Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An underrated, underappreciated gem; one of my all-time favorite FPSs!
4.5 Stars

Quite simply, this is a fantastic FPS that any fan of sci-fi FPS games should enjoy quite a bit. The game's primary draw is its "time" functionality, which makes use of not only slow motion (see: F.E.A.R.), but "pause" and "rewind" to great effect (you'll see the advantage of "pause" almost immediately, as enemies are paralyzed/rendered defenseless...
Published 7 months ago by TheTruthHurts

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars No Controller Support
No controller support, I loved this game on the PS3 when it first came out, became a part of the PC gaming master race so I thought I'd pick this up, no controller support=no fun, no nostalgia for me.
Published 1 month ago by Evan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An underrated, underappreciated gem; one of my all-time favorite FPSs!, April 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TimeShift [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
4.5 Stars

Quite simply, this is a fantastic FPS that any fan of sci-fi FPS games should enjoy quite a bit. The game's primary draw is its "time" functionality, which makes use of not only slow motion (see: F.E.A.R.), but "pause" and "rewind" to great effect (you'll see the advantage of "pause" almost immediately, as enemies are paralyzed/rendered defenseless [allowing you to defeat them without their awareness]), and it's truly a blast to play (aside from this, it's an above-average shooter that plays and runs well). Some key points and notes are below:

-Ignore "driver" message you'll see at startup...just hit "play" and wait for the game to run (may take ten seconds or longer [tell Windows to "wait"])...do not "update" anything, if prompted
-3.25 GB file size (despite eight-hour-plus length)
-light GPU requirements (1080/60 can be had with a modern-day $100 GPU, without issue [note that the game does not natively support AA--see below)
-the game is gorgeous, in spite of file size and GPU requirement (especially if you force 32X CSAA [or higher]--see below)--it looks like it needs 10x more GPU than it does
-no 360 controller support (you'll need XPadder, etc.)
-CSAA can be forced through Nvidia Inspector using a compatibility code [search for "guru3d timeshift compatibility;" choose "Nvidia AA Guide"]; no native AA support (strangely)
-set Windows to 7.1; otherwise, you'll get only 2.0 sound (even if you have a 5.1 setup..."5.1" doesn't work, for some reason)
-somewhat derivative, but fun (most games are derivative of another; what matters is that the game does what it does *well*, and this one succeeds); an hour or so of play pre-"time functionality" is necessary, but worth sticking out

Well worth the sale price (and much more), this game was rated quite unfairly by critics at the time of its release (simply because it's derivative). If you love F.E.A.R. (my favorite FPS), Halo, Half-Life 2, etc., you'll love this game as well. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, June 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TimeShift [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Fun game i really like it. There is a multi player option but the services are no longer available. So dont try and register an account.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 11, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TimeShift [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Good game, wish it was controller compatible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worked excellent!, June 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TimeShift [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Was able to download immediately, no problems or delays. The game plays without a hitch and I'm enjoying it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unique Game, May 10, 2014
This review is from: TimeShift [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Background: I have played and beaten this game in both pc and ps3.
Overall: TimeShift has a great story line with some interesting and original features such as being able to control time. Graphics in pc on highest setting do not impress what-so-ever but the gameplay is still great. It has very linear play style and the AI is far from perfect but the plot is very unique and I had a blast playing though this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game!, May 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TimeShift [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Pretty good FPS. A bit simple, but the time mechanics are very interesting. If you're not expecting some award winning GOTY game, then you should check this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No Controller Support, October 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TimeShift [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
No controller support, I loved this game on the PS3 when it first came out, became a part of the PC gaming master race so I thought I'd pick this up, no controller support=no fun, no nostalgia for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars as expected, October 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TimeShift [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
smooth installation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hidden gem, April 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TimeShift [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
... just not on the PC :(

- no controller support
- if your vga is not nvidia you are screwed - some options can't be maxed out
- even if your vga is nvidia, hard to set up correctly (AntiAliasing can't setup from within the game)
- crashed to desktop after 2 minutes on windows 8.1

edit:
applied "patch v1.2 worldwide", set compatibility mode of the exe to windows 7, run game as administrator and no crashes anymore
if you have an intel i7 cpu (8 cores), disabling HyperThreading in bios might help to improve performance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

TimeShift [Online Game Code]
$19.99 $14.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.