Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars REEKING OF AWESOMENESS!
For any WWe fanatic who loves the wrestler Edge (aka Adam Copeland) then this book is for you. If you're like me and are a WWe fan but think Edge is OK, well...the book is still for you.

Adam Copeland on Edge is a fast, fun, entertaining read (100% written by the man himself). At just under 300 pages the book reads like a short story. I was finished with it...
Published on December 27, 2004 by M. Grant

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A squash of a read.
A squash is a quick pin, to all that are not wrestle fans. The book was a nice, quick read. I went into this read knowing that it would be entertaining, but a little light. Adam Copeland did a great job as a first time author. Either he is very detail oriented or he had a good editor, because it is relatively clean, aside from the tendency to end sentences with a...
Published on January 3, 2005 by Mary B.


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars REEKING OF AWESOMENESS!, December 27, 2004
For any WWe fanatic who loves the wrestler Edge (aka Adam Copeland) then this book is for you. If you're like me and are a WWe fan but think Edge is OK, well...the book is still for you.

Adam Copeland on Edge is a fast, fun, entertaining read (100% written by the man himself). At just under 300 pages the book reads like a short story. I was finished with it in less than a day and frankly, the smile never left my face. Edge comes off like a fun guy to be around. He was influenced by comics, wrestling (duh!), hockey, video games, pranks, and just having a fun time.

It's hilarious to read about his early friendship with Christian, misadventures wrestling in the far off regions of Canada, and early matches in the WWe. The read is so smooth it feels like you're just listening to Edge talk directly to you.

My one small gripe would be that he could have gone into more detail on some of the events and matches in his life. A little more insight into his fellow WWe wrestlers and his own thoughts as he developed his character and various matches. This is the one area that signals the "First Time Author", but all in all I highly recommend this book to all wrestling fans who might want a few hours away from a TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You want to know him???, November 2, 2004
I think this was a great book by my personal favorite WWE superstar, Edge. I stayed up until the weesma's reading this funny and entertaining autobiography of Edge's early years in the sports entertainment biz. He has such a great sense of humor about himself (pretty rare for a professional wrestler) and about his chosen profession. Yes, this book was written (relatively) early in his career but why not? Why wait until another injury (God forbid) puts him out again? I say - if the WWE feels that enough people will buy a wrestler's book, who are we to argue? I am not trying to convince you that this book ranks up there with Foley's books (the best) but Edge's book definetely deserves a look by any true wrestling fan. If you liked Chyna or the Rock's books (I did) then you will not be disappointed in this new book either. I wasn't!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A squash of a read., January 3, 2005
A squash is a quick pin, to all that are not wrestle fans. The book was a nice, quick read. I went into this read knowing that it would be entertaining, but a little light. Adam Copeland did a great job as a first time author. Either he is very detail oriented or he had a good editor, because it is relatively clean, aside from the tendency to end sentences with a preposition. There are acclaimed fiction authors out there that produce work that need his editing services. Edgster, you might want to stick your foot in the literary networking door, if you handled most of the editing yourself. You could possibly finagle a post wrestling gig cleaning up and pacing other's work. I've seen reviews that crit his use of inserting asides in parenthesis, but I had no trouble following the narrative.

Now to content. First half of the book flew by, as AC is a great storyteller. Although his respect/love for his family and mother was evident, one never really got a true handle on his mothers personality. As a single mom, I relate to her struggles. Nor did AC expand on his relationship with Jason Reso. I understand the need to protect personal lives, and perhaps he was also allowing room for Jason Reso to tell his own story in the future. However, it never quite came across with the goods that he and JR were a tight unit.

The second half of the book was entertaining also, but dragged a bit. AC related his take on the infamous TLC matches. However, it was not too much that any fan did not already know. The text came across as after making it the WWE, AC's life was on fast forward, and it probably was the the case. However, it would have been nice if he slowed it down a bit and he related a little more insight to his interpersonal relations with his co-workers and his love of the business. This would have been a great point to focus on the Jason Reso relationship.

