Customer Reviews


196 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (47)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


381 of 388 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Set-up Tips; More Functional, Less Expensive than an iPad
The recent Amazon sub 239 tariff keeps this form factor relevant, as does the battery life, but be sure to check out the Acer Aspire One AO756-2808 11.6-Inch Netbook (Ash Black) as well, at least when Amazon has it back in stock for 3 bills or so. 7-19-12 note

The best reasons for buying the Acer AOD 270:

* One of the best netbbook screens - pretty...
Published on July 1, 2012 by MWebb

versus
61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Okay until it breaks, then Acer is a nightmare.
I've had two Acer laptops, which have been telling about Acer as a company. The first laptop I purchased when Acer was just starting out, selling laptops. It was a superb computer for the inexpensive price. So after a few years of heavy use when it went out I decided to purchase another Acer (February 2012) until I could purchase a higher end desktop (March 2012)...
Published on June 29, 2012 by D.


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

381 of 388 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Set-up Tips; More Functional, Less Expensive than an iPad, July 1, 2012
By 
The recent Amazon sub 239 tariff keeps this form factor relevant, as does the battery life, but be sure to check out the Acer Aspire One AO756-2808 11.6-Inch Netbook (Ash Black) as well, at least when Amazon has it back in stock for 3 bills or so. 7-19-12 note

The best reasons for buying the Acer AOD 270:

* One of the best netbbook screens - pretty evenly illuminated, and sufficient latitude in viewing angles so that when you are centered, none of the corners or edges are showing signs of diffracting.

Don't laugh, on some netbooks and even notebooks, the viewing angles can be SO limited that even if your head is centered relative to the screen, some part of the screen will be shaded, washed out, or diffracted.

Videos look pretty good on the AOD270 (but not as good as on a flat screen tv).

(If you want "great" video, you will probably have to move up to the much more expensive Macbook Air or shift to a completely different experience in the form of an iPad with its multi-angle IPS display.)

* Very thin design, very light, especially with the 3 cell battery, which can be purchased separately if you start with this 6 cell version. Note that this netbook and almost all non-Apple laptops come with somewhat short-lived batteries, good for two to four years (depends on charge cycles) before the loss of battery life drives you to buy a new battery (which you can replace yourself, cheaply, which helps compensate for the battery mortality). (Since the review I took the 6 cell battery off an earlier Acer netbook and put in on this newer unit, and it works fine and adds a couple of hours of battery life; it doesn't stick out for the bottom too much.)

* Screen tilts back far enough so that you won't have viewing angle problems if using this on a kitchen counter while standing up.

* Larger keys with acceptable spacing. Intuitive "break" on the keys so tactile feedback is there that your keystroke was accepted. (A little noisy though.)

* Plays 480p (DVD quality) video smoothly, with fewer minor glitches with downloaded vs. streaming content (since streaming imposes an additional processing overhead)

* HDMI port lets you hook this up to your (modern) flat screen tv to play Hulu content, which you can't get on a Roku (without paying a subscription fee, although the fee includes additional video content).

* Great alternative to an iPad if you are on a budget, or a great supplement to an iPad if you type a lot. Despite the many accessory keyboards for iPads, the keyboard on most netbooks is superior. Pros for the iPad? Instant on, superior viewing angles, incredible screen on the "new" or "3" iPad, incredible battery life. Cons - won't run Windows programs (huge if you have wordprocessing and other office needs, or want to run a blog).

* Great alternative to a Macbook Air if you are on a budget, if you worry about theft or damage (netbooks are priced so low as to be a "no worry" item), or if you worry about getting the wrong type of attention. Of course the Macbook Air weighs the same but has a larger screen, larger keyboard, and the keyboard is back-illuminated for easy typing in low light or the dark, making it the ultimate production netbook (even though Apple denies it is a netbook, LOL).

Finally, this Atom N2600 netbook is incredibly zippy once you clean out some of the bloatware and install a leaner antivirus program (Microsoft Security Essentials is completely free and very efficent, both in detecting threats and having a small footprint in RAM).

Here is my routine for setting up a new netbook (this applies to versions from other makers as well):

1. Don't accept the offer to install the commercial antivirus program which has a "free" trial offer. It's designed for computers with a lot more memory and processing power, and is the number one cause of sluggishness in netbooks. Don't worry about the "unprotected" messages you will get because you will fix that right away.

