Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!, June 30, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Accounting Demystified (Paperback)
With this book, Jeffery Haber has rendered a great service to all who wish to learn accounting.

He bravely put aside his ego and lowered himself to the student's level, something rare in instructional books. He could've went the way of others skilled in a complicated field, and made a book ostensibly for students, but in reality for colleagues.

I have a few gigantic accounting books, but none are as impressive as this little book, which will give you the foundation of your accounting knowledge in 150 pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An easy way to understand financial statements, September 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Accounting Demystified (Paperback)
Accounting is an activity designed to offer you a general image of how your company is doing. Obviously, this is a thing many people need, yet Accounting is considered something very hard to grasp.

Why? Because the teachers who explain you how it works know only the theory. When you try to do yourself what you've been told, you'll get stuck very soon.

"Accounting demystified" has a different approach. It does not start as teachers do, with the beginning, but with the end. It's very important to know what IRS requires of you and why. When you'll understand the goal, the rest falls into the right place. In order to do the final documents, you need this and that, and in order to obtain that information you need the very basic details.

"Accounting demystified" will not make you an account overnight, but it will explain clearly what you need to understand when you look to a financial statement. It's like Accounting is a new town and "Accounting demystified" is the map, with all important places from that town, and how to get from one to another.

If you start understanding Accounting using this book, you'll save yourself the frustration created by teachers who never owned a company, but are experts in theory.

Sergiu FUNIERU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to Accounting, January 31, 2008
This review is from: Accounting Demystified (Paperback)
This books explains the fundamentals of accounting. Dr Haber has done an excellent job in demystifying accounting for beginners as well as advanced learners. In many instances, he takes one transaction at a time to explain what goes into debit and credit. His approach is very simple, for example explanations about unearned revenue, prepaid expenses etc., that everyone can get an handle on the subject and it actually kindles ones interest to delve deep into the subject. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sure cure for "accounting phobia"!, November 24, 2003
This review is from: Accounting Demystified (Paperback)
Dr. Haber's book admirably accomplishes its goal: to make the basics of accounting understandable in plain English. He walks the reader through terminology and numbers, starting with simple concepts and building on them logically and painlessly. Clear examples and even occasional dry humor make this an ideal introduction for the neophyte. A sure cure for "accounting phobia"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool Book MY Mom Bought, November 23, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Accounting Demystified (Paperback)
Senioritis hit me hard and accounting basics was going to sideline me from special activities unless my grades improved.My mom ordered Accounting Demystified. Less than 200 pages and paperback was just my size. It showed me how to do journal entries and how to check my work. For almost everything the glossary was all I needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Students' Little Helper, November 23, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Accounting Demystified (Paperback)
I desperately needed help getting through the 800 page beginning accounintg text I was assigned. A friend recommended Accounting Demystified and it saved me from certain failure. It is a fabulous guide; easy to follow, direct, with clear examples of each transaction. My text used tens of pages to explain the basics in convoluted fashion while this slim, concise guide accomplished the goal in just a few pages. It helped me pass the course without wasting hours reading a huge, boring text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended introductory book to Financial Accounting, August 1, 2011
This review is from: Accounting Demystified (Paperback)
I liked this book very much.
I graduated from a business school with Accounting & Information Systems degree. This book is really good to read and it helps me review Accounting concepts and processes.
I recommended it from a standpoint of a recently Accounting grad who struggles to find a job in this economy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book on Financial Accounting, April 30, 2011
This review is from: Accounting Demystified (Paperback)
If you are in Financial Accounting in college, this book is AMAZING for a supplement to your textbook. This book takes complicated ideas and makes them so easy and simple--He writes in a "student" voice so it is very easy to follow him and he gives lots of examples. Examples are the best way to learn too.

Overall, 11/10 book. MUST buy for anyone taking Financial Accounting in college. Very helpful and to the point. No needless graphs, charts, etc found in most textbooks.

I don't understand why accounting textbooks have to be so complicated, filled with needless words, useless graphs to make it look 'pretty', etc. Buy this book and you will be very satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accounting students need this book!, November 27, 2011
This review is from: Accounting Demystified (Paperback)
I am an accounting student and was looking for something to help break down the Accounting concepts in a more understandable way. This book definitely does the job. It is an easy read, and doesn't go deep into accounting. No headaches here! It gives enough information and simplified examples to make understanding the topics very easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Beginners, February 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just a quick review.

I am a young professional in a professional services firm, looking to broaden my skill set to include accounting and financial services/literacy. Haber's book was perfect for me. I had a working understanding of accounting at the outset (did NOT take a course in college) but this text greatly expanded my appreciation for the field. His processes are concise, big picture at the beginning and detail oriented after that. You know what you have to do as an account, why it must be done in this way, and how to do things properly. What more could a person ask for?

Pros: See above!

Cons: None in this book, but I would love to see a bit more with managerial accounting. Maybe another text is more appropriate?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Accounting Demystified
Accounting Demystified by Jeffry R. Haber (Paperback - November 24, 2003)
$16.95 $12.38
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.