Customer Reviews


2,457 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,468)
4 star:
 (555)
3 star:
 (248)
2 star:
 (98)
1 star:
 (88)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ~~Sleeper Cells/Storage Units/Scot and his team~~
With a mixture of murder overseas, missing students and an imminent attack on the United States, Scot and his team are called into action. They start out in Karachi, Pakistan, looking for an Al Qaeda member Ahmad Yaqub. The action intensifies from this point on and does not cease until the last page is turned.

There is action in North Korea involving a SEAL...
Published 5 months ago by A Navy Vet...VT town

versus
33 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Little bit more from the franchise, Brad!!!!
I've read all of Brad Thor's works. This one had an interesting premise. The first half or so is quite riveting. At 80%, I had forgotten that I had not finished and the last two to three chapters seemed to be more about creating a surprise ending than about continuity. Scott's character being the Alpha male with no faults and no women and a single beer in the book,...
Published 5 months ago by Teapot John


‹ Previous | 1 2246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ~~Sleeper Cells/Storage Units/Scot and his team~~, July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
With a mixture of murder overseas, missing students and an imminent attack on the United States, Scot and his team are called into action. They start out in Karachi, Pakistan, looking for an Al Qaeda member Ahmad Yaqub. The action intensifies from this point on and does not cease until the last page is turned.

There is action in North Korea involving a SEAL team and a CIA Op. Switching to China, there is a lot of background concerning the desires of the country. In the United States, Scot's team works with the FBI, CIA and the President - all working on the same page to prevent an imminent attack on the US.

The interrogation methods in several of the scenes prove to be resourceful, to say the least. Sometimes the rules must be bent in order to get the desired results. That creates a Catch 22 scenario - "damned if you do and damned if you don't". Sleeper cells are active, storage units are being utilized and Scot and his team are trying to reach both before the attack on the US. Two covert operation are ongoing - "Gold Dust" and "Blackbird" - both extremely important and critical for the US.

Outstanding mixture of characters and an exciting read throughout the book. Plot was intriguing and both the North Korean aspect as well as the Chinese connection was interesting - especially with the current events in our world today. The ending was a complete surprise to me which I always enjoy!

Most highly recommended.

.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book. A good plot, July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Act of War: A Thriller (Hardcover)
A good book. A good plot. But, as I have stated in a previous review of a Brad Thor novel, he could be so much better. He needs an editor that takes him over the hump rather than simply helps him count his money. I like the research, I like the politics, and I'm sure I would like Brad Thor the person, and while the characters are better this time around, he still occasionally uses a cliche or throws in long expositions that simply aren't necessary. I want Brad Thor to get better and so I am possibly too critical of his work, but his protagonist lacks edge, his writing can be pedestrian, and he doesn't seem to stretch himself artistically. So, why still give this effort four stars. It's a good summer read. He says things that only Vince Flynn would have said. You can learn by reading his work because he obviously does his research. But, I badly want to see a five-star effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly real, July 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Again Brad Thor proves why he is one of the best and brightest authors of the 21st century. His latest novel Act of War is an edge of your seat thriller that leaves you wanting more. The novel will not disappoint with its current events or realism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! I got what I was waiting for., July 11, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The prospect of a large national disaster rears its ugly head.. This may be what is called high concept. After that is established, the major scenes are wonderfully captivating because the hero Horvath is a very compelling tough guy, clean-cut and willing to do anything to get the job done. His compadres, men and women, are equally tough and smart and totally committed to killing bad guys and stopping evil aggressors against the USA. Brad Thor threads throughout the novel much intelligence lore and special ops lore as well as information about weapons, guns and knives and weapons much more intricate and devious! The best thing about the major scenes is that I cared about all the characters and even the villains were credible and human which I believe made it all much more exciting. I liked the Asian expedition. I liked the foray toward Cuba. The interrogation scenes were believable, compelling and very satisfying. The roman a clef aspect was also interesting where the current president in real life is similar to the just previous president in the book and the current president in the book is much more just what a Navy SEAL would want his ideal president to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will China wipe the US off the map?, July 30, 2014
Brad Thor is a master of the political/military thriller. Act of War is one of his best. Terrorist hunter Scot Harvath is back again to battle the bad guys.
Thor does not re-cycle his threats, he imagines new ones. In this story reasonably simple devises deployed in a very simple way have the potential to utterly ruin the USA. Chinese sleeper agents in Idaho have a warehouse full of prepper supplies. The college student children of the highest officials in China are secretly slid out from their dormitories. And the premier secret agent in China is lose in the US. These are only some of the elements in this fast paced thriller.
But that's not all. In North Korea a secret Chinese base teaches legions of Chinese farmers how to exist and even prosper without modern farming techniques. Why?
Thor is very near the top in the political/military thriller genre. This page turner is worth the price of admission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contemporary suspense at it's best., August 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you want to read a book that grabs your attention and keeps you on the edge of your seat this book is for you. I read half of this book on a five hour redeye from LAX to IAD. I finished the book the next day. It's rare for an espionage thriller to be as immersive as this one has been. Amazon wanted to know who I would recommend this book to. Realist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Little bit more from the franchise, Brad!!!!, July 11, 2014
By 
Teapot John (Saint Petersburg FL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've read all of Brad Thor's works. This one had an interesting premise. The first half or so is quite riveting. At 80%, I had forgotten that I had not finished and the last two to three chapters seemed to be more about creating a surprise ending than about continuity. Scott's character being the Alpha male with no faults and no women and a single beer in the book, yet driven and so in control do not mesh with the Alpha male personality. There are brief mentions of a girlfirend with a son, but why? I think Brad Thor needs to get with his ghost riders a bit more on the overall product. Once a year for $13 bucks could be so much better. Why does the character have to be in his forties. The guy has aged more than the author. Do a story that fits in the chronology of the 3rd or 4th book. Give the guy a few faults - not a heroin addiction or orgy seeker, but geez this guy is a priest that shoots guns. The mind numbing list of guns and knife brands that are produced for a kit or night out against bad guys is kind of patronizing as well. Let's move this into some serious tradecraft and a few better developed characters. The hot chicks that are bad-asses get left out of a lot of scenes like they are window dressing only. If they are so smart and powerful, why do they get to set by the car and wait all the time?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE FINEST THRILLERS OF 2014!, July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Act of War by #1 New York Times bestselling author Brad Thor is the thirteenth book in the Scot Harvath series, and is an engrossing military thriller in which United States planted a NOC secret agent in China to spy on suspicious activities that could threaten its security. The death of the agent brings to light the existence of an operation in progress code-named Snow Dragon which is known only to a few key individuals in the Chinese government. Its objective is to destabilize the United States. Knowing its limited strength and capability, China is using nefarious means to thwart America's progress and defeat it at all cost. Apart from poisoning food and water through chemical and biological means, it is indulging in subverting its power grids leading to total collapse, and bringing about chaos in the cities. China's grandiose but sinister design could well succeed unless a counter-measure is launched.

