Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have: Get it!
In a few days it will be the 15th anniversary of the publication date for "Adobe Photoshop 5.0 for Photographers." Though only 320 pages, then, it was still a significant work we have never forgotten. Now at nearly three times the length of the original, Martin Evening has created another must-have edition for every digital photographer who understands the need for a...
Published 16 months ago by Brian M. Stoppee

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book Stabbed in the Back by an Almost Useless Index
Martin Evening is by far the best Photoshop writer around now that Bruce Fraser has left us, and this book, again, makes that clear. But, as was the case with previous versions, the book is stabbed in the back as a reference by an almost useless index. Evidently it's just too much work for Focal Press to build a decent index. They need to pick up O'Reilly's "C# 5.0 in...
Published 12 months ago by Russ Lewis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have: Get it!, July 30, 2013
By 
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CC for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
In a few days it will be the 15th anniversary of the publication date for "Adobe Photoshop 5.0 for Photographers." Though only 320 pages, then, it was still a significant work we have never forgotten. Now at nearly three times the length of the original, Martin Evening has created another must-have edition for every digital photographer who understands the need for a volume which uniquely serves as both an inspiration and a reference for Adobe's iconic trio, Bridge, Camera Raw, and Photoshop.

It's reasonable to wonder how the reader can efficiently navigate a 792 page book. Part of the answer is the skilled design concepts which appear on every page of this book. Overall, every 2 page spread is packed with great information and extremely helpful with significantly large visuals. As a studio which has written, photographed, designed, and illustrated plenty of publications, we're tough to impress. Nevertheless, this is one impressive effort even to the most critical eyes.

What's not 100% clear is the ability to obtain the book's additional assets at [...] There are sections in this website on tools, panels, layer styles, an archive of images, movies, and PDFs. The PDFs alone add more than 200 pages to this book.

CH 1 - PHOTOSHOP FUNDAMENTALS - Don't allow the title of the book to scare you off, if you are not a long-standing expert in Photoshop, the audience for Martin's 1998 first edition. Photoshop Fundamentals assumes you don't have much background is this app. This is not to say that we're recommending this as a getting started guide. But, if you're under the impression that you know Photoshop backwards and forwards, the first chapter just may cause you to check your ego at the cover. It also proves that the book has earned it pedigree as a reference. Therefore, it's one of the most visually pleasing reference books ever published. There's not a boring spread in the whole chapter. Even Photoshop (Ps) professionals, as deep into it as ourselves (we go back to the first few days of the 2.0 release in June of 1991), will identify some great nuggets in this section.

CH 2 - CONFIGURING PHOTOSHOP - It's easy for those same Ps pros to roll into the second chapter with the same enthusiasm they had in the first one and quickly page onward thinking, "There's not much here of value to me." It's true that this chapter helps newbies get themselves pointed in the right direction. Pros: think of it as a reference, but please check every spread to be sure you're not missing anything.

CH 3 - CAMERA RAW IMAGE PROCESSING - Entire books have been written on Adobe Camera Raw (ACR). Photoshop CC comes with ACR 8.x. It has many new features with the promise of more being on the way. As we write this, a search of amazon.com shows no publication dates for any books dedicated to ACR 8. Though this chapter also makes no assumptions about how much you know about processing raw images, do not expect to be babied. If you're a Camera Raw newbie, expect to feel challenged. Don't breeze through these pages. Plan to carefully study them (and study them and study them). As visually clean as the third chapter may be, it's 161 pages feel like they have at least 250-some pages of content squeezed into them. We know some top-drawer Photoshop professionals. We don't know many who can say, "I've already mastered everything in there." It's not just a technical review. Mr. Evening gets into some inspiring techniques which every Photoshop master and consultant for Adobe apps must explore.

CH 4 - SHARPENING AND NOISE REDUCTION - By the time you get to page 295 and the ones which immediately follow the "for Photographers" portion of the title becomes clear. This book devotes plenty of pages to a deep dive into sharpening techniques which the author proves he has devoted many years of his career to honing has knowledge of. The interesting part is that over the past 15 years the technology and tools have moved forward at what seems, some days, like lightspeed (pun intended). If a photographer, who has never seen one of these editions before tells us, "I know everything in this chapter." we have our doubts.

