Customer Reviews


240 Reviews
5 star:
 (135)
4 star:
 (66)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic British TV Detective Series
If you are an avid fan of Hollywood, perhaps, you should move on. This film is from Acorn Media. Therefore, it is a classic British TV detective series, which means there's lots of blood and gore and twisting plots. Also, being British, these features are as much about the crime as they are about the detectives themselves. This means that there's lots of drinking,...
Published 23 months ago by lagrandedame

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good character driven drama can compensate for a weak plot.
But these characters drove toward a cliff and lost their brakes. The first season was mildly interesting. This second barely watchable. The third is god- awful. Heroes should be interesting, complex. Our attractive heroine for some strange reason is attracted to her loud- mouthed boss who looks old enough to be her grandfather. Clues are deciphered by our stumbling eye...
Published 5 months ago by swampknot


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic British TV Detective Series, September 15, 2012
If you are an avid fan of Hollywood, perhaps, you should move on. This film is from Acorn Media. Therefore, it is a classic British TV detective series, which means there's lots of blood and gore and twisting plots. Also, being British, these features are as much about the crime as they are about the detectives themselves. This means that there's lots of drinking, politically-incorrect sexual relations, and questionable police tactics. These typically British coppers are very human -- and very flawed characters. I love it, but it may not be for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smashingly realistic 21st Century London crime thriller, December 22, 2012
By 
Harold Wolf "Doc" (Wells, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Above Suspicion Series 2 (DVD)
`Deadly Intent,' Bestselling thriller of Lynda La Plante, is gritty, fast action, violent crime, and edgy. La Plante (Crime Thriller Writer's Hall of Fame) again lets a sexy female scrap her way into the man's world of murder crime fighting. She's raised the TV acceptance bar for coarse realism of London crime fighting. The ongoing series is lead by Kelly Reilly (Sherlock Holmes x2, Poldark: The Complete Collection), now DI Travis, with her pixie face and tight clothes. She has more confidence, and more suitors. DCS Langton (Ciaran Hinds- `Tinker Taylor Soldier Spy') is the tough, tetchy boss overstepping and infiltrating on the territory of case head, DCI Lewis (Shaun Dingwall).

SUBTITLES for all 3 parts (and bonus footage).
It opens with a Mexican doctor doing a realistic facelift. Ugh! [The filmed doctor was a real plastic surgeon doing the role. That's realism.]
One year later . . .
London ex-cop Brandon is killed in a crack house. His wife, Julia (Stine Stengade), is unfazed. DI Travis wants to know why. The murder scene includes, besides blood, body and bullets, Fentanyl, drug known on the street as "Drop Dead."
Conflict abounds in the situation room as Travis pursues her own clues, Lewis has a family distraction, and Langston was a past friend/colleague with the victim. DCI Power (Ray Fearon), drug squad, adds inter-circle anxiety.
Julia's sister (Benedikte Hansen) and brother-in-law (Julian Sands- Room with a View), an Oxford bio-chem professor, provide answers.
But related deaths rise and a confession doesn't end this case. A new threat is massively deadly. Travis makes a connection. Some male staff try to make personal contact with her, proving she may just be too HOT for the team.
Cops hurry to avoid Julia becoming the 4th victim. Confessions and CCTV helps the case move toward an identity. But a Colombian drug cartel is also in pursuit.
And the winner is . . .
And the loser is . . .

This is the 3rd story in this series, streamed in the US prior to DVD release. Above Suspicion, Set 1 has two cases.
NEXT: "Above Suspicion: Silent Scream" This series is proving to be as intensely stimulating as La Plante's "Prime Suspect."

`
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, July 20, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Above Suspicion Series 2 (DVD)
Any series/movie with Ciaran Hinds is great! I have watched many of his movies/series and it is amazing the versatility he has an actor; no matter the type of character he plays, he turns into that person so much that you forget he is an actor!!! I will buy anything he has a part in! I'm waiting for the DVD release of the series "Political Animals" in which he plays a southern politician notorious for his woman chasing. His southern drawl is so believable and his portrayal is such that he is obnoxious, but at the same time you can't help but like him. Amazing actor!