2. After booting up the first time, open Internet Explorer and say "no" to the guided tour and any other options, then enter "download Google Chrome" into the search box (or Chrome Beta, which has always been stable for me). Note how much space Internet Explorer wastes on the top of the screen, when Chrome opens you will see a much cleaner but highly functional browser window).

3. Install Google Chrome - just follow the simple on-screen instructions.

4. In the Google search box (Google lets you choose among search engines when you install it, I like Google best although Bing from Microsoft is also quite good) search for "download MSE" which will take you to the Microsoft page to download Microsoft Security Essentials. Select the 32 bit version if offered a choice.

5. Install and run Microsoft Security Essentials. I would run your first scan later, after cleaning up your new netbook. When asked if you want the firewall turned on, say yes.

6. While waiting for the above downloads, right click on the desktop and select Properties and select the option to relocate your Taskbar from its default location at the bottom of the screen to a new location on the left or right of the screen. This gives you extra vertical screen space, which is more valuable than the horizontal screen space since the netbook comes with a pretty short horizontal screen space. You'll see what I mean when you work in your web browser - plenty of text left to right but you won't get as much top to bottom as text as you will probably want without using a minimalist browser like Chrome plus moving the Taskbar.

7. Download PC Decrapifier (pcdecrapifier dot com) and run it. Although you can run it is a single pass, I find that pops up too many option windows at the same time. McAfee Antivirus in particular is somewhat convoluted to uninstall, so I recommend un-checking the uninstall boxes so that only McAfee is left, and uninstalling it using the cleanup program first. Then run PC Decrapifier a second time and let it uninstall all programs, including all Acer programs. None of them are needed, even the webcam (Google Talk and Skype have their own programs to run the webcam), and if you suffer cleaner's remorse later, just go to the Acer website (support dot acer dot com) and reinstall them, it's easy. DON'T uninstall Microsoft Security Essentials! Don't stress about the dire warnings you will get from McAfee as you uninstall it. MSE is there, direct from Microsoft, to take care of you.

8. After rebooting once or more times to complete the uninstallation, download "CCleaner" from FileHippo (Google download CCLeaner, go to the Piriform website, select the free option, and download). When installing, uncheck every installation option box EXCEPT the desktop shortcut box at the top.

9. You can ignore all menu options in CCleaner except the blue "Registry" icon in the left-most column. Click on that. (The little brick building.) Then click "Scan for Issues" on the bottom off the white box. Then "Fix Selected Issues". "Save Registry" (your computer won't explode if you forget to do this). "Fix All Selected Issues." Then, scan again because often it takes two or three passes to catch and fix all issues. Reboot.

10. Click on the Start Menu, then Computer (far right column), then right click on the hard drive and select "Properties." Unclick the "file indexing" option at the bottom of the Properties window, when it asks "subdirectories too" include subdirectories, and let the un-indexing go to work. This will take some time.

11. Go to the Control Panel (Click the globe in the Start menu, or tap the Windows flag key in the lower left of your keyboard.) Then use the search box in the upper right hand corner of the Control Panel window to search for "defrag". Click on the "Defragment your hard drive" option and select the schedule option; when selected, select "never defrag." You can run this yourself manually every six months.

Indexing and defragging run in the background but slow down your netbook. They aren't necessary for a good Windows experience.

12. This is optional. Go to Sourceforge dot net and download Foobar200, a simple but lean music player, and VLC, a simple but lean video player.

13. If you are brave, turn off automatic Windows updates. I set the option to "notify me and let me choose when to install" so my netbook doesn't suddenly get bogged down at a cafe. I do the updates later, at home, when I can switch to working on a desktop. I won't tell you how to do this, it's easy, but if you can't navigate Windows to this extent, you probably should just suffer through the sluggishness while Windows installs updates while you are working, rather than risk an out of date, and hence vulnerable, machine.

14. No matter how many times Windows Updates offers to install Bing Desktop, it is safe to ignore.

15. Tweaks dot come has a Windows logon screen changer. Search their site for "logon" or go to [...] (Replace "dot" with . and close the space to make the link work).

I hope this helps. It is faster than it reads, and makes a huge difference in performance. Look at it this way - you just saved the difference in price between a Macbook Air and this Acer.

