Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the college kid
I was thrilled to come across this book. I had always loved absinthe as sort of a cultural obsession and I had quite the supply personally imported during the forbidden years here in the States. But it honestly never occurred to me there was much you could do with it except drink it straight or with water and/or sugar. But there are over 50 recipes in here...
Published on April 13, 2011 by MussSyke

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best if you have deep pockets
In some ways, this is a very good book for the basic absinthe enthusiast, with lots of good information on buying and serving the once-forbidden liqueur. And many of the basic recipes for absinthe-based cocktails are excellent and can be whipped up by someone with a basic bar set-up.

However, in chapter four, which takes up half the book, it gets bogged down...
Published on May 22, 2011 by Michael Cornett


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the college kid, April 13, 2011
This review is from: Absinthe Cocktails (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I was thrilled to come across this book. I had always loved absinthe as sort of a cultural obsession and I had quite the supply personally imported during the forbidden years here in the States. But it honestly never occurred to me there was much you could do with it except drink it straight or with water and/or sugar. But there are over 50 recipes in here!

When I know about something, I am kind of a snob about it, so I was cynical about the historical and cultural content of this book, but it was well done and well written and I may have learned something after all. It's a well put together, neat looking book that just begs for attention from your coffee table - enticing pictures and interesting designs throughout. Fun to look through for any fan of a good drink.

And the drinks are good. But this book is definitely not for everyone:

In preparation for this review - and my own curiosity - I counted my liquor this morning. I have literally 144 different liquors and liqueurs in the house that I brought back from all over the world, and I can only make a couple of recipes in this book exactly as the author describes. There are even a few things I hadn't heard of before. The drinks have been fantastic without much need for reapportioning or anything like that, but it astounds me just how much my bar is missing. It will cost quite a sum by the time I get all this stuff, but the research and shopping will be fun, indeed. But only if that kind of thing is for you.

Some of the less common mixers asked for frequently in the book are Peychaud's bitters (you can get them here on Amazon), Cherry Heering, Creme de Violette, St. Germain, Benedictine, and Ginger Liqueur.

Also note that these are all drinks for people that like good cocktails. There are no recipes in here for college kids who want everything to taste like pineapple juice (thank God). And please don't buy artificially flavoured versions of the mixer liqueurs...

Oh, and quite a few recipes require egg whites for frothiness. I absolutely love 'em, but some people don't, I suppose.

All in all, a great book ...if you're into that sort of thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a coffee table book..., January 10, 2012
This review is from: Absinthe Cocktails (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
There are a few things to know about this book.

First, it is a coffee table book more than it is a practical manual of "mixology". This is evident from the beautiful photos and the fact that more attention is paid to style than to substance. In part, this is probably due to the fact that most people are more familiar with absinthe as a stylish drink than they are as a viable spirit.

Second, absinthe is still a little faddish. This goes with the first. Realistically, if you tell people that absinthe is your favorite spirit, they're likely to think that you're either a poser or that you're a lush. In reality, the complex flavors of absinthe mean that (for those inclined to spend money) it is as reasonable a drink to enjoy amongst company as a fine Scotch. While I have tried a few of these cocktails, I vastly prefer absinthe mixed with something simpler, like Tarhun (a tarragon-flavored soda) or with water. I roll simple, but deep.

With those things in mind, it's not really that surprising that I don't really think that actually MAKING the cocktails is the point. Rather, you are supposed to put this book somewhere obvious (preferably near your absinthe glass and spoon), and have people marvel at your worldliness. Then, when they suggest a recipe to try it out, you mention that you're just fresh out of a few of the ingredients. In this way, your bluff isn't called.

If you ARE forced to actually make some of these cocktails, though, there are two things to keep in mind.

First, many of the ingredients in the book are relatively expensive. If you are willing to drop a significant amount of money, you can try most of the recipes. Many of the liquers required were things that I have never even heard of. Most of them were things that I've never tried. Be prepared to use a lot of things only once, and be prepared to spend. As such, you should perambulate and dodge it as long as possible.