Also, his personal life was glossed over. If one is offering a biography, one needs to hit the hard stuff too. I comprehend that this was written during the time his personal life was hitting rough waters, and being the optimist that he is, AC chose the high road. However, in interviews and other media, AC had come across as being 'crazy' for his former wife. He always spoke enthusiastically and with great affection. In the book, he intimated that the relationship had never been smooth sailing. To fans, especially those that followed his column, it was not only shock to hear the marriage had ended, but that he had subsequently remarried. The book would have more texture if AC delved into his persnal life, how the effect his business has on relationships in the whole, or the fact that he had a career threatening injury to recover from put further sress on his personal life. Such a stressful time in one's life can leave anyone in a vulnerable state. AC was able to convey the sense of unsurety and that he seemed a little lost as he recovered from his surgery. AC did not elaborate on his new relationship. One was left with the distinct feeling that the new relationship began as the former was ending, although AC glossed over the whole time line. This failing to delve into the painful side of his life destroyed the credibility of the book as a biography.

As AC is only around the 30 year old mark, he should have perhaps waiting another five years to pen a biography. He would have been better served to present a book full of ancedotes, as I have said, he is a great storyteller. One was also left with a feeling that AC was doing a political dance, avoiding touching on any actual opinions of the business or other wrestlers. I hope that AC revisits his life and times as a wrestler when he retires, and provides a deeper insight.

All in all, a decent read for any wrestling fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite Pleased, December 9, 2004
By 
Chad Spivak (North Miami Beach, Florida) - See all my reviews
I must say that I was fairly impressed by Adam Copeland's account of his rise to the top of the WWE. In his own words, Edge chronicals the trials and tribulations that made him the wrestler and man that he is today.

Peppering his book with just the right amount of humor, it is a fairly quick read as the language just seems to flow in a nice manner. His personal stories and anecdotes give the book a nice friendly aura to it, and it is hard not to get a feel for what he was going through along the way simply because he wrote every word of it by himself without a ghost writer. This autobiography will definately keep you on Edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read ..., January 24, 2005
Wrestling biographies are really hit or miss. In my mind there are many more hits than there are misses, but the misses still exist.

On Edge is a very solid book. It doesn't rank up there with some of my favorite wrestling biographies, but I don't regret spending my time reading it either. This is not the kind of wrestling biography that is going to appeal to fans outside of the wrestling world, but that's not who it is trying to reach. It's meant for wrestling fans, and in my mind it reaches that audience perfectly.

It's a different perspective. Alot of wrestling biographies show people moving up from "the old school mentality", Edge came from a different generation and thus his story is alot different.

When reading On Edge you get a true feeling that Edge appreciates the blessings he has recieved, and you also feel that he truly loves what he does for a living.

All in all, this is an entertaining read that I would recommend picking up if you're a wrestling fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining., July 18, 2006
This book was a very good read. Edge manages to tell the story of his entire life with very good pacing and keeps it fun to read. Unlike most wrestling related books he never goes into long boring stories about his training methods or anything like that. If youre a fan of Edge or of wrestling in general Id recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, December 26, 2004
This is a great book for any Edge fan. It tells of his struggles growing up and how he rose to be one of the best superstars in the WWE.It was a very easy read,I finished it in less than a day.I highly recomend it to any wrestling fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your typical wrestling autobiography, March 9, 2007
Awesome book, edge doesn't try to pass himself off as the greatest wrestler ever, just tells some rather humorous stories of how he got where he is today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the better Wrestler Bios out there, August 6, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adam Copeland On Edge (Paperback)
With Adam "Edge" Copeland really being one of the last major stars to come into the WWE via the indy system that has actually succeeded in the WWE, this book is a great read. Unlike Mick Foley's Have A Nice Day, You can tell Edge had to struggle to get what he wanted out of life and dealt with set-back after set-back. Outside of one minor fact error (referring to a six man tag between Team ECK vs Too Cool at the wrong PPV event), Edge goes into detail about all the major events that helped shaped his career up till mid 2004
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adam Copeland on "Edge", December 18, 2004
By 
Fez (APO, AE United States) - See all my reviews
This book is a very good read for anyone who has, or still does, enjoy wrestling and following great superstars over the years. Adam Copeland tells his story beginning as a boy all the way to his present status in WWE. Many of Adam's real life experiences are very humorous and easy to relate to, and he carried his undying work ethic to the Ring in hopes of one day capturing the World Heavyweight title. All told in great detail, Adam Copeland on Edge is an enjoyable read for any wrestling fan or would be wrestler who would like to see how a small town kid became a big hit in the WWE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Adam Copeland On Edge
Adam Copeland On Edge by Adam Copeland (Paperback - October 11, 2005)
$16.00 $11.02
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.