Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good book designed for teenaged readers
This book was written for and about teenagers. I found it to be very enjoyable to read. The main characters are Fred - a boy from England sent on vacation to visit friends of his parents and Brittney "Brit" the daughter of the family where he is staying for the vacation.

The two run into typical problems of boy meets girl and all the confusion of new found...
Published on March 31, 2010 by Roger Y

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet and charming tale of young love
This was the first YA book I've come across that I felt was a little too young for my tastes. I think that this book is geared more for pre-teens rather than the usual Young Adult market. That being said, I felt that it was a sweet, charming story.

One of the reasons that I felt the story was intended for a younger audience is that the characters were written...
Published on August 13, 2009 by Alexia


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good book designed for teenaged readers, March 31, 2010
This review is from: Across the Pond (Hardcover)
This book was written for and about teenagers. I found it to be very enjoyable to read. The main characters are Fred - a boy from England sent on vacation to visit friends of his parents and Brittney "Brit" the daughter of the family where he is staying for the vacation.

The two run into typical problems of boy meets girl and all the confusion of new found friendship/love. They have many ups and downs and misunderstandings during the week's vacation. In addition, to complicate things, there are differences in the meaning of words used in England verses the United States and problems with a bully thrown in to spice up the mixture. They share numerous adventures together and with friends during the short time but love conquers all and it looks like they will continue to and be friends and possibly more after Fred returns to England.

There is defiantly room for follow on stories about these two young people. I would recommend "Across the Pond" By Storyheart as an easy reading fun book for young people of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not so foreign relations!, November 6, 2008
This review is from: Across the Pond (Paperback)
When is English not English? Why when it is American of course! Across the Pond is a charming tale of a blossoming romance between young Frederick (Fred, if you please) Squire of England and Brittany (Just Brit and no jokes about it) of America. How does a Squire become a Knight? By saving his Lady Love of course!

When Fred's parents win an Australian trip for two, Fred is given the opportunity to visit family friends in America. Family friends who happen to have a daughter Fred's age and is a real hottie! Fred and Brit are immediately attracted to each other, and Fred finds a trip he was not really looking forward could be the best thing to ever happen to him.

This is a great read for Yound Adult fiction fans. It offers all the humor, angst and innocence of one's first true love. Peppered throughout with the differences in slang used in the USA and England, it is a refreshing twist on a romance novel. I know you will enjoy it, I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Tale for Any Generation, December 16, 2009
This review is from: Across the Pond (Paperback)
"Across the Pond" by Storyheart is a wonderful tale of youth combining all the elements of those "first" times. Young Fred Squire is our leading man, destined to protect the virtue of one special young lady....whether he knows it or not! But first, the homework assignment given to him for over the holiday (homework on a holiday...a crime indeed), must be tackled. Although a seemingly small part of the book, it does provide quite a few laughs as he discovers that words in one country do not always mean the same thing in another.

You'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll cringe with worry and cheer in celebration as right triumphs over wrong in this heart warming story. Recommended for young adult readers as well as those that simply love the genre! The messages within are memorable indeed and the story will stay with you long after you've crossed back to your side of the pond....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This May Be Fred's First Trip..., December 7, 2008
This review is from: Across the Pond (Paperback)
...across the pond, but it won't be his last. When the young Englishman is shipped off to the U.S. to stay with family friends while his parents vacation in Australia, Fred is in for the time of his life. The vocabulary and monetary differences are the first of his challenges ("chips" = "fries", pound = about two dollars, etc.) Throw in a cute American girl named Brittany, a few of her friends (and nasty enemies), and a sport called baseball, and the Brit has one interesting vacation in store! Sharp, humorous and sweet, this book is what young adult fiction is all about: good story, likeable characters, drama and heart-fluttering romance. And don't forget the baseball, either. Across the Pond is a homerun of a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love in a Foreign Country, September 22, 2010
This review is from: Across the Pond (Paperback)
When Fred Squire goes on his first trip to the U.S., he thinks he knows what to expect because he's watched American T.V. Instead he's surprised at every turn by differences in language, culture & even food. He's even more surprised to fall in love with Brit, an American girl.

Fred finds he likes blueberries. He learns how to catch a baseball. Brit & Fred discover that trusting each other gives them the courage to stand up to a local bully. They learn to follow their hearts.

