize with technology that your experience may or may not be the norm. Some people said they have trouble with wifi. I have had this on my home system with 35 Mbps Fios and WPA2, my Clear WiMax with WEP and my Rooted Vibrant mobile AP with WPA2. It is brilliant at finding, locking and holding signal and can find signal farther than other devices. Having said that Archos recently acknowledged a problem with WPA AES they are working on with the chip set manufacturer. Also the touch screen is very sensitive, some have said more so then their phone. Now for the bad...

The screen has to be the worst thing, and at that nobody I have showed it to has complained. Unlike my A70 which has excellent viewing angles the A101 I received not only has limited angles but it seems to favor being tipped away from me and gets bad from straight on in landscape mode. It also has a lot of glare under lights. I'm going to get an anti glare screen protector. There is also a cross hatch pattern visible when it is off and black. This is the first Archos product I considered exchanging, but oddly enough once I started using it I didn't seem to notice. In use it is bright and sharp. Showing it to people nobody said anything about viewing angles or screen problems. I frequent archosfans forum and I'm not confident my viewing angle observations are universal to all A101 tablets. Ironically before updating my A70 was not as crisp as my A101 as far as lag. Keep in mind my phone is blazingly fast. The Froyo update made things faster but some people noted it was under clocked at 800 Mhz, though performance is the same or better. I used Z4Root to temporarily root and another program to set the CPU max back to 1 GHz and it is quite smooth. Additionally Flash on the Froyo release is less than perfect but Archos announced they are waiting for their agreement with Adobe to be finalized to release their authorized Flash that is hardware optimized. If you're not a geek that means once the legal contracts are in order instead of using the central processor for intense calculations it passes it off to the graphics processor which can handle it with less work and frees up everything else at the same time. The net result should be much nicer and smoother.

Now for the good. First off Archos is known for buggy initial releases that get a lot better with a few of their continued updates. Several months in with their last tablet they released hardware graphics drivers that netted the tablet among the very best scores of any Android device for graphics. This release has been good and should get even better. Still it helps if you are willing to putter around a bit, install the market hack and go to archosfans.com if you have a problem. Archos has decent support, but the community support is awesome. The new media players are excellent. Other Android devices are left wanting but Archos has been working on the core media player for 10 years and it shows with a wide variety of codecs handled flawlessly. Archos also performs to the battery specs they list. For this tablet you can play with it all day long, browse the web and watch videos and not have to charge until late. Charging is very fast with the AC adapter.

The best part of this device is the huge screen real estate for a tablet and how responsive it is. The built in stereo speakers are surprisingly good, full and loud. The kick stand is great. What really gets impressive though is what it can do extra. Yes, you can add memory with Micro SD. You can also play media over UPnP and SMB. Beyond that you have a full size USB host plug. Take your nice high end camera, take some pictures and plug it in to your A101 to download and see it in big screen glory, or grab a 500 GB drive and take your entire media collection with you. Get a micro HDMI cable and you can not only play movies out to your TV but your entire experience moves to the TV with the Archos becoming a touch pad. Get a game control or Bluetooth keyboard and mouse, even a USB controller. You can browse the web in 720p on your big screen from the couch or do a slide show or whatever for friends.

I had the A70 in my booth at a holiday show and a lady asked about it as I was recording sales over wifi and said she had an iPad. I asked her to give me an opinion of my A101. She was interested and I handed it to her and she was amazed how light it was. It is actually 20% smaller and 30% lighter as well as thinner and 16x9 instead of 4x3... even though the iPad has a smaller screen technically at 9.7 inches. She didn't see a problem with how the screen looked, though the iPad has a nicer screen. However when she saw the connectivity options and expandability she immediately asked where she could get one. She had the look of someone who had spent too much money for too many limitations.