The United States set in motion two operations code-named Blackbird and Gold Dust through the direct involvement of top-level officials, the Director of National Intelligence and the Secretary of Defense. These secret operations are aimed at foiling any attempt to subvert or attack the country. The United States President turns to counter-terrorism operative Scot Harvath to help carry out the two most dangerous operations in the country's history. While one operation will directly involve Harvath, the other operation will see a group secretly dropped into North Korea. The mission is top-secret and if it ever comes to light it will have serious repercussions. And failure is not an option either.

Act of War by Brad Thor is a heart-pounding spy thriller that is full of suspense, action, drama, and intrigue. While this particular book may not measure up to the scorching pace, intensity and touch of the earlier Scot Harvath novels, it is the perfect summer read for thrill-seekers featuring one of fiction's most daring counter-terrorism operatives with a difficult plot which seemed straight from today's newspaper headlines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First rate thriller, July 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Brad Thor is one of my favorite authors because he knows how to craft a gripping story that deals with topical political issues. In Act of War he presents a very real scenario under which the Chinese could take over the United States without ever firing a single shot through the use of some interesting technology. Thor's protagonist ex-Navy seal Scot Harvath, who now works for a clandestine agency with the approval of the President, is tasked with uncovering China's plot and stopping it.

The writing is first rate, the story line is frightening because it deals with very real possibilities, and the action is nonstop. There are some interesting insights into the relationship between China and North Korea, which it turns out has a role in the plot. The ending will prove both surprising and satisfying to all fans of Thor since Harvath does not play by any particular set of rules. This novel is a page turner that was very entertaining to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthy of your time!, July 27, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Put the book down so it can be as savored or read on to know how Brad Thor developers the plot. He carefully entwined each segment leaving the reader in wonder at the end of a chapter. I like the fact Brad chose to reintroduce characters from previous novels. I'm not a fan of guns and knives but I liked learning about Cina and North Korea...we are truly a connected world with actions by one leader affecting others across the continent. I met Brad in Memphis a few years ago. I was impressed with his humble attitude, after reading his acknowledgements I see fame has not changed him at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Act of War: A Thriller
Act of War: A Thriller by Brad Thor (Hardcover - July 8, 2014)
$27.99 $16.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.