Please check the Acer website for their complete list of Acer AOD270 models and the list prices. While Amazon never charges more than list price, occasionally vendors will, for models that are discontinued or in short supply.

___________________

For the mechanically minded: Adding an extra gig of memory SLIGHTLY improves performance with more windows, or browser tabs, open. [8-20-12 update - I got bold and stuck a left-over 4gb RAM stick in the D270 - Control Panel recognized the entire 4gb of RAM, but Windows 7 Starter is only 32-bit so the operating system would only recognize and use 3gb of that. That was a REAL 3gb for WIndows itself, though, since whatever RAM is being set aside for the video doesn't count against that (Task Manager reports 3gb available, where before, with 2gb, Task Manager reported only about 1.7 gb available since the rest being used by video). Now that memory has dropped down so low in price, you MIGHT want to consider replacing the 1 gb RAM module with a 4 gb module instead of a 2 gb. I was afraid the BIOS or chipset might be incapable of addressing a 4gb stick, but based on my experimentation this is NOT a problem. WEI scores DROPPED to 3.2, 4.6, 5.6, 3.2 and 7.8 on the first test run, and improved slightly to 3.3, 4.7, 5.6, 3.2, and 7.8 on the second test run (I have an SSD which is why the HDD component is so high). In my experience the first time you run a "re-fresh" the scores on WEI are unreliable, you have to run the full, slower re-assessment after the "re-fresh" is finished to get stable scores. I have no idea why both video scores dropped, but in practice Hulu is rock-solid and if anything, desktop video effects (opening and minimizing windows etc.) seem snappier. Maybe there is just more video memory for the chipset to use now, and while that is good in practice, it means more to move around for the WEI test. Please comment if you know what might be going on.]

To access the memory slot, first remove the battery, then the keyboard by locating the four small tabs at the top of the Function key row that are holding it in. These tabs are released, one by one, by pushing back, not down, and you need to be ready with a thin bladed screw driver or something thin like a nail file to pry the keyboard up, tab by tab. Once the tabs are released, you will see the keyboard has a flat ribbon connection to the body. You can either lay the keyboard out of the way and remove the FIVE screws, each marked "back cover", then push your screwdriver into the square hole marked "cover release" to start releasing the back cover. Then being careful with the ribbon connector and the keyboard, turn the netbook over and gradually work the back panel off, it has snap tabs, start at the section that you opened slightly from the front side. Memory replacement is then easy. To replace the back panel, slide the edge nearest the battery compartment in FIRST, then snap around the edges to seat the other sides. Replace the screws, lay the keyboard back in, then snap it down along the top front edge. NOTE: you can also disconnect then reconnect the ribbon to the keyboard. To do this, note the dark gray, almost black, plastic bar lying across the top of the ribbon where it enters the connector on the panel under the keyboard (on the netbook body). On some ribbon connectors, such a clamp will slide towards the ribbon to relieve pressure, but on this design, it swings up and off the cable, so just use your finger nail to flip it up. When reassembling, be sure to push the ribbon in evenly so the black line aligns with the clamp, then close the clamp.

*** on 8-1-12 I replaced the stock hard drive with a 128gb SSD - this netbook takes a 9.5 mm high drive. You can use one of the emerging 7.0mm high drives BUT be forewarned that the hard drive does NOT screw into the bay, it relies on "perfect fit" to keep everything in place! So if you use a 7.0 mm drive, you risk it shifting around unless you fabricate a space. For this reason I recommend a 9.5 mm drive like the Crucial 128 GB m4 2.5-Inch Solid State Drive SATA 6Gb/s CT128M4SSD2. After installing, the WEI for the hard drive shot up from 5.9 to 7.8, a very significant increase, and disk intensive operations like virus scans run much faster. If you decide to replace your drive, you remove the old one by looking for the end with the connector, then lifting up the OTHER end. Then, without disturbing the connector's connection to the motherboard (use your finger to hold it down, in place!) just wiggle/pry the hard drive off the connector. To install the new SSD, just push it onto the connector until fully mounted then lay the drive into the hard driver slot and close up the cover. For software, you have 3 choices: cloning software, recovery disks, or new install. I believe if you download the Acronis disk clone software from Western Digital, it will also work on this drive, but I used the version that came with an old Kingston SSD so I can't guarantee it. For recovery disks, you either buy a set from Acer for about $15 including shipping beforehand, or generate your own set by using the included Acer utility program (which you can easily download and reinstall from the Acer Support website). New installs are complicated - I have done them from recovery disks from other netbooks, then re-entered the code from the bottom of my netbook, it is hard to get Win 7 Starter install media. The one work around I used once was to upgrade to Home Premium first, write down the new license number, use a Home Premium 32 bit disk to install, then entered my old unit's upgrade license number. I understand that Windows recovery disk images are available from Microsoft Support online for free (since they won't work without entering a license number off your old unit), but you would need to track those down.

