Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!
This is a wonderful, informative, and beautiful book.
This book is about the Absolut Vodka advertising campaign. How it began, and what it is about. There are many beautiful, and breath taking images which makes you see the entire light of the campaign which looks so simple from the outside. Now, you get the inside looks and it isn't simple at all but an amazing...
Published on June 19, 2003 by intentaccess

versus
18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Awful Absolut Advertising
Much as I hate to admit it, editors add more value than authors often appreciate. This book is a good example of missed potential for good editing.
The book contains almost 500 Absolut ads, and some of the rejects. What I did not realize until I looked at this book was how much bad Absolut advertising has appeared. Clearly, this volume would have been greatly...
Published on November 13, 2000 by Donald Mitchell


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Awful Absolut Advertising, November 13, 2000
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Absolut Book: The Absolut Vodka Advertising Story (Paperback)
Much as I hate to admit it, editors add more value than authors often appreciate. This book is a good example of missed potential for good editing.
The book contains almost 500 Absolut ads, and some of the rejects. What I did not realize until I looked at this book was how much bad Absolut advertising has appeared. Clearly, this volume would have been greatly improved by eliminating about 450 of the images in it. There is also a lot of text about how the ads are created, with a lot of pats on the back for the importers and agency involved. But there is relatively little about the creative process, and what works and what doesn't.
If you want to learn more interesting details about Absolut, I suggest that you acquire the newer book, Absolut, the History of the Bottle, instead.
Absolut advertising is all built around the formula of the word "Absolut" followed by some other word or words intending to say "Absolute X." While the lines are almost always good, the execution of how well the images fit with the text often leaves something or a lot to be desired. In other cases, the visuals are just plain ugly.
As the text suggests here, the idea was that "Absolut would be a product that could laugh at itself." That position is missed when the image is either almost irrelevant or unattractive. It just makes Absolut seem like it is a reflection of bad taste.
The mood for the ads was supposed to be light to " . . . add a dollop of humor so the 'We're the best' claim wouldn't be quite so boring or prententious." Well, you'll have to judge for yourself, but the ads seemed to have badly strayed from that standard.
Just so you won't think I dislike the campaign, here are my favorite ads in the book (I have eliminated "Absolut" from the titles to save space): Perfection, Joy, Peak, 19th, Harmony, L.A., Manhattan, Haring, and Appeal.
The other thought that bothered me was treating expensive vodka advertising as art. What's the social benefit here?
After you have finished considering the book, I suggest that you examine how you can add beauty to the world through your life and your work.
A votre sante!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!, June 19, 2003
By 
"intentaccess" (Boca Raton, Florida USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Absolut Book: The Absolut Vodka Advertising Story (Paperback)
This is a wonderful, informative, and beautiful book.
This book is about the Absolut Vodka advertising campaign. How it began, and what it is about. There are many beautiful, and breath taking images which makes you see the entire light of the campaign which looks so simple from the outside. Now, you get the inside looks and it isn't simple at all but an amazing experience.
WOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutley Fabulous!!!!, January 23, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Absolut Book: The Absolut Vodka Advertising Story (Paperback)
This is book is absolutley fabulous (no pun intended). I've been tearing these ads out of magazines for years now and have them all over my walls. Who knew so many others were doing the same? The book is filled with almost 500 of the ads explaining how most of them were shot or created. It is a definite must for Absolut fans!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolut great book!, June 13, 2001
By 
Izzy (st. louis park, mn United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Absolut Book: The Absolut Vodka Advertising Story (Paperback)
Wow! After reading this, I was raving to my friends about this creative book. I've never read anything like it! Richard W. Lewis has written an Absolut awsome story about the making of this company. After the first couple pages of reading, I couldn't stop myself! So I give this book a five star rating for it's creative, informative, and easy to understand literature. I'm also giving it five stars for it's vast collection of Absolut Vodka advertisements. Clearly, this book is not only a book that teaches you things, but is really fun to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolut Best Coffee Table Book, November 21, 2000
By 
Eric M. Schmidt "Ezri" (Tucson, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolut Book: The Absolut Vodka Advertising Story (Paperback)
There are Absolut ads in this book that you may never have seen before. This book is filled with the visually appealing ads from one of the greatest magazine ad campaigns in American history. Coffee table books are supposed to spark conversation, and this one will accomplish that easily. The pictures are vivid and the book contains some interesting stories about the Absolut ad campaign. There are even reject ads in this book. A great idea and well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the coolest coffee table book ever!!!, August 13, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Absolut Book: The Absolut Vodka Advertising Story (Paperback)
I have been collecting the Absolut ads for years now and I am just crazy about this book. It is a fabulous advertising book about the history of the company and of the ad campaign. If you love the Absolut ads, you'll love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheers!!, August 29, 2000
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Absolut Book: The Absolut Vodka Advertising Story (Paperback)
This is a terrific book, with information about how the wonderful Absolut vodka advertising campaign began. The real strength of the book is the collection of images. In some cases, looking at an entire campaign all together takes something away from the individual ads. This is not the case for these advertisements -- taken together, they are even cooler than they were in their original magazine contexts.
I just hope they will do a second volume when there are enough new ads to justify it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Page Flipping Fun, July 13, 2000
This review is from: Absolut Book: The Absolut Vodka Advertising Story (Paperback)
This is one of those excellent books that you keep out on a table in your house and flip through everytime that you are near it. This book collects about 500 different advertisements that the Absolut Vodka company has used to promote their product in magazines. Most of the ads featured are very creative and all of them very well done. To top that of the book has inside information on the making and history of their advertising campaign. This really is an excellant book for the coffee table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolut Fascination., April 27, 1998
This review is from: Absolut Book: The Absolut Vodka Advertising Story (Paperback)
I work in marketing and advertising, so this book is significant in depicting how a brand is able to create such a distinctive, recognizable persona through simple (yet innovative and creative) variations on a theme. Absolut will go down in history as one of the most effective campaigns of the late 20th century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is definetly cool and affordable!, July 4, 1999
By A Customer
This book deserves a Newberry award or another award. I really enjoy the Absoulut ads because they are catchy and humorous. Kudos to the author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Absolut Book: The Absolut Vodka Advertising Story
Absolut Book: The Absolut Vodka Advertising Story by Richard W. Lewis (Paperback - October 15, 1996)
$34.95 $25.41
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.