Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A NICE, EARLY, POWERFUL, SURPRISE!!
I never thought from the You Tube footage that she would be so powerful! But straight out of the box she was pretty powerful and a lot of fun to play with among the newest figures available. Initially her earth element attack consists of shooting a crystal out of her curled up tail (like a scorpion). It makes her appear a little more aggressive while she's in battle(for...
Published 21 months ago by Fun Times Mom

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretty but ONLY works with new Giant console
Pretty figure my daughter picked out. She was excited for two days waiting for the figure to arrive. To save you some aggravation know that the description was not clear but this product ONLY works with new Skylander Giants, so if you have the original battleground device don't order this.
Published 15 months ago by Loren


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A NICE, EARLY, POWERFUL, SURPRISE!!, October 30, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Activision Skylanders Giants Single Character Pack Core Series 2 Flashwing (Video Game)
I never thought from the You Tube footage that she would be so powerful! But straight out of the box she was pretty powerful and a lot of fun to play with among the newest figures available. Initially her earth element attack consists of shooting a crystal out of her curled up tail (like a scorpion). It makes her appear a little more aggressive while she's in battle(for the guys out there). She spins as part of her secondary attack (like Warnado) but seems to be much more powerful and controllable. I have found her to be surprisingly useful when battling the human shields. They can't be attacked from the front, but you can spin "dash" behind them and attack. As her third attack she shoots multiple lasers all around her from her wings(they can't be aimed). This doesn't help with enemies straight in front of her, but it does shoot all the way around her sides and from behind which is handy when she becomes surrounded. Over time she increases in damage levels from her crystals, and gets her armor increased by 40 after the third upgrade. She never truly flys, just spins quickly. Her final Soul Gem upgrade can be found in the "Bringing Order to Kaos" level. This creates a crystal lighthouse that keeps Flashwing from moving but creates a long range attack from a light emitted from it every few seconds and is her most powerful damaging attack.

BEGINNING STATS:
MAX HEALTH:260
SPEED:43
ARMOR:24
CRITICAL HIT:10
ELEMENTAL POWER:25

Choose Your Path Choices:
SUPER SHARDS PATH:
This attack strengthens her long-range abilities with more rapid fire of her crystal shards. After her fourth upgrade on this path her crystal shards stick into surrounding walls and shoot an additional attack when you press her primary attack button (the X on PS3) a second time. Her last upgrade along this path actually helps her to heal from those wall embedded crystals as she passes closely. Each crystal gives her an increase of 5 HP.
SUPER SPINNER PATH:
This increases her ability to do more of a spin "dash" attack with increased damage and armor while spinning. Eventually with her "Reflection Deflection" upgrade her armor increases to over 100 while spinning! This upgrade also reflects her opponent's shots right back at them.

KEEP IN MIND WHEN YOU CHOOSE YOUR PATH.. ONLY THE SERIES 2 (OR ORIGINAL RE-RELEASED)FIGURES CAN CHANGE BETWEEN PATHS AT ANY TIME. I GUESS IT'S A BONUS FOR BUYING THE "NEW" OLD FIGURES.

MY OPINION:
In the early stages of the game with all the currently available figures, I'd have to say that Flashwing and Hot Head are my top two new characters that I like! They are my 6 year old son's favorite too! I tend to prefer ones with powerful attacks, not melee attacks, by the way. I was honestly shocked by her beginning critical hit number (being her weakness) but I have really enjoyed playing her and can only guess that she must get powered up rather quickly from her starting numbers or the Pants Hat that looks like red and white spotted boxers made the difference.

AMAZON AND OTHER RETAILERS SELL FOR APPROXIMATELY $9.99
ANY OTHER AMOUNT IS THIRD PARTY..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blinded by the light, December 1, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Activision Skylanders Giants Single Character Pack Core Series 2 Flashwing (Video Game)
The people behind Skylanders sure have come up with an interesting variety of dragons, and Flashwing is a great addition to the mix! An Earth Skylander, her body is composed of gems and crystals, and her attacks incorporate not only that, but the ability to reflect and use light. "Condensed light" even eventually increases her armor. I was worried, being a gem dragon that she'd be all girlied up, but I was luckily mistaken!

Speed: Slow
Flashwing moves at a steady but slow gallop. She's a handy Skylander though, so don't be put off by that. A well chosen hat will fix that problem.

