Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eerie, intelligent, character-driven horror film
Seven years ago, a woman's husband goes missing. But just as she's finally ready to stop grieving and put the loss behind her, he reappears. He claims to have been trapped in some otherworldly realm for all this time, and the only explanation he has for his escape is, "It must have been sleeping."

Absentia is a wonderfully written and directed horror film. It...
Published on January 14, 2012 by Tim Waggoner

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great idea flawed by a failed 3rd act.
Absentia is a great idea, well acted on a minimal budget, that has a good set up but ultimately fails to deliver.

Tricia's husband disappeared 7 years ago and while expecting her first child she is going through the motions to have him declared legally dead- in Absentia. To help with the final legal hurdles and the delivery, Tricia's younger sister, a free...
Published on May 22, 2012 by Graves


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eerie, intelligent, character-driven horror film, January 14, 2012
By 
Tim Waggoner (Dayton, OH USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Absentia (DVD)
Seven years ago, a woman's husband goes missing. But just as she's finally ready to stop grieving and put the loss behind her, he reappears. He claims to have been trapped in some otherworldly realm for all this time, and the only explanation he has for his escape is, "It must have been sleeping."

Absentia is a wonderfully written and directed horror film. It falls squarely in the genre of quiet horror, where character, mood, and atmosphere all contribute to a sense of dread that builds throughout the film until it reaches its ultimate nightmarish payoff. In many ways, it reminded me of the fiction of Charles L. Grant and Ramsey Campbell, which -- as a horror writer myself -- is one of the highest compliments I can give. If you're looking for just another gore-fest, this isn't for you, but if you're looking for intelligent, original, truly unsettling horror, you have to check out this film. Definitely one of the best releases of 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't be Fooled by the Cover Art!, February 6, 2012
This review is from: Absentia (DVD)
Absentia is NOT the run-of-the-mill weekly horror release. The cover art on the box may make you think to bypass or rent this, but I urge anyone with a taste for creepy horror and H.P. Lovecraft to purchase this ASAP. I, along with so many lucky others, experienced this creepy, get-under-your-skin horror tale at a film festival and we were blown away. It's a great high concept story expertly translated with a minimal budget. The effects are terrifying at times while cast and crew deliver a nightmarish vision that may make you keep the lights on for weeks. I suggest blasting this through your audio system to get the full effect that will have you jumping out of your skin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subtle, Minimalist Horror., February 13, 2012
By 
HorrorTerry78 (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Absentia (Amazon Instant Video)
This is great, quiet, character-driven horror if you dig movies like "Session 9," "The Eclipse" or the work of directors like Kiyoshi Kurosawa. It is low budget, psychological rather than explicit, and a slow burn.

If you like movies with graphic gore, T&A, movies like "Saw" or "Hostel," or anything by Rob Zombie, you will almost certainly hate this movie. It requires an adult's attention span and an appreciation for character and subtlety. Highly recommended for discerning elevated-genre fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YOU CAN SEE ME?, June 11, 2012
This review is from: Absentia (Amazon Instant Video)
Callie (Katie Parker) and Tricia (Courtney Bell) are sisters. Callie is a former drug addict who has traveled quite a bit. She can spout off about "dark matter" and "tangential universes." Tricia's husband Daniel(Morgan Peter Brown) has been missing for seven years. She is having him declared dead in absentia. She is also pregnant (do the math) and odds on favorite the kid will be as bald as Detective Mallory (Dave Levine) the man investigating the case.

Callie comes to visit her sister as the fateful day of declaring Daniel dead has arrived. She will help her sister move on. Callie likes to jog and when she does, she passes under a tunnel located under the highway. As she does, odd things start to happen. Like a good horror/mystery/thriller it starts out slow and builds up.

There are a few negatives on this film, first and foremost was the soundtrack. It was second tier all the way, especially during those sad scenes which ran way too long. There were a number of times I thought Courtney Bell forgot what role she was playing. And the third thing was the boom mike visible in the upper right hand corner in a midway scene that involves Callie walking into the bathroom. While the actual image on the DVD cover did not appear in this feature it was thematically correct.

Since the DVD box didn't say anything more about the plot, I won't spoil it because it is worth a view. If you enjoy odd missing persons films, you might like, "Yellow Brick Road" which I though was superior to this story.

