Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great AIS book
This is really a great textbook. It is almost entertaining to read because they use the same examples for several chapters at a time. Really outlines AIS. The self quizzes at the end of the chapters are really helpful and the problems are useful and not tedious.
Published on April 5, 2012 by Kelly Smith

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Needs Updating in Acctg Processes
For a book on Information Systems, I would have expected the examples on accounting functions to be more up-to-date with current business practices rather than the archaic processes that were included.
Unfortunately, my instructor taught "by the book" and I was forced to relearn all the old ways of doing things such as forgoing using a lockbox for receiving cash and...
Published 19 months ago by Joyce


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Needs Updating in Acctg Processes, December 2, 2012
By 
Joyce (Duluth, GA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Accounting Information Systems (12th Edition) (Hardcover)
For a book on Information Systems, I would have expected the examples on accounting functions to be more up-to-date with current business practices rather than the archaic processes that were included.
Unfortunately, my instructor taught "by the book" and I was forced to relearn all the old ways of doing things such as forgoing using a lockbox for receiving cash and having two people in the mail room open the checks and manually write a deposit slip. Who has time for that?
Have the authors of this book not heard of process improvement, automation, Six Sigma? Trust me, the companies out there certainly have and that's what employees' success is judged against.
Teaching college students who have never worked in an Accounting Dept a process that hasn't been used in years is doing them a disservice. The Universities should expect current version textbooks to actually be updated with current business practices and then teach current business practices. Challenge themselves to actually produce graduates who won't feel behind the curve when they're out looking for a job up against those who have work experience. Put them ahead of the curve by teaching them Best Practice for their field. What a concept. It starts with truly up-to-date textbooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible Text, February 28, 2013
By 
Mark B. Lasser (Las Vegas, NV United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Accounting Information Systems (12th Edition) (Hardcover)
Authors describe in detail obscure AIS methodologies. Some chapters read more like a dictionary. Very big on long numbered and bullet lists. I don't get the sense that the authors understand AIS so much as they did some research and cobbled together a textbook with minimal efforts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great AIS book, April 5, 2012
By 
Kelly Smith (South Carolina) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Accounting Information Systems (12th Edition) (Hardcover)
This is really a great textbook. It is almost entertaining to read because they use the same examples for several chapters at a time. Really outlines AIS. The self quizzes at the end of the chapters are really helpful and the problems are useful and not tedious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, December 10, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Accounting Information Systems (12th Edition) (Hardcover)
This is by far the most boring textbook I have ever read, and I've read plenty. Also, the professor pointed out several incorrect examples within the text. Overpriced as most textbooks tend to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good in theory, February 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Accounting Information Systems (12th Edition) (Hardcover)
This book is good in providing theory and an overview of AIS. However, it does not go deep into developing skills that an accountant should master for his trade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accounting Information Systems 12ed, October 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Accounting Information Systems (12th Edition) (Hardcover)
Great book. I have the previous version (11ed). This edition includes ERP information. I'm still using it for my job.
Used it for my MSA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sure, October 8, 2011
By 
Kyle (PROVO, UT, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Accounting Information Systems (12th Edition) (Hardcover)
Pretty good book... lot's of info on systems controls, security, confidentiality, etc. My class requires it (Information Systems 414) so I had to, but overall it's a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Accounting Information Systems (12th Edition) (Hardcover)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly good, June 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Accounting Information Systems (12th Edition) (Hardcover)
Overall the book is in good condition. The pages are separated slightly in the middle where the glue is.
I gave this rating because I'm so worry about it coming apart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, chapers are perfect in length. Very informative, yet an easy read!, February 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Accounting Information Systems (12th Edition) (Hardcover)
This book is phenomenal. The chapters are perfect in length. Very informative, yet an easy read for any college student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Accounting Information Systems (12th Edition)
Accounting Information Systems (12th Edition) by Marshall B. Romney (Hardcover - January 13, 2011)
$281.20 $231.31
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.