Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, no exposure.
For whatever reason, Activision refused to give this game the attention and promotion it deserved. It's very solid and a lot of fun, with interesting weapons and time travel. It is reminiscient of Bioshock in terms of controls, and it's time manipulation glove bears resemblance to Half-Life 2's gravity gun. I'd say buy this game if you enjoy "fun" shooters...
Published 23 months ago by Jawawaxer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Eh it's okay.
Not exactly what I expected coming from some reviewers via here and steam. If anything it's just mediocre to some FPS/Horror games I've played. Has a nice concept but the AI even on Hard, are not that bright and can seem to snipe you across the map even if they are just holding a pistol. Money could be spent better elsewhere.
Published 8 months ago by Kevin Lance


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, no exposure., February 25, 2013
This review is from: Singularity [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
For whatever reason, Activision refused to give this game the attention and promotion it deserved. It's very solid and a lot of fun, with interesting weapons and time travel. It is reminiscient of Bioshock in terms of controls, and it's time manipulation glove bears resemblance to Half-Life 2's gravity gun. I'd say buy this game if you enjoy "fun" shooters. The story doesn't take itself too seriously, and the shooting is well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars decent game, March 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singularity [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Very good game, very good price $9.50... I have been looking for games to pass time till the new Metro comes out. The game had a good storyline and some good twists. This is a good FPS with a plot (Think Halo, Dues X, etc...). As the game progresses the character gets better stuff/more abilities and more of the story is revealed. You need to think a little bit, but there are no mind bending puzzles/impossible quests. The game uses unreal3 engine (very good graphics/physics). There are a lot of ways the game could have continued the storyline and there are a lot of other ways the game could have ended. I am surprised there is no sequel. If one does come out I will probably buy it.

I prefer RPG (Oblivion, Fallout, Metro, etc...) over FPS/TPS, but this is an entertaining game.

For $10 this was a great deal. It would have been a good deal for $20 and a fair deal for $25.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Sci-fi/Horror story., April 26, 2014
This review is from: Singularity [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I played this game on Xbox 360 the year it released and I must say, it was an amazing experience. The story was phenomenal and the abilities and weapons get really creative in the later levels. Had a lot of fun with this game and loved the sci-fi/horror story. A few plot holes I didn't quite grasp but worth it for the story alone. Don't hesitate to pick this up when it's on sale, games with great and original stories like this don't come out very often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game rocks, April 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singularity [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Thoroughly impressed by this game. The melding of a great story with action (FPS) is so well done it feels like you are part of a movie. Graphically impressive landscapes enhance each mission and the story really draws you in as it begins with really no back story and the more you investigate and advance the clearer it becomes. Even though the character does follow a set path it really feels more like fluid action. Well worth the low price of the Downloadable version for instant access.
- If you're a gamer you will like this game

Good:
Graphics, Story, Controls, Weapon Variety, Occasional Bosses, Small Puzzles, Freedom to play in your own 'style'

Bad:
Some parts can be quite challenging and require several tries to get through (though this could also be considered a positive - it forces you to really focus)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun little game flew completely under my radar., November 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singularity [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Bioshock as envisioned by Nikola Tesla. Great game, a bit derivative in the skill and power-up aspects of the game. The story is entirely original and the combat is a blast. All around great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary but fun, July 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singularity [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I love Amazon's download service and this was a Steam DRM so it was fast to download. This game is definitely pretty scary and keeps you on your toes, with a different storyline from any game I have ever played. If you're looking for some scary monsters like you saw in the movie Rec, you should definitely play this game! I got it on sale for about $8, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Singularity Steals From the Best and Entertains, Just Don't Call it Original, June 4, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singularity [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
This review might read a little strange because I am going to list a lot of things wrong with the game, then tell you to buy it anyway. The long and short of it is that Raven Software, a group of developers who have been making FPS games for almost two decades, really liked Bioshock. A lot.

While Raven's previous titles from recent years were very old-school, Quake 4 even still having floating weapon pick-ups, Singularity plays much more like a modern console FPS game. Singularity is slow-paced, has various sections that concentrate more on light puzzle-solving than shooting and even long stretches just added for atmosphere. Speaking of atmosphere, the game has it in spades... great environments, cool effects, audio and written logs, films, music, the works. The game uses the Unreal Engine 3 as well, though it has brighter colors and more vibrant environments than many games that use the same engine. Does it sound like Bioshock yet? Okay, how about this: you get special powers that you upgrade and add new abilities to by spending an in-game currency. Warm yet? How about: the game is mostly linear, but has some side paths you can travel for more pick-ups.

What I am driving home here is that Raven might as well of called this Bioshock 3. The UE3 engine, the vibrant colors, the pick-ups, the powers, the slower pace, the light puzzles... everything is influenced by Irrational Games' underwater masterpiece. This makes it a very easy game to review though, because basically if you want another Bioshock then get this game. It is polished and does the Bioshock style well, and the storyline and location... a Russian experimental weapons base you visit long after a disaster of epic proportions, ruined, dark and wet just like Bioshock's Rapture... are well presented.

The negatives of the game lie mostly in the port to PC. Though Raven were a PC-focused developer all the way through Quake 4 a few years ago, Wolfenstein and now Singularity are both console ports. The FOV is limited, making you feel a bit claustrophobic, and the interface and control methods are all designed with consoles first in mind. One particular annoyance is that the "use" command and the "reload" command are both tied to the same key, meaning if you have a preferred command setup something is likely not going to be where you want, and of course hitting "use" off-target will reload your weapon when you don't want to. Instead of using a different key for each power like a PC game would the game puts all your powers on a few inputs, making you press a key for one thing, hold it for another, or similar things. There is even an auto-aim option in the menu that is on by default!

None of those console port issues are game-breaking by any means, just minor annoyances, but the console port nature of this title DOES ruin the multiplayer. No text chat, no dedicated servers and a low player count... what is there might be decent, but with actual PC multiplayer games on the market why would you play it? The answer is: you won't.

And yet despite all the stolen inspiration, despite all the console port issues, despite the useless multiplayer, I am going to give this game a 4 out of 5. Why? Simply because it is a very fun and impressive looking shooter! That is what you would buy the game for I assume, and that is what Singularity is. At high resolutions and with AA forced through your video card's control panel the game looks very, very good, and the mouse control is smooth and polished. The action is very well done, the guns feel and work great, the powers are fun, the difficulty is just right... Singularity is a damn good game.

Just don't call it original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It grows on you, March 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singularity [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Not a bad game really....once you get going for awhile you will start to like it. Pretty interesting and pretty good monsters. Worth it I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sleeper Hit, June 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singularity [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I played this game originally on Xbox 360, And I've repurchased it on Steam through amazon so ill have it forever :D. This game is Scary with awesome time manipulation and original enemies. I'm a man of few words so just do yourself a favor and buy it. Its a steal at $7.50 but i would have gladly paid $29.99.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 11, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singularity [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Better than i thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Singularity [Online Game Code]
$29.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.