Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
72
Price:$19.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 5, 2013
I was lucky enough to get this figure as part of the Skylanders Giants Blue Nintendo Wii Console Bundle Pack as a Father's Day gift. I was hooked within a couple hours of playing.

Gnarly Tree Rex is, in my opinion, much cooler looking than the default figure that comes with the regular starter pack. The blue is nice and shiny, almost pearlescent, and I like that he's all the same coloring, instead of the red and green mix in the original. The coloring of the gun and eyes is somehow more appropriate looking too. Finally, the dark brown of the bark a more flattering look than the kind of washed out color of the original. His looks change as his skills improve too. He'll eventually get this really cool covering of pale yellow flowers on his back, and neat metal rings on his stumps. He ends up looking incredibly slick when all is said and done, especially with a nice top hat.

As for his powers, Tree Rex starts out with an amazing area attack where he pounds his fist into the ground, and a decent charge attack. His upgrades are nice too. The laser upgrade for his gun makes him an incredibly strong jack of all trades, with area, melee, and long-range attacks. He can acquit himself quite well in all combat situations.

Including Tree Rex as the main starting character was a great idea, because he is definitely the very best Giant overall between gameplay and appearance combined. And now people can re-experience the fun with a much better variant. Gnarly dude!
44 comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2013
Myself and my kids really enjoy this variation. Both of my kids love the character Tree Rex from Skylander Giants (he came packaged in the original Giants game). This way they can both play as him as the same time (one plays the original Red one, the other this Blue variant). I like him the best out of the Giant characters because of his nice Area of Effect smash when there are lots of enemies, charge when its a big enemy, and laser cannon for when the enemies are far away.

I would highly recommend this Gnarly Tree Rex as the Giant to buy if you are new to Skylanders and bought Swap Force and are looking to buy a Giant to unlock those extra treasure boxes (that seems to be the only thing Giant specific in Swap Force).

Overall: If you don't really care for Tree Rex or have him already, there is no need for this variant. If you like him and like blue, or if you are new to Skylanders with Swap Force and are looking to buy a single Giant character, I would recommend him.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2013
Price was better than retail stores and my son loves having this variant of Tree Rex. He was so excited to see it offered since before it was only with the starter pack for the Wii U (or it could have been the 3DS). Either way, he has the Playstation 3 version, so getting another game was out of the question.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2013
My son was ecstatic to receive this for a behavior reward. He already had the first TreeRex but something about the color change that he likes eve more. It doesn't do anything different but he didn't mind. Wouldn't pay more than msrp though
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2013
I orginially thought that I would not be able to get ahold of this variant for this skylander character, however started to see these pop up in stores randomly. This is little more than a variant, and unless your a completionist is not really required however I have fallen into endless loop of trying to purchase all of these characters that I can find and it is definately nice to not be tied to a specific store chain when looking for variant characters. Additionally there has been plenty of these to go around at least for now so no reseller upcharging currently.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2014
Tree rex. This is not a bad skylander, but he is not that powerful. His attacks are kind of slow, and his soul gem(special upgrade) is not that good. When fully upgraded, he can rock it, but he has to work for a good place in your skylanders ranks. If you want a more powerful giant, I suggest hot head or crusher.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2013
We are new to the Skylanders world, so Tree Rex (included with the starter set) has been getting played a lot. Both boys like Tree Rex, so they enjoy having this extra one that looks a little different than the original. As far as its' powers, I can't offer any specific review there, other than from what I can see, this is a character that can smash a lot of things and that's pretty much always fun if you're a kid.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2013
gnarly tree rex is much better than his boring colour cousin and his coulors go beter than green and red he is blue and blue and his flowers are white
and his bark is a great dark brown and to top it all of i gave him some indignant moose horns
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2014
If you are a lover of Skylanders (as I have learned to be because of my kids), then you immediately know and understand the importance of having variant characters. (i.e. Legendary Trigger Happy" is the variant of Trigger Happy- Scarlett Ninjini is the variant of Ninjini and so on) This is a variant of the original Tree Rex that came packaged with the starter pack game.

Some of the variants boast stronger stats than their regular counterparts. I am not sure if this is one of those, but the colors make it worth while to purchase, which in turn translates in game. The bold crystal blue colors are dazzling on a big screen, and the kids love it. Unfortunately for them, this is one of those figures that Santa Claus brought me, their Dad, and therefore the kids are not allowed to play with him. So when Gnarly Tree Rex does get to play, it is a special day because Dad is playing Skylanders with the kids. Jus Sayin' :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2014
I don't know about in Skylanders Giants, but if you use this figure with Skylanders: Swap Force it does show up in the game with the specialized colors. So, if you like having the unique characters that actually appear unique in the games, this is one to buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.