Customer Reviews


765 Reviews
5 star:
 (455)
4 star:
 (168)
3 star:
 (58)
2 star:
 (39)
1 star:
 (45)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


146 of 149 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Monitor Once You Use The Tilt Feature
I felt a bit sorry for this monitor on Amazon taking all this heat from a lack of tilt and I'm here to set the record straight. I purchased this product at a Black Friday event where I was only looking for 3 features within my price range: 1) Full HD 2)LED 3)22"+. When lined up with other products, this one stands out in terms of specifications and price. Once home, it...
Published 23 months ago by The Lone Cowboy

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BUYER BEWARE - NO VESA MOUNT
I just had to send mine back. This model does not have screw holes for VESA mount. Very bad decision by ACER and I'm very disappointed in them for doing that. Now I have to be wary of all future monitor purchases. I assumed this was standard. If you want to mount the monitor on an arm (and not the included stand) this is NOT the monitor for you!
Published 20 months ago by C. Daniels


‹ Previous | 1 277 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

146 of 149 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Monitor Once You Use The Tilt Feature, January 2, 2013
By 
I felt a bit sorry for this monitor on Amazon taking all this heat from a lack of tilt and I'm here to set the record straight. I purchased this product at a Black Friday event where I was only looking for 3 features within my price range: 1) Full HD 2)LED 3)22"+. When lined up with other products, this one stands out in terms of specifications and price. Once home, it connected to both my Blue Ray player and computer with ease. The quality from Blue Ray is outstanding with a high speed HDMI->DVI cable. The only issue was the LACK OF TILT. For the first few days I was stacking reams of paper to get a proper height adjustment and to obtain the optimal viewing angle. How could Acer make a high-tech monitor with no tilt?! Answer: THEY DID! Having been spoiled for the past 20 years with easy tilting built into every computer screen encountered, this Acer requires you pop off the stand, and with a screw driver and wrench, tweek the stand frame to your desired angle and retighten. EASY, it takes less than 3 minutes. This is a fantastic buy, the quality is as advertised, and if your video card supports two monitors, buy a second one for a full panoramic experience. I hope you enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good monitor for the cheaper price., November 29, 2012
By 
Jamey Calabrese (Connecticut, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Acer G246HL Abd 24-Inch Screen LED-Lit Monitor (Personal Computers)
I purchased this monitor to upgrade my old VGA display. (1360x768). I myself am a very serious pc gamer and find it a requirement to have the best display for the game so it may be played how it is meant to be played. I find that this monitor is perfect for the job. (Just a note 1080p looks better the smaller the screen goes so buying a 32 inch 1080p TV may look different)

Pros
-Colors are Brilliant - The black levels on this screen are incredible. Everything is clearly defined. (Tested with same games as below)
-NO GHOSTING - (Running DVI-D) I've played starcraft II, WarZ, Arma II, Left 4 Dead, Crysis, and few other games and have seen absolutely no ghosting of the image whatsoever.
-Very low power consumption. This is the first monitor i've seen to have an external transformer(odd)
-Very slim and sleek design.
-Settings easily changeable
-The ports that the DVI-D and the VGA cables plug in are actually stable compared to other monitors that seem to be very very loose
-Responds almost instantly when the computer comes out of sleep.
-Many integrated settings to save power although it will distort the amazing colors when enabled.(Eco-Friendly)
-ALL packaging material is recyclable.

Cons
-The stand isn't the greatest. It can be tightly screwed on but can only be moved on a tilt forward and backward. (Doesn't seem easy to move feels like you can break it)
-This isn't really bad but when you first turn on the monitor you will go blind. The brightness at maximum settings is painful to look at and needs to be turned down.
-DVI-D but DVI-I? The monitor is compatible with the DVI-D connection which I am currently using but it only comes with a DVI-I connector.
-The screen did have a rather large smudge in it when I opened the box but the padding protecting the screen was able to remove it with ease. (Not too bad but annoying)

NOTE: The monitors packaging was a little odd but very protective. The monitor itself was surrounded in a thin padding to prevent scratching. Then it was harnessed by styrofoam to keep it sturdy inside its box. ( This is the odd part) Then that same box was placed inside another box after being surrounded in a layer of paper. I wouldn't worry about breaking the monitor over shipping its pretty darn safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 78 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BRIGHT!, January 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Acer G246HL Abd 24-Inch Screen LED-Lit Monitor (Personal Computers)
If this is your first LED lit monitor, the first thing you will notice is that it is much brighter than many other non-LED LCD's you might have had. I have mine next to an "older (couple years old)" HP 19 non-LED lit monitor and the difference is night and day. I'll break it down below:

Pro's:

- BRIGHT
- BIG/Widescreen/Thin bezel
- 1080p resolution is gorgeous
- Vivid colors
- Low power consumption
- Price
- Matte display
- Comes with both DVI and VGA cables.

