Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introductory textbook for adolescent psychology
John Santrock's Adolescence provides readers with an easy-to-read, up-to-date textbook that adequately covers adolescent development within schools and at home. Current research and recent statistics accompany the subjects at hand, and fully encompass the physical, psychological, and socioemotional developments of students. Chapters include: Careers in Adolescent...
Published on May 14, 2008 by Vincent D. Pisano

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In serious need of editing.
This book covers a lot of information (although it often just skims over info and makes some very obvious, non-thorough analytical points)...but yeah there are many places where the reader is thrown off by awkwardly-worded sentences, and there are also a few typos. Being a college student, I've puchased tons of textbooks in the past two years, and I have found that books...
Published on January 15, 2011 by Lola


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introductory textbook for adolescent psychology, May 14, 2008
This review is from: Adolescence (Paperback)
John Santrock's Adolescence provides readers with an easy-to-read, up-to-date textbook that adequately covers adolescent development within schools and at home. Current research and recent statistics accompany the subjects at hand, and fully encompass the physical, psychological, and socioemotional developments of students. Chapters include: Careers in Adolescent Development; Puberty, Health, and Biological Foundations; The Brain and Cognitive Development; The Self, Identity, Emotions, and Personality; Gender; Sexuality; Moral Development, Values, and Religion; Families; Peer and Romantic Relationships; Schools; Achievement, Work, and Careers; Culture; Problems in Adolescent and Emerging Adulthood. Certain sections have been expanded upon for the twelfth edition. The various subjects are not, of course, covered in depth, as this is meant to be a sweeping introduction to the field of adolescent psychology. However, it will arm readers with a better understanding and proper direction for further, more critical research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In serious need of editing., January 15, 2011
This review is from: Adolescence (Paperback)
This book covers a lot of information (although it often just skims over info and makes some very obvious, non-thorough analytical points)...but yeah there are many places where the reader is thrown off by awkwardly-worded sentences, and there are also a few typos. Being a college student, I've puchased tons of textbooks in the past two years, and I have found that books written by just one person tend to be the most sloppy all around- perhaps because when you are the sole individual working on a project (be it a book or anything else), you kind of have tunnel vision and are less open to criticism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative book, March 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adolescence (Paperback)
This was a mandatory text for an Adolescent Psychology class. Overall, the book is well-written and organized well.

Like: Detailed with very recent research.
Dislikes: There is a lot of emphasis on individual studies. The reader is left to figure out the big takeaways in psychology.

I would still recommend this book, however, depending on the level of study (high school, undergraduate, graduate), it may not fit every learners' needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well organized book, May 23, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adolescence (Paperback)
I bought this book for a course I was taking in adolescent psychology. The book is well organized, and I enjoyed using it in the course. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 was that there were a few topics common to adolescents that I wanted more information on, and they were not included in the text. Otherwise, this is a fine book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great textbook, November 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adolescence (Paperback)
Easy to understand knowledgable textbook with a balance of classic and recent research and theories. Was a pleasure to learn the material directly from Professor Santrock at UTD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, January 23, 2013
This review is from: Adolescence (Paperback)
School textbook, exactly what I needed. The 13th edition of this book is nearly the same as the 14th edition, but much cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not recomended, June 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adolescence (Paperback)
I had to buy this textbook for Adolescent Psychology, and the most that could be said for it was that we didn't have to read the entire book. While it did offer some interesting insights into adolescent demographics and statistics, overall the book was just a long-winded review of General Psychology. For a more insightful look into the lives and actual psychology of adolescents, I recomend Hurt by Chap Clark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adolescence Book, October 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adolescence (Paperback)
This was an excellent textbook! The research was current and relevant. It was also easy to read.I would definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative, but sloppy., November 29, 2009
By 
James Yanni (Bellefontaine Neighbors, Mo. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adolescence (Paperback)
I have rather mixed feelings about this book; the good news is, it covers a lot of ground, works very hard at being impartial and evenhanded when describing various schools of thought regarding various aspects of adolescent psychology, and very specifically addresses the issue, when first describing statistical analysis, that correlation does not equal causation.