I enjoyed this young adult novel. It's moving, funny & at times suspenseful. The characters were engaging, & made me interested in reading the author's other work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Teen Love Story, August 25, 2009
By 
Nicole (Nebraska, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Across the Pond (Paperback)
Fifteen year-old Fred Squire is disappointed about being sent to the United States to stay with friends of his parents, Phil and Julie, over his vacation instead of going with his parents to Australia. However, when he gets to the airport, he gets nervous about meeting Phil and Julie and especially about their 15-year-old daughter, Brit. His worries are laid aside when he meets them, though. Fred immediately begins falling for Brit. He starts to think this trip might not be so bad after all.

Fred's trip to the United States isn't just about relaxing, though. He has a school project to work on. His school project consists of learning about a different culture and comparing it to his own. Throughout the book, Fred jots down differences in language that he comes across and makes a few notes about other differences he finds, like the fact that trainers (sneakers) cost less in the United States. He learns some new words as well as some old words that have new meanings, which lead to some embarrassing moments for both Fred and Brit. Fred learns about the differences in the two cultures by attending a barbeque, learning about baseball, and touring Boston. Fred also falls in love with Brit, meets her friends, has a run-in with the local bully, and going to a very important baseball game.

The whole different culture, different language thing was extremely interesting. I've read books where an American goes to a different country, but this is the first book I've read where the "foreign culture" was my own. It was fun seeing the United States through the eyes of a foreigner.

Across the Pond is a fun story about a boy's first love. Like most teenagers, Fred is worried about fitting in and being accepted. He is baffled by the inner-workings of the female mind. He is an all-around nice guy who falls in love with Brit, who is a girl-next-door type of girl. The characters are all down-to-earth and realistic. They deal with typical teenage problems: love, bullies, and fitting in. Making it a great story for teens with characters and situations they can relate to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comming of age story, August 20, 2009
This review is from: Across the Pond (Paperback)
In "Across the Pond", author Storyheart , writes a coming of age tale about Fred Squire, a 15 year-old English boy. While his parents are enjoying a dream vacation for two that they one to Australia, Fred is being shipped off the States. Seated next to a woman that is continually asking questions and smells of garlic, he is worried about what to expect once he lands. After some minor mishaps his plane finally lands in New York. Meeting his parent's friends Phil and Julie, he realizes that there is nothing to worry about. Making friends with their daughter, Brit who happens to be the same age, they soon embark on a journey that they will never forget. During a surprise outing to a ballgame Fred catches the 500th homerun ball hit by Braves player, Chipper Evans, who happens to be Brits favorite player. From there chaos ensues as eager fans surrounds them trying to buy the famous ball, they have to flee to the safety of the car. Meanwhile, Fred has to face the bully Harris, and his two minions, who have been terrorizing Brit and her girlfriends. After an altercation at the mall, and failing to get Brit to tell her parents about Harris, Fred takes matters into his own hand. Meeting Harris in an abandoned lot behind the mall a fight ensues between the two boys, with Fred defending the honor of the girl he has fallen in love with. Finally Brit tells her parents starting a chain reaction, which lands Harris in boot camp. With his journey coming to and end an unexpected visitor shows up.
Mr. Vic Anderson, who represents the Atlanta Braves comes calling for the ball, telling Fred to name his price. Working out a deal with Vic, Fred trades the ball for a surprise visit from Chipper Evans, for Brit. Earning the respect of Phil and Julie they arrange a trip for Brit to go to England at Christmas. In just a short time Fred has went from Squire to Knight.

With characters so lively you can find each one in your own hometown, Storyheart has written a tale that all teens will fall in love with. A definite homerun, with short chapters, quick-wit and believable situations that teens can relate to. With a brilliant blend of American and English this is a spot on book.

With hilarious language translation problems and a repeat performance by the garlic lady, you cannot go wrong with this book. Although it has mild language it is a perfect read for any young adult. Chocked full of teenage drama, new love, and tons of sports, this is a book for boys or girls
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where the good guy wins!, August 11, 2009
This review is from: Across the Pond (Paperback)
Across The Pond
Thanks to Harry Potter Paperback Box Set (Books 1-6) and other popular books, there appears to be much interest in England these days. This is book is targeted towards a young adult or teen, but as a 47 year old adult I appreciated the Light & Easy read. This is a romance and travel adventure of a teen boy that comes "across the pond" from England to America for an eye opening adventure.

