Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening
"Adams' Chart of History" is a full-color timeline chart based on James Ussher's chronology. It's 28 inches tall and folds out nearly 23 feet. In the bound form, you can view the chart without unfolding it by turning the "pages" (the panels). The chart is printed on a heavy paper, so it holds up well to repeated use. You can also remove the chart from the binding or buy...
Published on August 31, 2010 by Debbie

versus
47 of 68 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money
I am currently getting my masters in history and I had a person present this to me yesterday and he acted surprised that I had never seen it since I was a history major. From a biblical standpoint it is a great timeline. The only problem is there is a reason historians don't use these types of reference tools and that is because they are not factual. The most glaring...
Published on March 9, 2012 by Hunter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening, August 31, 2010
By 
Debbie (Harrison, AR United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Adam's Chart of History: A Chronology of Ancient, Modern, and Biblical History-Timeline-Panels only (Paperback)
"Adams' Chart of History" is a full-color timeline chart based on James Ussher's chronology. It's 28 inches tall and folds out nearly 23 feet. In the bound form, you can view the chart without unfolding it by turning the "pages" (the panels). The chart is printed on a heavy paper, so it holds up well to repeated use. You can also remove the chart from the binding or buy an unbound chart to put on a wall, like in a Sunday School room. The large panels are great for easy viewing on a wall, but they're a tad unwieldy when trying to view the chart when holding it. It helps to have a cleared table or bed to place it on.

The timeline shows world history from a Biblical perspective, starting with Adam and Eve. It shows the rulers and major events for all the major world civilizations up to 1878 AD. There are illustrations of the various events (like the Tower of Babel) and commentary in the free spaces. In the free space below the beginning of the timeline, there's a world map of the eastern hemisphere and information about Stone Age artifacts, eminent historians throughout history, the Rosetta stone, and similar topics.

There's a 64-page booklet packaged with the chart. It gave a key to the chart, though I'd already figured it out from a few minutes study of the chart. It also gave information about the author and summaries of the people and events on the timeline for each major world civilization.

There's a very similar timeline published by Barnes and Nobles in 1995 titled "The Wall Chart of World History" by Edward Hull (ISBN 0-88029-239-3). It's smaller in size (15 panels that are each 12 inches wide x 17 5/8 inches high), so the text is smaller but it's also easy to hold and carry around. That chart ends in 1990 AD instead of 1878 AD, and it has a few differences in how the free space is used (like the free space below the beginning of the timeline is filled with maps).

I'd recommend this chart to any Christian who enjoys seeing how the events in world history relate to each other and to teachers (church or homeschooling) for use in their classrooms.

Reviewed by Debbie from ChristFocus Book Club
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review, June 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adam's Chart of History: A Chronology of Ancient, Modern, and Biblical History-Timeline-Panels only (Paperback)
This is a really good source if you want to put things into perspective in a time-line format. I'm a visual person, so I like to be able to "see" history in this format. I highly recommend this for anyone interested in Bible history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING Historical Guildeline, March 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adam's Chart of History: A Chronology of Ancient, Modern, and Biblical History-Timeline-Panels only (Paperback)
We own the wall panel version as well as the hardcover version. If your into learning about history AND the Bible this is an absolute NO BRAINER. One of a kind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very, Very Awesome!, October 11, 2011
By 
Camille M. (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adam's Chart of History: A Chronology of Ancient, Modern, and Biblical History-Timeline-Panels only (Paperback)
This is an amazingly long timeline - both in content and in physical length. It was bigger than I had envisioned and takes up the full distance of a very long hallway along the back of the house. I absolutely love that. It couldn't fit in the designated "homeschool area" which means it became a part of the family space and a family curiosity almost immediately. I can't tell you how many times you catch people looking at it. The best part is, it is beautiful enough to be art. I don't mind at all having this on the wall on the way to the bedrooms. It has lovely illustrations, beautiful writing, a soft and warm color scheme. I couldn't be happier with this purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adam's Chart of History: A Chronology of Ancient, Modern, and Biblical..., April 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adam's Chart of History: A Chronology of Ancient, Modern, and Biblical History-Timeline-Panels only (Paperback)
I had never before seen a chart like this one...I am amazed by all this history. I like that they show the history of Christianity along side other world history...This is truly amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, Comprehensive, Scholarly Product, February 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adam's Chart of History: A Chronology of Ancient, Modern, and Biblical History-Timeline-Panels only (Paperback)
Value received is greater than the price suggests. Can fill a wall or be conveniently used by turning accordian folds. A lot of scholarship clearly presented. A pleasant surprise is the re-usable, clear plastic storage case it comes in. The accompanying book is very useful as a supplement to and explanation of the chart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 68 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, March 9, 2012
This review is from: Adam's Chart of History: A Chronology of Ancient, Modern, and Biblical History-Timeline-Panels only (Paperback)
I am currently getting my masters in history and I had a person present this to me yesterday and he acted surprised that I had never seen it since I was a history major. From a biblical standpoint it is a great timeline. The only problem is there is a reason historians don't use these types of reference tools and that is because they are not factual. The most glaring mistakes take place in the period between the creation of Adam and Eve and the birth of Jesus. The dates are all wrong and almost 1,000 years of Egyptian history is simply omitted. Sneferu, who built the bent pyramid around 2600 BC roughly, is not shown on here and in fact we have Noah instead during this period when the Earth was supposedly covered in water.

It is a fun timeline to look at but this should not be used to educate people as fact based evidence for human history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best. Chart. Ever., February 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adam's Chart of History: A Chronology of Ancient, Modern, and Biblical History-Timeline-Panels only (Paperback)
This chart is beautiful and folds up to easily so you can either store it or to use it like a very tall book if you do not have the space to hang it on the wall. We use it as an addition to our Sonlight.com homeschool curriculum to have an incredible visual of world history from the beginning until 1900. It is made out of thick, high quality card-stock and is extraordinarily illustrated. We love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource...love it., November 4, 2013
By 
sdaniela "musicmansteve" (San Antonio, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adam's Chart of History: A Chronology of Ancient, Modern, and Biblical History-Timeline-Panels only (Paperback)
Such a beautifully made product! It's hanging in our church education building, and it never fails to attract attention.

Be prepared...it required a LONG wall or must wrap around a corner. It's sturdy though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, October 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adam's Chart of History: A Chronology of Ancient, Modern, and Biblical History-Timeline-Panels only (Paperback)
My children will be learning history from this thing for years. For accuracy, comprehensive breadth, and parallel perspective of regions this chart is priceless. Be sure to measure first, however. We ended up moving our homeschool history class to the basement, because it was the only place that we had a 25 foot wall to accommodate this behemoth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Adam's Chart of History: A Chronology of Ancient, Modern, and Biblical History-Timeline-Panels only
Used & New from: $107.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.