Customer Reviews


720 Reviews
5 star:
 (388)
4 star:
 (109)
3 star:
 (47)
2 star:
 (35)
1 star:
 (141)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


198 of 200 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product - But needs more detailed instructions
Works great. Does not run hot. Using it for almost a week. Came with a 2 page booklet with steps for configuring it major ISPs like AT&T, Verizon. Had to search the internet for steps to configure it in bridged mode with my router. Wish instructions for configuring into bridged mode were given in the user manual. Basically, you have to perform the following steps:
1...
Published on October 19, 2010 by Raj

versus
64 of 68 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very difficult to connect to Qwest
This modem is not officially supported by Qwest (though its siblings the gt701 and gt701r are), and now I know why. It took me many hours, and three technicians, to figure out how to get a connection to Qwest's 20mbps service (ADSL2+) in Seattle. When working, it's decent enough-- small, low-energy (supposedly), somewhat stable. But getting it to work is a pain. Also, as...
Published on October 26, 2010 by goodmami


‹ Previous | 1 272 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

198 of 200 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product - But needs more detailed instructions, October 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Actiontec GT701D Ethernet DSL Modem with Routing Capabilities (Personal Computers)
Works great. Does not run hot. Using it for almost a week. Came with a 2 page booklet with steps for configuring it major ISPs like AT&T, Verizon. Had to search the internet for steps to configure it in bridged mode with my router. Wish instructions for configuring into bridged mode were given in the user manual. Basically, you have to perform the following steps:
1. Auto-Configure the modem with your ISP by directly connecting the modem to your computer. Follow the instructions given in the booklet/user manual/ISP letter to enter the PPPoE username & password.
2. After configuration is complete, confirm that you are connected to the internet.
3. Click 'Advanced Setup' on the Main Menu.
4. Turn off DHCP Server on the 'DHCP Settings' page. Click Apply.
5. Go to 'WAN IP Address' page and click Yes on the warning. Select RFC 1483 Transparent Bridging. Click Apply.
6. The Internet light on the modem will turn off and always remain off in bridged mode.
7. Remove cable from computer and plug into WAN port of your Router.
8. In your router settings enter the PPPoE username & password. Follow instructions in your router's user manual to enable DHCP on your router.
You should now be connected to the Internet using your modem & router in bridged mode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


224 of 233 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Replacement for ATT Motorola 2210, October 3, 2009
By 
This review is from: Actiontec GT701D Ethernet DSL Modem with Routing Capabilities (Personal Computers)
I purchased this unit to replace a Motorola 2210 that after 13 months died of heat exhaustion. The 2210 ran HOT HOT HOT. I was told by an ATT Tech that the unit might last a year, and of course 13 months out, one month after the warranty expired the 2210 died. My replacement setup tied this Actiontec unit to a D-Link DIR 655 Extreme N Wireless Router. When I attempted an automatic setup, it turned out that both the Actiontec and the D-Link Wireless Router shared an IDENTICAL IP Network Address at 168.192.0.1. This is not a good thing. However after a quick call to Actiontec Customer Support on a Friday Night (I really do have a life:) along with a brief description of the conflict issue, I was able (using advance settings) to modify the Network IP Address on the Actiontec unit, resolve the conflict and get the unit up and running. This unit is virtually identical to the Motorola 2210 in terms of connections and for anyone replacing a burned out 2210 Motorola (piece of junk) this is the unit for you. The unit is about the same size and runs noticeably cooler than the 2210. From other reviews of this and a related Actiontec unit it appears and so far I can confirm that this Actiontec unit is very effective in holding and processing the DSL signal. The slightly more expensive Actiontec USB & Ethernet DSL Modem has an on off switch a USB port and can handle two computers on a wired network basis without an additional network adapter, but is also an older unit that must be upgraded to ADSL 2/2+, whereas this GT701D unit has ADSL 2/2+ protocol built in. This is a great unit for the money if you require a simple stand alone DSL modem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


123 of 126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast and Easy, February 27, 2009
By 
Dave "Dave" (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Actiontec GT701D Ethernet DSL Modem with Routing Capabilities (Personal Computers)
I bought this to replace a Verizon-provided Westell. The Westell was working fine but I was willing to see if this one would be faster, and I wanted a backup in case the one I had died (without waiting for Verizon to send a replacement).

THere are 3 setup choices (my wording):
1) totally automatic
2) you select your provider
3) completely manual

While I was comfortable with doing a manual setup, I was curious to see how easy it would be using option 2. I had to know that my Verzion service was PPPOE, but other than that it did indeed need no information except the user and password.

I looked at the options (firewall, NAT, pass-through, etc) but didn't set any of them as I use this with a router and have everything configured in the router.

Interestingly, it is running faster than the Westell's I've used (and I've had several). I've run some tests and while they're not controlled, I'm seeing about 8%.

