Industrial-Sized Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Melanie Martinez Storm Fire TV Stick Off to College Essentials Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Shop Popular Services Home Theater Setup Plumbing Services Assembly Services Shop all tmnt tmnt tmnt  Amazon Echo Fire HD Kids Edition Kindle Voyage The Walking Dead\ Gear Up for Football Deal of the Day

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

304 of 315 people found the following review helpful
on April 29, 2011
The auto set-up did not work for me. First call was to Qwest. "Sorry, it doesn't support Qwest" was the answer. "Need to buy another one from us." I got the settings anyway, and called Actiontec.
If you're having this problem:
Go to advanced settings.
Click on "IP Addressing - WAN IP Settings"
Select "PPPoe" for #2
Click on Apply

Back to Advanced Settings

Go to "Broadband" tab on the left.
Enter "0" in "VPI" box
Enter "32" in VCI" box
Click "Apply"

And, you're good to go. They had me up and running in less than five minutes.

And now we're running well. Increased speed (20% on both up and down) on all (4) devices. Much better signal throughout the house, and less clutter.

I'm very happy with my purchase. Qwest? Not so much.
1212 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
267 of 282 people found the following review helpful
on April 16, 2011
I have a few macs and a few PCs. iMac is the main home computer. I have AT&T DSL. I had an old 2Wire gateway modem/wireless router now at least 8 years old and recently "upgraded" to the latest AT&T 2Wire Gateway modem/wireless router 2701HG-B (~$100 dollars at the AT&T store). Although this was easy to set up, its wireless perfomance was glitchy and I had to reset it often, and it would regularly drop my MacBook Air wireless connection about every 5 minutes.

I read the reviews on Amazon and the ActionTec modem/wireless routers appeared to be highly rated, so I purchased the Wireless N model and have been very happy.

Advantages:

1. It is cheaper than AT&T modem/router
2. It is a bit faster (I am gaining about .2-.5 MPS in my download speeds)
3. Wireless performance is excellent with greater range than AT&T modem.
4. No more dropping connections with my MacBook
5. You can actually custom name your wireless network and create your own password, AT&T assigns you a network name ("2WIREXXX") and a numerical password.

All in all quite please and have therefore given it 5 stars. Had I known about this I would have never purchased the AT&T modem in the first place. No wonder that modem only gets 2-3 stars on Amazon. I will be selling it now on EBay.
1616 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
135 of 143 people found the following review helpful
on April 8, 2012
Just to give an example of how bad I needed a very good modem and router. It needs to be able to handle my load...
- 2 Xbox 360's on extensive multiplayer games on both. And Netflix, and other streaming videos apps. (2 wired)
- 3 laptops always on facebook. netflix, or downloading torrents. (1 wired, 2 wirelss)
- anywhere from 1-4 Iphones/touch/galaxy/droids smartphones. (wireless)
All at the same time on some occasions.

When I originally had ATT's 2Wire device, it surprisingly handled it well. Until one day it just died.
So as a surrogate until I found a better one. I had a ZOOM modem/router and a netgear N router for wireless.
Nothing but problems since. I ordered the dlink dir655 hoping for better results but unsuccessful.
Only was able to handle 1 xbox online at a time. 1 laptop on facebook and thats about it. I heard nothing but complaints from everyone in this house.

Returned the dlink sadly. Not entirely its fault, could have been that ZOOM modem (crap device).

Nonetheless the hunt was still on.

Extensive nights reading all the reviews that could ever be written on an umpteen number of modems and routers out there. I tend to be loyal to the brands that I have been using but on this occasion, I had to stray and glad I did. Read many reviews on the ACTIONTEC models MOST GOOD REVIEWS and the reviews were very extensive and detailed. If it wasnt for those reviews I probably would have glanced them over time and again and still be unhappy with my internet service just because I liked to stick to the brand names that I knew.
Being open minded really helped me acheive peace and joy in this house.

Now I understand why the ACTIONTEC had so many great reviews. So let this be another one.
From someone who totally understands how vital the internet is to this houses livelihood.

