Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book for the Beginning Reader
From the "Step into Reading" series comes this humorous, well-illustrated, and engaging book, appropriately described as suitable for young readers in grades 1-3. And, with all the bad-mouthing of lawyers, it's nice to show kids that the legal system can be a powerful tool for justice, personified here in Abe Lincoln.
That's the adult perspective. Kids...
Published on November 16, 2000 by M. Allen Greenbaum

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good way to get children interested in History
This book as I was reading it out loud to my granddaughter; I felt it was a fictionalized book. That the writer just took a Historic subject and made a book out of it for children. But in the back of the book it does say "All the stories in this book are true and all the people really lived. Here are photos of some of them. When the photos were taken, around 1860, the...
Published 25 days ago by Rosa Cline


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book for the Beginning Reader, November 16, 2000
From the "Step into Reading" series comes this humorous, well-illustrated, and engaging book, appropriately described as suitable for young readers in grades 1-3. And, with all the bad-mouthing of lawyers, it's nice to show kids that the legal system can be a powerful tool for justice, personified here in Abe Lincoln.
That's the adult perspective. Kids will enjoy the humorous stories, evocative pictures, and Abe Lincoln's witty, winning ways in court. The book touches on the slavery issue, perhaps too briefly, but this can be a good starting point for further discussion. It also illustrates how Lincoln got along with his competitors (e.g., opposing lawyers, opponent Stephen Douglas). Presenting values without preaching, this is sure to delight the young reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, April 10, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Abe Lincoln's Hat (Step into Reading) (Paperback)
This step into reading book is a must for any elementary student's study of Abraham Lincoln. Our copy had been worn out from use. This book portrays Lincoln as fun-loving, compassionate and a little forgetful. He discovers that keeping important papers tucked inside his hat helps remind him of things to do. Illustrations are plentiful and appealing. The last page has photos of four people mentioned in the book. The photos were taken around 1860. The stories in the book are said to be true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect For Introducing Lincoln To Young Readers, June 7, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Abe Lincoln's Hat (Step into Reading) (Paperback)
Brenner does an excellent job crafting the story of Lincoln with his stovepipe hat as a centerpiece! Full of interesting facts that humanize this icon, kids will love reading and rereading this book. The Step into Reading Series needs more of these historical pieces at this level!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An appealing light-hearted, but true, biography for kids, June 14, 2001
By 
Volkert Volkersz (Snohomish County, WA United States) - See all my reviews
"Abe Lincoln's Hat" is a light-hearted, but true-to-the-facts, biography for young readers written at a 2.9 reading level. Unlike most biographies about Lincoln, it does not end with his assassination, which allows children to focus on his humanity. While Martha Brenner's book is written for kids to "step into reading," it works just as well as a read-aloud for primary grades.
This 48 page title could have easily been arranged into chapters for students wanting to read a "chapter book," however it still meets a need for engaging non-fiction titles, notably biographies, for emerging readers.
This title is much more appealing to kids than a similar book by Jean Fritz, "George Washington's Mother."
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun History Lesson, March 9, 2006
This review is from: Abe Lincoln's Hat (Step into Reading) (Paperback)
I read this book to my pre-K class, who just loved it. Learning about Lincoln's hat habit along with the other significant things in his life was great. It made the kids listen to the entire book (hard for some 4 and 5 year-olds). I even had one boy show up the next day with notes in his hat!! My 7-year-old son loves the book too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hats off to a terrific book on Abe!, March 25, 2011
By 
This review is from: Abe Lincoln's Hat (Step into Reading) (Paperback)
This children's book has a very unique and clever focus-Abraham Lincoln's black stovepipe hat! Turns out his hat had a unique purpose-it served as a file cabinet for his little notes to himself. A lively, humorous story about our beloved 16th President!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learned new facts, May 19, 2014
My daughter loved reading this book. We both learned new facts about Abe Lincoln. It was very captivating. We're going to read it again soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent resource for intermediate readers, September 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Abe Lincoln's Hat (Step into Reading) (Paperback)
Since my Kindergartener (age five-and-a-half) had completed the Step 2 books in the Step Into Reading series of books, I decided to go ahead and purchase the Step 3 books. I was a bit hesitant because I noticed there is quite a big leap between the Step 2 and Step 3 books, especially in terms of vocabulary and sentence structure. The vocabulary is more advanced with higher order words, and the sentences are longer. I was also concerned that my daughter might not like the topics which seemed to be more 'academic' with history-based stories. My worries were unfounded. She loves the books and is reading them with very little help from me.

These books are excellent for building children's reading skills as well as increasing their confidence. Once you've completed the Step 1 and Step 2 books (I would advise proceeding level by level), the Step 3 books are not as daunting as they might first appear. In "Abe Lincoln's Hat", young readers are introduced to our 16th President. There is a lot of background information provided which makes for interesting reading, and it is pitched appropriately for young readers so as not to overwhelm them. The fact that Abe used his tall black hat to keep papers in is an interesting anecdote that had my little one giggling.

I can't recommend these books highly enough - they are great for building reading skills, and also educational. This book is a great introduction to history, and I also came up with a series of short comprehension questions based on the story in this book so as to hone my daughter's comprehension skills (e.g. "Where did Abe live?", "What did Abe do with his hat?", "Describe the kind of person Abe was?").
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Abe Lincoln's Hat, April 10, 2002
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Abe Lincoln's Hat (Step into Reading) (Paperback)
This book is about our sixteenth president,Abe Lincon,
who dresses very sharply. He wears a special hat. The
book tells how Abe Lincon helped people.I will read
this book again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great true stories, October 26, 2010
This review is from: Abe Lincoln's Hat (Step into Reading) (Paperback)
I know Abe Lincoln always wore a hat, but I don't know he kept notes and papers in them until I read this book with my kids! One of the great reads from STEP INTO READING (STEP 2) books written for grades 1-3, ABE LINCOLN'S HAT has much to teach young history readers about America's 16th president. In this book, Abe Lincoln wore a smile and did not look serious at all. He was portrayed as a hard-working, people-friendly, visionary and brave leader. From a poor lad to a respected lawyer, he fought for justice on behalf of common people. When neighborhood children played tricks on him, he was not mad at all and even liked the joke. Abe Lincoln believed slavery was wrong and he tried to get elected into the US Senate so he could change laws. He lost the election to Stephen Douglas but became famous and when he ran for the president in 1860, it was a victory. He freed the slaves and helped unite the nation after a long war.

My kids are deeply drawn into the biographic anecdotes and watercolor illustrations where they found the true story about Lincoln's hat very interesting (and unforgettable) and it successfully shows them through easy-to-read lines Lincoln as a great man and president.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Abe Lincoln's Hat (Step into Reading)
Abe Lincoln's Hat (Step into Reading) by Donald Cook (Paperback - April 12, 1994)
$3.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.