___________________

CAUTION regarding video driver update: I am a big believer in applying all driver updates presented on the manufacturer's website. Especially the video drivers for this new Atom N2600 chip which is running the new Intel GMA 3600 video chip (very similar video chip to that used in the iPad). HOWEVER when I updated to the .1075 driver on the Acer website, my videos became choppy. As soon as I returned to the earlier VGA driver (.1065) on the Acer website, all my graphics problems went away. The other driver updates on their website are running fine on my machine. YMMV, so don't hesitate to switch the two drivers around to find one that works best for you.

I purchased my AOD270 from Target for 249, which is the list price for the 3 battery cell edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


110 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the price, March 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For $280, this is a great netbook. It won't replace your home machine, but it's small, light, and the battery really does last for six to eight hours. Using a 4GB memory card for ReadyBoost makes it fast enough to be useable for Office and internet, while the machine is already capable enough to stream video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little Netbook, April 3, 2012
By 
DesertCat (Corvallis, OR) - See all my reviews
Picked up one of these little Acer N2600 netbooks for my wife to haul around on the road. It's actually an impressive little machine, especially after some upgrades. Probably the biggest need is to upgrade the memory to 2 GB. They only install 1 GB in order to keep the price down, but that amount of memory is just too borderline for many needs. Memory is cheap these days, though, and it really can improve the user experience. Changing the memory can be a little intimidating as you need to take the machine half-way apart to access the memory slot(including disconnecting the keyboard temporarily). The previous comment had some tips on that.

I also did the in-place upgrade from Windows Starter to Windows Home Premium. The upgrade code can be purchased on Amazon for about half of the listed retail price. Just makes it a better user experience in many ways. The Windows upgrade probably took about 30 minutes from start to finish but then security patches needed to be downloaded also.

At first I thought the netbook didn't contain a microphone but that was a minor issue with Skype (user error). My wife is using an external mic plugged into the mic port to get a bit higher quality sound.

The wireless N is kind of a "light" version that is capped at 72 Mbps maximum download rate. It's enough for most internet needs, however, and it seems to have good enough range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Okay until it breaks, then Acer is a nightmare., June 29, 2012
This review is from: Acer Aspire One AOD270-1835 10.1-Inch Netbook (Burgundy Red) (Personal Computers)
I've had two Acer laptops, which have been telling about Acer as a company. The first laptop I purchased when Acer was just starting out, selling laptops. It was a superb computer for the inexpensive price. So after a few years of heavy use when it went out I decided to purchase another Acer (February 2012) until I could purchase a higher end desktop (March 2012).

This second laptop went out after THREE months of minimal use as most of my computing is now done on a desktop. I sent the computer to Acer after literally scouring their website for a method to contact customer service, which should of been a sign. This computer was in superb physical shape when sent out, its only issue? Something had gone amiss with the OS and had the blue screen of death followed by a black screen.

Couple days after shipping it out, Acer informs me my nearly new computer (which has never been dropped or moved more than a couple feet on a flat surface) was sporting a crack and repairs would cost $99.00 on a $248 computer. I refused to pay 99.00 and requested it be sent back. What I received, I can hardly believe is the same computer I sent to them. Keys are missing or busted, it had a nasty crack down the side, was covered in dust and some unidentified grime. Oddity of the situation is that Acer sent me photos of the USPS box I sent it out in and it was in grade A condition. The box I received it back in from FedEx was in excellent condition, too (not to mention the computer was shrink wrapped).

So, if the computer left me in excellent condition and nothing got crushed in shipping, however did all this damage happen? Furthermore, it was all classified as "customer caused physical damage"? And, for all those missing keys and dust, that certainly didn't get in or out after it was shrink wrapped for transport.