Con's:

- Initial out of box setup was way too bright. Brightness was at 100%. Absolutely KILLS my eyes. But it is adjustable (see below).
- Custom setup of the colors/brightness/etc is tricky. Predefined options are are good starting point but the hardware buttons to select the on screen display are really awkward to use. I had to do my mom's monitor for her. The buttons are mostly hidden out of eyesight and are on the bottom of the bezel.
- Sits low. The included stand does not allow for raising/lowering. Don't bother me personally but I'm sure someone will care. It sits about 2.5" off of the desk. It does tilt, however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


139 of 153 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No HDMI, October 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just received the monitor and got it set up. Everything seems to working fine so far, just wanted to let anyone looking to buy this know that the monitor I got is not what is pictured above. There are apparently two separate Acer G236HL Models. The model I received has a VGA port and a DVI-D port, and not two HDMI ports plus a VGA port, as the product image shows.

Updating this review: Just placed an order for a second monitor. First one is working fine, but now I have a desk large enough for two! Monitor has been working great since purchase and I have no complaints about the product itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great monitor at a bargain!, November 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this monitor for two reasons:

1) It's super cheap.

2) Acer is a reliable brand.

Having said that, the monitor was a bit foggy and I'm not sure if that's an LED thing or not, it's my first LED monitor. I adjusted the brightness/contrast/colors a bit and now I'm very happy with the monitor.

This is replacing my 22" Acer LCD that I purchased 5 years ago. That one still works too, it just takes a few minutes to turn on and it makes high pitched noises (bad capacitors?) - so I expect it is going to die soon. 5 years is a good amount of time, so I like Acer and I imagine this newer, lower power LED will last even longer!

* One of the pictures shows the monitor as having HDMI, it DOES NOT. It has VGA and DVI, which fine for me, I use DVI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BUYER BEWARE - NO VESA MOUNT, April 9, 2013
By 
C. Daniels (Staten Island, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I just had to send mine back. This model does not have screw holes for VESA mount. Very bad decision by ACER and I'm very disappointed in them for doing that. Now I have to be wary of all future monitor purchases. I assumed this was standard. If you want to mount the monitor on an arm (and not the included stand) this is NOT the monitor for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't beat it for the price!, March 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Acer G246HL Abd 24-Inch Screen LED-Lit Monitor (Personal Computers)
I use this monitor for work, gaming, school, movie watching, etc.. The colors are vibrant. I use the monitor six to eight hours a day, no performance issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, June 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Acer G246HL Abd 24-Inch Screen LED-Lit Monitor (Personal Computers)
I'm a developer and our IT team recently replaces my two old monitors with three of these. The price point is really good for this size/quality and the image is super bright and sharp as well. I like them so much, especially at this price point, that I replaced my monitor at home with one of these even though my other monitor worked fine (was more square and a bit smaller though).

My wife loves the new screen, the widescreen format allows us to work more efficiently since you have more screen real estate to put open apps side by side rather than having to keep show/hiding windows.

Great monitor, great price.

The only thing to be aware of is that you don't have any real options as far as movement goes. It's on a fixed post so you can't raise/lower or change it's viewing angle. If you're putting it on a desk it sits where it sits and that's that. It does have build in mounting screw holes so you can mount it to a wall, on another mount, etc. if you like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great LED monitor, January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I hadn't used an LED and have a very old LCD monitor that i have been using for 6 years. This monitor was like porn for my eyes...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars cheap, but irritatingly bad vertical viewing angle, November 25, 2012
By 
C. M. Evans (Los Lunas, NM United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I can't argue with the price, (in my case I picked it up on black friday at staples for $109).

It is crisp and bright, but the viewing angle is insanely narrow. What's worse, the viewing is OK from side to side, up and down is what makes the difference. If you adjust the monitor for one viewing angle, then move your head up just six inches, the picture will go from really good contrast to brighter and washed out. Imagine going from slouching in your chair to sitting up straight, that's way more than enough to make you have to reposition the monitor. If you walk up to your desk, and want to type something quick, the screen is totally washed out, you'll have to sit down, or tilt the monitor up quite bit to read it.

To add to the problem, the tilt stand is very limited in how far it will pivot. You may have to set it on a book to make it appear right.

This is more frustrating, because I bought this on the basis on my older Acer 19" monitor, that has been a work horse for the last 3 - 4 years.

Side notes: the unit does come with a VGA cord, but you will have to supply your own DVI cable. The power supply is a small brick type, as opposed to an AC cord that goes all the way to the monitor.

Summing up: If you only have $109 and can't squeezed out any more, it does look great from a proper viewing angle, but I'd cough up some more money and buy something different
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 277 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Acer G246HL Abd 24-Inch Screen LED-Lit Monitor
$174.99 $129.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.