My only criticism of Above Suspicion is that a series is so short and there is such a wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good character driven drama can compensate for a weak plot., March 16, 2014
By 
swampknot "gnatsong" (canandaigua, n.y. United States) - See all my reviews
But these characters drove toward a cliff and lost their brakes. The first season was mildly interesting. This second barely watchable. The third is god- awful. Heroes should be interesting, complex. Our attractive heroine for some strange reason is attracted to her loud- mouthed boss who looks old enough to be her grandfather. Clues are deciphered by our stumbling eye candy without effort. Villains are one dimensional and poorly developed. I am truly embarrassed to admit I watched this mess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for a detective show, October 15, 2013
Just a little too predictable in places. I only watched the first two seasons (didn't want to pay to watch more because I didn't get that invested in the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great series- why so expensive???, May 5, 2013
I enjoyed this- the story was a little far-fetched, but I really liked it- Why is it so expensive??? lisa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Above Suspicion Season 2, December 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Tension really grows between DCI Langton and DS Travis in this second Second round.
Perfect crime fighting couple so hot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Like Ciaran Hinds & Season 1, but 2 and 3 are SUB-PAR, June 8, 2014
By 
Trancelucence (Leigh) (a land East of the sun, West of the moon) - See all my reviews
As a longtime Ciaran Hinds fan, as well as one who relishes crime dramas that shed light on the workings of tortured minds (e.g., Law & Order Criminal Intent), I could overlook the shortcomings of the first two-part episode (Anna's wobbly spike heels, the short skirt, the misty eyed but knowing looks, her thoroughly unprofessional demeanor, etc.), and gave it a rave review based on the strength of the final interrogation scene, dynamite, she showed what she's made of, mettle-wise, matching the perp in intensity. His crimes made sense, though there were gruesome details galore, they struck me as realistic, not gratuitous or designed merely to shock. I also liked the promise of the attraction between the two leads, where would it lead? Then I watched "seasons" 2 and 3.

Gratuitous, preposterous. So many gaffes, overlooked leads and details, FOR EXAMPLE, ***SPOILER ALERT*** in Season 3, they did NO background check on the perp's brother (!), and they only thought to check on the whereabouts of the perp's son at the last minute- gosh, he might have gone there! And no reporting of the knowledge of the plane, no typing in of the plane's serial number to see what/where it might be, absurd. The final scene wherein Ciaran and Kelly abandon the car and RUN down the runway after the plane was one of the stupidest scenes EVER. MANY plot points are left totally unexplained. It's as though through some printing mishap every other page of the script failed to print and nobody noticed.

RE: Season 2, if you thrive on the lurid and the depths of human depravity, much the same way horror fans watch zombies eating people's brains with glee, this may be your cup of tea, though I'm sure you'd like a story that makes SENSE as well. ***BIG TIME SPOILER ALERT*** A father who not only commits the most gruesome of murders, but forces one victim to eat excrement before dismembering her, also sexually tortures his son and daughters, operates on and removes his daughter's reproductive organs, for FUN. I couldn't overlook such blatant gratuitousness in any case, but there might have been SOME justification if we gained an understanding of such depravity, or the dynamics of the coppers' interpersonal relationships, or what makes the characters tick, but no such luck. The leads and the other officers evince one-dimensional, erratic behavior that made NO sense.

SO many errors, ludicrous; for example, one of the daughters assaults detectives on two separate occasions, drawing blood, and no-one says a word (they don't even fight back, one just slinks away)! They don't arrest people for assaulting police officers in the UK? Also, they had the perpetrator's voice on tape (I think, or SHOULD have taped his calls), early on could've matched the voice prints, AS WELL AS eyewitness identification of him, yet they don't arrest him, simply learn more appalling details with each visit then go back to the squad room and look at the horrific crime scene photos again. When they finally do detain him, they sit him in an easy chair and serve him lunch, and, SURPRISE, he escapes. And a detective sleeping with a reporter, "accidentally" affording him access to her case notes? And with no repercussions? COME ON. Columbo or Inspector Morse this ain't. Real UK cops must've had a field day with this twaddle. I admit I was curious to see if things might improve in the final installment, but it's not a Prime offering so that sealed the deal.

For lurid and close to the bone that DOES make sense, (to me, anyway), see Single Handed: Natural Justice, a VERY dark (and profane, be forewarned), but superb Irish series available on Instant Video. And BOTH seasons are free to Prime members.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great english show, March 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Above Suspicion Series 2 (DVD)
great show but not long enough the whole series is enjoyable without fights gun fire or major gore series one (1) is better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely well wrtten and acted., March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Above Suspicion Series 2 (DVD)
Extremely well written and acted. Much more realistic and interestingthan the average US Police show. The characters seem like real life people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Above Suspicion Series 2
Above Suspicion Series 2 by Above Suspicion (DVD - 2013)
$29.99 $15.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.