Think twice before you buy anything from Acer or have it sent in for repairs. You're either on your own to pay for phony damage claims or left with a piece of tattered junk for rebuking them. If you're still not convinced, look at the BBB and take note of their comments regarding the copious amount of claims made by customers regarding the extensive physical damage claimed by Acer upon arrival or what was noted after the product had been shipped back. Which, I quote: "Consumer complaints received by BBB allege this company sells defective merchandise that they have to return for repeat repairs that are costly and inconvenient.

Consumers also complain that when they ship their computers to the company, their merchandise is often returned to them with physical damage.

The company responds by stating they are not aware of any pattern suggesting defective merchandise sales requiring costly repairs or physical damage of merchandise returned after repairs. They say the original owners of their products receive an inherent manufacturing warranty period for their Acer merchandise. Within that warranty period consumers can also purchase an extended warranty to add to the initial manufacturer's coverage. Out of warranty repairs are made at a charge. The company also states they have very strict and safe packing practices and use reputable national shipping carriers for their return shipments. All products are packed in new packing boxes."

Problem is, shipping is obviously not the issue Acer. It is the company manhandling products to void warranties for extra income.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Little Power House, April 10, 2012
By 
Cimmay (Seattle WA) - See all my reviews
This review is for the Acer Aspire One D270-1375 manufactured Feb 2012. It is a top performer, even with 1GB RAM and Windows 7 Starter. I put it under tremendous load and the Intel N2600 never went past 25%. It runs 4 cores (2 Hyperthreaded). I can't find any limits to Windows Starter and now it's my favorite OS of all time. I was going to max out the RAM to what the OS and CPU can handle, but the RAM is soldered on the motherboard, impossible to upgrade past 1GB. It uses RAM efficently, essentially working with 3GB, 1 physical, 2 virtual. I had to change antivirus programs to unload lots of ram. The video performance is top of the line, never slowed down or stalled, even with Netflix, chat, and sound and webcam all running at same time. It does have a mic in lower right corner of screen and it shows up in device manager. I can only guess the 1GB RAM is fixed to conserve battery power, each chip uses watts. They say the battery lasts 8 hours. The Intel N2600 CPU uses only 3.5 watts and the netbook does not need fans, it's fanless and hardly even begins to get slightly warm. I was going to return it for RAM limits but for all I will use it for, even under greatest loads, it runs like a champ and does not come close to reaching it's limitations in CPU and video. So I am going to keep it. Very happy with this little netbook

Thanks to the help of DesertCat I got 2GB RAM installed in this Acer AOD270-1375. You will need the service manual to do it yourself, available online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a horrible Acer support experience, May 21, 2012
I bought this netbook for my wife as a Christmas present (not from Amazon) and the problems started a month after purchasing it. It has been sent back to Acer for repair 4 times now -- and it is still not working. Acer refuses to replace what is obviously a lemon -- even after sending them video of the problems (spontaneous reboots when removing power supply, display corruption, caught in reboot loops...). I will now have to contact Acer to send it back for a repair a 5th time now. They won't listen to me when I insist that at the very least the motherboard needs to be replaced. What a frustrating experience!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Acer AOD270 practical -- not perfect -- choice., May 27, 2012
I chose the AOD270 because I wanted a very portable-yet-capable laptop (or netbook) at a relatively low price. Size was especially important, because I knew that I would be reluctant to bring a laptop places (like to a community college or a park) if I wasn't in the mood to lug around a 15"+ form-factor. A laptop would be no good to me if I didn't want to take it out... So, I decided that small would be OK, so long as it was capable to do Internet and office work.

I bought an aquamarine model directly from Acer's online store (cheaper at W*l-Mart, but I'm not fond of them) , at a price on par with Amazon's prices as of May 2012. My machine was manufactured in March of this year. While I haven't had it long enough to comment on longevity, I felt like it would be helpful to offer my thoughts for others considering the purchase.

