Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine product for the money.
Does what it is supposed to. Looking good too!

However, the battery door IS tricky to open. You have to unscrew the screw right next to the door and use a slotted screw driver or something to "force" it open. And there's virtually no battery holder in there! (Well, at least on mine. There's only a piece of carboard shaped to "hold" the battery, and it moves...
Published on June 1, 2010 by Jin Zeng

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bleeds signal to off channel
I've been trying to find a decent A/B switch for awhile to switch between my tube amp and pod rig. Unfortunately, this one did not fit the bill. The switches are too close together, and worse, whichever channel is off still gets signal from the other channel - it bleeds. It does not seem to suck tone at least, even when both channels are on ('Y' mode) but if you use this...
Published 12 months ago by GuyFromHamptRoads


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine product for the money., June 1, 2010
This review is from: ART CoolSwitch (Electronics)
Does what it is supposed to. Looking good too!

However, the battery door IS tricky to open. You have to unscrew the screw right next to the door and use a slotted screw driver or something to "force" it open. And there's virtually no battery holder in there! (Well, at least on mine. There's only a piece of carboard shaped to "hold" the battery, and it moves around a bit inside.)

Just to be clear, this little thing is actually passive switching/combining device. I opened the box once. The battery is used soley to provide power to the two LED indicators. All actions are based on those two passive DPDT switches; signal path uses one side of the "throw" and battery power uses the other. Battery power is switch ON and OFF by plugging in and unplugging one of the inputs (or both), and only mono (TS) phone jacks work properly here (and that's what this is designed for).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid piece of gear, October 1, 2007
By 
This review is from: ART CoolSwitch (Electronics)
Solid foot pedal with sturdy construction and durable buttons. No noise that I can tell. Requires a battery and it was hard to get the battery lid off. I wound up taking off the entire bottom plate to change the battery. Other than that this is a good purchase at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product -- be sure to read the directions, July 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ART CoolSwitch (Electronics)
This pedal is fantastic -- I use it to switch between 2 effect chains before my amp (effectively the same as switching between two guitars into a single amp input). Switching is noiseless, even with high gain and distortion boxes emitting molten metal. This box is significantly cheaper than most ABY boxes out there. It's a little small and the buttons are kinda close together, but it's not a problem for me and my size 14 shoes. It seems sturdy and well-made.

I'm not thrilled that it requires a screwdriver to change the battery, but hopefully the battery will last for eons as all it does is fund an LED (the switching circuit is passive). I'm hopeful it will operate fine without a battery, but I have not tried it.

NOTE: Read the enclosed short and simple directions. I have seen several online reviews where people complained that the switch did not work for them, and they obviously did not read the directions (you have to reverse ins/outs depending whether you are switching 2 inputs to a single output, or switching a single input to 2 outputs).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid, Simple, and Cheap, June 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ART CoolSwitch (Electronics)
For the price this is a solid ABY switch. It's a very simple device so there's not a lot to go on about. It does it's job flawlessly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put this pedal to your metal!, March 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ART CoolSwitch (Electronics)
If you want to switch between two amps onstage or in practice, this is fundamental to your metal!
Best priced, well packaged, prompt delivery by this merchant......need more be said?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what I wanted it to do, December 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ART CoolSwitch (Electronics)
Works very well. Allowed me to route my bass guitar to my amp and the xbox. Wanted to play ROCKSMITH on Xbox, but also play through my amp (not just my stereo speakers).

Only complaint I have is the housing of the 9V battery. It doesn't reside in a compartment like many items today. It's hard to access the battery. The corner got hung up inside so I had to remove the switch cover to get it out, not the batter cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bleeds signal to off channel, April 20, 2013
This review is from: ART CoolSwitch (Electronics)
I've been trying to find a decent A/B switch for awhile to switch between my tube amp and pod rig. Unfortunately, this one did not fit the bill. The switches are too close together, and worse, whichever channel is off still gets signal from the other channel - it bleeds. It does not seem to suck tone at least, even when both channels are on ('Y' mode) but if you use this for 'A' OR 'B' the off channel will get signal bleed. So in my case, when my clean pod is ON (A is selected), the distorted amp which should be OFF (B) but still bleeds through, ruining the clean tone. Also, no 9v adapter - had to use a battery eliminator cable(not included). Fed up with these lousy A/B products - ordered a loop master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORKS GREAT, November 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ART CoolSwitch (Electronics)
This AB switch does exactly what I want, a great bargain compared to others on the market costing 3 times as much.
jjv
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So far so good, September 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ART CoolSwitch (Electronics)
Works as expected. As well as stated in ad. I'd like to have a DC jack but it doesn't eat batteries quickly. Good so far. Doesn't color sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars PIECE OF CRAP, February 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ART CoolSwitch (Electronics)
CHANNELS BLEED INTO EACH OTHER.
I wasted hours working with this garbage.
Don't waste your time or money. It does not work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa22c89f0)

This product

ART CoolSwitch
$60.00 $45.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.