Customer Reviews


387 Reviews
5 star:
 (221)
4 star:
 (88)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great breakout role...
Jim Carrey's work in Pet Detective is just short of Brilliant. Funny thing was, he was mostly being himself. Don't let the movie premise fool you. The character of Ace Ventura is not a bumbling detective who lucks out in his cases, he is actually smart and knows what he's doing. This is what I most liked about this movie. He outwits the police at many turns, staying...
Published on October 22, 2004 by J. Elmquist

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good, but I'd like a director's cut, please!!!
Ace Ventura, for the most part, is a perfect vehicle for Jim Carrey. I was pleased with the film the first time I saw it. I have, however, seen it on network TV, and have found out that there are many more scenes present in the TV version not shown on the DVD. These scenes not only make the film better, but also more undestandable.

If at all possible, could we...
Published on September 21, 2005 by Battle Beast


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great breakout role..., October 22, 2004
This review is from: Ace Ventura: Pet Detective (DVD)
Jim Carrey's work in Pet Detective is just short of Brilliant. Funny thing was, he was mostly being himself. Don't let the movie premise fool you. The character of Ace Ventura is not a bumbling detective who lucks out in his cases, he is actually smart and knows what he's doing. This is what I most liked about this movie. He outwits the police at many turns, staying far ahead of them on the case of the missing mascot for the Miami Dolphins, a field goal kicking Bottlenose. In his efforts he befriends, and beds, pre-friends fame, Courtney Cox (say that ten times fast). Even stranger, they seem to have great chemistry. Sean Young plays the hard-nosed Police Lt. I couldn't tell if she was hamming up her reputation as a difficult actress or just over playing the part really well, it was obvious that she wasn't taking this movie very seriously. In any case, this movie can't be taken too seriously anyway, although it does on some levels, but it works. This film marked the first in three successful films that Carrey made with Director Tom Shadyac; `Liar Liar' and `Bruce Almighty' followed. Both movies were hits as well. I love this movie I found it hysterical. But if you don't like Carrey at all, then you probably won't like `Ace', but if you have found yourself even smiling at his goofiness and rubber-face antics, this movie should make you feel good. Although there was a sequel, and it started out ok, it is no where near the level of the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good, but I'd like a director's cut, please!!!, September 21, 2005
By 
Battle Beast (Edmonton, Alberta CANADA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ace Ventura: Pet Detective (DVD)
Ace Ventura, for the most part, is a perfect vehicle for Jim Carrey. I was pleased with the film the first time I saw it. I have, however, seen it on network TV, and have found out that there are many more scenes present in the TV version not shown on the DVD. These scenes not only make the film better, but also more undestandable.

If at all possible, could we see a WIDESCREEN EXTENDED CUT, Mr. Shadyac???

Thank you very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jim Carrey Hits a Home Run of Comedy with "Ace", August 21, 2005
This review is from: Ace Ventura: Pet Detective (DVD)
"Ace Ventura - Pet Detective" is a vehicle that is tailor-made for the comedy genuis of Jim Carrey. In his first major comedy, Carrey absolutely carries this picture on top of his broad and very funny shoulders! Carrey will tickle your funny bone in this riotous picture.

Carrey plays "Ace" a pet detective, who gets involved in solving the missing case of a dolphin from the Miami Dolphin's training camp. Co-starring the gorgeous Courtney Cox and believe it or not, Dan Marino, the plot has so many funny moments that I cannot begin to list them all. The jokes fly at you about every second minute, so if you don't like one, just wait for the next! I guarantee you will laugh out loud several times and give your tummy muscles a good workout in doing so.

Carry is a genius in facial expressions that will tie your funny bone in knots. His physical comedy ranks with that of Lucille Ball. Carry establishes his comedic "star" in this flick.

If you want to relax and take your mind off your worries and just laugh out loud, then this is the film for you! I highly recommend it! It is easily in my top-10 comedies of all time.