I've found that the netbook is both disappointing and satisfying. It's as small as I would like it to be, and the performance is what I expected for a 1.6GHz machine with 1GB of RAM (I think I will upgrade to 2GB RAM after the limited warranty has expired). No, it's not blazing fast, to be sure; but, then, I recently upgraded my desktop PC, and I didn't want/need a laptop that would rival or upstage it (3.3 GHz triple-core, 4 GB RAM). I performed the included Acer eRecovery initial backup, Windows-updated the included Windows 7 Starter, resized/partitioned the drive (created separate NTFS partition for data), and installed Ubuntu 12.04 (using a bootable USB flash drive).
=============
As for the disappointment:

-While everything's been working well, I've learned there's an annoying support gap for Linux from Intel. The particular Intel graphics chipset in this netbook evidently means that certain features don't work for Ubuntu (like keyboard-controlled screen dimming, full Unity 3D support, and more relatively minor things). EDIT, 20120918: The most recent updates to Ubuntu 12.04 have brought more support for this hardware. Additional "Cedar Trail" drivers are available, and the function-key controlled brightness shortcuts now work! Dimming has boosted the battery estimates closer to 7 hours.

-It's small. (I know, that's why I bought it. It's a pro and a con.) It'll take getting used to typing fast on its keyboard. (I do have the option of using a USB full-size keyboard if I ever need to type with the regular feel.)

-I'd have liked a hard drive activity light. It's a minor quibble, since I can see activity using software. It'd also have been nice to have Caps/Num/Scroll Lock indicator lights.

-The package doesn't come with recovery media -- you've got to make it with included software. It's inconvenient if you haven't got an external dual-layer DVD burner.

-There's limited upgrade options: memory, and maybe battery. Memory upgrade isn't straightforward for casual users. (I knew all this beforehand, but I still consider it a con.)
-----------
As for satisfaction:

-The performance is good for a low-priced netbook (I wouldn't advise paying more than 300, brand new with warranty). I can play smooth YouTube videos, and multi-tasking happens at an acceptable speed (I'm accustomed to how a 1.6 GHz machine performs. Users accustomed to faster computers may be disappointed easily. Often certain actions occur quite slowly.) I've been using a wired Internet connection, so I can't comment on the built-in wireless.

-It works good with Ubuntu 12.04 (which I'm using to write this review), and I am satisfied with the Windows 7 Starter (I use XP SP3 on my desktop) after performance tweaks. I probably won't upgrade from Starter, but I've installed LibreOffice and other
programs I'm accustomed to, and it works as well as I expect from Windows.

-I use it with a Bamboo Pen tablet, and they're the same size, so it's a great portable pairing. It's nice that there's 3 USB ports. I also like the separate mic and headphone jacks.

-It's small. Like a modestly-sized hardcover book, I feel like I'd be comfortable carrying it any place I'd carry such a book.

-I think it fits the bill for portability and functionality at a reasonable price. I know I could've got a faster, fancier laptop for not much more, but it would have been too big for what I had in mind, and I would ultimately be paying for more than I wanted/needed.
===============
If I was made of money, I'd have bought this along with a great full-size laptop. But, since I'm on a budget, I'm satisfied that I largely got what I was looking for. If I had it to do again, I may have searched for something a little bigger and faster, but I've got no plans to return what I have now. I'll update this review if there are any developments worth reporting.

Happy hunting.
****************
28 Jan 2012 Update:
I decided to go ahead and upgrade the RAM to 2GB before the limited warranty expired. I didn't really want to compromise the warranty, but I think the computer will probably be OK, and I figure I can find parts relatively easily if necessary. All that has concerned me is a little periodic noise from the hard drive (SMART data checks out, though), and the constantly-running fan (which seems to be normal). I've posted a little review on Amazon's product page Crucial CT25664BC1067 2GB 204-PIN PC3-8500 SODIMM DDR3 Memory Module, and I've uploaded a brief guide on this netbook's Customer Image Gallery. I recommend the upgrade, in spite of the hassle of disassembling the computer (and I wouldn't advise paying more than 14-15 bucks for the RAM).

I've been experiencing a bit of buyer's remorse about not getting the AO722 (11.6") model, because it can be found at a similar or lower price, but it's complicated. What appeals to me: higher resolution, greater screen size, full-size keyboard, improved graphics processing, greater memory/upgrade potential (easier, too), and full Windows 7 version (can't even change wallpaper in Starter? Give me a break, Microsoft). What worries me: seems less widespread than the AOD270, which may make parts harder to come by in the future; reportedly some frustrating driver issues with Ubuntu/Linux (though the 270 isn't perfect); less battery life (though not wildly less, I'd rather have a 10.1" screen I can use than a 11.6" screen over a dead battery); and a seemingly higher percentage of failures (HDD failure seems to be a primary issue). In spite of slight pangs of regret, I don't plan to give up my 270 because it isn't bad, it largely does what I want it to do, and it's a highly-portable size that I want it to be. You may find that the AO722 is more to your liking (you might also spend more time researching if Acer or other companies have other or soon-to-be-released models you would prefer).

