Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring for Marketers and Entrepreneurs
Once, I was reading Accidental Branding on the subway and two twenty-ish European women sitting by me paused to check out the book. "It's an interesting title," said the brunette.

The next day I was at UPS and a 30-something mother entered with her three-year-old. She asked to see the book, as it turned out she had Thanksgiving dinner with the author...
Published on May 29, 2008 by David Berkowitz

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shallow, doesn't deliver
Ok, the good thing: the book is fast to read (I finished it in about three days), but, honestly I found it lacking in meat, lacking in what was in the owner minds, it drifted a lot and talked a lot about non important things.

So, I'll summarize for you the important things that I found in the book:

1.- Build a myth around it. Build a story, something...
Published on May 25, 2010 by Pancho Pantera


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A top 10 business book, September 3, 2013
This review is from: Accidental Branding: How Ordinary People Build Extraordinary Brands (Hardcover)
When someone tells me they are going to start a business, I tell them they must read this book first. I tell them to wait and write their business plan after they read this book. The book will share with them that there is more to business than just having a product, good service and making a profit. Your business needs to be unique and your personal touch is what will determine this uniqueness.
The stories are amazing testaments to how people should run a business. Their style of management, care, and insight becomes the unique selling proposition of each of these businesses. These are real people with real businesses that have succeeded. Not a text book. Very inspiring.
I hope Mr. Vinjamuri writes another book filled with more business success stories like these. I could read books like this every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read and very inspirational, July 31, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Accidental Branding: How Ordinary People Build Extraordinary Brands (Hardcover)
I like to learn about things, so non-fiction in general appeals to me. A real winner, though, is one that is actually fun to read in itself. Accidental Branding is one of those books. It is a great read - full of stories that are engaging and really interested me. I found it very inspiring and informative. I highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a book that gives detailed case studies on real companies and how they've turned a good idea into amazing businesses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Accidental Branding' is no accident, June 2, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Accidental Branding: How Ordinary People Build Extraordinary Brands (Hardcover)
Vinjamuri has created an informative and entertaining collection of real life success stories. His in-depth research and easy writing style makes for a good read. I learned that developing brand loyalty does not require MBA credentials. Hard work, good instincts, attention to detail and several other characteristics are identified as common denominators of these successful entrepreneurs. I'm incorporating these pearls into my business and I heartily recommend this book to anyone who has a product to take to the marketplace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, smart, a great read!, May 28, 2008
This review is from: Accidental Branding: How Ordinary People Build Extraordinary Brands (Hardcover)
Just a great, great read that any marketer or student of branding will enjoy. Vinjamuri talks to some of the most successful brand builders out there, and their insights are invaluable. Coupled with his readable style and you've got a book that's as enjoyable as it is educational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very clearly written and valuable book, May 13, 2008
This review is from: Accidental Branding: How Ordinary People Build Extraordinary Brands (Hardcover)
A This is a clearly written book about "accidental" entrepreneurs, who remained true to their brand promise. Vinjamuri has defined an accidental brand as one where:

1. An individual who is not trained in marketing must create the brand
2. The individual must experience the problem that the brand solves.
3. The individual must control the brand for at least three years.

So you will read about

* Craig Newmark of Craig's list,
* John Peterman of J.Peterman,
* Gary Erickson of Clif Bar,
* Gert Boyle of Columbia Sportswear,
* two founders of The Art of Shaving,
* Julie Aigner-Clark , Baby Einstein videos and
* Roxanne Quimby of Bert's Bees.

These are all unique individuals in different industries who remained

* really true to the customers "who bring ya to the dance",
* they also were fanatical about details and product execution,
* they may have had one really lucky break in their business, and
* they have been able to capitalize on their success to go onto other things.