Jim "Konedog" Koenig
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This movie ROCKS!, June 21, 2000
I don't know what's up with all these people who give these bad reviews to Ace Ventura: Pet Detective. I think this is amoung the Top 3 movies EVER! The character is perfect for Jim Carrey and the film is just plain and simply funny! He throws out constant one-liners that will keep you laughing everytime you quote them (If it gets cold enough... if you've seen the movie you're laughing). The best part about this movie is that no matter how many times you've seen it the sheer fun of watching it will keep you coming back, which is what makes this the perfect movie to own! Mine's so worn I'll have to replace it soon (thank-you DVD). Now, I'll be fair, I'm a huge Carrey fan so that probably tilts the scales in his favor but even so, the actual movie IS good! Sure the plot is a bit outrageous, but it's a COMEDY! Lighten up people, it's supposed to make you laugh, not make you think, and believe me, it makes you laugh. It's also got it's fair share of stars (Jim Carrey, Courtney Cox, Tone Loc) and not to mention a certain Hall-of-Fame football player (Dan Marino). In summary, this movie's got everything from comedy to stars. It's the perfect movie to watch over and over again and you'll never get sick of it. I would have given it 6 stars, but they wouldn't let me...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest films ever!, April 18, 2005
This review is from: Ace Ventura: Pet Detective (DVD)
Jim Carrey's breakout role, Ace Ventura is one of the funniest films of the 1990s. Written by the former In Living Color writer himself, the film centers around an oddball kook of a lead character who investigates missing pets. If you enjoy Jim Carrey's brand of humor (and it's not for everyone), then you'll love Ace Ventura. A bit more mainstream than Dumb And Dumber, it's less ridiculous in concept (with the exception of a man employed as a pet detective). If you know how to laugh, then you'll be hard-pressed to avoid doing so while watching Ace Ventura: Pet Detective...

Jim Carrey stars in the role of Ace Ventura, a Miami-based "pet detective" who has an unusual ability to relate to animals of every kind. For the most part, Carrey spends his days searching for lost and stolen pets. But when the Miami Dolphin mascot turns up missing, the Dolphin front office enlists Ventura's aid in finding the culprit.

With the help of Dolphins employee Melissa Robinson (Courteney Cox) and law enforcement buddy Emilio (Tone Loc), Ace searches the whole of Miami in an effort to recapture the kidnapped dolphin. But along the way, he butts heads with Miami PD Lt. Lois Einhorn (Sean Young). When Ace discovers that the master criminal is a former member of the last Dolphins championship team, he must uncover the person's identity if he hopes to find the mascot (leading to one of the more hilarious sequences in the film, when Carrey follows around the former players, searching for a ring with a missing stone). However, the stakes of the investigation are raised when the same perpetrator kidnaps Dan Marino before the Super Bowl. Now, it's up to Ace Ventura to save the football season for the Miami Dolphins...

Long before his other starring roles, Jim Carrey burst onto the Hollywood radar with this cult classic smash hit. Ace Ventura is utterly ridiculous, but the movie thrives on the back of Carrey's unique talents. Not since Robin Williams has a comedian of such limitless energy and ability hit the big screen. Ace Ventura showcases the best of Carrey's talents and accurately embodies (he wrote it) his realm of humor. The constant antics of the film's hero make for good comedic exchange between Carrey and Young as their two characters battle against each other.

Strange and over-the-top, Ace Ventura hit the big screen as a unique oddity that many have since attempted to replicate. But few actors have the multi-faceted talents of Jim Carrey, and that makes Ace Ventura a rare film indeed. Unlike Wayne's World, this is one 1990s comedy that hasn't lost its comedic luster with the passing of time. It's just as funny today as when first released - if not more hilarious. It's this timeless quality of its comedy that makes Ace Ventura: Pet Detective a definite must-see film...