Tablets are hot items. Once you try one you will realize that you may not drag your laptop around the house but you will with a tablet. Other companies will produce more impressive hardware lists or do one thing or another better, but the people who have bought some of the new dream spec sheet units are also on the Archos forum and resigned to the fact that the experience Archos has means they have the more polished user experience. Additionally while some new start up may or may not support the device and provide updates Archos has updated my devices regularly for the opening months and has released updates at over a year after launch on the last 3 generations of devices. Archos listens to customers better than one might imagine for a little French company and they know how to make compelling devices.

I close with this. After ditching my BlackBerry for a Galaxy S variant (Samsung Vibrant) I thought I would move away from Archos for the Galaxy Tab. While it is an impressive device it is too expensive, and I also heard the rounded back made it slide off things too easy. I realized I could get two Archos tablets for that price, a 7 and a 10, so I did. Last year I paid $370 each for 32 GB 5 inch tablets. This year I paid $275 and $300. Next year I expect these tablets to be working just fine, but being a gadget whore I know Archos will have a new Eagle quad core tablet running Honeycomb and I will just have to buy it. My A101 will not be seeing as much love and won't be worth selling, but might make an awesome gift to someone who has been lusting after it. The important point is I won't be paying $25-$40 a month for a $600 device on 2 year contract consumed with lust and remorse. I will plop down $250-$350 for the new one.

If you can find this in stock get it and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This would be a great tablet, if the screen wasn't so awful, December 16, 2010
This review is from: ARCHOS 101 Internet Tablet 8GB (Personal Computers)
I owned an Archos 101 for a few hours before quickly returning it. For me, the device did not live up to expectations nor was it an acceptable product for my intended use. The caveat to this is that this type of device is intended to be used in a variety of ways (gaming, Internet browsing, eBook reader, general time killer, etc.) and not everyone is going to have the same user experience as me. Having said that, I intended to use this device as a comic book reader, eBook reader and web browser. For the most part, the Archos 101's 1Ghz Hummingbird processor, 256MB of RAM, and Android 2.2 (Froyo) lived up to expectations. I thought the guts of this thing performed admirable, other than some wifi issues (the 101 does not like WEP security ... but then, Archos states that explicitly in the user guide - the user guide even recommends a wifi security type). Browsing the web was speedy, comics loaded quickly using my favorite Android comic viewer (Comic Reader Mobi) and I had zero issues watching YouTube videos.

HOWEVER, (and it's an all caps HOWEVER), the viewing angles of this screen are abysmal. I did my homework on the 101 before I bought it, and knew that this was a common complaint. But, stating that "some viewing angles are bad" is an understatement. Unless you hold the 101 in landscape mode at a very specific angle, the colors shift and, in particular, black colors appear to be what I would call "solarized". When holding the 101 in portrait mode, this is noticeable at ALL angles, which makes it very difficult to read anything on it (much less comics or eBooks).

I find it unfortunate that Archos chose to use a 1024x600 TFT LCD screen for this device. Everything else about the 101 is excellent. It feels sturdy, even though it weighs in at just over 1 pound, and the kickstand is a nice feature. The processor was peppy enough to handle its advertised functionality and the software (including Flash) operated smoothly. (At least for me. I have an Android phone and am used to Android's "quirks." Users of other operating systems may feel differently about this.) But, ultimately it is the screen that you end up staring at when you use the 101, and on that front (pun intended) this device is a failure to me. Hopefully Archos' gen 9 round of tablets will feature improved screens. If they get that right, I believe that they'll have a decent product at a reasonable price point. Unfortunately, the potential for future releases of Android 2.3 (Gingerbread) and 3.0 (Honeycomb) for the 101 is lost because the screen is just too difficult to look at.

As an aside, there have been many reviewers that have commented about the lack of Google Market and how easy it is to side load. I had zero issues installing Market and installing apps from it. There are a couple different solutions for getting Market on the 101 - one worked for me and one didn't. If you're trying to install market and the first one doesn't work for you, don't give up. And, be sure to read the installation instructions because it is not as straightforward as simply sideloading an .apk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Archos 101 Internet Tablet, March 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ARCHOS 101 Internet Tablet 8GB (Personal Computers)
Length:: 3:54 Mins

This is a review of the Archos 101 Internet Tablet. I purchased the 8GB tablet ARCHOS 101 Internet Tablet 8GBand purchased an 8GB SD Card. I found most Apps will load directly to the SD Card saving space on the tablet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Archos 101 is Perfect for the Price, November 29, 2010
This review is from: ARCHOS 101 Internet Tablet 8GB (Personal Computers)
Is the Archos 101 an ipad, no. But does it do just about everything, yet TONS more. YES!

