Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Oversaturation" you say? You've not seen these before.
Absolutely breathtaking and even though the events have been well-recorded and replayed ad nauseum, you will gain a new, harrowing, touching, moving perspective on the events at Ground Zero over the past year.
The book contains previously unpublished photographs taken by members of the New York City Police Department during the attacks on the twin towers and during...
Published on September 12, 2002 by Susan D. Kelly

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointed
All pictures look quite alike. I expected more pictures on people being rescued or pictures taken closer at the site. Now, most pictures are from far away distance, and they're very similar.
Published on October 17, 2010 by Smon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Oversaturation" you say? You've not seen these before., September 12, 2002
By 
Susan D. Kelly (Wendell, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Above Hallowed Ground: A Photographic Record of September 11, 2001 (Hardcover)
Absolutely breathtaking and even though the events have been well-recorded and replayed ad nauseum, you will gain a new, harrowing, touching, moving perspective on the events at Ground Zero over the past year.
The book contains previously unpublished photographs taken by members of the New York City Police Department during the attacks on the twin towers and during the excavation of Ground Zero. Many photographs in the beginning of the book were taken from the air in NYPD helicopters assigned to circle over the city from the air in search of additional rogue airplanes, providing images from angles yet etched into memory. Imagine viewing the smoke and fire billowing from the towers against a clear, cerulean blue, cloudless sky.
Words do not do this book justice. The pictures are absolutely moving and of superior technical quality. Captions are succinct yet factual so even those not familiar with the city can get their bearings by well-known landmarks. I plan to add this book to my collection of journalistic records of life as a baby-boomer to be passed down throughout the generations as a transcript of the various historical events that have changed and continue to change the world in which we live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very detailed photos, February 24, 2003
This review is from: Above Hallowed Ground: A Photographic Record of September 11, 2001 (Hardcover)
If you live or used to live somewhere in the New York area, you might have a grim desire for a book that shows exactly how the WTC attacks affected specific shops, buildings, blocks, etc. that you knew and loved, not just how terrible the effects were in general.
The NYPD book shows how the attacks affected the little sailboats in the marinas near the WTC, what the attacks did to the daycare center, what the "bad side" of the Winter Garden looked like, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have this one., January 13, 2005
By 
samofborg "Amazonian" (Rocky Mountains, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Above Hallowed Ground: A Photographic Record of September 11, 2001 (Hardcover)
The photos are the best on the area. The one that scared me was the one where Dave takes a picture of himself in the glass and then a few seconds later a beam falls where he was just standing. The photos of the jet pieces all over the ground and the thick dust that was everywhere makes it all real and all the more haunting and terrible. But we must have these in front of us, because what happens, we forget. Let's not forget. Those people don't deserve that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gut-Wrenching!, September 4, 2006
Many of the photos in this book were taken from police helicopters; the rest were obtained on-scene during and shortly after the 9/11 tragedy. Photos of the moment the second airplane hit, airplane parts on the ground, thousands walking home across bridges that day, rescue medical personnel ready to attend to the last rescued person from the wreckage, the WTC day-care center, nearby office building interiors and exteriors, etc. all bring 9/11 back to life.

"Above Hallowed Ground" also shows crews at the Fresh Kills Island landfill searching through the debris for body parts and personal memorabilia, search dogs, memorial services, volunteers, and the evening light memorial simulating the collapsed WTC towers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great picture of a horrible day and it's aftermath., November 30, 2002
By 
A. Burchfield (Conway, Missouri USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Above Hallowed Ground: A Photographic Record of September 11, 2001 (Hardcover)
We all remember that day in September, here are a lot of photographs showing what it was like. I found it to be a lot of aerial photos of the smoking towers, the ruins from ground level (and of the people working on the wreckage) but little or nothing of scenes from deep inside the pile. I've read that a lot of photos were taken during surveys, I wanted to see just a few of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you "happen to love New York"..., June 9, 2005
This review is from: Above Hallowed Ground: A Photographic Record of September 11, 2001 (Hardcover)
The title explains quite obviously the content of this book. Not just above NY, but below it and within it also...the photos are unmatched for the historical record because of the access that the NYPD photographers had.

For comparison, take a look at Robert Cameron's "Above New York"--then you have a before-, during-,and-after experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Pictures, December 29, 2002
By 
Kristi Branstetter (Raytown, Missouri United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Above Hallowed Ground: A Photographic Record of September 11, 2001 (Hardcover)
This is a must-have book for people who are interested in pictures from 9/11/2001. The images are none like you have ever seen before. The NYPD took the pictures appearing in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Photographic album "Hallowed Ground", January 18, 2007
By 
Wayne L. Hill (Highland Springs, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Above Hallowed Ground: A Photographic Record of September 11, 2001 (Hardcover)
Excellent collection of finely done photographs documenting a day I hate to remember but must. Looking at the photos in this book is kind of like studying the dagger that seriously injured you under a microscope - the perspective is unique, and unequaled in detail and quality. These photos not only document the death of two beloved landmarks, but they convey the totality of the horror, as it encroached on the NYC environment of which they were the pinnacle - Lower Manhattan.

An added incentive is that buying the book certainly must help the NYPD and other heroes of that day, God bless and keep them all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointed, October 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Above Hallowed Ground: A Photographic Record of September 11, 2001 (Hardcover)
All pictures look quite alike. I expected more pictures on people being rescued or pictures taken closer at the site. Now, most pictures are from far away distance, and they're very similar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remember the Alamo, Remember Pearl Harbor, Remember 9/11, July 21, 2007
This review is from: Above Hallowed Ground: A Photographic Record of September 11, 2001 (Hardcover)
Time has washed away many of the emotions we all felt on 9/11. This book brings much of that back and well it should. Americans seem to have a short attention span, perhaps because we don't have the movies that portrayed the enemies of this country and the brave men who were fighting against them. We were all patriotic during World War II and hopefully this book will bring some people back to the reality of what happened that terrible day in 2001.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Above Hallowed Ground: A Photographic Record of September 11, 2001
Above Hallowed Ground: A Photographic Record of September 11, 2001 by Gregory Semendinger (Hardcover - August 26, 2002)
$35.00 $20.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.