Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Attitude 101: What Every Leader Needs to Know
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
82
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$5.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 1, 2003
This is a great book. The basic premise is unless you have your attitude right you'll never reach your full potential. Mr. Maxwell gives his insights into attitude and provides a framework for improving your own attitude as well as those around you. It's short and not long winded at all. I guess you could say it's kind of a cliff notes on attitude, whick is very helpful because we're all so busy these days. Anyone committed to success and self imporvement will find this book very helpful.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2003
I actually picked up this book at a college orientation meeting, free of charge, through a random selection of people. I picked it out in only a split-second of time, thinking it might help me in my pursuit of being a childhood psychologist. Boy, I received more than I expected.
This little book is gold! I was surprised by Maxwell's Christian world-view, uncompromised, yet I feel he was able to reflect successfully to a secular audience (I, too, am a Christian). He makes the occassional references to scripture, uses a lot of quotes and stories, and provides his own insights on attitude. His basic premise is that attitude is everything and infiltrates into every area of our lives. Having been diagnosed with "clinical depression", I found his words encouraging and feel elated when I know that a matter of my success in life has a lot to do with attitude and how I handle adversity. In fact, Maxwell gives a very interesting maxim which I would like to make a part of my arsenal: "To go up, you have to give up." These may be hard words for someone who's not ready, but I guarantee you, after reading his book, you will agree just as I do. This book makes it clear that success is knowing your purpose and growing to your potential. This book is easily five stars. I look forward to more of his work, both in this series and any other forthcoming and previous works.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Everyone would benefit from reading this little, but powerful, book and carrying it around in a pocket to reread, as appropriate, daily. Many sections could be reread in just a few minutes. The whole book can be read by most in less than two hours.
I highly recommend this as both a book for you to read and reread, and as a book to share with others through gifts. Attitude 101 is a thoughtful high school or college graduation gift, for example, that will provide benefits for decades.
The book addresses several key dimensions of personal attitude: Its impact; its formation; and how your future is affected by your attitude. Examples come poignantly from the Bible, sports, inventors, celebrities, writers, politics and Dr. Maxwell's own life. Many of the stories added to my knowledge. Did you know that David had five stones with him to face Goliath not because David feared he would miss . . . but because Goliath had four giant sons whom David might also have had to face?
Whatever is missing from your attitude . . . this little book can help you find it and apply a remedy. On different days, you will have varying needs to improve your attitude. Rereading the right sections in this book will help you develop a better attitude and keep it focused on moving you forward just when and where you should be going.
As Dr. Maxwell says, success is:
"Knowing your purpose in life,
Growing to reach your maximum potential,
Sowing seeds that benefit others."
The book combines all of the elements you've probably come to like about his books on leadership, teamwork, thinking and purposeful living. Seeing it all together in a brief form makes the message clearer somehow. I liked that.
His epigrams are wonderful. Here's another of my favorites for helping others form good attitudes:
"Value people.
Praise efforts.
Reward performance."
Particularly meaningful to me were the reminders that temporary setbacks (what some see as "failures") are good ways to learn how to be more effective. If we can combine lots of attempts with an ability to emotionally forget how they made us feel when the attempts didn't work, we can accomplish a great deal.
The book ends with how leaders can grow their potential. The Reverend Martin Luther King, Jr. is the example. Leaders become greater by giving up more in serving others.
May God bless you, Dr. Maxwell, and all those who read and apply this wonderful book!
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2003
Attitude 101 is a great book. It comes in a compact format and is a quick read. The content on the other hand is full size. Attitude 101 really covers all angles regarding attitude. The book is broken down into three sections:
I. The impact of Attitude
- How does attitude impact leadership?
- How does attitude impact the individual?
II. The formation of attitude
- What shapes a person's attitude?
- Can attitude be changed?
- Can obstacles actually enhance an attitude?
III. The future with the right attitude
- What is failure?
- What is success?
- How can a leader keep climbing?
Attitude 101 really covers all the bases from the impact of attitude to the formation of attitude to how the right attitude can change your future. John Maxwell uses his signature style of stories and powerful quotes to make it an engaging read. I have read it cover to cover twice.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2003
In Attitude 101, Maxwell outlines his key thoughts on the importance of a positive attitude from his earlier (and larger) books. This is a good gift item for anyone you believe is ready to take their life and impact to a higher level, from adults to high school students. It would be a good graduate's gift.
The whole book is a quick read, almost outline in format and delivery, full of Maxwell's trademark memorable and applicational illustrations. Hard core cynics and others with superiority issues may sniff at it, but real people will benefit from it. Superior cynics are never leaders anyway.
Buy a few, and give them out. See who comments on something they got from reading it, and begin hanging out with them - if they aren't leaders yet, they're on their way!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2014
The bestselling author now has a 101 series dealing with small aspects. This book reads like a cut-and-paste from other books and is filled with feel-good soundbytes. This book could be called "The Power of Positive Thinking" and at times Maxwell sounds just like Joel Osteen. The difference between the two is that evangelicals roundly praise and promote Maxwell's books while criticizing Osteen's sermons for saying the identical thing. "Eliminate the following from your vocabulary: 'I can't,'; 'doubt'; (etc.)" You can be whatever you want to be if you just persist with the right attitude. With plenty of biblical tidbits and anecdotes to illustrate.

