Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Basics and Beyond
Buying the Handbook through Amazon is a no-brainer. It is priced way below the ARRL's price and free shipping is included. The Handbook contains all the electrical engineering basics and then takes on specific topics in detail such as analog and digital modes, antennas, propagation, and building your own equipment. As a real bonus, it comes with a CD that not only...
Published on December 10, 2010 by Dennis P. Finegan

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dumbed down the theory.
This reference has a lot more of the formulas and theory cut out as compared to the 2009 version.
The 2009 version actually went into the implementation details of the FFT, but the 2011 version just has a text description that does not give you much of an understanding of how it works. The ARRL has had a great run getting into practical details of circuit...
Published on September 14, 2011 by Joseph W. Mullens


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Basics and Beyond, December 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The ARRL Handbook for Radio Communications: The Comprehensive RF Engineering Reference [With CDROM] (Paperback)
Buying the Handbook through Amazon is a no-brainer. It is priced way below the ARRL's price and free shipping is included. The Handbook contains all the electrical engineering basics and then takes on specific topics in detail such as analog and digital modes, antennas, propagation, and building your own equipment. As a real bonus, it comes with a CD that not only contains programs and extra files, but also the entire text. I load this on my Netbook PC and can carry the text around wherever I want - and it is fully searchable. This last point alone makes loading it worthwhile. I own the last 6 years of the Handbook, 2 from Amazon and the prior years off of eBay and will continue to purchase for years to come. If you love reading and participating in this great hobby, then by all means order today. It is money well worth it. I wish it was offered in a CD only version, not only to save money but also to go green. These are not small books and take up quite a bit of room on the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Amateur Radio Reference Book, June 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The ARRL Handbook for Radio Communications: The Comprehensive RF Engineering Reference [With CDROM] (Paperback)
This classic reference packs a lot of information into a single volume, covering the gambit of amateur radio topics:

o Fundamental Theory (basics, analog, digital)
o RF Techniques
o Computer Aided Design
o Power Supplies
o Modulation
o Oscillators and Synthesizers
o Mixers, Modulation and Demodulators
o RF and AF Filters
o Receivers
o Transmitters
o Transceivers
o DSP and Software Radio
o Digital Modes
o RF Power Amplifiers
o Repeaters
o Propagation of Radio Signals
o Transmission Lines
o Antennas
o Component Data and Reference
o Construction Techniques
o Station Accessories
o Test Equipment and Measurement
o Troubleshooting and Maintenance
o RF Interference
o Safety
o Assembling a Station
o Space Communications
o Digital Communications
o Image Communications

Best of all, this edition comes with a CD ROM that includes the entire text, searchable on your PC. If you are just getting started in amateur radio, this volume is the closest thing to a 'one stop' shop for answers to your questions. For the experienced amateur there is still a wealth of information. Several of the chapters include projects to delight and motivate the homebrew aficionado. A fabulous reference source for many years and hopefully for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic resource!, May 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The ARRL Handbook for Radio Communications: The Comprehensive RF Engineering Reference [With CDROM] (Paperback)
The ARRL Handbook is a great resource. This book is well written, often updated, and very well produced. The ARRL Handbook is worth your money, and your time.

Loads of 'basic electronics' information - I'm not repeating the index here - and then you're off in to the vast world of amateur radio. The ARRL Handbook is perhaps the single most useful book for anyone interested in amateur radio; not only is there a great deal of 'theory,' there is a great amount of practical detail. Construction details, real-world circuit difficulties, antennas by the dozens, just about anything you can think of is addressed in the ARRL Handbook.

The drawings and photos are pretty much first rate and importantly they are on the same page as the text that refers to them.

Included is a CD, fully downloadable and searchable, but not as much fun to handle as the book.

Would I buy it again? Absolutely.