Second, due to the obscure nature of absinthe, most of the cocktails don't really USE absinthe. They involve glass rinses, and a few drops of absinthe. Does that get the flavor in there? Probably a little. But often times, unless you're drinking top shelf, the delicate flavors of absinthe are not going to come through. You might as well just grate a little fennel into your rye and call it good. And if you're dropping stacks on top shelf for every ingredient, well...I guess that you have the dime to spare to buy this just for satisfying your curiosity. But, if you are avoiding making these, as I have suggested

As a reward, though, if you do have to mix one of these, the recipes are generally very interesting sounding, they usually look beautiful and have luscious, exotic names (like Necromancy or Sazerac), and the few I've tried are pretty decent. That said, as Eric C. Sedensky said, substitutions would have been welcome. But, it is important to recognize that this is not really a recipe book so much as it is to showcase the purchaser's sophisticated palate and interest in the forbidden, so I can't over-fault the author for providing a book that Asmoranomardicadaistinaculdacar would be proud of.

(Finally, I am taking a star away from this for the recipes that say, "Coat the glass with absinthe and discard the excess." Never discard absinthe. Ever.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good look at a classic drink, February 8, 2011
By 
Graves (Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Absinthe Cocktails (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
When I open a book of drinks recipes the flavor of a drink is subjective but there are some important things I want to see which are not. These include does the writer make the drinks sound fun? Do they seem to be writing for me and not some elite club in darkened hallways with secret handshakes and is it possible to approach the drinks for experimentation without having to lay out lots of cash? Thankfully in Kate Simon's "Absinthe Cocktails" the answer to all these is yes.

For those who don't know absinthe, it is a very potent, licorice flavored, green liquor that was popular with the `in crowd' of artistic communities, most famously in Paris, during the `belle epoch.' Having the good fortune to hit Paris as the cocktail was being invented and the French wine industry was cursed by blight it became the in drink for many people but it fell out of favor and was banned due to cheaper production causing brain lesions and a resurgent French wine clique putting pressure on the culture. It is now enjoying something of a revival in a new, safer version.

Absinthe Cocktails explains this in more detail without being pretentious and manages to keep a sense of humor about the whole thing. After all this is about drinking. More than just the history of the liquor and the horrors its faux impostors created, Simon explains how it acts and why many recipes in an Absinth book have only a trace amount of the liquor.

When it comes to the drinks themselves anyone with a halfway decent bar set up will be able to start experimenting right after getting a bottle of absinthe. Beyond the recipe themselves Simon includes a few words on the history of the drinks and suggestions for altering them slightly if you don't like the taste.

Some of the drinks do have some expensive ingredients and a few odd mixes, but she provides recipes for some of the more obscure mixers and gives ideas how to get around some of the more off beat ingredients. The bottom line is that you can experiment without a massive outlay of cash and if you like it and want to get further into the subject, you're enjoying yourself enough to be willing to pay this.

The book is nice to look at with good pictures of the drinks and easily read instructions, a co-worker who doesn't drink even enjoyed leafing through my copy because it was so attractive, but the black pages with white lettering have the disadvantage that you can't really make notes on them about what you liked or didn't. since this is my only real quibble with the book and many people may not mark up their cook books it really doesn't affect it.

The bottom line is that Simon has produced an attractive and informative book that will let the inquisitive explore the world of the "Green fairy" easily and without too much outlay. Whether or not you like the flavor is subjective, that Simon has written a book that is approachable is not. Her tone is light and avoids being ponderous and since the ultimate aim is to have a drink and a good time, isn't that a good thing?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice addition to the home bartender's library, February 3, 2011
By 
John W. Graham (Orlando, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absinthe Cocktails (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I got this book to supplement some existing books I have on the subject of cocktails.

Though I doubt there are hoards of anise-flavored spirit lovers out there, I happen to enjoy Absinthe. My first impression of the book was that it was a very attractive volume, suitable for display on the coffee table. Rich with photos, the book doesn't disappoint on visual appeal. There is a nice historical context presented about Absinthe, and tips on brands and glassware.

As with most cocktail references, there are some hard-to-find and/or expensive ingredients listed in some of the cocktail recipes, so it pays to be selective about what you want to experiment with. You will need to know up front that Absinthe is not going to be cheap, and don't expect to mix cheap ingredients with it. My local liquor store had Lucid and Pernod brands, as well as La Clandestine and Koruba, amongst others. I ended up getting Distillerie Vinet Ege Absinthe Le Tourment Vert, for whatever reason.

That said, I did try some of the recipes, starting with the classics (Sazerac, etc). I have to say that I am as impressed with the recipes as I am with the gorgeous book. If you are looking for a great reference book on Absinthe...this is it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best if you have deep pockets, May 22, 2011
This review is from: Absinthe Cocktails (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
In some ways, this is a very good book for the basic absinthe enthusiast, with lots of good information on buying and serving the once-forbidden liqueur. And many of the basic recipes for absinthe-based cocktails are excellent and can be whipped up by someone with a basic bar set-up.