The build quality is actually pretty good, no it's not made out of the same material as a Macbook Pro or the ipad. But it's actually pretty well built for only being $299. I mean really, you can't expect to much for $299.

This device for the price is actually very good. I love mine. I have a 32GB MicroSD in mine and I have plenty of Storage. Android 2.2 should be dropping on the device any day now. I heard tomorrow.. Just a few things that make the Archos 101 way better than the ipad are: Camera, USB Host Slot, Micro USB Slot, MicroSD Slot, HDMI OUT IS HUGE FOR ME. oh and it runs Android. That little Green Robot that is taking over the world.

HDMI out works great to my TV. Watching movies are extremely clear and audio sync's fine, Playing games also works great over HDMI. Overall this is a great device. I can access data or files over my network wirelessly, from the internal storage, the MicroSD Storage, and even a USB stick, or USB Hard Drive all at the same time with this thing. So technically it's storage space is unlimited.. This thing rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent bang for your buck!, December 3, 2010
By 
Ms. T (Houston, Tx) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ARCHOS 101 Internet Tablet 8GB (Personal Computers)
***Update 12/15/10*****
After a lot of tinkering, resetting Android and more tinkering: I did pair and tether this with a bluetooth phone. Media cataloging and UPnP media streaming, while slow to connect, does work perfectly. Not sure what changed other than a lot of patience. Some items that I thought were not working just needed to be left alone for a bit and eventually would go thru. However Wifi seems to only connect at G speeds when all my other devices connect easily at N speeds. One tablet of the two still seems buggy and is locking up - I'm sure I can get it sorted out eventually - I keep searching the archos fan forums and reading what others have gone thru and what fixes they know of and it helps a lot. With a little more work, both of these will be perfect tablets.
***Update 12/11/10***
Upon further use, I have realized that some things aeem to not be working with the latest firmware release, and in searching the forums I am reading where others have the same problems - I still like the tablets, and hopefully these issues will be fixed in future firmware updates, but please be aware that:

Bluetooth - So far I can pair these with bluetooth phones, however they both say not connected no matter which phone I pair them with - seems to be an issue with the tablet itself and no matter what I've tried, I can't actually connect them to cell phones using bluetooth (for tethering, or using the phones GPS)
UPNP media streaming seems to be glitchy - sometimes it streams just fine, other times not at all. Media cataloging also seems glitchy - sometimes it includes and indexes video files on the micro-sdhc card and sometimes it doesn't - they are always accessible, it just sometimes randomly seems to not pick these files up as videos and makes you browse to the sd card itself to play them. Performance seemed to improve quite a bit when I moved all apps to the internal storage as opposed to the system storage.
SO, while I still really like the tablets, I am not quite as enthusiastic as I was in the beginning - but I am optimistic that they will release an updated firmware to address these issues and then I will rate them 5 stars again.