This is by far and so far the best ever!
1. the price is well worth the investment.
2. the modem/router combo is a great space saver and works better than 2 separate units.
3. easy install
4. ATT DSL Compatible
5. no drops wired and wireless all working smoothly.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
139 of 154 people found the following review helpful
on December 11, 2011
When my GT784WN showed up, I called Centurylink to get my account name/password. The rep was friendly and when I told her the modem was not purchased through them she told me what settings to use to make it work (pppoe, VPI at 0, and VCI at 32). She was even going to walk me through setting it up, but I didn't need my hand held.

It took ~5 min to change the settings in the modem and reboot, then it connected and worked perfectly. The wifi has good coverage throughout the house, and fast speeds. I have had it for almost a week and have not had to reboot yet.

I checked the firmware when it came in, and it already had the latest version.

Very pleased with this purchase. The built-in router with wifi eliminates the need of having a second box connected to your DSL modem. The price is $30 less than a similar offering from CenturyLink that is still using "g" wifi.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
94 of 103 people found the following review helpful
on March 9, 2011
Was using a Westell router provided by Verizon a few years ago and it kept dropping the wifi connection on my laptop even though it was only 35-40 feet away from the router. I purchased this one and it was pretty much plug-n-play using Frontier DSL and I haven't lost a connection since...so I'm a happy camper again. It works well with Nettalk voip to so that's another plus.
99 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
on May 13, 2013
The GT784WN Wireless-N DSL modem does not like DSL lines when the attenuation factor is close to 30db which is where the modem shuts down according to Actiontec service people. According to Century/Link a DSL modem should work all the way to a 60db attenuation level. My experience with the modem is that it continuosly shuts down at random while my line measured typically 28db attenuation. CenturyLink claims they supply a Wireless DSL modem that meets their line requirements (Zyxell pk5001z). After contacting Actiontec and stating my like for their easy setup and modem speed (when it works), I asked for suggestions as to an alternate unit they might provide. After 2 weeks I have no response and assume no Actiontec alternative exists and would recommend one procure a unit that will meet CenturyLink's requirements if that is the system used.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on January 21, 2012
In 2006, I moved into my condo. Having only two options for hi-speed internet dictated to me by the condo association - Comcast and AT&T, I chose the lesser of the two evils. AT&T threw me a deal with their 2wire wireless modem/router and away I went. It ran without incident, until one day in 2009, the router side started to break down. The first to go was the #1 Ethernet plug. That took all hi level programing functions from me, but I could still use it on a day to day basis. Then the wireless radio started to act really weird, especially when I attempted to connect with Apple products (iPhone 4).

After dealing with this noise for several months, many times the wireless failing to connect to anything, it was time for a replacement. I really didn't want to go back with a 2Wire hunk-o-junk again through AT&T, so I really poured time into finding a all-in-one replacement. That is when I came across this modem/router.

Purchasing this unit back on March 17, 2011, this was a new unit that just came to market. I read about the older Actiontec modem/routers (hereinafter: Modem) that were only b/g wireless speed, but this was the first combo unit sold by Actiontec that also included Wireless "N" speed capability. Taking the plunge, I purchased it. Here is what I have experienced over the last 10 months of ownership and use:

Good
* Wireless "N" speeds.
* Wireless maxes out my DSL speed with 625K bits/second transmission and receive.
* Max transfer speed computer to computer - Wireless "G" is 1.9M/sec.
* Max transfer speed computer to computer - Wireless "N" is 4.1M/sec.
* Max Ethernet speed computer to computer is about 8M/sec.
* One step set up for wireless devices made it simple.
* Pre-programed by running a wizard to connect with AT&T service *(see below for additional info)*
* Compact size - can be mounted in almost any direction or configuration.
* 2 - 3 dbi antennas to aid in boosting range of wireless.
* The antennas are screw-in DIN mount, so you can replace them with larger antennas, if needed for longer wireless range.
* On an Ethernet connection - it was plug and use - Windows XP or 7, Max OS X Tiger or any number of Linux distros.
* There are 4 Ethernet ports on the back of the modem.
* I have had up to 2 Ethernet and 7 wireless devices connected to this router w/o any problems (other than speed).
* Setting up your personal WPA2/PSK AES security code was a snap.
* Your personal code use was far better handled than on my old 2Wire system.
* I was able to rename my wireless SSID to my old 2Wire SSID.
* I'm still running the original firmware NCS01-1.0.1 -- there has been several upgrades since (discussed below).
* Set up and maintenance screens for this unit is clearly laid out.
* MAC address security also included.