However, in chapter four, which takes up half the book, it gets bogged down. This features lots of cocktail recipes from upscale lounges and formulated by swank bartenders, and frequently these drinks will only be something you can fantasize about. They frequently will either call for specific varieties of absinthe or for esoteric ingredients that will force you to drop a packet at your local specialty liquor store...if you can find one. And some only call for a drop or two of absinthe, or only enough to coat a glass. A few too many are merely drinks where absinthe is a minor flavoring agent rather than something truly incorporated into the drink, which may be an issue for some. It could be seen as an economizing measure but many of these drinks also have expensive ingredients so if you're going to drop a ton of cash on those esoteric ingredients you're really not saving much by rationing the absinthe.

I'd still recommend this to absinthe fans, but it's of limited usefulness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fairy Flying High, February 17, 2011
This review is from: Absinthe Cocktails (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I realize that this will sound odd but even though I'm a teetotaler (almost allergic to even the smell of alcohol) I've been fascinated by absinthe ever since I saw Lana Turner's Madame X drown her sorrows in la fée verte on late-night TV when I was a kid, so much so that for several years, I've been on the Oxygenée mailing list. I jumped on Kate Simon's Absinthe Cocktails because I not only wanted to see what else could be done with absinthe other than serving it in the traditional manner (sugar cube, spoon, fountain filled with icy water) but because I suspected (correctly, I was delighted to discover) that this book would be a proper release rather than yet another uncorrected proof. :)

First, let me say that it was a PLEASURE to be offered the opportunity to review such a well-written work; I was able to pretty much shift out of editor/proofreader mode into overdrive, and a smooth ride it was, too. Kate Simon not only has possesses exactly the skills needed for excellent food writing but she has a real feel for her subject as well. She manages to cram a lot of lore into the pages between the recipes, all of it fascinating. I wish she'd mentioned that "verte," as it ages, metamorphoses into a beautiful golden topaz color and I also wish that she'd called a spade a spade when she cited the proliferation of the bogus product being sold online for what it almost always is: Czech-made "absinth," a vile abomination marketed to ignorant consumers who think absinthe (which, technically, has never really been illegal here) is supposed to be an hallucinogenic. Perhaps this was considered non-PC, perhaps she didn't know. Well, now everyone reading this does.

Many possible treatments of absinthe are covered, including the aforementioned traditional spoon-and-fountain. Mercifully, the flaming sugar cube (another Czech affectation) is given the short shrift it deserves--it is evident yet again that Ms. Simon has done her homework. And Lara Ferroni's photographs are absolutely delightful--beautifully composed and shot, they show off The Green Fairy to her best advantage. I don't think there's anything I'd change.

If you have any interest at all in this legendary spirit, don't hesitate. Ms. Simon's and Ms. Ferroni's collaborative efforts will grace any bookshelf, serve as an engaging conversation piece, and will undoubtedly prove useful for readers who--unlike myself--actually drink.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Did I say Exquisite !!, February 1, 2011
This review is from: Absinthe Cocktails (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This book is absolutely the most exqusite book on Absinthe in the world !

Personally I wish it had been publised several years back when I was exploring the subject myself for a food interest.

The author here has certainly done her homework and prepared for the exam.

The photos in this book are gorgeous , wonderful and elegant. They'll pretty much take your breath away .

Now, keep in mind that Absinthe is not the cheapest bottle on the shelf....and that the additional mixing ingredients are not the easyist nor the lowest cost on the shelves either...........but for those that wonder , desire or may I even say DEMAND the fine , the unusual , the expensive , the hard to get , the top shelf....the best......then look no further.

It will be found in ABSINTHE Cocktails.

I give this book the highest recommendations available.

