Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hands-on Review (from Phonewire.com)
The good: The four-way directional button and center "Enter" button become your primary tool to quickly and easily select features without the need to remember codes or special key sequences. In fact, all too often, these "non-KSU" phones will have buttons with two or more functions -- not this new AT&T series! The buttons on the phone are self-explanatory and only serve...
Published on August 12, 2008 by Matthew J. Rygelski

versus
36 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy This For The Answering System
I bought this telephone because it was one of the only ones available that had more than one line and was a wall-mountable digital answering system. I don't use it for a soho system. I recently found out that, and I quote the AT&T technical team, "the phone can only do one thing at a time". So, if you're on line 1 when a call comes into line 2, you're out of luck - the...
Published on September 4, 2009 by Rich W.


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hands-on Review (from Phonewire.com), August 12, 2008
This review is from: AT&T 1080 4-Line Speakerphone with Answering System and Caller ID (Office Product)
The good: The four-way directional button and center "Enter" button become your primary tool to quickly and easily select features without the need to remember codes or special key sequences. In fact, all too often, these "non-KSU" phones will have buttons with two or more functions -- not this new AT&T series! The buttons on the phone are self-explanatory and only serve the one function for which they are labeled. All related feature options appear on the blue backlit LCD screen when you are in a particular mode that offers more options. For example, when you lift the handset and press the Intercom button, the top half of the screen prompts "Intercom No.?" while the bottom half of the screen presents you to optionally "Page" a single extension (instead of simply ringing it) or to "Page All" and broadcast your announcement on all the phones in your home or office simultaneously.

Another improvement, which is why I suspect these phones aren't backwards compatible with earlier AT&T "non-KSU" phones other than the 1000-series: the Intercom audio is digital, crystal clear. No longer will your Intercom calls be subjected to interference from a nearby radio station transmitter or other nuisance! With two phones side-by-side, you can detect a slight millisecond or so delay as an Intercom page is encoded on your phone to be then decoded on the destination phone. The sound quality is truly impressive and worthwhile. If you are currently experiencing any issues with your Intercom on older non-KSU phones, you might want to give a pair of these a test run.

The bad: If you transfer a call from one phone to the next, the caller hears nothing. No music-on-hold, no tones -- nothing but silence. If they had offered an option to play a soft double-beep tone to the caller every couple of seconds, that would have been a worthwhile improvement over dead-air. (However, the ATT 1080 does play a "Please hold" recorded announcement every few seconds when a caller is transferring to an extension by way of the built-in auto attendent included on that ATT 1080 phone. But even that phone leaves the caller with dead air if they are put on hold or transferred by a human instead.)

One big disappointment was with regards to the system recognizing when a caller on-hold had disconnected. I tried everything in my "toolkit" of test equipment, but it seems these phones just don't recognize (or don't care) when a caller that you've placed on-hold chooses to hang up before you return to the call. The system will continue to keep that line blinking on-hold until you retrieve it -- often to the frustration of loud dialtone in your ear.

The ugly: When integrated with an ATT 1080 with the "SYS EXT" voice messaging feature enabled, trying to figure out how to listen to your messages on any phone except the ATT 1080 is a huge headache! For a phone system that is so "menu-driven" by that directional navigation and "enter" button arrangement near the LCD screen, it is irritating to have to dig out a reference card to use this ATT 1070 phone to listen to your messages in the mailbox reserved exclusively for your extension but actually recorded and stored on the ATT 1080 voicemail/answering system. It just seems to me this could have been better thought out!

My guess is that AT&T would probably "recommend" that you purchase an ATT 1080 phone for every person who needs a voicemail/answering system, instead of using one ATT 1080 to serve voicemail for multiple ATT 1070 phone users as their advertising suggests.

Conclusion: Overall, this is a great telephone. All features worked beautifully, each button pressed produced the expected result -- press the Transfer button while on a call, the LCD prompts "Transfer line to ?". By keeping one function per button, and also utilizing the navigation menu-driven options through the phone's display, anyone can easily figure out how to do anything on these phones without ever needing to read any of the documentation.

The speakerphone sounds nice, although the volume of the speaker could've been louder (in my opinion). Each phone allows you to control the ringing tone, volume, and delay ringing options for each line individually. Believe it or not, that level of control of line ringing assignments are usually reserved for KSU systems only! Intercom calling worked flawlessly. All-Page was loud and very practical for a busy home with office, or larger retail store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy This For The Answering System, September 4, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AT&T 1080 4-Line Speakerphone with Answering System and Caller ID (Office Product)
I bought this telephone because it was one of the only ones available that had more than one line and was a wall-mountable digital answering system. I don't use it for a soho system. I recently found out that, and I quote the AT&T technical team, "the phone can only do one thing at a time". So, if you're on line 1 when a call comes into line 2, you're out of luck - the answering system will just ignore the call and it will ring forever. What a piece of junk. How can AT&T sell an answering system phone that doesn't answer?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars buyer beware!, December 8, 2009
This review is from: AT&T 1080 4-Line Speakerphone with Answering System and Caller ID (Office Product)
be sure you read all the information on this phone before you buy. the packaging is very deceiving - the wording on the carton it's packaged in is: 4 line small business system with digital answering system. o.k. it is 4 lines BUT the answering system will work only on line 1 and ONLY if no other lines are busy at the time someone is calling. So if i'm on line 2 and a client is calling me on line 1 i have to put caller on line 2 on hold and answer line 1 - same with all other lines.