******Original Review***** - I love these tablets - I bought two and have tried both out and they are fabulous. First off, you should install updated firmware to upgrade to Android 2.2 (Froyo) as doing this later will cause you to have to re-set everything up later. Initially I was disappointed because there was no access to the Android Marketplace and the Archos apps were buggy, crappy or borderline pornography (not cool Archos - I bought these for kids!), but then I googled and found gapps4archos2 - make sure it's the latest because the original doesn't work on Froyo - and after installing it I then had the Google Marketplace, which is really what makes or breaks an android tablet - from there on out, it was all good - great apps, great functionality, etc. Some things are not there yet - for instance, why can't I skype video chat on a tablet? it has a webcam, it's not due to the tablet limitations - its all Skype who is behind the times - come on Skype - we want video chat on android via wifi!!!! Facebook works well, youtube does not due to the lack of included flash, I supposed. However I loaded flash 10.1 and video was choppy - so I just installed the Dolphin Browser app which is a must have browser replacement which then plays youtube videos perfectly. It plays mp3's perfectly out of the box, and divx movies out of the box with no issues - which is a huge must for me. I want my kids to be able to watch divx movies on the device while in the car. Lots of little games available from the marketplace. My kids are gonna be 2 happy campers this year at Christmas! As for touchscreen calibration that some say they experienced, I have had none of that - it is very accurate and very responsive. Likewise I have no problems with the MicroSD reader that another reviewer complained about - both read my card easily with no issues. I bought these as a mobile video/entertainment solution for my kids that also works great as a study helper for looking up info on the fly and this fits the bill exactly. I also installed the Kindle for Android app so my kids can read the classics available free from Kindle Store - and I must say, it is an excellent e-reader - very clear print! I wish I had ordered 2 more for my husband and myself. When you figure out the price of a kindle reader, a movie player, an mp3 player, a game player, plus internet and homework helper, plus email and facebook (what have I left out? seems like it does it all) then this little tablet works out to be an incredible value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant Value and Superb Versatility, January 5, 2011
This review is from: ARCHOS 101 Internet Tablet 8GB (Personal Computers)
I have an Android Phone and have marveled at the ease of use of the interface and the breadth of applications available for this platform. So, when Tablets started to become available, I hoped the Operating System would be equally satisfying to use in the tablet format. I researched these devices pretty extensively, tried several different models out and ultimately decided the Archos was the best fit for me; and I was not disappointed.

This device is very well built. Several tablets I saw and tried felt like they were made of cheap laptop plastic. The Archos however appears to be made of some type of aluminum with an ABS bezel. It has a nice weight and feel when you are holding it. Also, after having seen other models, I realized the 10" model would be the most useful size for me in this format. The 10" is still smaller than an iPad but only slightly bigger than a Kindle making it big enough that movies and books look fantastic on it (The Kindle APP is free in the Android Marketplace) and the icons are easy to read and easy to tap to activate. Also, I knew I would be doing a bit of typing so I wanted something big enough that I could easily touch type using the onscreen keyboard. I knew, having owned a netbook with a 10" screen that the 10" size would provide ease of use (it is a touch-screen after all) but still be small enough to easily be tucked into a backpack. This device is also VERY thin.

The device took a little bit of setup, but much less than any laptop I ever bought and I was on the internet via my WiFi in under 10 minutes. I was annoyed however that, while this device is compatible with the latest version of Android (Froyo), it did not ship with it. Mine shipped with an older version of Android and when I turned it on and connected it, it immediately prompted me to upgrade to Froyo. I ordered mine directly from Archos; you think they would have done that before they shipped it? Was very easy to update however, but I felt it was just an annoyance that it had to be done right out of the box like that. (I wanted to play). Using the device on my Wifi, browsing the web, playing music and watching video; the battery does not even blink. When I watch a 2 hour movie the battery usually only goes down about 15%. I can go easily go days without charging it with moderate usage. ...I wish my phone were this good with the battery.

Every Android app I have on my phone appears to work on this device including my Sirius/XM Radio App. I did have to install a minor work-around to get the Android Marketplace installed (Google gapps4Archos from the device, download and install). This will put the Google Android Marketplace on the tablet. Many people complain about having to do this to get the Marketplace on the Archos, but what I found is that very few tablets even have the marketplace available period. At least the Archos HAS a work-around. (Google has shut many of the tablets out on purpose). The "work-around" worked perfect and was very easy to install.