Is the review as good as the book? Absolutely not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you could only have one electronics technical book. . ., April 27, 2011
By 
Don M (Shelton, WA, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The ARRL Handbook for Radio Communications: The Comprehensive RF Engineering Reference [With CDROM] (Paperback)
. . .this would be the one. A good overview of electronics from basic DC theory to antenna esoterica, including projects. I bought my first copy of the Handbook when I initially got interested in radio and electronics more than sixty years ago. When I decided to get back in to amateur radio this year, the Handbook was one of my first purchases. If I could rate this publication with six stars, I would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as usual. Surpriseless, December 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The ARRL Handbook for Radio Communications: The Comprehensive RF Engineering Reference [With CDROM] (Paperback)
A very good point for the shipping time. The book arrived three weeks before it's deadline.

The "HANDBOOK" is always technically first class and full of ideas on all the aspects of ham radio. A must have in all radioamateurs shelves.
George CX4BW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ARRL Handbook 2011, May 2, 2011
By 
Larry Kennedy (Fort Worth, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The ARRL Handbook for Radio Communications: The Comprehensive RF Engineering Reference [With CDROM] (Paperback)
This is an excellent one of a kind handbook. This handbook should be on every Ham's bookshelf and should be mandatory reading. This book is a starting place for nearly every project or question related to our "special" hobby. I now have held a license for almost 50 years. I have purchased several of these handbooks over the years but I have not purchased one in recent years. The difference between the last handbook I purchased and this one is a huge jump. Match this up with your QST subscription and you have most of everything you need in the way of information. I also have been an ARRL life member for nearly 40 years. The ARRL has expanded its publications and there are very few that I would not suggest as a great book. Since buying this book I have plans to expand my library to include many other ARRL new publications on subjects on which I have a special interest.

No matter what your subject interest I think you will find an in-depth discussion with photos and illustrations to help you understand the subject.

I can't imagine studying for your next license upgrade without this book. Take your license study manual and set this book right next to it. When you find a question or subject that is a little hard to understand, reach for this handbook and you'll find explanations and illustrations which will increase your learning curve.

I don't believe there is a handbook on this subject anywhere that can come even close to this one. You'll find the information thorough and explanations that are easily understood.

This is the one book that no Ham should be without. You will find yourself checking for formulas, charts, graphs and photos on nearly any part of our ever growing hobby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good learning and reference source, April 27, 2011
By 
Plaw (Charlottesville, VA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The ARRL Handbook for Radio Communications: The Comprehensive RF Engineering Reference [With CDROM] (Paperback)
This book provides a great wealth of information. Good both for initial learning about electricity and electronics and for a review of topics long forgotten. The only problem I have had, and it's a small one, is that sometimes cross-references are made in the text to subjects not easily found elsewhere in the book without spending some time digging for them. All in all a good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, December 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The ARRL Handbook for Radio Communications: The Comprehensive RF Engineering Reference [With CDROM] (Paperback)
It's not for me but this book make's my dad happy every Christmas when he opens it. He has been a ham radio operator now for some 40+ years and keeps up with the changing thing's using this "ARRL Handbook for Radio Communications".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dumbed down the theory., September 14, 2011
This review is from: The ARRL Handbook for Radio Communications: The Comprehensive RF Engineering Reference [With CDROM] (Paperback)
This reference has a lot more of the formulas and theory cut out as compared to the 2009 version.
The 2009 version actually went into the implementation details of the FFT, but the 2011 version just has a text description that does not give you much of an understanding of how it works. The ARRL has had a great run getting into practical details of circuit construction and home brewing, and illustrating how theory relates to the real world, but I highly resist books that become too fluffy. This edition is not useful for those that want to implement software radios. This is one side of ham radio that I believe holds a lot of promise with the rise of direct conversion receivers and FPGA baseband processing..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Newest ARRL Manual, December 30, 2010
By 
Peri Saner (Andover, KS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The ARRL Handbook for Radio Communications: The Comprehensive RF Engineering Reference [With CDROM] (Paperback)
Christmas gift for my husband, the ham radio operator. It turned out to be what he thought it would be. So he's quite pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.