The less desirable:
* By nature, Wireless "N" takes up two channels of broadcasting.
* This modem only broadcasts on the 2.4 GHz band, so you may interference issues with microwaves, cordless home phones and BT devices.
* The modem runs a modified version of Linux OS and needs to reboot every so many days (see below).
* When I cannot connect with my iPhone, I have to reboot the modem/router to reestablish wireless again.
* AT&T will NOT support this modem. If you have problems, you are on your own.
* There is no provision to program static IP addresses for your devices in this model All are dynamic addresses.
* You can only block a specific IP address from your network - kinda stupid I think, since they are dynamically assigned.
* To have decent wireless signal around my condo, I have to have the broadcast power set to 100%
* Change the default broadcast channel - I had major interference from other wireless networks in my complex.
* Extended time is needed when restarting this modem to sync with the internet through AT&T - is it hardware or the network?

AT&T Replacement for 2Wire modem/router:
If you replace your 2Wire modem, you will need two pieces of info (this is MOST critical)
1) The root/main account holder email address, and
2) The AT&T system password (not your email password) - it is a combo of upper/lower case letters and numbers. Mine is 11 characters in length.

If you do not have this now, call AT&T DSL/Internet CS and obtain it. This will save you a whole lot of grief in the set up process. Using the Actiontec set-up wizard, the program will ask for both the primary email address and your AT&T system password. Without it, you will not get logged into the system. One additional point, don't copy and paste if you have it stored electronically - there are some control characters that copy over, unseen by you and causes havoc, rejecting you password as invalid. You must manually ket it in.

Again your email password is NOT the system access password for your account.

Performance:
Using this modem for extended periods of time, modem utilization and free memory will increase and decrease, respectively. As utilization increases, the modem will slow processing of IP traffic across the network. On it's own, the modem will reboot to refresh utilization. This normally happens between 30 and 45 days. I see my Ethernet connection drop, go check and see why and I see the modem is self-rebooting. My 2Wire did the very same this. It must be a normal thing for DSL modems.

Sometimes, the reboot doesn't happen. I first notice this on my iPhone when connecting to WiFi. It will not connect, even standing right next to the Modem. Wireless "N" is next to take a performance hit when utilization reaches near the reboot point. I then either have to restart or unplug and plug back in the modem to gain WiFi access. Wireless speed and connectivity then returns to normal.

I have yet to experience any performance issues on the Ethernet side of this modem. The performance hit is on the wireless side.

Actiontec Firmware Updates:
I know of two firmware updates that have come out on this model modem since my purchase. I have seen them out on the Actiontec support site. The problem is this: Actiontec gives the end user NO information as to what the firmware updates correct/modify/enhance. That bothers me. I always want to know what I'm installing on my equipment. Since the original firmware works for me, why should I take the risk of putting new firmware on that may just break something. My adage: if it ain't broke, don't fix it! (see below)

Is it worth the upgrade from AT&T 2Wire?
In a word - Absolutely! I was getting really frustrated with AT&T using my old 2Wire modem. The dropped wireless connections, inability to wirelessly connect with multiple wireless devices, re-key in PSK passwords to access wirelessly, Ethernet ports dying and the list goes on. I was ready to dump AT&T. Making matters worse, AT&T was absolutely NO help in offering any kind of hardware allowance to me. Had I left for 6 months and gone to Comcast and returned, I would get a new 2Wire modem for free. I didn't want to invest in all new cable model hardware. The upside by remaining with AT&T, DSL service is up virtually 100% of the time. Comcast cannot even come close to that claim. That is why I stayed with AT&T DSL service.

Therefore, if you have DSL service and don't mind only one band of broadcasting (2.4 GHz), forgoing the ability to have the second band of broadcasting (5.0 GHz), this is an excellent upgrade path for you. I left the AT&T 2Wire modem behind me and I am never looking back and you should too.

