Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Black Friday egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty Gifts Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Shop Now DOTD

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars27
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$16.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on December 16, 2010
There are a lot of diet and exercise books out there, and quite a few of them are clearly written by people who haven't a clue what they are talking about. Fortunately, "Abs Revealed", by Jonathan Ross, is not one of those. On the contrary, it is an excellent book on exercise and nutrition designed to guide the reader to well-developed, and visible, abdominal musculature.

I found the parts on nutrition to be especially strong. The author lays out a plan for positive and healthful nutritional change that is at once realistic, based on science and, for most people, likely to lead to real results.

A large part of the book is devoted to exercise descriptions. This kind of thing can be a bit dry, but that is to be expected. It is really more of a reference manual for the programs that occur later in the book than something you read for the sake of interest. Nevertheless, it is instructive for the reader to work through these descriptions, both mentally and physically, to understand how each accomplishes the fitness goals described in the first part of the book.

The programming presented in the later part of the book is not ground-breaking, but it is solid and well supported by current research.

Before I proceed with a laundry list of curiosities and complaints, I want to emphasize that, with one exception, these are not at all serious flaws in the book. I list them only to encourage the author or publisher to improve the book in future editions.

First, the "spot reduction" myth is so pervasive and widely promulgated that I would like to have seen more space devoted to debunking it. Reinforcement here would help rather than hinder.

Also, the focus of the book (not surprising given the title) seems to be on the front abdominal musculature. While total core training is developed in the book, I thought the author could have made clearer the importance of training the entire core, and not just the "gut".

I don't think it was ever stated (that I noticed), but the book does appear to be geared toward the male reader. This is a bit surprising, since little, if anything, in the book would not be applicable to female readers undertaking a diet and exercise program.

My most serious complaint is that too little attention was paid to the importance of resistance training in a balanced program. Resistance components are included in all the programming provided in the book, but little attention was paid to that part of the program earlier in the book where the concepts underlying the programming were explained. (The explanations of other components of a complete program were, however, very well done.)

I also felt that too much attention was given to exercises requiring a non-standard piece of equipment called a "TRX". I do not own such a device, but it appears to be something that might be useful. However, it also appears to be something that the author is selling via the book website [...].

I was not all that impressed with the just-mentioned website, which seemed to be overly commercial and had only a little useful content.

There were a small number of typographical errors in the book. Fortunately, these were all quite obvious and it was clear how the text ought to have read.

To end on a positive note, I found the book much more readable than I had expected, and I very much enjoyed the way the author presents sometimes technical concepts in clear, easy to understand ways, making good use of metaphors and comparisons with widely understood everyday concepts.

(Disclaimer: I received a free copy of the book, for review, from the publisher.)
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on October 20, 2010
At last - a book with real information for real people wanting real results! The biggest surprise is that you don't have to be a 25-year old male hunk to get great results from this book. Even this 52-year old woman with chronic health problems is making noticeable progress.

The nutrition discussion alone makes the book a standout. No magic powder drinks, no radical diets - just sound, science-based information presented with clarity and wit that works for any lifestyle. Only Jonathan could make nutrition such a powerful motivational tool!

Exercises are presented in a skill-building sequence, and are very clearly demonstrated. No matter what your starting skill level is, the exercises are easy to understand and to perform. A big bonus: many can be done with body weight alone, eliminating the need to run out and buy fancy equipment.

The book's strongest attribute is Jonathan himself. His humor and encouragement make you feel as if you've got your coach and trainer alongside for the entire life-changing journey.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on October 17, 2010
I'm reading through my copy of Abs Revealed and just have to say "WOW!" Love this book already and Ross' professional and straight forward approach. This book is for men AND women (although the cover pic and "six-pack" success may intimidate some women) and really offers instruction for getting great looking abs, as well as better overall core strength, health and fitness. Ross taps in to his years of experience and expertise to craft a book full of ideas and innovative exercises that are easily modified to fit someone at any fitness level (which also means they grow with you as your own strength increases).

The first three chapters or 40 pages, cover Core Concepts including ideas about strength, stability, cardio and diet. I really like how Ross is able to articulate concepts so they are easily understood and applied to my every day life. He addresses myths and misconceptions in shaded highlight boxes and provides his "reality" answers, which are thoughtful and factual.

The next 75 pages or so of the book illustrate exercises using the floor, TRX, stability ball, slide and or basic equipment. There's a really great exercise finder in the front of the book that lists the exercise name along with the page number and a red dot under which piece of equipment is needed. Each exercise is clearly described using position, technique and performance tips and the multi-position photos illustrate the moves. As a mother of two small children, I really appreciate having effective workouts and exercises that can be done outside of a gym.