CH 5 - IMAGE EDITING ESSENTIALS - Don't let "essentials" fool you. The fifth chapter is not only informative and filled with beautiful photos, illustrations, screen captures, and graphics, it's just plain fun. It's tough to resist. The visuals make you say to yourself, "How'd he do that." and then it has you. You're sucked into the spread and you don't want to put the book down. Again, this is a challenging chapter. It's not a quick read. "Comprehensive" may be the best single word description of this one.

CH 6 - BLACK & WHITE - This is a bold editorial choice to include in this book. We find what Photoshop offers for black and white to be very exciting. Our experience is that not some of the most rabid fans of Photoshop care much about black and white. The fabulous thing about such realities is that the newbie stuff is not here. The sixth chapter is directed to Photoshopers who want to delve into something more intense. The name "black and white" is deceptive. This chapter gets into many not-so-colorful uses of Ps.

CH 7 - EXTENDING THE DYNAMIC RANGE - Everyone's talking HDR (high dynamic range), so we would have been disappointed if Martin didn't take the high road, cover the basics, and take the reader on a journey into loftier areas of this expertise space. The seventh chapter is the lighter fluid in the readers' imaginations for what they owe themselves to survey in the crevasses of their creative minds.

CH 8 - IMAGE RETOUCHING - Getting back to the photographer's guide to Photoshop must-knows, it's easy for those who have been in Ps for years to think, "Oh no." Well, skip the attitude. This chapter leaves the quick-start stuff on the first spread. As throughout the book, the sample photos are not the usual how-to boredom. They're enticing to the point of causing even the most productive shooter to wonder, "When does Martin have time for all this?" This author isn't another analytical technical writer. This guy's a great shooter.

CH 9 - LAYERS, SELECTIONS AND MASKING - Though we travel in some of the same circles and frequent some of the same private forums as the author, we've never met or personally conversed. So, we have no idea if doing a chapter on a topic entire, very successful, books have been created about, intimidates Mr. Evening or energizes him. But, in just 93 pages, Martin proves that he's still one of the great Adobe masters, whether that's his intension or not. Layers were introduced to Illustrator 20 years ago, this summer. A year later it came to Photoshop. It's been taught thousands of different ways. We're somewhat dazzled at the fresh direction this chapter takes. It's both extremely thorough and stimulating in every spread. From time to time some spreads made us think, "What's this doing here?" but much like reading a great novel, it all comes together a few spreads later. We confess to using such conventions in fully covering topics, if that's what this book is doing in some of this chapter's pages, it's very smooth because everything is a tight fit.

CH 10 - BLUR, OPTICAL AND LIGHTING EFFECTS FILTERS - We have heard a few pompous Photoshop users claim that filters and effects are trite and have no place in an imaging professional's workplace. Pompous is defined as, "affectedly and irritatingly grand, solemn, or self-important." Chapter ten is proof of that definition for anyone who feels they are above these extremely high-end techniques. The chapter keeps the focus on how all of this is applicable to the needs of photographers. Stare at the photographic sample results. Ask yourself, "If I didn't see the evidence before my eyes, would I know these were done in Photoshop?" They're extremely well done and not a revisit to now stale visual trends. They're accomplished and fresh.

CH 11 - IMAGE MANAGEMENT - We love Adobe Bridge (Br). It's an often overlooked and powerful tool in the Creative Cloud family of applications. We use it daily on its own or in conjunction with other Adobe apps, so finding 54 pages on Bridge brings us great joy. The chapter could easily be the most extensive examination of Br in a single continuos location. It has to be studied to be fully understood.

CH 12 - PRINT OUTPUT - Making photographer's exhibit prints is worth an entire book which, to the best of our knowledge, has not been attempted, in recent years. The ultimate book on what photographers must know to master Photoshop would not be complete without a chapter that approaches the printing topic. Printing is one of the topics you'll find more about on the previously mentioned website.

CH 13 - AUTOMATING PHOTOSHOP - Some misinformed photographers claim that Photoshop consumes far too much time. This entire book and its extensive online assets are all about empowering you to work knowledgeably, creatively, and efficiently. Don't get into repetitious processes. This final chapter shows how to use the full power of the Actions panel.