The DVD Report
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Alrighty Then"......., October 29, 2001
I don't think I've ever laughed sp hard in a movie theater before in my life. That's something that I just don't do much of. This movie changed that. Now, this kind of comedy is an acquired taste. Not everyone is going to get it or appreciate it or the brilliant talent of Jim Carrey. Calling it stupid is not bashing the movie, it's only praising it. Get it?. Carrey stars as a pet detective hired by pre - "Friends" star Courteney Cox to find who stole the local football team's mascot. Sean Young is in on the fun as the police captain. It takes real smarts and talent to do what Jim Carrey does. It's not just acting goofy and silly. Some people don't get things. This is an uproarious film. If your in a bad mood or funk or whatever, and you need your sppirits lifted with ridiculous laughs, then you can't go wrong with this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great pick-me-up movie!, June 23, 1999
By A Customer
I wasn't a Jim Carey fan, I never watched "In Living Color," and I had low expectations of the movie when I rented it one Saturday night. What a surprise! It is now my FAVORITE movie! It's humor is down right silly, but not like "Airplane" or "Naked Gun" - it's not as predictable as those movies and the plot is not as thin. Although Jim Carey "makes" the movie, it is not soley dependant on his silly faces and crazy, energetic acting. The story and witty dialogue make it a hit! Everytime I watch it, I catch a new joke I never noticed before.. If you liked the craziness of "Liar,Liar," but want something a little more "mature" then "Dumb and Dumber," YOU MUST SEE THIS MOVIE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No deleted scenes? Alrighty then!, August 22, 2004
By 
This review is from: Ace Ventura: Pet Detective (DVD)
The cable networks such as TBS and USA have for years been showing a version of this movie with several deleted scenes that were never in the theatre and still aren't available on DVD. At a time where every studio is re-releasing special editions of every movie under the sun, how in the world has this comedy classic not gotten the royal treatment? I suppose Warner Studios has an exclusive deal with USA and TBS so that only they can show the "special" version of this movie. That's not cool.

The deleted scenes include additional insane asylum scenes and another scene where Ace visits his friend at the heavy metal club. He winds up on stage with the band "Cannibal Corpse" and graps the mic and starts screaming into it and flailing around on stage like a fish then stage dives onto the crowd. - anyone fortunate enough to have seen this deleted gem probably wet themselves because it's so funny. And it's not available on DVD!!!

This movie gets 5 stars but the DVD get's 1 star for awful. Do not go in there! I think it's the pate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missing a favorite scene, June 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an all time favorite movie of ours. But, this Amazon version had a scene cut out. The scene is where Jim Carrey, talks to reporters, pretending he is a dolphin trainer. We're not sure if any other scenes were skipped. We feel a bit cheated. Thanks, Hoover family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite comedies!, February 28, 2004
This review is from: Ace Ventura: Pet Detective (DVD)
From the scene when Jim Carrey poses as mail caurier and beats up a team mascot, ACE VENTURA is a movie classic! OK, it's not the best movie ever made, but it's proudly on the shelf of my favorite movies of all time.
Jim Carrey proves he's the funniest man alive with his super-star making role as rubber-faced "pet" detective Ace Ventura, who is hired by the Miami Dolphins organization to retrieve their beloved dolphin, Snowflake. Ventura uses his weird techniques to solve the case, and later tries to rescue kidnapped quarterback Dan Marino.
This movie was great to me as young kid. I used to imitate Ventura's classic lines like "alrighty then" and "like a glove!" I was weird saying those thing as a kid, but aren't we all? Along with Carrey's lines, his antics are hilarious. He talks out his butt in one scene in this movie! FUNNY!
I absolutely adore Jim Carrey. And his Ace Ventura is his best and most memorable role to date. I highly recommend this film, do you? ALRIGHTY THEN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ace Ventura: Pet Detective [Blu-ray]
Ace Ventura: Pet Detective [Blu-ray] by Tom Shadyac (Blu-ray - 2013)
$19.98 $9.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.