deceptive and deceiving - they don't tell you it will work if you buy more than one phone. and when i discovered this it was too late to return it. at & t has lost me as a client.

tax diva
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stay away from this phone. Microphone dies within 30 days, April 1, 2010
By 
L. Nicula (Southern California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AT&T 1080 4-Line Speakerphone with Answering System and Caller ID (Office Product)
I am setting up my business and I bought the 1080 and two 1070. If you read the other reviews and see reports of the mic getting busted after a short while, it is true. Happened to ours within 30 days. I am slapping myself for ignoring the reviews as I usually don't. If you need a speaker phone, do not buy this one. It is defective and they keep on selling them in this state. It is hard to imagine they are not aware of the defect.

And now onto the tedious exchange endeavor....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars pain in the you know what, December 27, 2010
This review is from: AT&T 1080 4-Line Speakerphone with Answering System and Caller ID (Office Product)
I got the entire system, 4 at&t 1080 phones; the wireless headset and the lifter. Frankly, all are a piece of junk in my opinion. The lifter quit working after 3 weeks. It was picky from the get-go, and after trying to get it set so that it would actually pick up the receiver sufficiently, the sticky gave out and it would continually slip. As a result, I gave up on the wireless headset. If I have to lift the receiver all the time then the wireless headset is a frill and not practical. The 1080 phone system itself is quirky. To actually get 3 and 4 line functionality, you have to plug in to at least two different phone outlets. My prior system (Nortel Venture) had a three line functionality from a single outlet. Plus the 1080 phone system won't let me respond to one line that is on hold until the other line hangs up. If line one and two are being used for example, I can't respond to line one on hold until line 2 is vacated. Weird. I've had the system about 3 years now. I don't care for the answering system. The caller is required to diel "9" to leave a message. Unreal how many people can't follow those instructions. A simple "leave a message at the beep" type answering system would be better. Nortel Venture phone system had this. Plus, it seems you have to put in two messages for after hours answering. The multiple steps for programing the phone are not particularly intuitive. After 3 years, I am kinda used to it, but wouldn't buy this again. Pricey as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Phone For Small Business, September 20, 2008
This review is from: AT&T 1080 4-Line Speakerphone with Answering System and Caller ID (Office Product)
Phone worked great right out of the box.

Big, easy buttons to hit. The digital answering system is great (no subscription required).

Quality is superb, no problem with the speaker phone either.

The only annoying thing is the new call light comes on even with phone calls that I answer. Not a dealbreaker by any means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, November 18, 2008
This review is from: AT&T 1080 4-Line Speakerphone with Answering System and Caller ID (Office Product)
I wanted to like this phone. I have had bad luck with life expectancy of cordless multi-line phones (and I'm not hard on phones), so when I found this phone and read the reviews, I was enthused. I bought this model, and the AT&T 1070, for our home office. Unfortunately, the speakerphone quit working almost immediately, and the headset feature had a loud hiss. I returned the phone for an exchange, and the exchanged unit had the identical problem. Amazon, understandably, would not exchange the phone yet again, saying the problem must be more widespread than initially believed. Then the 1070's headset feature quit working altogether. I guess the quest for a quality two-line phone with answerer continues.

This is truly a disappointment because this phone has some really great features. I wish AT&T would make their own products, using USA workers and greater quality control. I fear I'm wishing for bygone days that will not be returning, at least any time soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of features, September 17, 2008
By 
Rod Smith (Auburn, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: AT&T 1080 4-Line Speakerphone with Answering System and Caller ID (Office Product)
This is a great product with lots of neat features. Actually many more features than I will ever use.
The manuals (3 of them) are very detailed in how to configure and use the phone.
The features I like and use:
Ability to use a headset (Have you ever tried to hold a handset while using your computer?)
3 lines (phone actually has 4 lines)
Built in voice mail digital recorder
32 speed dial buttons
Conference calling feature
Configuration control to set up features to suit the user.

The one thing I do NOT like:
Red light comes on with every call received, and stays on even if I answer the phone before the answering machine picks up, and it also stays on after I have listened to a voice mail message. Clearing this red light is a real pain.

This is definitely an improvement over my older AT&T telephone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars POS, February 7, 2011
By 
Jason P. Loveless (Cleveland,Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AT&T 1080 4-Line Speakerphone with Answering System and Caller ID (Office Product)
Main problem with the phone is the speaker phone doesn't work at all. People cant hear you even if you talk right into it it won't work. My 19.00 uniden works better I'm about to throw this thing right into the wall. Don't buy, anything is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Answering machine- deal killer, December 3, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AT&T 1080 4-Line Speakerphone with Answering System and Caller ID (Office Product)
I have used this phone for several months and it is an excellent phone.However it is not suitible for small business.If a call comes in and you are on the other line , the answering will not pick up.You lose the sale or annoy the customer.It is riduculous that AT&T would put out a product with so many great feature and overlook this.It is not suitable for business use.Do not buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.