The rest of the book is devoted to programming and planning your own workouts, setting goals and maintaining your results. Anyone can achieve "six-pack success" and Ross really shows you how. I think this book is a must have for anyone interested in better core strength and fitness and who want to see results.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on January 26, 2013
Abs Revealed by Jonathan Ross is a concise, well written, easy to follow book on obtaining 6 pack abs. 6 pack abs is the focus of this book, and while it contains much good information on nutrition and general fitness, this is a guidebook for getting displayable 6 pack abds.

Ross does not pull any punches. He clearly and forthrightly says that getting 6 pack abs is work, and that there is no magic bullet.

The nutrition information is correct and very accurate. He delves pretty deeply into the science of nutrition, but writes well enough to carry that off. Ross is not strictly a paleo man, but comes close, advising a few grains perhaps with breakfast.

The exercises are good, if novel. He uses a combination of body weight, exercise (Swiss) ball, BOSU, and TRX for his program. The exercises are well described and well illustrated. The images are of leanly muscular men with their shirts off for clarity and motivation. They all have 6 pack abs.

There is a detailed layout of exercise sessions for a multi week program. This could be followed as it stands with good results, or modified for specific individuals.

While just working from the book would suffice, Ross has added a website, a blog, and an ipad - iphone app to augument the program. For $20 one can purchase additional 60 videos of all the exercises. And there are apparently on the blog, for a fee, additional exercises that could be incorporated.

Jonathan Ross has laid out a excellent, complete program for developing, and uncovering 6 pack abds. He is honest in the amount of work necessary. If one of your goals is 6 pack abds, this is an excellent route to take.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on September 27, 2013
As a trainer I devoured this book. It creatively boils down what can be complex terms and processes into easy to read and use facts. The first 3 chapters explain abdominals, when to exercise, how to exercise for optimal fat burn and what and when to eat using great examples and parallels. The book has clear pictures and explanations of all abdominal exercises. The information in this book has helped me become a better informed trainer. Loved it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on August 19, 2013
If you are wanting to get a six pack this is the book you want to read, straightforward to the point and truthful this is the correct way to getting the abs you always wanted. I followed the program and got great results but more than that its written to be honest about all it takes to show your abs, diet is most important.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon October 15, 2010
I just love this book. I have never seen such an array of exercises in any other ab book and, to me, they are much more effective than just crunches (which I believe are ineffective and terrible for your lower back). What I like most about this book is that it is very comprehensive. It discusses the fact that you cant have a six-pack unless you have a low level of body fat and then gives you a wealth of information to get there. There is even a great discussion on the true benefits of cardio and the best kinds to do. Outstanding addition to the crowded fitness book industry.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on July 5, 2013
thoroughly explains the science behind how diet and different types of exercise work together to raise the body's metabolism so you work less with the most effect. Gives an easy, thorough, week by week approach to get a fit body in 10 weeks. It works.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on January 8, 2011
This is an excellent book. The author accurately and clearly explained that having great abs is about healthy living -- particularly your goals/motivations, what you eat, and your physical activity (i.e. workouts). He, of course, clearly explains the workout side of great abs, which is a lot more than just crunches and leg lifts.

Here are just some of the great advice and information the book offers.

Chapter 3: Development Through Diet
This chapter offers very good information -- including these points:

*Your food choices are critical to achieving your abs goal
*You can achieve you abs goal while enjoying life and what you eat
*People's sense of taste has been hijacked by hyperpalatable food and its advertising; and
*Healthy food is not as expensive when objectively compared to the true "costs" of processed foods.

This chapter also includes "Never and Always Lists" that concisely convey easy-to-remember helpful advice. Even better, the chapter explains "How to Enjoy Healthy Food", which is a major benefit for overall health. And, its prioritized list of small changes in eating habits is a great idea.

Chapter 11: Maintaining Your Results
This chapter offers more strong messages:

*Always remember the basics of healthy eating and overall health, so don't succumb to the many enticing snake oil salesman pitching the latest nutritional fad;
*Your mindset is critical, because it substantially influences your behavior;
*Don't dwell on slip-ups, let them go; and
*It reiterates the author's message that people can achieve their abs goal while enjoying life and what they eat.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on December 20, 2012
This book is filled with awesome information. It clears up so many of the dieting myths! I feel like I am finally on the right track with exercise and nutrition.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Delavier's Core Training Anatomy
Delavier's Core Training Anatomy by Frederic Delavier (Paperback - October 10, 2011)

Strength Training Anatomy, 3rd Edition
Strength Training Anatomy, 3rd Edition by Frederic Delavier (Paperback - March 9, 2010)

ABS for Life: The No. 1 Solution on How to Get Six Pack Abs
ABS for Life: The No. 1 Solution on How to Get Six Pack Abs by Neil Frost (Paperback - December 1, 2008)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.