Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must-have" for radio amateurs
As with most editions of the ARRL antenna book, much of the valuable (and proven) reference material doesn't change. This edition was updated a fair amount, had some new articles, and included the CD reference, with supplemental notes. This ability to character-search on a topic, as well as the bundled demo version of EZNEC antenna modeling software, makes it a really...
Published on April 10, 2012 by wes

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars software quirky
The book has been very helpful in solving antenna problems. The program is a little quirky. I can modify any of the example designs to serve my purposes but if I save the altered design, the program reverts to the rudimentary free version.
Published 19 months ago by Thomas T. Wilheit


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must-have" for radio amateurs, April 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ARRL Antenna Book 22nd Ed Softcover (Paperback)
As with most editions of the ARRL antenna book, much of the valuable (and proven) reference material doesn't change. This edition was updated a fair amount, had some new articles, and included the CD reference, with supplemental notes. This ability to character-search on a topic, as well as the bundled demo version of EZNEC antenna modeling software, makes it a really good bargain. If you don't have this one on your shelf, you need to, simple as that. I suspect it will be referred back to for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required Reference For Radio Geeks, May 29, 2012
By 
Quin (Indianapolis Indiana) - See all my reviews
This review is from: ARRL Antenna Book 22nd Ed Softcover (Paperback)
I have tinkered with antenna construction since high school. I was never sorry to have dropped the cash down for this book. Probably 10 times more info than I will ever need and if I am not pulling out the basic math for construction, there is so much in this book, it gives me endless ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Antenna Book, July 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ARRL Antenna Book 22nd Ed Softcover (Paperback)
As an Amateur Radio operator, especially if you are one that would rather build your own Antenna's and save mega bucks, this is a must for your amateur radio library. You can get all the plans you can think of off the net for any HF/UHF/VHF antenna's, but unless you know at least some of the principles of anatenna operation your only half there.

Best book on Antenna's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential to beginners through experts., June 17, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ARRL Antenna Book 22nd Ed Softcover (Paperback)
My first copy of this book was the 14th edition. After years of learning, researching, dreaming, and building, that book needed to be replaced. Pages yellowed, (thanks to their acid paper), worn cover, and sections falling out. What is inside, makes it an excellent book. Surely, it could not be improved much.

I decided to purchase the latest edition, and WOW! Have things changed! The 22nd edition is not just a rehash. The amount of new material is mind boggling, and honestly, to a radio and electronics geek like me, very exciting. The book is huge and heavy, and I don't think the pages will rot and yellow like an old newspaper anymore, though I can't confirm that it is acid free paper.

The book is reorganized and they spent a lot of time simplifying the looking up of topics. So many projects from the pages of QST have been added, that author and project indexes have been included. They included a CD ROM of the entire book, so you can go to your computer, and search for specific words or phrases. That is all I expected, but there are many other bits of useful software that they put on the disc, including all kinds of designing programs.

If you have interest in antennas at all, this book needs to be in your library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Covers close to everything (and therein lies the problem), July 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ARRL Antenna Book 22nd Ed Softcover (Paperback)
Not a book that will give a quick answer to an existing question, but one that will answer probably 95% of the questions if one spends the time to study the concepts. Definitely a reference every ham with the need or desire to build, tweak or maintain antennae should own (and use!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, but nothing you can't find online, October 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ARRL Antenna Book 22nd Ed Softcover (Paperback)
The information in this book can all be found online, if you look hard enough. The antenna modeling software that comes with it isn't full versions, but they're usable. The price is actually cheaper than the discounted member price direct from ARRL. In all likelihood you only need a small amount of the information in this book, and you'll be better suited by a google search, but if you want a reference for everything from beginner antenna theory to advanced types of antenna and antenna design, put this on your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good reference manual!, March 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ARRL Antenna Book 22nd Ed Softcover (Paperback)
Being new to amateur radio and lacking technical knowledge, I found this ARRL Antenna Book a very good reference manual as I slowly build my shack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the Antenna Lover, September 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ARRL Antenna Book 22nd Ed Softcover (Paperback)
My husband build his own antennas and loves this book. Lots of information for the truly dedicated amateur radio operator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Would expect nothing less from ARRL, August 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ARRL Antenna Book 22nd Ed Softcover (Paperback)
Lots and lots of details but very technical. A very slow read but packed with information about most types of antenna systems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Antenna Reference, August 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ARRL Antenna Book 22nd Ed Softcover (Paperback)
As expected from ARRL, a well organized manual with a large number of different antenna designs from 160 meters to microwaves. Excellent but a little short on theory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

ARRL Antenna Book 22nd Ed Softcover
ARRL Antenna Book 22nd Ed Softcover by arrl (Paperback - October 1, 2011)
$49.95 $39.77
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.