Primary Attack:
As can be expected from a gem dragon, Flashwing's primary attack is firing crystal shards from her tail. It starts out slow, but is sped up considerably after being upgraded. Holding in the primary attack button for a few seconds (after being upgraded of course) allows her to fire a laser beam from her wing tips. If you choose the Super Shards upgrade path, the crystals can embed in walls and shoot off more Crystals, as well as heal Flashwing if she stands close to them.

Secondary Attack:
This one, the Shimmering Spin, I actually find myself using more than the primary. Flashwing gets up on the tips of her toes and spins quickly, crashing through everything in her path. This, like the crystals, needs to be upgraded to be the most effective, but it still very much gets the job done, especially when you get surrounded by enemies or use her in the Battle Arena. If you chose the Super Spinner upgrade path, the Shimmering Spin will gain the ability to last longer, deflect enemies shots, and shoot out lasers if attack one is pressed.

Tertiary Attack:
In Flashwing's basic upgrades, she can also fire crystal shards in all directions except, unfortunately, forward. While it is effective if surrounded by Chompies, I personally don't find it all that helpful in the harder levels. When you are surrounded by Mace Majors or something of the sort, it just doesn't deal enough damage or fire fast enough to take them out efficiently. I also tend to single out my enemies, so while this may be a good attack for somebody else, it doesn't do much good for me.

Soul Gem Ability:
This is definitely one of the best Soul Gem powers, counting the ones from the original game! Crystal Lighthouse causes a large crystal to spring up from the ground and create spinning beams of light that deal constant damage to enemies so long as the attack button is held in. This does unfortunately leave Flashwing vulnerable to the tougher enemies, but it can start hurting them from a distance so that by the time they get close enough to do any real damage, they're just about dead.

Overall:
To me, she definitely gets a 9/10. I was so eager to get her I overpaid a bit to have her shipped from a part of the country where she was in the first wave, but it was worth it! She's definitely a good addition to anyone's collection of Skylanders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly as ordered, December 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Activision Skylanders Giants Single Character Pack Core Series 2 Flashwing (Video Game)
This product was ordered for my 9-yr old son who loves Skylanders and was getting the upgraded game for Christmas. This was more affordable than most retail stores and arrived in perfect condition. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Skylanders!, December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Activision Skylanders Giants Single Character Pack Core Series 2 Flashwing (Video Game)
My daughter loves the new Skylanders Giants, and these new character designs are both clever and creative. They are great additions to any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skylander Fans, December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Activision Skylanders Giants Single Character Pack Core Series 2 Flashwing (Video Game)
The whole faminly loves this game. Its fun for all ages and we rec'd this package on time and as listed in the details. Great game for any family to play!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift for Grandson, January 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Activision Skylanders Giants Single Character Pack Core Series 2 Flashwing (Video Game)
My grandson loved it. He has almost all of the skylander characters. He and my daughter enjoy the games and have quality time together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, January 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Activision Skylanders Giants Single Character Pack Core Series 2 Flashwing (Video Game)
The figures are cute and a nice motivational treat for the kids, and unlike the ever increasingly popular "in-game purchases" of other games, you get a physical possession. Since the characters can be used on any platform (Xbox, PS3, 3DS, Wii), it's kind of cool that the figures remember their experience. If you ever get rid of the figures, they can be reset in the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Son loves it!, January 29, 2013
By 
Julie (CVILLE, TN, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Activision Skylanders Giants Single Character Pack Core Series 2 Flashwing (Video Game)
Ordered for my son and HE LOVES IT. Condition was exactly as described and son says he LOVES this skylander character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gotta Love Flashwing, January 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Activision Skylanders Giants Single Character Pack Core Series 2 Flashwing (Video Game)
I believe that Flashwing is a great addition to any and all Skylanders collections, she is in fact an earth element and a great one at that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Skylanders Character, January 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Activision Skylanders Giants Single Character Pack Core Series 2 Flashwing (Video Game)
Flashwing is a well-round Skylander. Her primary tail attack is similar to Trigger Happy's golden guns; it has a long range and rapid fire rate. Her secondary spin attack is also very effective. Her speed is better than that of the other Earth Skylanders I have played with. Also, her design is quite attractive and the toy models her well. I would diffidently recommend Flashwing as a Earth character for any fighting style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.