Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fright, Fun and the most Unique New Skylander.
Fright Rider is a new character released for the Skylander GIANTS world. He is an Undead Type knight of sorts and rides upon an undead steed of some variety (perhaps an Ostrich?). This mechanic is completely new to the Skylander universe and I personally welcome any and all differentiation in the characters. The design works well although I feel he should have more...
Published 22 months ago by Nik D. Click

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Christmas gift
This item isn't for me personally but for my grandson. I know he will love it due to he is really into these figures at this time.
Published 9 months ago by Baby


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fright, Fun and the most Unique New Skylander., October 29, 2012
By 
Nik D. Click (IL, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Activision Skylanders Giants Single Character Pack Core Series 2 Fright Rider (Video Game)
Fright Rider is a new character released for the Skylander GIANTS world. He is an Undead Type knight of sorts and rides upon an undead steed of some variety (perhaps an Ostrich?). This mechanic is completely new to the Skylander universe and I personally welcome any and all differentiation in the characters. The design works well although I feel he should have more defense being a mounted unit. Fright Rider turns into a formidable combatant with entertaining special moves and a good mix of close and ranged attacks. Spinning spear strikes are especially effective.

He does tend to have a slight pause between attacks which leaves him vulnerable after a combo. On 3DS he is moderate jumper.

From a toy/collectible perspective, this is one of my personal favorites. Fright Rider has a neat name, unique design and is well painted and posed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fear the spear!, December 1, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Activision Skylanders Giants Single Character Pack Core Series 2 Fright Rider (Video Game)
Fright Rider is not only an interesting looking Skylander, but one with a neat backstory! Rider and his ostrich Fright were once the best jousting team in Skylands, but when a rival sent Rider to the underworld, Fright turned himself into a skeleton and journeyed there himself to rescue his longtime friend. They are now dedicated to helping others all across Skylands. An added cool factor is that they're one of the two Skylanders that are actually composed of two characters, the elf and the ostrich.

Speed: Average
Fright's movements can be a little awkward, but I wouldn't call him slow. If you still don't find him fast enough, I'm sure a hat would fix the problem quickly.

Primary Attack
As a jousting team, you can easily guess that the attack one button is used for spear related melee attacks. If you press attack one three times in a row, Fright will lash out and bite at enemies as well. The spear is eventually upgraded first to a powerful Ghoul Glaive, then to an even more powerful Halberd of Horror; both upgrades cause your spear to change in appearance. If you choose the Sir Lance A Lot upgrade path, your melee attack becomes more powerful, you gain the ability to hold in attack one and release several small undead ostrich heads to attack your enemies from underground, and you get much better combos. Attack one, attack one, attack two gives you Spear Vault, where Rider will vault off the back of Fright and slam into enemies. Attack one, attack one, attack three gives you Skull Slam, where Fright will rear up and slam his head down.

Secondary Attack
Also related to their way of life, Fright Rider's secondary attack consists of them jousting forward in a short, fast charge with the spear. It's eventually upgraded to be more powerful, and lasts a bit longer. A lot of people don't seem to like this one, but I use it quite frequently. It's especially good for the Arena Battles where your enemies are invincible and need to be pushed off or into things. If you choose the Joust Jockey upgrade path, the attack becomes more powerful and even faster, the spear can be swung at 360 degrees while charging, and while charging you can press attack three for a downward strike.

Tertiary Attack
My favorite of the three main attacks! Fright burrows his head underground (the direction of which is controllable) and once the buttom is released or the max amount of time for the attack has run out, Rider will be dragged underground and pop up where Fright's head has ended up. This is good for getting away from smaller and slower enemies quickly, and for getting out of places where you've gotten yourself stuck. The best part of this is the Soul Gem ability, which will be addressed below.

Soul Gem:
Another great Soul Gem attack! When you burrow underground, instead of Rider just traveling underground the spear remains above ground and drags down enemies that get caught in its path. It's very effective if you start getting swamped. The only downside is that large enemies, like crystal golems or Blaze Brewers, cannot be dragged under.

Overall:
Definitely a worthy Skylander. I was a little leery about purchasing a Skylander that does their melee attacks from the back of a steed, but it actually opened up the windows to some interesting attacks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good price and delivery was fast, January 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Activision Skylanders Giants Single Character Pack Core Series 2 Fright Rider (Video Game)
I bought this for my sons once the new Skylander's Giants were released. The package was in great condition and showed up quickly as scheduled. The kids love this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Akward character, June 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Activision Skylanders Giants Single Character Pack Core Series 2 Fright Rider (Video Game)
The way he fights its really awkward. Also Fright is the bird the figure is riding on and rider is the actual guy riding the bird making it fright rider. Never knew that till recently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my son want this Skylander so bad, March 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Activision Skylanders Giants Single Character Pack Core Series 2 Fright Rider (Video Game)
my son want this Skylander so bad, not sure why but all toy r us and target are sold out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy son, March 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Activision Skylanders Giants Single Character Pack Core Series 2 Fright Rider (Video Game)
My son loves Skylanders of any kind and wants them all.
Haven't found a skylander yet that isn't fun to play with, in and out of the game!
We would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cool, February 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Activision Skylanders Giants Single Character Pack Core Series 2 Fright Rider (Video Game)
i purchased this for my 23 year old son for his birthday and he loved it. if i need to purchase anymore skylanders i will definitely order them from your company okay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, January 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Activision Skylanders Giants Single Character Pack Core Series 2 Fright Rider (Video Game)
Awesome Skylander figure! Exactly what we asked for! My son is delighted with it! Would recommend this one to everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brightened his Christmas., January 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Activision Skylanders Giants Single Character Pack Core Series 2 Fright Rider (Video Game)
This was a gift for my 10 year old grandson for Christmas. He was very excited when he opened it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Son loves it, January 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Activision Skylanders Giants Single Character Pack Core Series 2 Fright Rider (Video Game)
Santa brought this for my eleven year old son and he couldn't be happier. He loves the entire skylanders universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.