Physically, it's very small and is clearly more fragile than other DSL modems I've had, using thinner plastic. It wouldn't put up with much abuse, but then there's no reason it should be subjected to it.

Important point: The ethernet cable they provide is a cross-over, and you need that on setup when connectiong the modem directly to your computer. If using a router, you'll then not use that cable again. Most people setting up modems with routers know this, but there's virtually no documentation for this thing and the on-disc manual is weak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look no further, December 18, 2009
By 
AT&T user (Riverside, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Actiontec GT701D Ethernet DSL Modem with Routing Capabilities (Personal Computers)
I recently discovered my internet speed dying after 10 minutes of having to reboot my old speedstream 5100B modem AT&T/SBC/Pacbell originally gave me. Turns out after years of being too hot I need a new modem - and quick! After (too) much research I thought I'd give this no name brand DSL modem a try and I'm glad I did. The modem is feature rich as being both a modem and having some advanced typical router type functions built in. Installation was quick and simple. All I had to do was plug everything in, go to 192.168.0.1 and tell the modem to auto detect my setup and I was online within 60 seconds! No messing around with settings I'm unfamiliar with. Look no further than this modem. I checked out the AT&T store and their pieces of junk are $20 to $50 more than I picked this modem up for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 68 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very difficult to connect to Qwest, October 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Actiontec GT701D Ethernet DSL Modem with Routing Capabilities (Personal Computers)
This modem is not officially supported by Qwest (though its siblings the gt701 and gt701r are), and now I know why. It took me many hours, and three technicians, to figure out how to get a connection to Qwest's 20mbps service (ADSL2+) in Seattle. When working, it's decent enough-- small, low-energy (supposedly), somewhat stable. But getting it to work is a pain. Also, as a side note, the power plug has the transformer on the leads, which makes it take up extra space on a power strip (a small design annoyance). A second annoyance is the long boot-up time, which is only an issue because it took so many attempts before I got it working.

The problem, like I said, is getting it to connect to the DSL provider. The unit will power on, but the DSL light flashes even though I triple-checked all my settings (PPPoE, username, password, VPI=0, VCI=32, mode=ADSL2+, and QoS=UBR). Even if I follow the instructions exactly (first plug in the power, wait until the power light is solid (1 minute), then plug in the DSL line), all I get is DSL flashing. This generally means the DSL connection is weak.

I first used Qwest's online tech support to make sure my settings were correct. When that failed to resolve the issue, they sent a technician to inspect the lines. Using his own equipment, he verified I was getting a signal in the house. So Qwest is not the (only) problem.

I then called Actiontec's support, and the technician asked what was wrong. When I explained that it wasn't connecting to the ISP, he merely repeated that it's the ISP's fault, and that the unit was sound. He said I should ask Qwest to inspect the line. When I told him, again, that Qwest just inspected the line two hours before, he suggested I call Qwest again and have them check a second time. Very not helpful. I gave up with them.

Many hours later, I found out the key to getting a connection: First I needed to clear all settings (restore to the factory state), then unplug the DSL line and power (I think you can leave the ethernet plugged into a computer). Reconnect the power, wait until it is a solid light, and ONLY then plug in the DSL line. After a few seconds it should connect. After it connects, go back to the modem configuration (192.168.0.1) and enter all the Qwest settings, and it should be on the internet.

NOTE: Even after successfully connecting, unplugging the power somehow breaks the ability for it to reconnect (a Google search shows that others have had this problem, too). If you must unplug it, then you must restore factory settings and begin all over again. This might also be Qwest's fault (incompatible handshake routines between the modem and the ISP, perhaps).

Others (with ATT, Verizon, etc.) seem to have no problem with the modem, so in those cases it might be a nice little device, but think twice before using it with Qwest. It could be a big headache.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If I can do it ... you will have not problem!, May 22, 2011
This review is from: Actiontec GT701D Ethernet DSL Modem with Routing Capabilities (Personal Computers)
My ISP is AT&T. I replaced their 2Wire equipments with AT&T twice in 3 years. I was very frustrated with all of 2Wire's unstability and constantly resetting. Finally, I decided to take a chance to replace them with an Actiontec DSL modem (GT701D)and a Linksys E4200 router. I had never set up a modem before in my whole life. I thought this would be a challenge for me to do it in my spare time at the weekend. I purchased my Linksys E4200 router online. Later I found I needed a modem to make it work. I set up my new modem and router with the following steps:

