Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Adult Entertainment: Disrobing An American Idol
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Melvins The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars8
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 9, 2012
Correlation does not equal causation. This guy interviews Ph.d authors for the evidence that porn is "as addictive as heroin" and Ron Jeremy for the counterpoint. That isn't in the same hemisphere with a non-biased perspective. His scientific study comprises 3 people that were sexually awkward before he got there. Then sets the whole thing up to fail. Example: husband is to go to strip clubs once a week while his wife sits at home fuming that he's at strip clubs. Danger! Science Zone! My favorite quote was, "not all porn addicts become rapists or molesters. Some just sexually harass women at work or disrespect women." Yeah, its that biased. On the contrary: if you are a fundamentalist of any religion who is scared to death of the world outside your window, THIS MOVIE IS FOR YOU!!!!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2016
Excellent look into the adverse effects of pornography. The thing to remember is how very difficult it is for the average person today to view this subject in a truly objective fashion, The massive size of this audience drives the prevailing pro-porn mythology which assures us that regular porn use is harmless. This film doesn't blindly accept this myth and actually examines the effects of just 30 days of hardcore porn usage on three nonusers. This film's findings aren't exhaustive but they do mirror larger scientific studies which prove pornography's adverse effects. Some of these effects are not only similar to drug addiction but also commonly denied or ignored. This is a deep subject that shouldn't be taken lightly. If you can put pro-porn bias aside, there is much to learn from this well-done documentary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2012
As I watched this I really felt like I was listening to anti-sex campaigners from the 50's and earlier. It sounded like a slightly more sophisticated version of those old anti-sex, anti-masturbation campaigns. This is NOT an opened minded look at sex or porn. It's more moralizing by the same kinds of people who were telling us that we should be mutilating our children's genitals to keep them from masturbating.
22 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2012
I love psychology and human behavior and I'm always looking for documentaries that provide a good insight in the human psyche. I'm not a professional, just an avid reader on the subject. Unfortunately I was very disappointed with this film since its obviously biased with one opinion from the beginning.

Just look for the name of the director and some of his projects and some of the guests and you'll find that they have some sort of religious afilition, although that detail is not mentioned. I'm not bashing religion, it's just that when religion or conservatism is attached to a documentary about sex and porn, you can't help but to notice right away it has an agenda.

On the plus side, the film is well executed and edited.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2007
This documentary is excellent and confirms my suspicions about "porn addicts." I am as attracted to women as any other heterosexual, but I never have understood the fascination with porn. This movie shows clearly how it affects the men who watch it. To be honest, I expected the conclusion to be "pro porn" but it was evident halfway through the documentary that they had uncovered some ugly truths.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2007
We just watched Adult Entertainment via the UNBOX rental option. First of all, I really liked the documentary. It was entertaining, but also very informative. Everything I expected was pointed out and again shows that porn is harmful to the viewer, as well as to partners and women in general. No surprise for me there. It was interestingly presented, though, and will hopefully get some men to think and evaluate what they are doing.
The big negative issue here is how incredibly bad the UNBOX experience was. Every 30 seconds the audio stopped and then the video stopped to catch up on it. Fortunately for UNBOX, I was very interested in the movie, so I didn't stop watching it, but my 3 dollars would have been better spend at a local video store. It was painful to watch, because every time someone made a point they were interrupted half sentence. My PC is only 6 months old, and definitely up to standard, so that couldn't have been the problem. Either buy the DVD or go support your local independent video rental place. It was so annoying, it was my first and last time to opt for UNBOX.
Still, the movie and the effort in putting the message out there definitely deserved a five star rating.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2014
I would have no idea I didnt see it??? and dont know where it came from?? so I cant say
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2008
Lance Tracy has done a terrific job of looking objectively at the porn industry and its power to shift people's perception. Men regularly arrive at my website "Reuniting: Healing with Sexual Relationships" with severe porn addictions seeking a way to leave behind their addictions to porn.

Until they began showing up, I had no idea that porn could infect men with tyrannical flashbacks, and a host of other excruciating symptoms. Here's what one man said.

Here are the withdrawal symptoms I have experienced:
Intense bouts of anger leading to interpersonal difficulties
Aggressive demeanor
Easily stressed out (I'm inexperienced confronting the real world without that soup of post-orgasmic chemicals sedating me)
Suicidal ideation
Severe depression
Violent dreams while sleeping (I actually enjoyed these, however others might consider them nightmares)
Insomnia
Hallucinations, jumped out of bed screaming because I felt a "presence"
Felt like insects were crawling all over me when going to bed
Shakes
Mania (energy far in excess of my ability to use it constructively)
Inability to concentrate.

Facing up to six weeks of these recurring withdrawal symptoms to escape the cycle of porn addiction keeps most addicts locked in. Clearly the sexologists and porn makers who insist porn is harmless have never tried to leave it behind.

This is a great film on an important subject.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$1.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.