His parents have won a trip to Australia and send their son to stay with their American friends. As luck would have it the main character of this story, Fred, meets a young lady, a bully and an all American baseball hero on his short visit. It is a feel good story where everyone that is good makes out well and the bad guys lose!

This is a book that I would readily recommend for all tweens, preteens and early teens. I believe that it will appeal equally to boys as it would girls, even though it is labeled "romance" it is a well rounded story complete with school yard brawls and sports too!

One of the best features of the book , that was of most interest to me was the cultural comparisons. The main character wants a video game console and in order to get that he has to complete a notebook with words that are different or objects that have different titles in each of the countries. This is humorous and informative and the main reason my own 13 year old step-daughter wants to read it!

I am sure there will be a sequel to this story as the ending had a few possibilities, that hinted at "more to come." The main character, Fred, is a great guy for young ones to relate too, he has a lot of fortitude and great character for a young man which is rare in today's society. An example is set in this story for other youngsters without being "preachy."

Story Heart spins a good yarn and this book is no exception. I believe that everyone will enjoy it and it could quite possibly be made into a movie or TV special! Disney or Hallmark either one would like the components of it! Remember you read it here first!

--
@-->>--
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Across the Pond, July 12, 2009
This review is from: Across the Pond (Paperback)
Across the Pond opens with Fred, the main character, flying to New York. Fred is spending time with his parent's friends, because his parents won a trip for two to Australia. On the first full day of Fred's trip, Brittany, the daughter who is Fred's age, takes him to the mall to meet her friends: Charlie, Pam, Angel. Angel immediately starts to flirt with Fred, and Brit becomes quite jealous. As Fred and Brit leave the mall, to meet her mom, they run into three boys. The boys begin to mock Brit, by calling her "Pretty Brittany" and just being jerks. One the way home, Julie, Brit's mom, helps Fred on his school project. He must list British-ism that have different meanings in America. When they arrive home, Brit confides why she doesn't like the boys. Brit and Fred quickly develop feelings for each other. Julie notices the feelings between the two and she tells Fred not to hurt her daughter. When an email from "your lover" comes into Brit's mailbox, Fred begins to doubt everything that has happened between himself and Brit. Phil gets tickets to a baseball game, so the family can show Fred "America's Pastime." At the game, Fred catches the 500th homerun ball of one of the Atlanta Braves players. Later that ball helps Fred give Brit a gift that is better than money can buy. Parting is such a sweet sorrow for them both because they know come December; they will be seeing each other again.
I hope that Storyheart will write a book about Brittany's going to spend time with Fred and his family. I think it would be interesting to see how she reacts to driving on the "wrong" side of the road. I would like to read about where Fred's family takes her.
This was such a sweet read. I couldn't put it down. I love how there was the difference in languages that at times made both kids wish they could have put their foot in their mouth. If you are looking for a light, clean romance, then I would definitely recommend this book. All around a great read. And I don't think that you have to be a teen to enjoy this love story. It will appeal to the young at heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YA with a message, November 1, 2008
By 
Tina "Tina" (Montreal, Quebec) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Across the Pond (Paperback)
I am an adult who enjoys reading Young Adult fiction. Across the Pond is a Young Adult novel - with a message.

We find our two main characters Fred and Brit - Fred lives in Europe and Brit lives in the US. Fred finds himself living with Brit's parents in the US for a while - his parents won a trip to Australia and he could not tag along. As part of a deal Fred made with his parents, his assignment is to find out and document some of the major differences between the US and Europe.

At first, I thought this was going to be one of those books were the two teenagers hate each other on site - this is a common trend of late and has definitely become old. It is not the case in Across the Pond.

Actually, there is the exact opposite here - a definite tone of attraction between Fred and Brit is almost instantly felt by the reader. Which, it intself, takes on a deeper meaning once we get into the storyline more and find out that, althrough Brit was not raped, she was attacked by some teenager boys, who still enjoy tormenting her. Of course, this has left a deep mark on Brit and she has not been the same ever since.

Early in the novel Brit decides to confide in Fred about this - but begs him not to say or do anything about it. This will give them a bonding that will be the basis for the rest of the book.

There are the usual teenage happenings sprinkled throughout the book - crushes, petty jealousies, misunderstandings but this book has a deeper message - that although teenagers are different across the world - they are also very much the same and that true friendship is worth it - even it you have to fly across the pond to find it.

A very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Across the Pond
Across the Pond by Storyheart (Paperback - September 25, 2008)
$19.99 $17.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.