Buy it--because you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absinthe Is Back - At Last!, March 21, 2011
This review is from: Absinthe Cocktails (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Written by Kate Simon, "Absinthe Cocktails" gives present-day cocktail drinkers the opportunity to see what American imbibers have missed since the early 1920s. If you like Pernod, you will find a similar anise flavor in absinthe. Quite often, just a few drops of the liqueur are added to a complete drink such as the Dolores Park Swizzle. Some drinks, notably the Cherry Blossom Brocade, contain a large proportion of absinthe - combined with gin and ruby red grapefruit juice, which is delicious. For those who are not inveterate drinkers yet enjoy reading about cocktails (especially when accompanied by Lara Ferroni's colorful photographs), Simon's book will provide the ideal tonic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Absinthe Minded: An Absinthe Cocktails by Kate Simon and Lara Ferroni Review, February 21, 2011
This review is from: Absinthe Cocktails (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Absinthe Cocktails, like many cocktail recipe books, starts off with couple chapters before going into the cocktail recipes themselves. The first chapter, "ABSINTHE: A Primer and Buying Guide", is 7 pages covering the history of Absinthe, explaining the three different categories, and lists various brands of each style to consider purchasing. The next chapter, "BEFORE YOU POUR How to Approach the Recipes in this Book", consists of 5 pages full of details about glasses, spoons, and various cocktail ingredients. Unless you are familiar with absinthe, I would suggest reading both of these chapters before purchasing an absinthe to mix with.

The third chapter, "THE CLASSICS", consists of 15 cocktail recipes including the famous absinthe drip. The book recommends starting with this recipe before trying others as it's an excellent recipe for learning the flavor profile of an absinthe. The fourth chapter, "THE NEW GUARD", consists of 35 recipes provided by modern day mixologists. Both chapters include simple to complex recipes interspersed between numerous tempting full page glossy images.

While not necessarily the fault of the book, trying the recipes in Absinthe Cocktails will require a hefty investment at the liquor store. Many quality Absinthes on the market will cost $50 or more for a 750ml bottle. Additionally, many recipes require unusual ingredients like orange flower water, elderflower liquor, or floc de gascogne blanc.

Fortunately, if you have a well stocked bar and only purchase a quality bottle of absinthe there are plenty of cocktails to enjoy. After I purchased a bottle of absinthe, we had everything needed to make the Sazerac, a classic New Orleans cocktail, the Reverse Sazerac Sour, a modern English twist on the classic cocktail, plus many more options.

Most recipes use about an ounce of absinthe, so a bottle will provide many cocktails. For those interested in trying Absinthe, this book is an excellent starting point and a good reference. If your worried about the expense, have a small tasting party where the guests share the cost to purchase a quality absinthe. Then have fun and enjoy the mystique of the green fairy.

PROS:
Numerous tempting full page glossy images
Includes both classic and modern cocktail recipes
Explains the history of and how to purchase a good absinthe

CONS:
Trying the recipes can get expensive
Several recipes call for unusual ingredients
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars History's Most Notorious Booze Returns, February 6, 2011
By 
Robert H. Knox (Brentwood, NH United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absinthe Cocktails (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Ah, yes: Absinthe. Though it was decades ago, I still remember the horror stories told by my high school
French teacher. The mental image of nineteenth-century artists and poets literally burning up their brain
tissue with this infamous concoction has never left me. Nevertheless, when Absinthe again became available
in the USA after nearly a century, there was no getting around the idea that I had to try some. I'm happy
to report that the Green Fairy, as it's sometimes called, is far from the devil water of lurid myth, and is
in fact a uniquely pleasant potable. A familiar story, eh?

Kate Simon, editor-at-large of Imbibe (!) magazine, obviously agrees. Simon and photographer Lara Ferroni
have produced this beautiful guide to a legendary drink. ABSINTHE COCKTAILS is at once highly informational
and pleasing to the eye. Its design evokes Absinthe's nineteeth-century heyday with decorative margins and
white-on-black type treatments. Ferroni's elegant photographs make one want to try all of these cocktails in
succession; please try to resist that temptation!

"Just by accident", I happened to have a bottle of Absinthe handy when reading. After finishing the Primer
and Buying Guide, and perusing the useful Resources section, I got to the book's heart: the drink recipes.
Naturally, the classic Absinthe Drip is covered, but, once I started examining the cocktails, I realized
that I wouldn't be able to try many of them without a sizable investment. These drinks require ingredients
that won't be found in most home bars, and probably most commercial bars as well. It would be best to pick
a few cocktails that sound good and take the recipes to the most well-stocked bar that you know. I myself
was able to scare up the ingredients for two classic Sazeracs, one with whisky and one with tequila; these
were almost too tasty. Most of the drinks covered do not require very much Absinthe, and, as Simon points
out, you could try every cocktail in the book using only one bottle. The uninitiated should know, however,
that the better brands available here are generally priced at $60.00-$80.00 per bottle.

The adventurous tippler needs this book, and that's all there is to it...so buy it! It's priced to sell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Absinthe Cocktails
Absinthe Cocktails by Kate Simon (Hardcover - October 6, 2010)
$19.95 $15.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.