The bad news is, it's rather sloppily written, with numerous typos and sentences that either don't parse particularly well, or just don't make any sense ("In this study, for both boys and girls, lack of parental support and dietary restraint preceded future increases in body satisfaction" pg. 63, being an example of the latter, as was "After four months, the participants in the physical education class had improved their cardiovascular fitness and lifestyle activity (such as walking instead of taking the stairs and walking instead of driving short distances) pg 74, or "...40 percent of children who become obese have one obese parent, and 70 percent of children who become obese have two obese parents." pg 500; for an example of a simple typo that slipped through the editing process, the sentence "Having delinquent peers increases the risk of becoming delinquent for example, two recent studies found that the link between associating with delinquent; peers and engaging in delinquency held for both boys and girls..." pg 492, and another is on page 119, where we are told that "Three of the Wexler subscales are shown in figure 3.15", when in fact there are only two subscales shown in that figure, or again on page 128, when we are treated to the sentence "Capacity and speed of processing speed, often referred to as cognitive resources..."

Further, there is a bit too much of a tendancy to strive for political correctness for my taste; the text will expound at great length as to why a particular style of parenting, for instance, is less than ideal, but will then tie itself in knots justifying that particular parenting style when it is used in cultures other than our own; heaven forbid that it declare that a parenting style popular in another culture is WRONG. Unless, of course,it is used in our culture; then it can be declared wrong.

But perhaps the worst offense that this book commits is that it consistently, frequently, if not universally, ignores its own warning about not confusing correlation with causation. Many, many instances can be cited in which a study demonstrated a correlation, and this information is treated as if it showed a causation. For instance, on page 63 we are told that "A study indicated that 12 to 17 year old girls who were patients in psychiatric hospitals who had a negative body image were more depressed, anxiety-prone, and suicidal than same-aged patients who were less concerned about their body image." Granted, the text did not expressly state that having a negative body image caused the greater mental difficulties, but it certainly seemed implied, yet an equally likely explanation is that greater depression, anxiety, and suicidal ideation might cause poorer body image, or indeed self-image in general. And on page 75, we are informed that "Eleventh-grade students who participated in organized sports were more likely to be successful academically...than their counterparts who did not participate in organized sports", as if suggesting that participating in sports raised the quality of the academic work of the participants, without even considering the possibility that the increased grades might be the result of teachers giving athletes grades that they didn't earn in order to let them maintain their academic standing and protect the school team's competitiveness, an event which has certainly been known to happen.

There are many more examples of each of these problems to be found in this book; these were just a few that I was able to make note of. So although there is much useful information to be found here, I cannot rate this book above three stars; it is just too sloppy for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mainstream, politically correct, and shallow in detail, December 18, 2011
This review is from: Adolescence (Paperback)
One of the worst textbooks I have ever had to digest. A common theme throughout the book is references to research that support common sense. "A recent study done by So-and-so et. al (2008) revealed that adolescents of parents who do not beat them mercilessly during their divorce proceedings perform better in high school as compared to a control group." Really? Do we really need to fill textbooks with this crap? The bad part is that I'm only marginally exaggerating. This describes most of the research cited. There are few sections that are little more than broad descriptions of circumstances/conditions that affect adolescents. It's mostly material that you already know because either a) you've taken intro psych or b) you're not an idiot. It's obvious that this book is pushed by people that don't want to offend anyone. As is the case with psychology in general, this book makes every attempt to avoid making even the slightest suggestion of self-responsibility. "My problems aren't EVER the result of bad decisions I've made. No, no, no... It's got to be something else--something that I couldn't avoid." Of course there are circumstance beyond one's control, but there is not a single hint of emphasis on accountability in this book. Apologies for the rant-I've been holding that in all semester. And my condolences if you are forced to endure this drivel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Adolescence
Adolescence by John W. Santrock (Paperback - November 3, 2011)
$180.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.