F-bombs, no sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A slow burner that's well worth it, February 12, 2012
By 
M. Turman (Kearney, NE USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absentia (Amazon Instant Video)
Dread Central have been hyping this film up for a while and when I saw it available from Amazon-On-Demand I decided to give it a shot. I don't mind low budget films as long as the acting is good and the story is solid. I was not disappointed in the least with this one. The slow build of the story and minimal effects were handled excellently and combined to make a very unique and pleasurable experience. Highly reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A children's story come to brutal, terrifying life..., October 31, 2013
This review is from: Absentia (DVD)
After seven years, Tricia (Courtney Bell) is finally having her husband Daniel (Morgan Peter Brown) declared legally dead "in absentia." To help her cope, her wayward sister Callie (Katie Parker) moves in. Callie starts going for jogs, passing through a tunnel near the women's house. Before long, Tricia's nightmares of guilt become a little too realistic...as Callie has a few strange encounters of her own. Then events really take a turn for the macabre, and the sisters are forced to confront the nightmare that lurks so close to their home...an evil force that is growing ever more hungry...

This isn't a creature feature. This isn't a ghost story. It's almost a fable, itself based on the childhood story "Three Billy Goats Gruff." It's a tale of growing tension and psychological terror, heightened some some fantastic camerawork and editing, and earthy, realistic acting by all characters involved. (Cops who act like real cops and not mindless morons! Who would've figured?) There's practically no gore, and yet ABSENTIA manages to be wholly and thoroughly unsettling...mainly because of what you don't see. And sorry, fans of gore and monsters and things that go visibly bump in the night...you don't see a whole lot. ABSENTIA is subtle. It works itself under your skin and stays there. Writer/director Mike Flanagan is clearly a talent on the rise. ABSENTIA will never gain the popularity it deserves; just look at the cover art, which completely sells the film as something else. If you like smart horror films, that aren't afraid to let things slow down while the tension ratchets up another notch, then this is definitely a film you should check out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated enjoyable horror, June 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Absentia (DVD)
I really liked this movie. It starts out a bit slow, but you get to know and care about the characters. The film builds up a wonderful creepy mood. This is how an Indie horror film should be. There is something lurking in a pedestrian tunnel. This film is definetely worth a watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For the Horror Fan Who Doesn't Need to be Spoon Fed, May 25, 2014
This review is from: Absentia (DVD)
To think that this movie was filmed in just fifteen days, and on a small budget .... well, it really had the look and feel of a professional studio production. Plus, the acting was solid, as was the photography and music and editing.

Ignore the cover of the DVD with the woman being dragged away. That seems like a marketing decision to lure people in. This movie is much better than the cheesy cover suggests. They should have gone with the silhouette figure standing in the tunnel.

The premise, without spoilers: Tricia's husband Daniel disappeared seven years ago, and she is about to have him declared dead in absentia. Her sister Callie comes to stay and to help Tricia find a new apartment. Soon Tricia starts having terrifying visions, and Callie senses something eerie about the nearby tunnel.

This is just the kind of horror film that you want if you enjoy a slow build of dread (like in Brad Anderson's "Session 9"). There is this palpable feeling of melancholy throughout "Absentia" that most American horror features don't usually have. It is not a typical scary film that Hollywood puts out; it's thoughtful and it does not spoon feed to the viewer. No cheapo jump scares here, no gallons of gore. Just a thoughtful, subtle film that gets under your skin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A creepy little number, October 31, 2012
By 
Steve (Highland Park, NJ, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absentia (DVD)
It's easy to overpraise a film like "Absentia" for what it is not -- i.e., not torture-porn or CGI-happy drivel. What it is is a very low-key horror film built around a group of damaged, emotionally frayed people whose everyday concerns blind them to the evil presence that is mostly responsible for their wounds. The reviewer who compared the film to the short stories of Ramsey Campbell and Charles L. Grant is right on target. The people in this film have no idea they're living in a horror story, and you'd be amazed what a difference that makes. The monster is never seen fully, but the damage is causes is viewed whole, and we learn just enough about its motivations to understand that it is completely inhuman in every way but one -- its capacity for bottomless cruelty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Going Through a City Tunnel Again, March 20, 2014
This review is from: Absentia (DVD)
I used to run through these cement underpasses long time ago. I was always scared of some drug dealer or rapist. This is where the movie sets up my fear quotient perfectly. The whole movie is creepy in a good way. I love actors/actresses I haven't seen before. I was engaged, glued to the TV and frightened. This is what I watch (the majority of) movies for. My belief was suspended - meaning crazy stuff like this, does it actually happen, could it be real? Logic competes with my alter illogical state of mind. The music is a bit repetitive but it transports you further into the movie at the same time. No it's not some main stream scary sci fi but I heavily enjoyed it. I didn't buy off Amazon but plan to in the future. It's on a competitor site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Absentia
Absentia by Mike Flanagan (DVD - 2012)
$29.99 $6.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.