Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King Bose SoundLink AE All-New Amazon Fire TV Luxury Beauty Valentine's Day Cards Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now DOTD

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 2, 2010
Mark Gimenez, who knows Texas, takes his plotting and local color skills to the Gulf Coast for this legal thriller, which is in the Scott Turow tradition. Million-dollar Dallas attorney A. (for Atticus) Scott Fenney leaves Highland Park for Galveston to defend his ex-wife on a murder charge. The story is as good as the premise, and it goes down to the last sentence. Did Rebecca Fenney kill pro golfer Trey Rollins, the man she left her husband for? Gimenez, himself a BOI (Born on the Island), introduces readers to Galveston--after Hurricane Ike. The city becomes one of Gimenez's characters but doesn't get in the way of the compelling mystery, which climaxes with a twisting, turning murder trial, which is tastier than the shrimp at Gaido's.
22 comments42 of 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2014
Your ex-wife calls out to you for help because you're a lawyer and she needs one. You come because you believe you're to blame for her leaving in the first place. Only then, as the people that were once a family relate again do the flaws (and yes there are many) begin to replace the simple guilt for having driven her away. The trial is not at the center of this murder story, except maybe it is. It really depends on where you are in your relationships.

It's a fascinating, troubling book that deals with the three relationships that may shipwreck our lives -- spouses, parents and children. And it does it well in unexpected ways.
0Comment21 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2010
This is a sequel to The Color of Law, and we find it amazing that this writer is not more widely known and that he is not widely published in the U.S. We read every book of Mark Gimenez that we can get our hands on, and thoroughly enjoy each one. Thank goodness that Amazon can give access to such writers.
11 comment27 of 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2015
I loved the first book, The Color of Law. There were pieces of the book that were racist and sexist, but it seemed to fit the story; however, those elements are not justified in Accused. I was excited to see this series continue and to know what happens with A. Scott, Boo, Pajame, etc. Now I just feel insulted and disappointed. I feel like I'm stuck in Mark Gimenez's ridiculous and pathetic male fantasy world. As a female legal professional, it's very offensive to read that every single male legal professional is described as honorable and dedicated to his profession. Every female character is an over-sexed, ex-cheerleader slut who cares nothing about the practice of law, but only wants money and sex. More than one female character wears this ridiculous "uniform" of tight black slacks and a fitted white blouse that her ample breasts are fighting to break free from. Give me a break! As a female attorney/judge in a "man's profession", I would never demean myself or my qualifications by wearing inappropriate, unprofessional, sexy clothing in a professional setting. The most beautiful of my female colleagues feel the same way. I know it may be difficult to grasp Mark, but we do not exist in the legal profession to be your eye candy. It's difficult enough to be taken seriously. The idiotic mischaracterization of female legal professionals and other female professionals in this book adds fuel to the fire. Do better, Mr. Gimenez. I gave this book 3 stars because it is a good story line, though poorly executed.
11 comment10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2014
Mark Gimenez's easy writing style keeps the pages turning in this legal whodunit. Social comment is offered with humorous insight. His characters are entirely plausible and his plot ingenious.
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2014
I had just finished reading The Color of the Law so I was excited to read Accused. Not near as good as the first book in the series. The ending was too rushed as if the author just wanted to finish the book.
0Comment11 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2012
This is a good legal story that keeps you guessing. Could move a bit faster through the plot but is well written. I like his dialogue style.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2012
If you enjoy really good books then don't miss this one! Mark Gimenez really knows how to write and keep you reading. This is the third book written by him that I have read and all have been 5 stars. Hope you enjoy them as much!
0Comment18 of 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2013
MyThird and last Gimenez book ever.His books are basically clones. Potentially good story spoiled by authors irritating social commentary and repetative one liner jokes. Story starts well but then just dies choked by forced wit and pages of commentary. The ending is pathetic and totally unconvincing. waste of time. totally overrated at 5 stars.
0Comment7 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2014
brilliantly written sequel highlighting the life of lawyer scott and his friends and family. believable and poignant and every step of the way presenting a complicated legal process as only gimenez can. it is very difficult being scott! could not put the book down even a minute!
0Comment7 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.