Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Save money, save time, and enjoy getting your degree.
Voeller's techniques will be a godsend to those who want to obtain their degree on an accelerated schedule and save money in the process. Both practical and envisioning, the author's lively and readable text makes this an accessible guide for highschoolers in a hurry, as well as for the brainy grad-school crowd already using some of these techniques. The Internet is...
Published on March 31, 2003 by Vicki S.

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars it's okay, but not great
I just finished reading "Accelerated Distance Learning" and I am not amazed, but I definitely learned some valuable things.

The book covers various topics, such as

-Why Accelerated Distance Learning is a better choice than traditional college
This part was actually pretty good, and made me think about traditional college education, but even more...
Published 12 months ago by Bob Bobington


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Save money, save time, and enjoy getting your degree., March 31, 2003
By 
Vicki S. (Gaithersburg, MD USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Accelerated Distance Learning: The New Way to Earn Your College Degree in the Twenty-First Century (Paperback)
Voeller's techniques will be a godsend to those who want to obtain their degree on an accelerated schedule and save money in the process. Both practical and envisioning, the author's lively and readable text makes this an accessible guide for highschoolers in a hurry, as well as for the brainy grad-school crowd already using some of these techniques. The Internet is changing the face of higher education and no longer does a student have to settle for mediocre instruction when some of the world's best teachers now offer their courses online. Voeller also guides the student through the process of testing out (CLEP, Regents, etc.), mentored study, and portfolio assessment for academic knowledge learned on the job. His advice on how to find exactly the course you want (or craft your own) is excellent. Though Voeller covers some of the same ground as Dr. John Bear, his information on learning efficiency and retention is a welcome addition to this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great resource for students preparing for college., March 16, 2004
This review is from: Accelerated Distance Learning: The New Way to Earn Your College Degree in the Twenty-First Century (Paperback)
Brad Voeller's book provides some of the most useful information available on the other options for higher education.
I personally have used the information taught in this book to earn my bachelors degree for under $8000 in less than 2 years.
It is a must read reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great way to decrease time in college and save money!, May 22, 2004
This review is from: Accelerated Distance Learning: The New Way to Earn Your College Degree in the Twenty-First Century (Paperback)
I have implemented the techniques and learning strategies Brad Voeller writes about in his book and I am on my way to finishing my degree in just under 2 years. There is a lot of information out there about Distance Education. It would have ben overwhelming to try to figure it out on my own. This book is a concise way to understand the way Distance learning can work. The accelerated methods have been an incredible boost in the way I learn and think. This is a must read for the person seeking ways to beat the non-traditional methods of education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars it's okay, but not great, July 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Accelerated Distance Learning: The New Way to Earn Your College Degree in the Twenty-First Century (Paperback)
I just finished reading "Accelerated Distance Learning" and I am not amazed, but I definitely learned some valuable things.

The book covers various topics, such as

-Why Accelerated Distance Learning is a better choice than traditional college
This part was actually pretty good, and made me think about traditional college education, but even more about college dept

-How and when to use credit-by-examination, portfolio assessment, online courses, and guided studies
In my opinion the most valuable part of the book, since that's how you earn your credits cheap and fast

-How to remember, read and write information quickly and effectively
Speed reading, LOCI Technique, but nothing new. I think with a quick google search about study skills I would have found more and better tips

-How to decide in which college to enroll, credit-earning options, and how you'll pay for it
This part was quite short and had a lot of pictures of webpages of different colleges (why?!), and it doesn't really give you new information on how to pay it, besides the ones everybody knows: FAFSA, Scholarship or simply a job..

-How to increase efficiency by organizing your time and your environment
also a pretty short part "tidy up your desk", "use a calendar" (duh..!).

A point that really annoyed me about this book is how Voeller constantly advertises other (expensive) programs; such as ONE specific speed reading program, and even his sister's cookbook (??) and many, many more. But also some colleges, even with pictures, and that several times.

Another thing that disturbed me a lot was simple that the book had spelling errors and wrong examples on page 111 for the German words.

It wasn't necessarily a problem for me, but maybe others liked to be warned that this book is quite christian (install a software on your computer, so that you don't "accidentally" browse onto a pornographic website).

Furthermore, this book needs an update, it was first published in 2002, my version is from 2009. I don't think the concerns towards too much internet traffic dugout the day are still up to date.

Like another reviewer said before, everybody that just takes the time and looks on the internet can find the same information. Don't spent 17 USD on this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs an update, February 3, 2008
By 
This review is from: Accelerated Distance Learning: The New Way to Earn Your College Degree in the Twenty-First Century (Paperback)
A lot of the information in this book will become outdated within a year or two. Its been longer than that since ADL was updated. Brad should come out with another edition and a website subscription for book buyers that provide up-to-date information on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book! Must Read! I purchased through Amazon, June 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Accelerated Distance Learning: The New Way to Earn Your College Degree in the Twenty-First Century (Paperback)
This book is very easy to read with lots of good information. I have a daughter that is in High School and this year she will be graduating. I now have some ideas of how she can go to college without costing a fortune!Brad Voeller is an excellent writer, everything he says makes sense and he has proof to back it up. This book has opened up a whole new world for learning. Glad I purchased it! I am telling all my friends at work who are considering college or who have kids that are ready for college.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Ideas..., May 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Accelerated Distance Learning: The New Way to Earn Your College Degree in the Twenty-First Century (Paperback)
Definitely things I had not thought about...apparently there is a second book that infers greater detail and websites. I guess I will have to get that to get a full picture. But, worth the considerations presented!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a look at education for the future ., March 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Accelerated Distance Learning: The New Way to Earn Your College Degree in the Twenty-First Century (Paperback)
Rather than go away to college the writer used the credit by exam option. He believes classrooms are not the only place to learn. A person can learn by experience,or by independent study. He tells how he completed an accredited college degree in matter of months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, January 4, 2013
By 
Judy (Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Accelerated Distance Learning: The New Way to Earn Your College Degree in the Twenty-First Century (Paperback)
I love this book. I just wish I had time to do this. I bought this as a second copy to give one of my nieces who seems to be trying to accelerate her learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good Stuff, August 24, 2012
This review is from: Accelerated Distance Learning: The New Way to Earn Your College Degree in the Twenty-First Century (Paperback)
I am the kind of person who will look into all of the possible options before I make a choice, and so I decided to to a distance learning degree to save time and thousands of dollars. This book really provided the backbone of my degree helping me with decisions and saving me a lot of effort. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Accelerated Distance Learning: The New Way to Earn Your College Degree in the Twenty-First Century
Used & New from: $0.21
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.