CONCLUSION - The marketplace for this book has evolved over the past 15 years. So has the technological and creative expectations of a photographer's standard skill set. As we've explained, above, we know of few professional photographers who possess all the skills covered in this book. As we wrote in the first paragraph, this is a "must-have" for all photographers who want to be their best. There's no other book like it. This is a proud five star. It's simple: get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MASTERING PHOTOSHOP CC!!, July 25, 2013
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CC for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
Are you an intermediate to advanced Adobe Photoshop user? If you are, then this book is for you! Author Martin Evening, has done an outstanding job of writing a book that is completely focused on the essential information you need to know when working with Photoshop, Camera Raw and Bridge, plus all that's new in Photoshop CC for photographers.

Evening, begins by looking at some of the essentials of working with Photoshop, such as how to install the program, the Photoshop interface, what all of the different tools and panels do; as well as, introducing the Camera Raw and Bridge programs. Next, the author discusses why you must ensure that you have as much RAM memory as possible installed in your machine and fast disk access. Then, the author discusses Camera Raw image processing. He continues by discussing how to pre-sharpen your photographs in Photoshop and reduce image noise. Next, the author explains how to work with photos that have never been near Camera Raw, such as images that have originated as TIFFs or JPEGs. Then, he explores how Photoshop and improvements in inkjet printing have now made black and white photography an even more exciting avenue to explore. The author continues by explaining how dynamic range is the ability of a sensor to capture the greatest range of tones from the minimum recordable shadow point to the brightest highlights. Next, he will show you some of the basic techniques of how to remove dust spots and repair sections of an image. Then, the author explains the different tools that can be used for creating composite photographs; as well as, the intricacies of working with layers, channels, mask channels and pen paths. He continues by showing you ways you can use the Smart Filters feature to extend your filtering options. Next, the author explains why with Bridge CC, Adobe has reached a point where the aim is to keep Bridge maintained as a Suite-wide browser, but without adding new features. Then, he deals with the print output process. Finally, he looks at the Mac and PC key combinations for the various shortcuts that are in Photoshop.

