Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Shop Women's Clothing Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon November 24, 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Elements 10 For Photographers is a definite step-by-the-smallest-step guide in how to use PS Elements 10. And I mean that literally. Even if you've never used PS before, with this book, you'd be able to do basic editing in minutes!

First of all, the book is set up in three sections: Introducing PS Elements, The Photographers Toolkit, and Elements in Action. In each section you can find easy to follow chapters, color coded, that correspond to the section, which is great when you want to find one chapter in particular. The chapters are set up so the reader can get the most out of their software without having to weed through countless pages, although they do have a helpful content and index guide to refer to. To name a few chapters: Text, Editor Guided, Editor Quick, Raw Shooting, Painting and Drawing, Selections, Fix, and Create. (Please note I did not put those in the order they're in.) It even has a chapter on printing and sharing! Also, this helpful book even has a full page outline of what is new and improved in PS 10 versus the older software so you are not left floundering at what's changed if you have PS Elements 9.

Each chapter has full color pages, and screenshots showing you exactly where they are in PS 10, so you don't have to play hide and seek. Another thing I loved was the icons! In quite a few chapters the author put in a list of icons along with their explanations or uses to the side of the image. It literally details every adjustment option such as red eye, sharpen, auto corrections levels, and so on. This is something I will definitely bookmark, and it's great that he had the mind frame to put the major editing icons all in one place! Kudos!! Another feature I liked is the side notes. Throughout all the chapters important side notes can be found for fast references when you're in a hurry or for further explanation. These side notes can be shaded in a grey area, be in bold font, or can be found just hanging out on the side next to their corresponding paragraphs.

This book basically takes you from the first step, taking the picture, to the last step, which is either in printing or uploading to a website. This book is perfect for those who have never used a photo editing software before, or for those people who need a little brushing up, or as just a reference guide. It takes you through everything Adobe PS Elements 10 has to offer. So if you're looking for a good "how to" guide, then this is it!
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 15, 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book is different from other books covering the same Adobe Photoshop Elements 10 (PE10) software in that it is targeted toward photographers who use their digital cameras to capture images AND also use this software to modify and enhance them, or even create something new using fantastic digital tools and techniques.

Because the picture taker is also the picture manipulator on the computer, this book provides many suggestions and tips throughout the chapters on how to take pictures, so that the results can be more easily or even possibly modified later using PE10. This is very important and helpful, because there is often much less image manipulation required if the picture can be planned as much as possible in terms of the desired aperture, shutter speed, focus, lighting, color, and composition.

For example, you want to take pictures of the popular Wallstreet Bull in NYC during the busy daytime hours, but you don't want people in the picture. This is nearly impossible as there are constantly people posing in front of the Bull. PE10 has a new function called Photmerge Scene Cleaner (PSC) which will allow you to remove unwanted subjects from a picture. The book emphasizes however that PSC is only possible if you can take multiple pictures from the EXACT same location AND that the unwanted subjects cannot be stationary in all of the pictures. With this knowledge, you will then be able to take the necessary shots and produce a Bull picture without people in it. It is pointers like this that make this book useful for photographers.

The book is printed in full color and lavishly illustrated with many "Before" and "After" pictures, as well as menu functions and screenshots. Although PE10 is a lot simpler than the full blown Photoshop program, it is nonetheless a richly featured image manipulation software that will require considerable time to understand and master. This book does an excellent job of demonstrating the power of the software and provides knowledge that photographers need to produce the desired effect both in camera and on the computer.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book is $30. It is well worth it. It explains how to do things and it has plenty of pictures and illustrations.

I am new to using Elements, so nearly everything in this book was helpful to me. I had no problem following the instructions in how to accomplish tasks.

The only problem I had, really, since I am new at it, was sometimes figuring out what a process was called so I could locate the instructions for it in the book (by using the index or table of contents). Sometimes I found it easier to just flip through the book until I found what I was looking for. But that isn't really a fault of the book.

To tell the truth, this is the only book I have that deals with Elements 10, so I have nothing to compare it to, but I am perfectly satisfied with it.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon December 11, 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Elements 10 is an impressive book in size, content, and ambition. It's compatible with Elements 7, 8, and 9, and of course Elements 10. I have both Elements 7 and 10 and find this book as useful for Elements 7 as it is for Elements 10. This is a colossus of a book that covers everything that Elements has to offer with extensive detail and illustration for some topics, but only a glancing treatment for others. It covers the functional and the creative, the basic and the advanced.

I like its comprehensive treatment of Elements, its explanations, and its illustrative photographs. Just about every page displays a graphic or photograph of some size to exemplify the text.

To find a given topic one must search using the table of contents, the index, or intuition since the index is not all inclusive and omits some topics of interest. I could find no listing for transparency in the index as such but did find transparency included under the "layers" entry and found what I wanted there. The treatment isn't as detailed as I hoped for, but is is there. Sometimes finding a targeted topic is time consuming, but persistence will mostly reward the reader.

The author's explanation of layers is good, and clarified some questions for me. Again it is not totally inclusive, and I wish there had been a graphic of the layers drop down menu and some attention to individual topics in the drop down list. One of my favorite features of the book is the incredible display of individual filters offered in Element. Each filter effect is illustrated and explained. Were every Element feature given this treatment, the book's size would explode.

For a casual user of Elements, this book of hefty price and size may be overkill. For the serious and frequent user of Elements, this book could quickly become indispensible.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 15, 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have an older version of Photoshop and just recently upgraded to PS10.. I was anxious to get some instructions on the new features in 10.. So this book came just in time.

First it is a large book with full colored photos's and clear easy to read typeface. The book is well organized and makes it easy to find the section you want vs just skipping around searching pages and pages..

I give a big THUMBS UP to any photo instruction book that uses full featured COLOR PHOTOS so that you can see exactly what is happening when you are changeing settings and cleaning up a photo. Too many photo instruction books have too few photos in it.. That is NOT the case with this one.

I sat down with it as soon as it arrived and was mesmerized with the detail and photos explanations,. I couldn't wait to fire up my computer to start to try some of the directions.
I was easily able to FIX a photo that I had that had a strangers head poking out in the background ..After just a few clicks I was able to clean it up and now it is so much better. I share the photo with the gal that took the shot and was disappointed she couldn't get the HEAD out of the way and sent it to me to see if I could... worked simply... just following the directions in the book.

I am looking forward to many more learning sessions like this..

You don't need to read this cover to cover..either .. Pick out some topics and perfect those .. and then move on. That is the best way to lean the function of Photoshop. other wise you can get overwhelmed with all it goodies.

I do recommend this book for all users but particularly for those of us that have some learning to do to get the most out of our photoshop program.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 17, 2011
Looked over the few books on PSE10 that are currently available, and PSE9 books for those authors whose v10 books are 'coming soon'. Quickly settled on this one by Phillip Andrews. First of all, Focal Press publishes a number of PSE and Photohshop books with the highest production standards. Full color throughout, good binding, comprehensive. I'm a long time Photoshop user but anticipate teaching a course using PSE. This one covers all the features in both quick over view and full explanation. For me the hardest part of PSE is finding where Adobe moved the features in the menu system. I was surprised by the number of features in PSE that are made incredibly easy compared to getting the same results in Photoshop CS5. The authors web site is also very helpful with tutorials and support for book-related downloads, although the v10 book files are not available yet; the v9 tutorials are still relevant.

There are some issues; the index is weak. Finding items is often better using the Table of Contents. Some PSE9 features are described which are no longer in v10, eg Maps. PSE9 users will find this book very helpful if the v9 book not available. Overall, the coverage of Photoshop Elements 10 is vey well done.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 14, 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
For Adobe Photoshop Elements 10 for PHOTOGRAPHERS -- compatible with Elements 7,8,9 too. Great for PC & MACS. This is a book of form AND function!

Very nicely laid out. Clear, easy-to-follow instruction with pictures.

This book is like having a CLASS in how to learn, practice, use, and master (if you want). Covers the wide range of whatever you want to create with your photographs... CD covers, books, calendars, cards, etc. Storage and organization. Companion web-sites. Over 500 pages with a lot of heft but surprisingly easy to set on the desk opened to work with your computer.

This would make an amazing gift for someone who loves photography and learning. I am SO impressed and very pleased to have this book. Well done, Philip Andrews!!

Check the website for more detailed contents. But, honestly, I think Andrews has covered it all here - he's an experience photographer, author, editor and online course creator. He is a beta tester for Photoshop, an alpha tester for Photoshop Elements and a Photoshop specialist demonstrator for Adobe Australia. Philip is also co-founder of photo-college.com an online photography training college. He's a regular contributor to several magazines so he knows how to write and how to teach.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2012
As a brand new, real true, beginner to Photoshop, I especially appreciate a reference book that makes it easy to find the answer to a question that may pop up as I read the book or play with the program. Learning a new program does not always go along the specified path of the chapters in a book. That is why an extensive index is important to me. This book has a relatively unusable index because it is grouped into categories instead of directly referencing keywords in the book.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 15, 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a huge, extensive manual consisting of almost 500 pages. It covers a full range of topics of interest to the photographer. It is filled with color photos, illustrations and helpful side bar tips on every page. Instructions are detailed and step by step with example before and after photos and screenshots of menus and toolbars making it easy to follow along. There is a lot of good information here.

I recently upgraded to Elements 10 from an ancient version of Photoshop so I read through the book from start to finish to get a feel for the topics covered, but it's not necessary to read the book this way learn to use Elements. The first part is a basic introduction to digital photography and Elements, aimed at the new user, but beyond that one can pick and choose topics they are interested in learning about. Reading it linearly may not be this best idea as I found the organization to be a little confusing when approached in this manner. However, once you arrive at the desired topic, the instructions and explanation are superb. I'm finding the best way to learn any of these techniques is to sit down at the computer with the manual and just try it, it makes more sense when you see it in action.

The book covers a vast range of topics from organizing and editing photos to advanced techniques such as layering and merging, and processing photos shot in RAW, plus simpler, introductory topics that a new photographer would need to learn. Overall, an excellent overview of the features of Elements and a valuable reference manual for a photographer to have on their bookshelf.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 22, 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
When I received this book, I knew nothing about Photoshop Elements. This book took you step by step through a lot that photoshop has to offer. The pages are in full color! I feel that I have learned more through this book then by taking a basic course.

If you are looking for a great reference/tool/ or instruction manual, this book is for you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse