Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fun to read, difficult to understand.
i think this book is a metaphor of what Sensei Hatsumi wishes to teach in genenral. his books are chaotic, hard to understand and have to be read twice (or more) to be understood.

this book features magnificient pictures, a lot of explanations about the historical context and some technique descriptions.

I would tend to recommend this book to...
Published on November 29, 2005 by P. Larocque

versus
20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars more ura, less omote
I know that many dislike this book for its highly stylized content. Some say, "Lots of fluff not much stuff." If one was to be utilitarian about it, then this book is really a waste of cash. But then again, it depends upon what you are expecting. It certainly is not a text on stick or pole fighting for a novice. I guess in some ways it may not even be a text on stick...
Published on November 23, 2005 by matt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars more ura, less omote, November 23, 2005
By 
matt (the reading room) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Advanced Stick Fighting (Hardcover)
I know that many dislike this book for its highly stylized content. Some say, "Lots of fluff not much stuff." If one was to be utilitarian about it, then this book is really a waste of cash. But then again, it depends upon what you are expecting. It certainly is not a text on stick or pole fighting for a novice. I guess in some ways it may not even be a text on stick fighting! The applications and photos require insight into the inner meaning of things, with little being obvious. I must say that had I not seen Hatsumi actually move, and also practiced martial arts for some time, I would have been clueless. This book for me was less instructional than it was in giving a certain feeling. Again, another one of Hatsumi's teaching methods that can be confusing. He certainly is not teaching to the lower levels. If you are looking for a Hatsumi book that is more user-friendly, check out his classic "Stick Fighting" coauthored with Quasten.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fun to read, difficult to understand., November 29, 2005
This review is from: Advanced Stick Fighting (Hardcover)
i think this book is a metaphor of what Sensei Hatsumi wishes to teach in genenral. his books are chaotic, hard to understand and have to be read twice (or more) to be understood.

this book features magnificient pictures, a lot of explanations about the historical context and some technique descriptions.

I would tend to recommend this book to advanced martial artists, as the title suggests, but i have to admit that the pictures can be a good introduction to beginners to spark their imaginations.

Read between the lines on this one, re-read it a few times, and weigh it against your own martial arts background. always seek a qualified instructor to practice these techniques properly and safely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, August 22, 2005
By 
This review is from: Advanced Stick Fighting (Hardcover)
In less that one year, we get a second amazing book by Hatsumi Sensei. While focusing on stick fighting with ROKUSHAKU BO (six ft long staff) and JO (5 ft walking staff) this book also offers the reader insight into current lessons the ninja grandmaster is teaching in Japan. The photographs illustrate the text though showing flow and direction. Once again, I am very impressed by the photography. This book is both a useful text for students and a work of art for the collector. A fine addition to your ninjutsu library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Book... For the Serious Student, January 27, 2007
By 
Nobody (Non-Elucidian Space) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Advanced Stick Fighting (Hardcover)
This is not a book for beginners. It is, however, a book that the serious student of stickfighting traditions should read. This does not teach techniques...but gives a glimpse of the real skills and strategies used in using the bo, jo, and hanbo. Filled with Japanese tradition, this book attempts to reach toward a deeper meaning of any form of budo. Sure, if you want to learn "The Art of Kata", then you are looking for a different book. If you are looking to reach a higher understanding of combat with sticks, GET THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book., July 10, 2014
This review is from: Advanced Stick Fighting (Hardcover)
Excellent book... a real treasure for practitioners of the Bujinkan. Unfortunately this is way over priced.... do some additional research, you can find it for the cover price of ~$30 (Shihan Van Donk's site).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT HIS BEST WORK!, April 29, 2008
This review is from: Advanced Stick Fighting (Hardcover)
The value and application of a simple piece of hard wood is unbelievable. Improvised as a club or short-staff for self-defense and combat is exceptional and could help turn the tide of the situation. A man trained to wield a "stick" can destroy the untrained and unarmed opponent in no time. So, any book or manual discussing/teaching authentic stick tactics, techniques and skills is to be part of any true warriors training in combatives.

This book teaches some of the needed stick fighting skills that with practice can be used in combat. In saying that; I do not recommend every technique in this book to be practical for combat. But would say a good 15% is applicable and that is what makes this book important for the combatant. All the fancy and arty stick fighting methods is what I am talking about as useless. These methods may work in the dojo but have no place on the street.

Overall this book has a lot of "fluff" of irrelevant information, and has no were as much useful information of value like the authors first volume "Stick Fighting". Overall all it would make a somewhat good addition to the marital artist's library but is of no use for the combatant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, March 2, 2006
This review is from: Advanced Stick Fighting (Hardcover)
This book is nowhere close to the original "Stick Fighting." It seems that it is attempting to pry into on the reputation of the former book. When comparing the two books, this should not be entitled "Stick Fighting 2" but something completely different. Buy it only if you plan to sell it later or are adding it to a Hatsumi collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, November 1, 2011
By 
David (MAPLE GROVE, MN, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Advanced Stick Fighting (Hardcover)
Very interesting book. A lot of good detail, and in sight. Any martial artist learning stick fighting of any kind will gain some really good knowledge from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nearly worthless, September 25, 2005
This review is from: Advanced Stick Fighting (Hardcover)
I've read hundreds of martial arts books over the last 30+ years I've been a practitioner and maintain a library of about 240 of them. It's not often that I come across one that I truly detest but unfortunately this is one of that select group. The truly sad part is that it has much potential. After all, it is written by one of the world's foremost experts on the subject. Okay, here is why I don't think it's worth the paper it is written on:

First off, it is in reality a puff piece, a 20-page book masquerading as a 208 page one. Less than one third of the work actually has any data that you can learn anything from. The rest is superfluous pictures that are only tangentially related to the text, historical illustrations, and a copy of the original text in Japanese (which is neat if you can actually read it I suppose). Most of the photos are intentionally blurred to show movement. One or two like that is kinda cool but in this case it is way, way over done. They are hard to look at and literally gave me a headache by the time I got done. And they have very little to do with explaining what is going on or how to do the techniques. The text is also poorly written (or perhaps merely inelegantly translated) and hard to follow.

If you are looking for an interesting coffee table tome with some artsy pictures go ahead and pick this up. If you want a serious martial arts learning tool get something (nearly anything) else. Hugely disappointing!

Lawrence Kane
Author of Surviving Armed Assaults, The Way of Kata, and Martial Arts Instruction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stick Fighting review, August 15, 2005
This review is from: Advanced Stick Fighting (Hardcover)
Hatsumi Sensei has lent the same flavor for this newest publication found in "The Way of the Ninja". Unlike the first edition of "Stick Fighting" by Hatsumi and Chambers, this newest rendition shares history, features methods for selecting a bo and vividly shares Kuden that are meant to unfold the practioner's understanding of Budo's role in makind and society. The illustrations not only share the movement within the bojutsu technique but the richness of this live moving heritage as well.

Rich Cearley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Advanced Stick Fighting
Advanced Stick Fighting by Masaaki Hatsumi (Hardcover - July 1, 2005)
Used & New from: $55.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.