This most excellent book is not a complete guide to everything that's in Photoshop. More importantly, as you go through this great book, you will find that it is one of the most thorough and established books out there for photographers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book Stabbed in the Back by an Almost Useless Index, December 9, 2013
By 
Russ Lewis "Russ Lewis" (Manitou Springs, Colorado United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CC for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
Martin Evening is by far the best Photoshop writer around now that Bruce Fraser has left us, and this book, again, makes that clear. But, as was the case with previous versions, the book is stabbed in the back as a reference by an almost useless index. Evidently it's just too much work for Focal Press to build a decent index. They need to pick up O'Reilly's "C# 5.0 in a Nutshell," turn to the index, and start learning what a real index looks like. I keep buying Martin's Photoshop books because, if you need help, and if you're lucky enough to find what you're looking for, his advice is the best around. But finding what you're looking for can be irritating enough that you soon beat up the book by throwing it across the room repeatedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Support for Photoshop on Cloud, August 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CC for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
If you are going to use the Adobe Cloud version of Photoshop CC, then this book is a great hard print documentation, as a reference for your use of Photoshop Cloud. Martin Evening is truly an expert on Photoshop and help the Adobe Team, on developing Photoshop over the last several years. Sometimes you just need to read about a technical capability, to understand how it works and Evening is the expert. I would highly recommend this book for your library, on photo editing because it is likely the last written text that you will find on Photoshop anytime, in the future given the way that Adobe is taking Photoshop to market. I would also add "The Ultimate Workshop" on Photoshop CS5 that was written by Evening and Jeff Schewe, another expert on Photoshop and photo editing. With these two books your library will cover the "best of the best", on Photoshop editing and should take you well into the future. And of course purchase both books from Amazon the source for written Photoshop documentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tons of info presented well, January 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CC for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
I am new to photoshop and I am going through this book from the start. So far it has been very informative and arranged well. Any book of this magnitude is going to have some issues and there has been times I have had to go to the internet to figure something out. Evening may make a statement about some function that I have never heard of and not explain it well, but those have been rare. Over all I ,like the style of his writing and the illustrations are great. It has got me to where I feel proficient with the program and I am only about 1/7 of the way through the book. It will also be a good reference for the future. I would recommend this to anyone starting out with Photoshop or to those who are already working with it and need to dig deeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need, and more, October 13, 2013
By 
ritewinger (New Hampshire, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CC for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
I bought Martin Evening's CS5 for Photographers, soon after his ultimate workshop. Based on these GREAT books and after I signed onto the Creative Cloud, I ordered his latest "Adobe Photoshop CC for Photographers".. Received it yesterday, and there is no way I read the entire thing however, I did spent three to four hours with it last evening. There is nothing available more comprehensive on the market, guaranteed. Over 160 pages on Adobe Camera Raw alone! I used to buy a few manuals for each release, but this also fixes that as well, as Evening has a web site where you can get updates, additional PDF lessons, video lessons, etc. This book doesn't contain a lot of lame jokes, irrelevant banter or silliness, just plain, easy to understand Photoshop mastery. If you could read and retain this book, there would be NOTHING you wouldn't know regarding Photoshop.
Forget the others, this is the one and only!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need to Master Photo Raw? Get This!, July 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CC for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
I'm a photographer who has worked for years with large-format equipment, doing my own film developing and printing in both silver and platinum/palladium media. A new project has required that I start to shoot digital images, and I was long struggling to master Photo Raw. A good friend who is a professional photographer recommended this book, and it has brought me up to speed in a relatively short time. I recommend this highly for any serious photographer who wants a thorough yet easy-to-access guide to Photo Raw and Photoshop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Martin Evening's book is essential for understanding Adobe's masterpiece in Creative Cloud, August 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CC for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
It's difficult to imagine dealing with Adobe Photoshop in any version -- especially CC -- without the Martin Evening book at hand. I've had all his books on this subject since I started with Creative Suite 2. Irreplaceable!

Now we are entering a brand new world on the Adobe Creative Cloud. It is so expansive that it is exciting to realize what new tools are at hand. It is hard to imagine a library sufficient to answer all the questions and so many 'upgrades' are already being sent by Adobe on the more than 40 applications in the suite that keeping up is just about impossible. That we only have Evening's great book is comforting but merely a perfect start on the task of mastering the full impact of this new Adobe addition.

On that note, the best hope we have is Lynda.com which has professional level, lengthy, guidance for many of the applications. More help is needed on the many new additions to the suite series, however and, as I read in the opening to Evening's current book, this may be his last extremely valuable contribution to mastering what Adobe hath wrought.

Unless you are a professional in the field of photography and preparing all graphics materials for use, viewing or printing in volumes, it would be difficult to understand what we have. Martin Evening, in the series of his heavy tomes -- the current one is five pounds and holds 792 pages! -- Evening has enabled a very deep understanding of what this new technical world has given to serious photographers and graphic artists of every medium.

He should be given rewarding recognition for his irreplaceable contribution over the years of service to the field.

And, in a note to Amazon, the book I bought from you arrived damaged from totally inadequate packaging! It had three skimpy little 'balloon' bags inside a box larger than the book it held. Two of the bags were airless and the book's cover was damaged and the sides of pages show scars from the mail journey. Shame on that for this expensive and very honorable tome!

I wish Mr. Bezos great success with The Washington Post -- and in getting his Amazon book packaging folks on a better course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purchased for school, March 21, 2014
By 
Cross Teacher (Oakley, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CC for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
As a photography major at the Academy of Arts University, my daughter had to purchased this book. I have been teaching myself Photoshop and have many books. This is one of two of the best books. A little pricey however worth it. It has some advance features like bracketing, bundling, dealing with layers, paths, in easy to follow steps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World-Class Photoshop Reference Book, June 18, 2014
By 
RK "ahnutza" (New Mexico USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have read a number of Photoshop and Lightroom reference books by several authors and Martin Evening's are clearly the best in my opinion. I consider this book as a "must have" reference for any serious photographer who uses Photoshop CC as part of their post-processing workflow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.