Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best pruners I have ever used, September 11, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ARS HP-VS8Z Signature Heavy Duty Pruner (Lawn & Patio)
These pruners from ARS are amazing! They put Corona pruners to shame. These were recommended by a friend of mine who is an arborist. I bought the first pair on Amazon.com for a decent price, and then I bought a bunch more ARS tools when I was in Japan (where they are about 20% cheaper) The blades on their high end versions are high carbon steel with a plating to help reduce corrosion. The High Carbon steel blades provide insanely sharp cutting power. I always recommend cleaning off your blades after each use with a disinfectant like Lysol. This will remove most sap gunk and will also help you prevent transferring disease from plant to plant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tool, very sharp blades and excellent leverage for ..., July 31, 2014
By 
Barbara Grant (Lake Forest, Il United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ARS HP-VS8Z Signature Heavy Duty Pruner (Lawn & Patio)
Excellent tool, very sharp blades and excellent leverage for cutting up to 1" branches, but precise enough to deadhead miniature flowers too. I have medium sized (W) hands and the 8" size is perfect. Very well made and the squeeze to open is very useful, and the lock can be done-one handed and is out of the way so it never opens accidentally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best hand pruners I have found, August 25, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ARS HP-VS8Z Signature Heavy Duty Pruner (Lawn & Patio)
These are the best hand pruners I have found. I had been using the fiscars premium model with the rotating handle, but the gears are only plastic and first they kept getting out of alignment so it would not lock in closed position, then they fell apart totally. These are even sharper and cut more easily. They are very solidly made of steel except for the grips, and are worth the extra cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent pruners at any price, May 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ARS HP-VS8Z Signature Heavy Duty Pruner (Lawn & Patio)
Love these! Cuts through branches like butter. I have smaller hands and they fit me perfectly. However, cutting anything thicker than 1/2 in is a bit of a chore requiring considerable effort. The cutting edge is super sharp, with a very nice edge. This helps a lot in cutting efficiency.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cuts through branches like butter!, November 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ARS HP-VS8Z Signature Heavy Duty Pruner (Lawn & Patio)
As reviewed on WireCutter, great product! This cuts through branches like butter. Hoping it will last forever!! I use it to cut a bamboo plant and even when the branches are 0.5 inches in diameter, this thing has no problems at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ARS HP-VS8Z Signature Heavy Duty Pruner (Lawn & Patio)
Zounds, what clippers. I can spend all day cutting things in my yard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fit in hand really well and cuts like a hot knife through butter, August 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ARS HP-VS8Z Signature Heavy Duty Pruner (Lawn & Patio)
Fabulous! Fit in hand really well and cuts like a hot knife through butter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT Pruners!!!, June 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ARS HP-VS8Z Signature Heavy Duty Pruner (Lawn & Patio)
Great pruners but I don't think they make replacement blades for this model any more...???....And the replacement blades for other models cost nearly as much as the complete unit.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Pruners Period!, January 26, 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ARS HP-VS8Z Signature Heavy Duty Pruner (Lawn & Patio)
I have used the ARS hand pruners for two seasons on a young apple and pear orchard that I have. Overall we have about 150 trees that need pruning each year so it is important to have dependable pruners that will stay sharp. Orchard owners like me prune hard and heavy once a year and then these ARS hand pruners get cleaned and go back into the drawer until next pruning season. I have used Corona, Stihl and other pruners and none of them compares to the ARS for comfort, quality and ability to hold an edge.

If you are serious and want the best without hassle and having to constantly sharpen, then these are for you. They cost more than the other brands but honestly, when it is cold, raining and you have to get the job done, you will be glad you paid the extra money for these pruners.

One thing I have learned over the years is that no matter how good the pruners are, they should be cleaned (sap removal with alcohol) and lightly oiled (WD 40 or 3 in One) after each use. These pruners will last for years if a gardener practices good tool cleaning hygiene. Besides, if you go to the trouble of planting something you like but don't clean your tools, you face the risk of spreading disease from plant to plant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sharp, February 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ARS HP-VS8Z Signature Heavy Duty Pruner (Lawn & Patio)
i was between these and the felco , im glad i bought these they are super sharp comfortable and i don't need to clean them like other models.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

ARS HP-VS8Z Signature Heavy Duty Pruner
$88.83 $36.13
In stock. Usually ships within 4 to 5 days.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.