******
2/27/2012 - Update

Two nights ago, my wireless dropped again (like I discussed above). No big deal, reboot the modem and things will be alright, like a number of times before, since modem utilization was 70% after 19 days since last reboot. Did that, wireless worked for about a minute and dropped again. This time a cold restart - same thing. One minute working and then drop. This time the router didn't allow any wireless devices to connect. Ethernet connection remained solid. I was able to get onto the net with my desktop plugged into the Ethernet port. The drop of wireless was very frustrating to say the least.

Support on the Actiontec website is bad. Wrote them about my problem (Friday after support closed for the weekend). Poked further in other forums and decided to upgrade firmware, as a last ditch effort, not really sure if this would correct my problem. It acted like some hardware issue related to heat from the unit. Updated the firmware from NCS01-1.0.1 to NCS01-1.0.8. It is a 6.5 Meg download in an image file. Started the modem, went to advanced tool and performed the firmware update. 6 minutes later, the modem was up and running, fully updated.

For 48 hours now, all of my wireless devises connect right up. When the modem rebooted, Modem utilization was at 44%. Now, with two days of hard pounding, the modem utilization is only at 45%. Wireless ping time also dropped (from an average of 148 ms to 52 ms) as a result of this firmware upgrade.

Actiontec gave a warning about all settings and data will be lost when the firmware was updated. Mine was completely intact after the update. All settings and log ins were correct. Only the IP address table was wiped out - all devises received a new IP address from the router after the update. It is good to follow the advise, but it may not be needed.

I'm still upset that Actiontec doesn't give Release Notes about firmware changes on their download page. That prevented me from doing any firmware upgrades until a real problem surfaced. I'm going to follow up with tech support on the firmware release notes point when they respond to my support question.

If you are having any wireless issues with this modem/router combo - update firmware immediately. That may just correct your problem, just like what happened to me.

I'm lowering my star rating to 4 stars, based upon the lack of real help on the Actiontec website for Release Notes on firmware upgrades. This is inexcusable by the manufacturer.

******
3/5/2012 - Update

9 days post firmware upgrade. Version NCS01-1.0.8 solved several problems I had with my modem. Ping times continue to remain low. Modem utilization 9 days post update is currently at 47%. Pre-update utilization would be over 50% and pushing closer to 60% by now. All wireless devices remain connected while running, no intermittent drops and full speed of my internet connection. I have had 5 wireless connections running at the same time without any stalls or dropped connections (the internet ran slow, due to the limit of my DSL speed).

Just after I wrote this, the modem self-rebooted. 9 days and 12 hours of up time. Memory utilization is back down to 44%. It appears to be fine.

If you are having any problems with this retail modem - update the firmware. It appears to have fixed my problem, even with my finicky iPhone 4 and WiFi signal being dropped or unable to connect when called upon.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
85 of 106 people found the following review helpful
on May 3, 2011
After my 2Wire failed, I bought a NetGear DGN3500. It will not hold a wifi connection and crashed daily. I got sick of rebooting (and yes I have the latest .28 firmware). I bought the Actiontec. It does not cut it either. Open to suggestions on a decent product.

Pros
Fast boot, DSL sync, and connection (almost no latency).
Excellent wifi range.

Cons
Fails on downloads. The DSL connection is dropped on any download over 10mb. File Downloads, iPhone updates, Netflix streaming all fail.
Parental controls do not work. If you set up sites to be blocked, all web traffic for all users will be blocked a few hours later. The controls are worthless anyway. You can block a web site for all users. Or you can turn off a service (e.g. web, IM, etc.) for a specific user. The typical use case of "no Hulu on the teenager's PC after 7pm" is thus not supported.
No online support resources. Support consists of a quick start guide and a FAQ for all Actiontec routers. No user manual. No support page at Action. No community site (besides Amazon). You are on your own.
AT&T auto set up does not work. You will need to do it manually and you will need to dig out your network password (not your AT&T password) from the AT&T support site.