The MAIN reason that I chose the Archos however over other brands is Video and Music compatibility. Android devices only recognize .m4v file types natively for video (same format as the iPad/iPhone). To play video on these tablets and any Android phone you need to first convert your video to the appropriate format. Most of my video is in .avi (DIVX, H264), mkv, and .mpg and some in DVD (vob) formats. The Archos device, by design, has been customized by Archos to recognize them all. I installed a 32GB SD chip in mine and can copy lots of media to the device and pretty much play anything in my library without having to convert it first. I can even use the file browser which came with the device to stream files directly off of my computer/media server and play them or copy them that way as well. That I believe is one of the biggest differentiators between the Archos and other models of Android Tablet(s). ...That and the fact that this device is one of the least expensive premium tablets available... and well worth every penny I think anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A terrible product. Avoid., April 18, 2011
By 
Adam (Raleigh, NC, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ARCHOS 101 Internet Tablet 8GB (Personal Computers)
I already have a Samsung Galaxy Tab but wanted to try out a 10 inch Android tablet. I wanted an Android 2.2 tablet as opposed to a 3.0 tablet for a number of reasons. I decided to give the Archos 101 a shot as it had a 1GHz processor so I figured it would perform close to my tab. Boy was I wrong! There is so much wrong with this thing I don't even know where to begin...

First, the screen is absolutely terrible in a number of ways. First it has no sensible viewing angle. You can only view it from one very specific and unnatural angle otherwise you experience sever color distortion. I'm not talking about a slight washing out of the colors or something. The screen completely inverts black to greyish-white unless you are looking at it dead on holding it at around a 30 degree angle. The screen reminds me of a screen that would have been on a first generation color laptop in the 90s. It is just terrible.

But the fail doesn't stop at the viewing angle (which already pretty much renders it useless) the touch portion of the screen is also completely messed up. Instead of going with glass for the screen Archos went with a very flimsy and soft plastic. There's a reason every other capacitive screen, on every other device on the market, is behind a strong glass panel. Putting too much pressure on the screen will actually render it unable to sense your touch. It will also create nasty distortion effects as you depress the LCD. In order to use the Archos 101 you have to train your fingers to just barely touch it. I've been using capacitive screens daily since the first iPhone came out and no other one I've used was like this. The result is so imprecise and insensitive that typing is frustrating and touches are inaccurate.

A tablet is essentially just a large touch screen you hold in your hands and the Archos 101 has the worst touch screen I've ever used. For a tablet screen you need touch precision and a good viewing angle. The Archos gives you neither. It looks terrible from every angle and the touch barely works.

That's enough to return this thing but it actually manages to get worse! The GPU is terrible. Games that run smooth as butter on my Galaxy Tab crawl on the 101. Some examples are Fruit Ninja and Guerilla Bob. Other games that did run were stuttery and occasionally laggy. General GPU performance for the Android UI was equally poor with rough and stuttery transitions and choppy scrolling. I tried various home screen replacements and what not but it wasn't the software, it was the slow GPU in the Archos unable to drive the graphics.

It continues to get worse. The software included is terrible. The custom music and video apps might be cool but they aren't rendered at native resolution but run scaled up. They look terrible and blocky. Plus there are numerous bugs and UX issues in the Archos developed apps. There are also strange bugs all throughout the Archos software. When you first set the tablet up it gives you the option to install third party software. This fails automatically. So you don't even get out of the welcome setup thing without an error. Setting up Apps Lib is a total hassle with confusing and incorrect directions. There's also an error upon attempting to register the device. The software is just a complete mess. Apps freeze and force close constantly. The device rebooted itself or froze and required a reboot more in a couple hours than I've ever seen from an Android device.

I could go on and on. The camera manages to be both low res and low frame rate (how'd they even manage that combo?) The build quality is janky. It's too heavy. The kickstand never goes back in properly and would obviously break with use. It does't charge via USB. It's got a tiny amount of space to install apps to and most apps wont download data to the strange internal storage so you need a hefty SD card. It has no RAM (128mb? Really? On a tablet?) Everything about it is terrible.

