Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best so far, April 9, 2009
This review is from: Academic Stimulus Package (Piled Higher & Deeper) (Paperback)
If you enjoyed the previous books don't hesitate in buying it, this is better.

I just read this book and I may say this is the best of the four books not only because of the quality (it is full colored and the kind of paper is better) but because of better jokes: Mike looking for a real job, Cecilia and her T.A. section, the eternal life in the lab (there is this remarkable joke about The Lab Hierarchy which, in my opinion, is the closest to reality of the book) and Tajel with a surprising romance.

This book also includes a game to play Bingo in an Academic Seminar, a very original idea for enjoying with your research group in some workshop you don't like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still funny !, July 24, 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Academic Stimulus Package (Piled Higher & Deeper) (Paperback)
I have the whole collection, and read it online at least once a week. It's scary because it's such a true depiction of grad school, life in research lab, and academia in general. Read them all and you'll see the progression in style. Cheap and a good laugh. Do not show to your grad students...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice book!, May 18, 2009
By 
Xiaoge Su (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Academic Stimulus Package (Piled Higher & Deeper) (Paperback)
If you are a grad student, you definitely should read this book. It is all about your life in an humor style. You will love it. I strongly recommmend this book to all new grads, as an introduction for their future lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must to have if you are a graduate student!, July 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Academic Stimulus Package (Piled Higher & Deeper) (Paperback)
Must to have if you are a graduate student! Doesn't matter where are you from, all the graduate students and Pos Doc will identify themselves in the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, March 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Academic Stimulus Package (Piled Higher & Deeper) (Paperback)
Jorge Cham is fantastic, as always. A must for anyone who likes PhD comics, and anyone who has attended grad school. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every grad student should read this!, January 4, 2013
By 
yystickers (east coast, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Academic Stimulus Package (Piled Higher & Deeper) (Paperback)
Jorge Cham has really captured the essence of the graduate student and his/her graduate school experience. Every grad student should read his series of comic books; it'll help alleviate the hardship and isolation of their grad school experience!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice piece of work, June 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Academic Stimulus Package (Piled Higher & Deeper) (Paperback)
I could be definitely biased, but that's a real-world experience that every grad student could have in grad school, and see it written about her/him in this book. An amazing piece of work, indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jorge Keeps Getting Better!, January 12, 2010
By 
This review is from: Academic Stimulus Package (Piled Higher & Deeper) (Paperback)
I discovered Piled Higher and Deeper and recognized that, behind the humor, very little (other than the technology) had changed since my own days in graduate school more years ago than I will admit to in public. I'm hooked on the strip and even my son (who is now 13-1/2) has been hooked on it since he was 10. I hope that this doesn't discourage him from pursuing a graduate education.

This collection picks up where the last one left off, with Mike Slackenerny a brand new Ph.D. and overqualified for any job other than working as a postdoctoral research associate and ending with Tajel's wedding. It has the added benefit of being printed in color (at last!)

The strip is intelligent, funny and an accurate comical take on what it means to spend what may be the prime of your life still in school. You can laugh and cry at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, January 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Academic Stimulus Package (Piled Higher & Deeper) (Paperback)
These comics are fantastic. You need to be a PhD student yourself to appreciate the humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More fun for grad students, September 2, 2009
By 
David Jimenez "DJ" (College Station, TX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Academic Stimulus Package (Piled Higher & Deeper) (Paperback)
This collection is great. Just as the precedent "PhD: The comic" books, it is actually a collection of the strips published on thousands of college newspapers around the world, but it is great. Also, this one center a little less on the engineers and pure scientists, and makes fun of some other social sciences too. A fun read... VERY FUNNY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9d342444)

This product

Academic Stimulus Package (Piled Higher & Deeper)
Academic Stimulus Package (Piled Higher & Deeper) by Jorge Cham (Paperback - March 23, 2009)
$15.00 $13.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.