I have brought all of the above to the attention of Actiontec support. I get polite emails back, but no resolution. Hoping for a firmware upgrade soon or it is going back. My 2 star review is grading on the pathetic curve that is Wireless N DSL Modem Routers

UPDATE June 20, 2011. I installed the .1 firmware upgrade and experienced hourly crashes (loss of internet service, modem stays connected). I then installed the .2 update. It has fixed the DSL connection drop over 10mb issue, but I now experience daily crashes. My wife and kids have learned to power cycle the modem until I have time to find a new modem.

Update December 22, 2011 - Obviously I dumped the ActionTec. I went back to the Netgear now upgraded with the then new .30 firmware. Not any better. I read every review about the category but could not find a recommended product. So, I rolled the dice on a new router - the ZyXel P-660HN-51. ZyXel primarily sells to ISPs and businesses. While I could not find a review, my assumption was that ISPs would not buy 100k of these things unless they worked.
http://www.amazon.com/P-660HN-51-Wireless-Broadband-Router-802-11n/dp/B0051SHXPQ

I have used the ZyXel for two months and I am very pleased. However, if you are looking for router with a 15 minute wizard based set-up, the P- 660HN-51 is NOT for you. Set-up requires writing rules (via a GUI) to set up the DSL modem. If you understood this review, you will be fine, but figure on 1 hour+ for set-up.

Pros
Excellent range and speed - similar to the ActionTec.
Comes with a well written 100+ page manual (and ZyXel is a Chinese company).
Email support, while slow and rude, is competent.
Attractive design and sturdy case with a minimum of flashing lights.
Ability to block sites on a per computer basis at specified times (e.g. no Hulu for the daughter's PC after 7pm on school nights).
Decent GUI to reach deep feature set.
Stable - has not crashed in two months of use.

Cons
Set-up requires understanding of DSL and networking.
Fussy with Android devices, but works eventually.
1212 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on March 13, 2012
As many AT&T customers know, the 2Wire Wireless Routers have reliability problems, either in the power supply or the router itself. I wasn't going to turn around and pay $100 for AT&T to send me another crappy router, so I tried the Actiontec Wireless-N DSL Modem Router. It is VERY easy to setup with AT&T, all you need is five minutes and your AT&T account user name and password.

The signal is very strong as it easily passes through a brick wall in our home. You can easily customize your settings like your wireless password. I would HIGHLY recommend this wireless router to anyone who needs a replacement for their AT&T or DSL provider. Besides, why give more money to the Phone Company???

PS: Keep in mind this is for internet service only, if you have AT&T Uverse, your internet and TV are combined into one router and you will probably need to go through AT&T for a replacement.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on August 31, 2011
I bought this to replace an old DSL modem/router for my Verizon service. When it was time to install it, I could not get it to work. I called Verizon, and they verified that I had the right settings, but reassured me that I didn't have to wait for a release on my ip address. They suggested I call Actiontec. I did, and let me tell you their customer service is AWESOME. We still couldn't get it to work, so he offered to replace it, but I went through Amazon instead. Amazon sent me a new one without waiting for the return of the first one, which was also great.

I got the second one, and had the same exact problem. So I turned off my old router overnight, even though Verizon said I didn't need to wait for a release. Turns out I did. I hooked up the Actiontec the next morning and I was off and running - kinda. I had to call again because my Win7 computers hooked up, no problem, but my WinXps were not connecting. Turned out I needed a different security setting. That fixed it. Again, Actiontec customer service should be a model for the whole tech industry.

I'm still having a problem with my iPhone connecting, but that's an Apple problem. Since I used the same SSID for my new router as my old, but the security type is different, the iPhone won't let me reconfigure it, even after a frustrating hard reset. I could redo my router settings and work around that, but I decided to use yet another awesome feature of the Actiontech - it allows up to 4 different SSIDs with different settings. For our iPhones, I just created another unsecured, non-broadcasted SSID, and we're up and running.

I also like that this has parental controls - I was concerned since I couldn't find any documentation on line before I bought it. It does have parental control, and even though it doesn't come with documentation to configure it, it's pretty intuitive, so I got that part set up relatively painlessly, too.

The reason I bought a new router was that the old one kept needing to be reset. I haven't had any dropped connection yet, and the Actiontec has been up and running 24/7 for a few weeks now.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 505 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.