Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular
Absence of the Good is definitely a thriller. If you like movies that keep you on the edge of your seat. While keeping you in suspense then you will love this one! The plot was wonderfully done, and you will never guess who the killer is and will leave you saying WOW!
Published on February 13, 2000 by Bill Powers

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Police detectives suffer too.
Condensed actions are following a detective's search for a serial killer his son was a victim of.

It is for police thriller-lovers mostly.
Published on November 29, 2008 by Michael Kerjman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, February 13, 2000
Absence of the Good is definitely a thriller. If you like movies that keep you on the edge of your seat. While keeping you in suspense then you will love this one! The plot was wonderfully done, and you will never guess who the killer is and will leave you saying WOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hammers: Not just for nails, December 18, 2003
This review is from: Absence of the Good (DVD)
Absence of the Good is an above average movie in the serial killer genre that has a fairly clever script, good acting, and a strong lead (Stephen Baldwin).
The story centers around Detective Caleb Barnes (Stephen Baldwin) and his struggle to find a serial killer while trying to deal with the untimely death of his son. As the body count begins to climb Barnes finds himself trying to help his wife heal while remaining focused on the case. What follows is a well executed police drama with plenty of action and suspense throughout.
I wasn't sure if this movie was going to be any good when I rented it. I decided to take a chance and was pleasantly surprised. It kept me guessing and had a twist ending that a couch detective like myself had fun solving. I recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TENSE AND INVOLVING, March 26, 2004
By 
This review is from: Absence of the Good (DVD)
Stephen Baldwin redeems himself for his lackluster performance in MR. MURDER in this tense, and involving crime thriller. Baldwin plays a cop who has recently lost his son in a tragic accident; his wife (Shawn Huff) is having extreme difficulty in dealing with her guilt and loss. Baldwin plays it stoic, but he too is harboring the pain. When returning to his work, he and his partner (Rob Knepper) are called in on a case involving the hammering deaths of several people, all seemingly not connected. Baldwin, however, believes the culprit is a grown up who wants to revisit his childhood but going to all the places he or she lived. It's a tense, complex plot and well acted. Tyne Daly does her usual good turn as a psychiatrist, and the identity of the culprit is surprising.
Well done and very engrossing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Movie Filled With Good, June 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Absence of the Good (DVD)
Stephen Baldwin is awesome in this movie as he is in every Movie I have seen him in. The movie is Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absence of the Good, August 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Absence of the Good (DVD)
good movie,seen it years ago and wanted to see it again,glad i bought it i would recoumend it to someone who likes action movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Serendipity, March 16, 2010
By 
Patricia H. Parker "Bookwoman" (Springfield, Massachusetts United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Absence of the Good (DVD)
I am always surprised at the number of films, starring excellent, well known actors, which get released and quickly disappear from theatres, probably due to lack of marketing. This is one of those films. I am a mystery\spy maven and have read and watched innumerable films of these genres. This is one of the best.

The actors are excellent. Stephen Baldwin is, as always, quietly wonderful. Elizabeth Barondes as the old friend who is caught between the depressed, lost Baldwin and their mutual childhood friend in a love triangle is also good. By the way, the actor who plays the gangster friend is great too (I don't know his name) but he should have a very successful career. He has one of those signature looks and manner which makes movie history.

This film is definitely a keeper. Do try to catch up with it either on DVD or tv. After watching it several times on tv, I finally bought my own copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Police detectives suffer too., November 29, 2008
This review is from: Absence of the Good (DVD)
Condensed actions are following a detective's search for a serial killer his son was a victim of.

It is for police thriller-lovers mostly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Absence of the Good
Absence of the Good by John Flynn (DVD - 2000)
$19.99 $8.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.