A definition: "Success is knowing your purpose in life, growing to reach your maximum potential and sowing seeds that benefit others."

Failure and adversity are key to success. Fail forward. The best literary works were produced by people in prison/exile. Obstacles are opportunities in disguise.

It is not that I disagree with much of what Maxwell says, but this is just another rah-rah book that lacks scholarship related to psychology that you can find in other works today. Hence, it's a "101" book but I can't rate it highly. I would disagree with Maxwell that focusing on a single goal is effective as opposed to focusing on the habits that get you there. Read some Tim Ferriss or James Clear.

Want to change your attitude? Then:
1. Evaluate your present attitude
2. Realize that faith is greater than fear
3. Write a statement of purpose
Write specifically what you want to accomplish each day.
Verbalize to an encouraging friend what you want to accomplish each day.
Take action on your goal each day.
4. Have the desire to change
5. Live one day at a time.
6. Change your thought patterns
7. Develop good habits
8. Continually choose to have the right attitude

If the above seem like common sense, then don't spend time/money on the book. 2.5 stars out of 5.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 21, 2013
This short book is one of those "daily" readers to help you through some rough patches in your attitude. I've read so many self help books and I tell you the true value is to read a little bit of them everday to make sure you are in good spirits. The problem with most self help books is that once you read them the reader thinks life will instantly get better. These kinda books are written to be "sipped" on everyday to slowly change your habits and attitudes. This book is exactly the kind that should be referenced often and like a daily vitamin, good for your health.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
While the stories are refreshing, entertaining and inspiring, I found this work limited in scope and not exactly original. Yes, positive attitude is crucial to leading or moving toward any level of success, but for those who need something more substantial in their reading investment, this work was more an enticing appetizer than anything else.
I would love to see Maxwell develop his ideas and generate some new, more "mind blowing" and revelatory messages to set him apart from other self-help authors.
On the up side, it's a nicely priced book that serves a purpose.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2016
John Maxwell is a legend in the self development arena. He has hundreds of books on leadership development. Usually his books are bigger books with more pages. This 101 series is compact and a easy read. Great seller the books came really quick. I reccomend this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2014
IT TOOK ME A MINUTE TO GET PAST THE FORMALITIES, BUT AFTER THAT IT WAS SMOOTH SAILING. I PASSED IT ON TO MY SON AND HE STATED THAT HE "REALLY LIKED IT". IT GAVE HIM SOME POINTERS THAT HAS HELPED HIM IN WITH HIS LEADERSHIP CLASSES. GREAT BOOK!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse