Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
on October 27, 2012
Verified Purchase
The best of its kind to provide a balance between battery performance between 7 hours with wifi on to do projects. An excellent gaming device especially playing NBA 2k13 and Skyrim with no lagging at all. Provide landscape and portrait mode for reading at 13 inch monitor. Touch screen responsive with no lag. Touch pad feeling smooth similar to Macbook air. It is even lighter on hand with its 13 inch compare with the weight of macbook air 11 inch. It eliminated the arrow key problem macbook air had. Comes with acer leather high class feeling case, white mouse, white power cable that matches the color of S7. Comes with HDMI port and VGA port. Also a screen cloth to protect the monitor's contact with keyboard when closed. Highly recommanded for casual gaming or project work. Excellence Ultrabook to show off to your Macbook friends.
review image
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on November 24, 2012
Verified Purchase
From the minute you open the box, you have the feeling that this is no ordinary laptop and you are right. Each component is packaged in its own little unit within with care. Inside you will find the Acer S7, AC power adapter, a wireless mouse, 2 special adapters for VGA and for HDMI, and a case for your S7. Acer even includes an anti-static cloth. Sweet. Turn on and set-up is straightforward though I won't say I am a fan of the Windows 8 operating system.

The S7 is everything an ultrabook should be. It has a very nice intuitive design and layout. The power button is located outside the unit in the middle on the left hand side. Also on the same side is the port for the VGA/HDMI adapter and the headphones. Outside on the right side are located two 3.0 USB ports and a 2-in-1 card reader. The S7 has a 1.3 MP webcam that delivers high resolution images that won't disappoint. The 13.3-inch HD touch screen display is uniformly bright. The active matrix TFT color display delivers very crisp true images - no fading - even to the edges of the screen and boasts a resolution of 1920x 1080. The touchscreen is very responsive. This ultrabook has all the perks including IEEE 802.11 wifi and 4.0 bluetooth.
The keyboard is backlit which is a nice touch. The keyboard has a Windows start key and a menu key. Overall the keyboard is well laid out. It has a nice feel to it but there's very little travel when typing which may lead to repeat character errors when typing.

Physically the unit has a solid feel to it and it should since the unit's body is lightweight aluminum. The top of the unit is covered in Gorilla glass. When the unit is on the "Acer" logo glows white on the face. Closed the unit is quite literally razor-thin - less than 0.5-in - and will give the MacBook Air a run for the money. The unit travels well. It has excellent battery life - long enough for an east-to-west coast flight (ca. 5-h). In my book, the Acer S7 comes out on top without a doubt!

In terms of the processor, the S7 has a 3rd generation dual core i7 chipset clocked at 1.9 GHz which can be boosted to speeds of 3.0 GHz. The unit comes with 4G SDRAM. I use large dataset applications such as NVIVO and SPSS and have been quite impressed with the speed. Unlike many other computers this unit doesn't heat up noticeably even when you use it all day. It does have a fan that is relatively quiet and turns on when needed to help dissipate heat.

Disadvantages include the fact you are limited to 4G RRAM - the RAM is soldered into the motherboard so you can't add RAM. I want to note that this is common problem with ultrabooks. To hook up to a projector or digital screen you must use one of the two adapters provided with the unit. Don't lose these as the adapter is a proprietary product. The audio is supposedly Dolby Home Theatre 4.0 but don't get excited the sound is nothing to write home about = so-so very tinny and thin. As I stated earlier, the keyboard is a tad too responsive which leads to repeat character errors which can be annoying if you are a speed typist.

Bottom-line if you are a working technical professional looking for a laptop and don't want to compromise performance and capabilities for travelability then look no further the Acer S7 is well worth it's sticker price of $1649.00
Recommendations: I highly recommend purchasing a second AC power adapter and an Acer onsite service plan.
99 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on November 25, 2012
As the owner of an Ipad and a 17 inch laptop, I must say that the Acer Aspire S7 is the perfect mix between the two.

Here are some of the concerns you might see online addressed:
1) The keyboard was reviewed to be slightly uncomfortable. I find it quite pleasant and easier to type on than my other (Vaio) laptop.
2) The battery life is wonderful as it goes up to 6.5 hours on battery saver, and a bit above 5 hours on balanced.

This is a beautiful device that is bound to get plenty of attention from all your friends, especially since it is super thin and touch-screen enabled.

I'll edit my review if anything goes wrong, but so far it is going perfectly.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
on December 3, 2012
I received this laptop as an anniversary gift. We had originally focused on a heavy duty but lightweight Windows 8 laptop/tablet. No Windows RT for me. Maybe I wanted too much out of one device. I was hoping for the perfect blend of ultrabook and tablet.

Prior to that we had tried the Zen Book Prime, but the keyboard and touchpad were just too buggy. We considered the Samsung Series 9 as well. Against all of my programmer boyfriend's belief's we tried a juiced up Mac Air 13 but ultimately decided against the Apple OS.

We didn't want to wait any longer for the Yoga or HP Envy 2 convertibles. I decided I needed an ultra portable laptop over a tablet. I wanted to be able to do some work on it as well and not use it primarily for entertainment.

My boyfriend surprised me with this beautiful laptop. Beautiful, feels solid, and has all the goodies, at this price, it better.

First, it's gorgeous. Beautiful display, feels solid, the keypad looks like the Macbook Air but less comfortable. Feels good but a little awkward,and the delete key is located to the right of the space bar.

This was my first experience with Windows 8, and let me say you really need a touch screen to utilize it. I strongly recommend that you DON'T update to Windows 8 UNLESS you have a touchscreen.

Back to this gem, I've now had it two weeks and still beautiful but instead of being more at ease with the keyboard, it's actually getting more cumbersome as I'm very aware of as I'm typing this review. It's great for basic apps and web browsing but if I just wanted that I could have gotten a tablet or Chromebook for a fraction of the price.

The fan is so loud that my visiting mother thought it was the radiators. I'm very aware of the fan as I'm typing this. Sometimes the fan is SO loud lately that it seems like it's going to self-destruct.

Three stars because of the layout of the keyboard, the fan, and for this price why not make this gorgeous machine fully convert to a tablet?? It's already a touch screen so most of the job is done.
1212 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on January 28, 2013
Verified Purchase
When you spend $1,700 on a laptop, you just don't want to compromise or settle. There's so much to love about the S7....gorgeous styling, light, and stunning screen. It became the envy of everyone in my office. So what's the unpardonable sin for me?

Noise. The fan noise was random and extraordinarily loud. So much so that I couldn't take a conference call on a speaker. Also anyone sitting in my office when the fan kicked in remarked about the jet engine taking off. I tried to ignore it, or tell myself that I would get used to it, but I just couldn't and it ended up going back.

Another annoying factor for me is that the trackpad is not centered. I know it's a common placement, but it still really bothered me. The left side of the palm rest is significantly smaller than the right side of the palm rest. I have large hands and I ended up having to change how I type, having to really tuck my left thumb under my fingers and it just wasn't comfortable for all day computing.

The other factors that I would have overlooked if it wasn't for the above 2 deal breakers:

Key travel is shallow on this keyboard. Coming from 15 years of using ThinkPads, the difference was significant, but it would not have been the deal breaker for me.

The other thing I wasn't crazy about was that the edging on the bottom half of the laptop was sharper that it should have been. Again, when you're looking for all day comfort, this is one of the little things that work against you. Another non-deal breaker for me, but just a point of feedback.

I would have loved better battery life as well.

Other than these few items, I absolutely loved the S7 Ultrabook. I'm going to give either the Asus UX31A Touch or the ThinkPad X1 Carbon Touch a shot next.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on November 9, 2012
Most awesome pc I have ever had. The only thing I can think it can be improve is the caplock light because it does not have one.
Run mathcad. matlab. office smoothly and skyrim(low settings but you can improve texture and draw distance of character and others) and lol without a glitch.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on November 3, 2012
I really love this computer. I had a hard time getting it because they were sold out almost everywhere, but now that I have it, I have nothing bad at all to say about it. It is by far the most beautiful PC I saw when looking. The glass at the back is amazing. Its really light and the thinnest laptop I saw as well. Long battery life is good too. Love it!!
1212 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on April 2, 2013
Verified Purchase
I waited to respond to see how much I liked this computer after a few months of using it.
For the price, It was high, but i wanted it now, and did not wait for the influx of touchscreens to hit the market for a price break.
I enjoy the compactness. It takes up very little room in my book bag.
Two negatives:
Two things continually happen when using my computer. The location of the on/off button is on the left side. It should not be where you would hold it to pick it up. I have accidentally turned it off more than a dozen times since purchasing. It REALLY bothers me!!
Also, the touch pad sensitivity (if there is a way to fix this please respond..) is very high. I barely touch it and the sidebar for bringing up the SSSDS (search, share, start, devices, settings)engages. If I'm in the middle of typing I don't even know which gesture I did, but it comes up and I have to remove that screen before i can continue. It interrupts my productivity big time!

Besides that, the weight, the speed, the fast response, very pleased.
I love that I barely makes any noise as well.

I purchased the LG light external Blu ray player to play movies. The Acer's Dolby Home Theater holds its own!! I have used several of its settings and I can "feel" the sound difference! If that makes sense to anyone who holds the laptop (haha) when watching a movie.

It took me a while to get used to Windows 8. I'm still learning its ins and outs. Windows doesn't have what goole chrome has and I use google more interestingly.

I have had many compliments on it at school. I see touchscreen envy in their eyes!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on December 7, 2012
Verified Purchase
I first bought the i5 version and i loved it so much i had to go around and return it for the i7 version.
This Ultrabook/Touchbook is probably the best i have had. Charging is actually around 4-5 hours and gaming on it is a must because it actually holds on pretty good.

5 Stars and the looks just blow anyone away.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on January 16, 2013
The Acer S7 391-9886 Ultrabook running Windows 8 is a beautiful work of art.. but it won't stay connected to WiFi / internet.

There are many users who are having issues staying connected to the wireless LAN, including myself. Follow the below link to the acer website to see for yourself.

[...]
I would love for Acer to resolve this problem because it is a beautiful laptop, but I have to return it within 30 days to get my money back.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.