I will suggest that, in addition to Amazon, you check out prices at Acer's official eBay [outlet] store. I didn't learn of it until after my purchase from Acer's standard web store, but I've found it to have some pretty good prices, and I would feel more confident buying a refurbished PC from Acer direct than from a 3rd party, or a used PC for which I can't be sure if it has been abused.

Feel free to reply with questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Linux netbook for the price., May 20, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I just purchased three of these for my children, and immediately installed Ubuntu 12.04 Desktop. It works without any issues (sleep and wireless too!). They appear to be pretty sturdy, and so far have done great.

My only issue is I bought the recommended additional RAM at the time, and it appears that it will require a complete disassembly to install it in each and Acer doesn't provide a service manual. I'm confident I can eventually install them.

Update: Turns out that you pop the keyboard from the top edge, and remove 4 screws labeled "Door". Pop the door release by the hard drive in the lower right corner and remove the bottom cover to install the RAM. Be careful you do have to remove and reinsert the keyboard cable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great deal for the money, May 9, 2012
By 
Samatva (Roswell, (north Atlanta suburb), GA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Have been quite impressed so far. Soon after purchase, I re-partitioned the hard drive and installed Ubuntu ([...]) and have been very happy with the results. Ubuntu is happier in the available 1 gigabyte of memory than Windows 7. Since most of my work is online (Google Docs, Zotero, Thunderbird e-mail, Amazon shopping!) the faster and more secure Ubuntu and Google Chrome browser does almost everything I need. For a test, I pulled up and Amazon Instant Video and it seemed to stream fine.

While the summer heat is not yet in full force, I've not had any problems with cooling fan noise as some have reported elsewhere - I have to place my ear next to the vent to tell if it is running. The keyboard is a bit small, but I am adjusting to it and can type *much* faster than my iPad-toting friends. The size of the keys is not really the problem, as my wife's much smaller fingers are still learning the slightly different layout - but the keyboard is still quite good for this price-level. I usually plug in a mouse (another productivity advantage over tablets), but have found the touch pad quite usable. The touch pad auto-disable-while-typing feature works fairly well, but it is still nice to have the keyboard shortcut to quickly disable the touch pad.

I cringed a bit when I realized I had ordered the glossy screen version, and *might* have shelled out the extra $30 to get a matte-finish screen, but so far had no problems with reflections and am pleased with the crispness of the display. The screen height is, however, the biggest shortcoming of this netbook. At only 600 pixel high, I have had several times where dialog pop-ups would extend down off the bottom of the viewable area with no apparent way to get to the lower controls. This happens more in Ubuntu, but plagues Windows too. Sometimes, the arrow or tab keys resolve the issue, but some form of larger virtual desktop area would be nice (or just more vertical pixels!). I have found myself employing the F11-full-screen mode of Chrome to see more of web pages.

Some of the YouTube un-boxing videos showed an included neoprene sleeve to protect the netbook during transport, so I was a bit disappointed that one is not included with this one. In practice, I rarely carry just the netbook alone, so the sleeve would not be all that useful. My wife was thrilled that she could just stick the netbook in her purse as she boarded the airplane for a week of grad school classes in New York.

I give it 5 stars for what it is as an under $300 netbook. My main netbook is still my (now discontinued) Dell Duo, but for about half the price, this Acer holds it's own as it is lighter and has at least twice the battery life. So for taking notes in class or meetings, checking e-mail and looking up web information, this netbook is a great deal for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Crapped Out After Two Months, August 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire One AOD270-1835 10.1-Inch Netbook (Burgundy Red) (Personal Computers)
I bought this two months ago, and now it is completely non-functional. I have used it for my banking online so that it is separate from my other internet surfing for security purposes. This means I have used it only about eight or nine times in two months.

Today when I turned it on, I got a "A disk read error occurred,Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart".

Nothing I have read online to fix this problem works. Some suggest pressing Alt+F10 when rebooting to get to a recovery screen. Pressing Alt-F10 just gets me a cursor.

This is the first and last Acer product I will buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.