I returned this thing. DO NOT BUY THIS TABLET!!!! It is a waste of money. We just have to face it: quality tablets like the Galaxy Tab and the Xoom are expensive because they require expensive components and software development! I loved my Galaxy Tab but after using my 101 I've fallen in love with it all over again. I had no idea just how incredible it was until I compared it to the disaster that is the 101. Do not waste your money on this stinker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Copied from my blog to help other fans out! :), December 16, 2010
This review is from: ARCHOS 101 Internet Tablet 8GB (Personal Computers)
Like anything, there are various pros & cons associated with the product, but the short version is that--at least for me--none of the cons I've come across thus far are deal breakers.

In The Box

Tablet
Power cord with multiple plug attachments (US, UK, and Euro)
USB to USB micro-b cable
User guides
Pros

10.1 inch screen works perfectly UNLESS you have both AppsLib & Market installed, which makes everything, including screen response time, sluggish (see con regarding RAM below)
Android 2.1 (Eclair) or 2.2 (FroYo): My tablet shipped with Eclair, but immediately downloaded & installed FroYo once I connected to my WiFi. Will likely be shipped with FroYo to begin with sooner than later, but the installation is extremely simple until then.
Most apps you will want are available on AppsLib, which is the third-party alternative to the Android Market.
Able to use Google Talk app (if you install Market, etc) without using SMS
$150 cheaper than comparable iPad (comparing 16 gig with WiFi only)
Both lightweight & sturdy: Doesn't feel unbalanced or unwieldy when held in portrait or landscape modes
Battery: Only needed to charge once since the initial charge on the 2nd, and I've used it every day for at least a few hours since getting it. (Don't have the exact amount of time at the moment, but it's at least 1.5 times what my phone normally sees in usage per charge.)
Cons

No pre-installed Google applications (Market, Gmail, etc): From what I understand, the reason these apps aren't included automatically is that Archos isn't part of the Open Handset Alliance. This doesn't mean they aren't available, though; members of the Archos Fans forums have uploaded .apk files that can be used to install the native applications for each version of Android.
Only 256 mb RAM: Really, most of the complaints I have with the tablet can all be directly traced to this low amount of memory. Of the three nights since my 101 was delivered, I've experienced three system hangs that require a reboot, and about a dozen instances where one app or another is so sluggish I end up force closing it. Even the "Photo Frame" app that comes preloaded seems to hesitate if you add a large number of files for display.
AppsLib & the Google apps don't get along well: This is likely related to the RAM problem the 101 has, but I had twice as many app crashes when I had both options installed. I've since run the reformat and installed only the Google application pack, declining the "Third Party Apps" option in the initial setup.
Even with the Google apps & FroYo, Flash isn't working consistently yet, and neither is YouTube: Not sure if this is a RAM problem or just compatibility, but it is something I've noticed. You can still install Flash 10.1 if you have the Market installed, but it doesn't work properly so far. Without the Market installed, you won't be able to install Flash at all until Archos releases their optimized version of Flash for their tablets. YouTube simply refuses to install successfully.
Doesn't charge via included USB from computer, but can charge via USB + USB wall adapter.
Overall

I haven't tried many games on it yet, only Angry Birds, but that at least works wonderfully, and is actually much more enjoyable on the larger screen. Likewise, while the Kindle app is virtually worthless on a phone IMO, it's extremely comfortable reading on the 101. The camera is front-facing only, and while quality isn't 100%, it's for chatting & Facebook photos, not award-winning photography.

Fuzzy, but functional. (NOTE: Follow the link at the bottom of this review to see the photo I took with the tablet, since it didn't load when I pasted the review to Amazon! ^_^)

Also, the Photo Frame app allows you to pull down photos from yours & your friends' Facebook albums, in addition to Flickr, Picasa, local media servers, and device storage. And while I mentioned above in my cons that Flash doesn't work consistently if you install it via the Market, I've never had a problem with it that a simple refresh of the page I was on wouldn't fix. So far, I've watched about 3 hours of Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood online through Flash sites and it hasn't given me problems once a video starts; only some of the time when I initially load the page containing the Flash video. Sound quality is about equal to my laptop speakers, which is listen able but not wonderful.