1.) Follow the "Quick Start Guide" from Actiontec to configure the modem according to your specific ISP provider.
HINT: You need to know your ISP's (AT&T) member ID and password. If you don't remember, you may call your ISP to find out.
2.) After configuration is complete, confirm that you are connected to the internet.
3.) Click "Advanced Setup" on the Main Menu.
4.) On the "DHCP Settings" page (the list on left side of your screen), turn off DHCP Server. Clink "Apply".
5.) On the "WAN IP Address" page, click "Yes" on the warning. Select RFC 1483 Transparent Bridging. Click "Apply".
Please note: The internet light on the modem will be off, and it will remain off in bridged mode.
6.) Remove the Ethernet cable from your computer, and plug it into the "Internet" port of your Router. (Now, your modem will be connected to your router)
7.) Turn on your router by following your rounter's set up instruction.
8.) Enter your ISP's member ID and password (same as above)in your router settings. Follow instructions in your router's to enable DHCP on your router.
9.) Now you are connected to the internet by using your new modem and router in "Bridged" mode.

Hope my instructions will be helpful to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Actiontec GT701D AWESOME ROUTER/MODEM!, August 5, 2010
By 
Wayne (Mishawaka Indiana) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Actiontec GT701D Ethernet DSL Modem with Routing Capabilities (Personal Computers)
After reading the reviews this sounded like the unit for me. I needed a new modem to replace my Speedstream 5100 which was overheating and losing sync. My network consists of 10 pc's, and a couple of game machines, so the modem works hard.

Just to prove how easy this is to set up, I took it out of the box, connected it to the power, dsl, and to my Linksys router. I powered up the modem first, it went into search mode right away, when the power light stopped blinking I powered on my router and away it went. Not only did it connect right away, it was so much faster than my old Speedstream. I am using AT&T DSL and there sure wasn't an issue with that.

It looks as though the unit configures itself for a "bridge mode" of some sort automatically since there weren't any problems what so ever with this setup. My subnet in my router is 10.1.10.xxx so it doesn't come close to the Actiontec's 192.168.0.xxx subnet.

After the initial test I did connect the Actiontec to my laptop directly and configured it to RFC 1483 Transparent Bridging mode just so I knew the Actiontec's routing capabilities were disabled, but I don't think I really needed to do that. Like I said, it seemed the Actiontec detected my router and configured itself accordingly.

The router portion is really a complete router, even with QOS control for VOIP phones. If I didn't already have the Linksys connected, that little Actiontec router would have been more than enough. Nice unit for the price.

It's been running for a day and I will add to this review if I have any problems down the road.

By the way, when you put the Actiontec in bridge mode, the INTERNET led, does not light up at all. I thought I had a bad unit. I emailed Actiontec and got an answer in about 15 minutes. Wow. Great support to boot.

I'm a happy camper! Buy this modem!

Wayne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not so great - kept slowing down!, October 24, 2010
By 
Ericson1149 (Los Angeles, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Actiontec GT701D Ethernet DSL Modem with Routing Capabilities (Personal Computers)
UPDATE AS OF JULY 26, 2012:

I should have made my comments earlier when I experienced problems. Two year later, I gotta give this a poor rating.

Several months after I purchased this item, I began experiencing slow downs in speed. I used the built-in software to login to the device. The software shows HALF of my maximum download speed.

If I turn off the power, then it fixes the problem temporarily and the speed goes to the max. It got to the point that I had to reset several times. As a last resort, I did a hard-reset (to factory settings) and re-entered all my AT&T account and password. After a week, it began showing signs of slow down again.

I hate returning items and it's a waste of my time especially if it's a small amount. So, I purchased another one - exactly the same product. A few months later, the slow downs started again, plus it was getting really hot. I even turned the unit to the side to cool down the bottom.

Now I'm stuck with two DSL modems that waste my time. To make it go faster, I have to reset several times a week. That's unacceptable.

------------------

ORIGINALLY WRITTEN ON OCT. 24, 2010:

At first I was a little hesitant about buying this product. Who's ever heard of Actiontec??? I'm a brand-queen, and so I'm used to buying Cisco, Motorola, Linksys, etc. But after reading the customer reviews, I took a chance and I'm glad I purchased this product.

Here are my thoughts:

- BAD AC ADAPTER: The one big complaint I had with this product was the AC adapter -- it's weak and doesn't offer much electrical protection from power surges. I can tell because the AC adapter was unusually light. It may be my fault but I plugged this into an old and decrepit power strip. I turned off the power strip and I saw a spark! The modem wouldn't wake up (all the lights were dead). And so I substituted an AC adapter of similar capacity and the lights started blinking again. Unfortunately, after the power surge, the connection was unreliable and kept dropping out. I couldn't take it anymore and so I threw this product away and purchased THE SAME MODEL again. This new one worked flawlessly. And this time around, I got rid of the old power strip. And no, I did not ask Amazon for a refund because (1) I don't have the time nor energy to pursue it; (2) I think it's "partly" my fault because I plugged it into an old power strip that created a power surge; (3) I needed reliable DSL connection right away and so I couldn't wait for Amazon's refund process

- This DSL modem works with my Apple ecosystem and a PC. I plugged in the Apple Airport Express for WiFi access via Actiontec's ethernet connection. From there I can connect my wireless devices: iPhone, PowerBook, Lenovo laptop and my boyfriend's iPhone. I'm also using Apple's nifty AirTunes feature that outputs streaming music to my stereo system wirelessly. Everything connects together with no hiccups.

