Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First half of book: Buttons to push, Second half has some javaScript taught
Great book.

It's high-end website design animation oriented but has some nice fun graphics animation lessons, too. There are so many full-on web page design that one can re-purpose many of them without much effort. The Kindle Reader version does not include the all-important lessons disk. But I bought the Kindle version, too, so that I could have the...
Published 5 months ago by elby1

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A training book for non-coding designers on creating web-standards compliant animations
Adobe Edge Animate is a part of the Adobe Edge Suite of HTML5 development tools that was released in September of 2012. The API is built on the Webkit rendering engine and works natively with standards-compliant HTML5, CSS3 and JavaScript for the creation of animated content that will run seamlessly on desktops, tablets and mobile devices (including iOS), without the need...
Published 16 months ago by C. Calo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First half of book: Buttons to push, Second half has some javaScript taught, March 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adobe Edge Animate Classroom in a Book (Paperback)
Great book.

It's high-end website design animation oriented but has some nice fun graphics animation lessons, too. There are so many full-on web page design that one can re-purpose many of them without much effort. The Kindle Reader version does not include the all-important lessons disk. But I bought the Kindle version, too, so that I could have the detailed web animation instructions handy without having the book flopping around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great book, June 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adobe Edge Animate Classroom in a Book (Paperback)
This product is replacing Flash and need to be up to date on new Adobe products....Very helpful on this subject
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A training book for non-coding designers on creating web-standards compliant animations, April 25, 2013
This review is from: Adobe Edge Animate Classroom in a Book (Paperback)
Adobe Edge Animate is a part of the Adobe Edge Suite of HTML5 development tools that was released in September of 2012. The API is built on the Webkit rendering engine and works natively with standards-compliant HTML5, CSS3 and JavaScript for the creation of animated content that will run seamlessly on desktops, tablets and mobile devices (including iOS), without the need for external browser plugins like Flash Player to play the content. It is aimed at non-programming and hybrid front-end designers who want to create interactive and/or animated web content for mobile and tablet devices that now no longer support the Flash Player. The interface is similar to Flash in that it offers a stage and a similar host of panels -- tools, properties, timeline, elements, and library, and thus will feel very familiar to flash users.

"Adobe Edge Classroom in a Book, The official training workbook from Adobe Systems," takes a step-by-step approach to training, with chapters in creating graphics and importing art, designing animation, refining animation and adding complexity, adding basic interactivity, embedding media and advanced interactivity, and publishing and responsive design. There are seven chapters, each with a guided, step-by-step lesson to give the student hands-on-experience in creating animated content with the material covered in the chapter. The pieces created include -- an advertisement, an animated banner ad, an animated intro for a website for a tv series, an interactive photo gallery, an interactive music festival guide, and a responsive website. The instructions are all clear and concise, and, although HTML5, CSS3, JavaScript and jQuery are briefly defined, I would prefer a bit more detail, as well as explanations aimed at people who are comfortable with hand-coding. There also could be more information about browser differences in regards to which HTML5 and CSS3 elements are supported along with the work-arounds for non-browser supported elements. The book is a good intro and good for creating a few interactive pieces, but you have to look elsewhere for more detailed explanations of the material covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The One-star Rating is based on old information, January 8, 2013
By 
John R. Hall (Tucson, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I encountered the same reaction when I first bought the book (i.e., where are the exercise files). Turns out there's a direct link to the files listed in the back of the book. The authors have now modified the book and the first thing you see when you open it is the following:

Where are the Lesson Files? Thank you for purchasing this digital version of: Adobe Edge Animate Classroom in a Book The print version of this title comes with a disc of lesson files. As an eBook reader, you have access to these files by following the steps below:

1. On your PC or Mac, open a web browser and go to this URL:[...]
2. Download the ZIP file (or files) from the web site to your hard drive.
3. Unzip the files and follow the directions for use in the Read Me included in the download. Please note that many of our lesson materials can be very large, especially image and video files.

As for the book's content? It's very good. The reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I was looking for something a little more advanced as far as creating data-driven applications relying on JQuery and other frameworks. Otherwise, it's a very good intro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The book is useless without the class CD, June 15, 2013
By 
Kovalev 27 (Stamford, CT United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book relies heavily on the class CD with code. I have still not been successful trying to download the CD.
Don't waste your money on the digital copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good start for a beginner, July 22, 2014
By 
T. J. Karels (Northridge, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
You really don't need to know much at all about design and programming to follow through on this book. After finishing it I certainly would like to know more advanced features. Note that this version of the book will work with CC2014 but there are some differences particularly with the selection of code snippets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice book for beginners, December 3, 2012
By 
R. Jones (Lexington, Kentucky United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adobe Edge Animate Classroom in a Book (Paperback)
I am updating this review after panning this book about 8 months ago because I couldn't find the practice files. I have worked my way through about half of the book and feel very badly about my previous negative review. I am a complete newbie to animation and so far I have found this book to be well-organized and logical in its presentation of the material. Working through the lessons has been enjoyable and the concepts are very clear. Great beginners book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Adobe Edge Animate Classroom in a Book
Adobe Edge Animate Classroom in a Book by Adobe Creative Team (Paperback - November 18, 2012)
$49.99 $34.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.