Well written and clearly in tune with the subject ( I love it when marketing folks write a book). This is a useful book in that it reinforces that for todays market, the customer has to know they receive real value from authentic vendors. (Sounds like the Go-Giver). The depictions are very authentic and real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable!, May 7, 2008
This review is from: Accidental Branding: How Ordinary People Build Extraordinary Brands (Hardcover)
I was pleasantly surprised at just how much fun this book was to read. The stories of the entrepreneurs focus on the people themselves, how their personal lives created their business ideas, and the obstacles they had to overcome in order to build their brands. I really felt like I was traveling with each one on his or her personal journey and getting a close look at their inspirations and issues. It was exciting and troubling and moving hearing about the things they went through and why.

The book also clearly showed that you could apply the branding methods that worked for the labor-of-love businesses covered to other sorts of businesses, even ones where the founders are not as invested in the product. Nearly every day I now notice these tricks in use by large and exceptionally successful companies, and realize that I have been influenced by them! It has been a really eye opening experience, and has given me a new perspective on what works when giving your product or service a strong and desirable identity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring for anyone launching a company, September 29, 2010
By 
This review is from: Accidental Branding: How Ordinary People Build Extraordinary Brands (Hardcover)
This book is absolutely inspiring for anyone looking to launch a business, not for the money but because you recognize a need. Turns out, when you have passion behind it, you will probably make a lot of money anyway. This book is about entrepreneurs who stayed true to themselves and to the product they wanted to create. Its refreshing when everything else you come across makes it seem like you have to sell your soul to be successful in business. I highly recommend this book to anyone with a small business and big dreams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shallow, doesn't deliver, May 25, 2010
By 
Pancho Pantera (currently: Baking ... soda) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Accidental Branding: How Ordinary People Build Extraordinary Brands (Hardcover)
Ok, the good thing: the book is fast to read (I finished it in about three days), but, honestly I found it lacking in meat, lacking in what was in the owner minds, it drifted a lot and talked a lot about non important things.

So, I'll summarize for you the important things that I found in the book:

1.- Build a myth around it. Build a story, something that makes people sympathize with you. Something romantic, heroic, mysterious, etc., whatever suits you.
2.- Build a community around it. Invest in knowing and letting people know your product. Reach for people that rave about your product/service.
3.- Be there. Keep an eye on the business, know all the details, but don't micromanage.

Some chapters are interesting, specially the first ones, but the last three or four (of seven) seem very very rushed out, instead of telling more about the business it deviates and talks about what car the owner drives, or how high are his/her house ceiling is...

For a real Analysis of people that have stood out, I recommend Outliers, by M. Gladwell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn from those who do well, April 20, 2008
By 
This review is from: Accidental Branding: How Ordinary People Build Extraordinary Brands (Hardcover)
This book is fun to read, regardless of whether one expects to start a company. David Vinjamuri takes the reader on a surprisingly intimate series of visits with the founders of companies that are known for their spunk and excellent bonds with their customers. The founders all seem like "real people", and we enjoy getting to know them. Beyond that, however, he identifies the qualities and decisions that caused these seemingly ordinary people to succeed, sometimes after more than one attempt and considerable struggle. Each one built something that solved a personal need into a product that was valued by many and, incidentally, made them very wealthy. This book feels like each of them tells us personally how it was done.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read!, March 25, 2008
By 
CityKiff (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Accidental Branding: How Ordinary People Build Extraordinary Brands (Hardcover)
Accidental Branding is a refreshing new book that delves into the awe-inspiring stories behind six of today's most successful brands (e.g., Craigslist, Baby Einstein, Burt's Bees). Through vivid case studies, the author illustrates how the creators of each brand found inspiration from their own wants and needs. Not your typical business book, Accidental Branding is informative yet extremely entertaining, chock full of in-depth interviews and colorful profiles of six successful entrepreneurs and their burgeoning empires. Definitely a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Accidental Branding: How Ordinary People Build Extraordinary Brands
Accidental Branding: How Ordinary People Build Extraordinary Brands by David Vinjamuri (Hardcover - March 28, 2008)
$24.95 $19.13
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.