Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for both beginners and advanced Analytics users
Advanced Web Metrics is an outstanding book. It covers from shallow to Deep Ocean and gives the necessary tools to navigate through waves, tempests and calm seas. And it shows the reader how to find islands of insights!

Brian Clifton describes techniques that will help you understand and improve your website using Google Analytics. He goes over very important...
Published on March 9, 2010 by Daniel Waisberg

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dating Fast
This book is dating faster than you can turn pages. I think has caught up and all the content in this book is available online.
Published on June 5, 2011 by Manonamission


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for both beginners and advanced Analytics users, March 9, 2010
This review is from: Advanced Web Metrics with Google Analytics, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
Advanced Web Metrics is an outstanding book. It covers from shallow to Deep Ocean and gives the necessary tools to navigate through waves, tempests and calm seas. And it shows the reader how to find islands of insights!

Brian Clifton describes techniques that will help you understand and improve your website using Google Analytics. He goes over very important concepts and questions that are usually misunderstood: Why Web Analytics is important & what are the available technologies? How Google Analytics works & how it deals with privacy? Which reports should you use & how to do it? How to ensure that your data is accurate & how to enhance your reports using advanced implementation techniques?

The book is not a theoretical read; it goes into real world tasks and shows the reader what he needs to know in order to succeed using Google Analytics. In addition to showing all there is to be shown on Google Analytics, he also provides some very useful examples on third party applications that use the Google Analytics API and out of the box integrations with other tools or sources of data (CRM, call tracking, Website Optimizer).

But the biggest quality of this book is the way Dr. Clifton approaches the subject. Even readers acquainted with Google Analytics and optimization techniques described in the book will find insights that will help them understand the subject deeper and organize the knowledge in their brains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely useful, April 28, 2010
This review is from: Advanced Web Metrics with Google Analytics, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
I've already put into action some of the advanced tips in this book even though I haven't quite finished reading it yet which makes it an excellent investment. It covers strategy, implementation and real world usage in clear terms that are easy to follow. It should answer any question you have of Google Analytics, and in my opinion is more palatable than Google's own help section.

The real world examples are excellent, real situations that users will face explained in a manner that takes account of the business need, the roles effected and detailed implementation, report and analysis guides that work like a charm.

This will be one I use again and again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book! I suggest to buy it, April 12, 2010
By 
This review is from: Advanced Web Metrics with Google Analytics, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
I am very glad to have bought this book. It is fantastic!
Yesterday I passed the google analytics individual qualification with 88% score thanks to the book of Brian Clifton and Google Analytics course online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential Analytics Manual, August 6, 2010
By 
Mark (Perth, Western Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Advanced Web Metrics with Google Analytics, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
This is one of the essential manuals you should have in your analytics toolkit, along with Avinash Kaushiks Web Analytics 2.0: The Art of Online Accountability and Science of Customer Centricity 2.0 and Bryan Eisenberg's Always Be Testing: The Complete Guide to Google Website Optimizer

The title is a little misleading as the book spends a lot of time going through how to set up a basic analytics properly. Well maybe that is advanced for some people, because as Brian clearly and comprehensively illustrates, it's not as easy or simple as many people think.

For this information alone it is worth getting the book.

Other chapters on setting up ecommerce and campaign tracking, I would have thought were standard stuff, but again maybe they are advanced for some users.

Again, the book provides a lot of detail and examples of how to do this properly.

If you can't get your analytics set up properly after reading this book, well, you're not paying attention.

There is some advanced stuff on hacks and custom tagging towards the end.

I'm not complaining, I learned heaps that I didn't know that I didn't know.

As I said, it's a great book and an essential one, I just think the title is misleading.

Perhaps "Analytics: How to Do the Damn Stuff Right" would have been closer to the mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smashing book for academia, June 2, 2010
This review is from: Advanced Web Metrics with Google Analytics, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
In teaching Digital Marketing and specialising in Marketing Research I am always at a loss for teaching materials. Textbooks are outdated as quickly as they are published. Web metrics is a moving feast and the task is made harder in this specialist area. However it must be said that Google Analytics has transformed the sector. That being the case then a GA text is essential and this fits the bill perfectly. The quality seal is the publisher who has the confidence to publish an updated version. So yes, onto the RECOMMENDED READING list for Universities and professional qualifications.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book!, July 30, 2010
This review is from: Advanced Web Metrics with Google Analytics, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
If you're new to Google Analtyics get this book. If you've been using Google Analytics for some time, get this book.

I bought this book a few months ago and it hasn't left my desk. It contains everything you need to know on Google Analytics from start to finish and explains everything in an easy to understand, step by step manner. The fact that it also gives you the example code every step of the way makes things so much easier to implement on your own site. It's helped sort out so many of the tracking issues on our site.

I'd definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Many good ideas presented we never considered before, August 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Advanced Web Metrics with Google Analytics, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
This has been an excellent book in breath, even for someone that has used Google Analytics for 2 years. We started tracking offline activity (table tents, posters, newspaper ads) to our website through the use of vanity (or coded) URLs after reading this book. We also added Google Analytics filters by "Hostname" to include only traffic originating from our web server. Before that, we were also counting rogue traffic that wasn't from our web server.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guidance from GA familiarity to expert knowledge, August 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Advanced Web Metrics with Google Analytics, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
I found this book very useful. However, it is best for people who are familiar with the basics of web analytics and at least somewhat familiar with Google Analytics. This book is not a starter guide, though it does contain many helpful step-by-step instructions. Instead, it guides the reader to understand the richer, deeper data points one can get from Google Analytics. Along the way, the author points out the subleties that differentiate a person familiar with GA from an expert-level user.

For example, when setting profile filters, it is best practice to only set one include filter. Watch out for the reverse logic which means each data entry must match *every include filter*. An easy mistake to make. The book is loaded with little call out boxes that highlight these important points. This makes it easier to skim and find something you read and not remembered exactly where it was.

As a sidenote, I also own a Kindle, and while I love taking it with me when I travel, I find it harder to go back to find specific points (even with the search feature) than using the hard copy. I know own two copies of many analytics books (hard and soft copies) for this reason!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really helpful book, August 27, 2011
This review is from: Advanced Web Metrics with Google Analytics, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
I love this book. it is easy to read and they have plenty of examples to make it more understandable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last ... a web analytics book that has been well written!, June 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Advanced Web Metrics with Google Analytics, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
Brian Clifton's "Advanced Web Metrics with Google Analytics" is the fourth web metrics/analytics book I have read, the second with a singular focus on Google Analytics. It is certainly the best structured. It also avoids the repetitiveness that others have not. By best structured I mean there is a logical development to what you read with the progression of the four parts: measurement, reporting, implementation, and finally a real world focus of how to put it all together. I am an analyst, not a programmer. I am appreciative of Clifton's subtle placement of JavaScript samples that allowed me to skip them without any substantial loss in what I read. "Advanced Web Metrics" has pointed me in the right direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Advanced Web Metrics with Google Analytics, 2nd Edition
Advanced Web Metrics with Google Analytics, 2nd Edition by Brian Clifton (Paperback - March 15, 2010)
Used & New from: $1.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.