- This Actiontec model replaced my 2WIRE DSL Modem that AT&T originally supplied. That product was an unreliable PIECE OF JUNK that's always hot and randomly drops my connections. Don't buy 2WIRE!

- Yes, it works perfectly with the "AT&T DSL High Speed Internet" (as they call it) here in the Los Angeles and San Gabriel Valley area where I reside. And according to the manual, it also works with VERIZON's DSL service. The manual and package also clearly states that this is DSL-ONLY, not a cable modem! Hard to believe but some people get that confused, you know.

- I've owned a half dozen DSL modems over the years (I moved a lot, okay!) and this is one of the quickest setups I've experienced. Their "Quick Setup" one-page flyer was precise and to the point. They divided it into sections by service provider - "Setup for AT&T users", Verizon, etc.

- For first-time setup, you'll need the PPPoE username and password (I couldn't remember mine at first). It's a critical piece of information that you get from AT&T when you first subscribe to their service. It goes like xxxxx@sbcglobal.net. If you don't have this info then you're dead in the water and the Auto Setup will not proceed any further.

- The blinking lights in the unit are helpful at troubleshooting which connections are not working. This unit has a surprisingly small foot-print and cool (temperature-wise) to the touch.

- SOFTWARE: You can fully control this unit using your standard browser - Safari, Explorer, Chrome and Firefox (yes I tried them all just for curiosity sake) via the IP address that the Quick Setup flyer showed. The Auto Setup was easy. There's also the manual setup, but why bother? (apparently, the manual setup is for ISP's that's not one of the big boys, such as AT&T, Verizon, etc). The interface is easy and straight forward. The advanced features includes your standard firewall settings, port forwarding, website blocking, "schedule" rules, service blocking (to block FTP, email, newsgroups, web, etc), DHCP settings, dynamic routing, QoS (to prioritize certain types of traffic), etc. This thing covers basic to advance!

- SHIPS WITH: DSL modem, black AC Adaptor, black telephone line, hideous bright yellow ethernet cable, CD (for more instructions and software), Quick Setup flyer and users manual.

I hope you find my review helpful. It's not everyday you setup DSL modems and so it can be a challenge to some people. Fortunately, this product is as simple and straight forward as it gets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works well with my NetGear ProSafe internet router, December 3, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Actiontec GT701D Ethernet DSL Modem with Routing Capabilities (Personal Computers)
It works well with my NetGear Prosafe FR114P router. This router is what I really use to access the Internet. I.e. it has my PPPoE user name and password. In order to configure the GT701D, I connected it directly to my laptop, running Linux (as do all my PCs, no Windows to be seen around here), with the supplied cable. [...]. I made two changes using the Advanced Setup options. One the most important was to set the WAN IP to enable the "RFC 1483 Transparent Bridging" option. This is what makes the Actiontec into a "dumb ADSL modem" so that the NetGear controls my PPPoE. The second was to change the LAN IP to one that fits into my local LAN addressing scheme. This latter is not really necessary.

It appears that this machine is based on BusyBox, a well known embedded Linux system used for many embedded projects. It works quite well with Linux and the CD is for configuration. At least it was in my case. Oh, my ISP is AT&T, the SWBELL domain, in N. Texas (near Dallas).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works with Qwest (now Centurylink) with little setup, November 17, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Actiontec GT701D Ethernet DSL Modem with Routing Capabilities (Personal Computers)
I saw a review where someone had trouble setting this modem up with Qwest. It wasn't quite plug and play, but I wouldn't say it was difficult. You do have to follow the directions... go figure. They are simple enough though. Plug it into AC power, connect the phone line, connect the ethernet cable to your computer, open a web browser, type in the specified IP address from the instructions to access the unit and click on the auto setup button. At this point you will have to call Centurylink because after it does it's thing, you will need to enter a username and password that Centurylink will provide you. Enter those in and click the next button and then there may be one or two more settings that may need minor tweaks. It took me about 10 minutes to get it going. I use it with a Belkin 4 port router with wireless N and my whole house is rocking Centurylink's super slow 1.5Mbps DSL. That's all they currently have available in our area, but I hear rumors that they are getting ready to start upgrading equipment and infastructure to get us better speeds. I'll hold my breathe. Don't let reviews about it being difficult to set up scare you off. Read the instructions and all should work out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 272 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.