The tablet does also have a normal-sized USB port for plugging other devices up (phones, thumb drives, etc), a mini HDMI port (which I haven't tested yet just because I don't have a mini HDMI cord), standard 3.5mm headphone jack, and an additional micro SDHC slot.

While I don't have any experience with other Android tablets that I can use as a comparison to the 101, I'd definitely recommend this to someone wanting to start out on Android and/or tablets. For a normal user, I'd rate this probably a 4 of 5; for a power user or for fanboys and fangirls, I'd say it's anywhere from a 3.5 to a 4.5 of 5, depending on what the individual users would want out of the machine. For myself, it's a solid 4, with deductions made only for the low RAM.

Original review: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK price for the product if it suits your need..., January 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ARCHOS 101 Internet Tablet 8GB (Personal Computers)
After researching for more than 1 month online, I bought A101 on 12/22 when it was available on Amazon for just a couple of hours. Finally received it on the last day of 2011.

The process I went thru for the system set up: (after reviewing related postings on Amazon and Archosfan)
1. Hooked it up to the Wi-fi network.
(You want to make sure you plug the power adapter into the correct hole on the side, but NOT the headphone jack. They are almost in the same size.)
2. Updated A101 firmware to Froyo (v2.2.1).
3. Declined "Third Party Apps" in Startup Wizard since someone said the original Archos AppsLib may be conflicted with the Android Market.
4. Adjusted the CPU speed back to the faster 1Ghz. (Settings>About Device>Power Management>Overdrive)
5. Got Android Market v.5 by following the instructions on Archosfan.
6. Downloaded Adobe Flash Player 10.1, Youtube, Kindle reader, etc. from Android Market.
And then it's a fully functional A101!!

I bought it mainly:
- for convenient internet browsing.
- as the eReader for Amazon ebooks and a lot of PDF documents, ex. annual reports published by public listed companies.

The pros:
- Good screen size and battery life. Could be a very good multi-functional eReader.
- Internet browser with flash support. Much more ideal than iPad for net surfing.
- Great expandability: Micro-SD, USB jack and USB host port, mini-HDMI output, and the front Webcam. You get none from iPad.
- You get whatever you like in the Android Market.
- Good video/music playing support.
- Very good price for what you get above.

The cons:
- I feel the touch screen is not as sharp/sensitive as my iPhone 3GS, but it works totally OK. Some people think the viewing angle is an issue, but it's not my case. I will use A101 in the bus every day when I commute, and I don't really want the guy sits next to me to see what I see.
- The first time set up work does require some research and could be frustrating if you don't have basic tech savvy.
- A lot of apps in Android Market are currently not as good as those in Apple store, ex. NY Times, CNBC, Yahoo Finance. However, I think it's just a matter of time for Android to catch up since it will dominate the market.

In short, if you set a correct expectation on this small device, you should enjoy using it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With the exception of no 2.2 Archos finally gets it right, November 27, 2010
This review is from: ARCHOS 101 Internet Tablet 8GB (Personal Computers)
Wow Archos has finally delivered a true tablet! I just got mine yesterday and love it.With the Android Market successfully installed along with youtube.apk this baby does it all.Other than an out of the box touchscreen calibration issue I have had no issues with my 101.At these prices the101 is the class winner.If you are fortunate enough to find one BUY IT!!!!!! I promise you won't be dissapointed.I have but one caveat though, do not expect Archos to meet there projected end of November Froyo (2.2) firmware upgrade date.Archos is notorious for not meeting their deadlines.Have a little faith though and you will be rewarded.

Well ladies and gentlemen here it is 12/16/10 and let me report that Archos has issued a new firmware update and the 101it (mine at least) is smokin' fast now!!! Android 2.2 Froyo runs beautifully on mine and I could not be happier.These new Gen8 Archos tablets are an overwhelming value now with the new update. YOU WILL NOT FIND A BETTER TABLET FOR THIS PRICE ANYWHERE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa70bcce4)

This product

ARCHOS 101 Internet Tablet 8GB
Used & New from: $100.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.